

TEXAS JUDICIAI COUNCIL

205 WEST 14[™] STREET, SUITE 600 • TOM C. CLARK BUILDING • (512) 463-1625 • FAX (512) 936-2423 P. O. Box 12066 • Austin, Texas 78711-2066

CHAIR:

HON. NATHAN L. HECHT Chief Justice, Supreme Court EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: David Slayton

VICE CHAIR:

HON. SHARON KELLER
Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

TEXAS JUDICIAL COUNCIL

MINUTES OF MEETING

June 28, 2019 10:00 AM

Tom C. Clark - 1st Floor Conference Room 205 W. 14th Street Austin, Texas

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

On June 28, 2019, Chief Justice Nathan L. Hecht called the meeting¹ of the <u>Texas Judicial Council</u> ("Council") to order at approximately 10:00 a.m. in the conference room of the Tom C. Clark Building in Austin, Texas.

The following members of the Council were present:

Hon. Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Texas

Hon. Sharon Keller, Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

Hon. Gary Bellair, Presiding Judge, Ransom Canyon Municipal Court

Ms. Sonia Clayton, Virtual Intelligence Providers LLC, Houston

Ms. Allyson Ho, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP, Dallas

Hon. Andrew Murr, Representative, Junction

Hon. Valencia Nash, Justice of the Peace Pct. 1, Place 2, Dallas County

Hon. Sherry Radack, Chief Justice, 1st Court of Appeals, Houston

Mr. Kenneth S. Saks, Oliva Saks Garcia & Curiel, LLP, San Antonio

Hon. Edward J. Spillane, III, Presiding Judge, City of College Station

Hon. Vivian Torres, Medina County Court at Law, Hondo

Mr. Evan Young, Baker Botts, Austin Hon. Judith Zaffirini, Senator, Laredo

¹ The meeting may be viewed on the Office of Court Administration YouTube site at https://www.youtube.com/user/TexasCourtAdmin/.

Texas Judicial Council Minutes of Meeting June 28, 2109 Page 2 of 3

Members attending by phone were Representative Jeff Leach, Mr. Bill Boyce, Judge Bill Gravell, and Ms. Rachel Racz.

Members not in attendance were Senator Brandon Creighton, Judge Kelly Moore, Judge Scott Jenkins, Judge Polly Spencer (Ret.), and Mr. Kevin Bryant.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The February 1, 2019, meeting minutes were approved as presented.

REPORTS AND ACTION ITEMS

Geoff Burkhart, Executive Director, Texas Indigent Defense Commission, reported on the <u>activities</u> of the Commission.

Jeffrey Tsunekawa, Acting Director for Research & Court Services Division, Office of Court Administration (OCA), presented <u>nominations</u> for <u>Centers of Excellence</u> for consideration by the Council. Courts considered were the 347th District Court in Nueces County, Judge Missy Medary, Court Manager Andrew Garcia, and Court Administrator Marilee Roberts; and the 214th District Court in Nueces County, Judge Inna Klein, Court Manager Gabriela Dennis, and Court Administrator Marilee Roberts. Chief Justice Hecht requested a motion to approve Centers of Excellence designation for both courts. Senator Zaffirini made the motion, seconded by Chief Justice Radack. The motion carried unanimously.

Megan LaVoie, Public Affairs Director, OCA, and Jennifer Henry, Chief Financial Officer, OCA, provided the legislative and appropriations <u>update</u>.

General Counsel Mena Ramón, OCA, presented <u>information</u> on setting the salary of active regional presiding judges pursuant to Government Code Sec. 74.051(b) for Fiscal Years 2020-2021. Chief Justice Hecht requested motion to approve the recommended salary amount of 30% of the state base salary paid to a district judge, or \$42,000 per year, for the active regional presiding judges. Senator Zaffirini made the motion, seconded by Ken Saks. The motion carried unanimously.

David Slayton, Administrative Director, OCA, presented the proposed rule <u>amendments</u> to Judicial Council reporting requirements, Title I, TAC Ch 171. The amendments implement legislative changes. Chief Justice Hecht requested a motion to approve the amendments as presented for publication in the Texas Register. Chief Justice Radack made the motion, seconded by Judge Spillane. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Slayton presented information on the <u>repeal</u> of Judicial Council rules for the Collection Improvement Program (CIP), Title I, TAC Ch 175, pursuant to the repeal of the underlying statute for the CIP. Chief Justice Hecht requested a motion to repeal the CIP rules as presented. Senator Zaffirini made the motion, seconded by Mr. Young. The motion carried.

Mr. Tsunekawa gave a presentation on the <u>Family Justice Initiative</u>.

Texas Judicial Council Minutes of Meeting June 28, 2109 Page 3 of 3

NEW BUSINESS

Chief Justice Hecht identified renewed and new <u>committees</u> for 2019-2020. Committee assignments are under consideration and will be announced in the forthcoming months.

Senator Zaffirini asked where ADA would fall as related to access to courts. Ms. Kristi Taylor, Executive Director, Judicial Commission on Mental Health, will suggest the Commission create a separate committee that would consider ADA access and that would make a recommendation to the Civil Justice Committee.

NEXT MEETING

To be determined.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Council, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 12:00 p.m.

Nathan L. Hecht Chair