

TEXAS JUDICIAI COUNCIL

205 WEST 14[™] STREET, SUITE 600 • TOM C. CLARK BUILDING • (512) 463-1625 • FAX (512) 936-2423 P. O. Box 12066 • Austin, Texas 78711-2066

CHAIR:

HON. NATHAN L. HECHT Chief Justice, Supreme Court EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: David Slayton

VICE CHAIR:

HON. SHARON KELLER Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

MINUTES OF MEETING

August 20, 2021
10:00 AM
Via Zoom Due to COVID-19 Pandemic
Public Livestream at
https://www.youtube.com/c/TexasCourts/videos

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

On August 20, 2021, Chief Justice Nathan L. Hecht called the meeting¹ of the <u>Texas Judicial</u> Council ("Council") to order at approximately 10:00 a.m.

The following members of the Council were present:

Hon. Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Texas

Hon. Sharon Keller, Presiding Judge, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals

Mr. Kevin Bryant, Crow holdings, Dallas

Ms. Sonia Clayton, Virtual Intelligence Providers, LLC, Houston

Mr. Jon Gimble, District Clerk, McLennan County, Waco

Hon. Bill Gravell Jr., Constitutional County Judge, Williamson County

Hon. Claudia Laird, Judge, County Court at Law No. 2, Montgomery County

Hon. Jeff Leach, State Representative, Allen

Hon. Missy Medary, Judge, 347th District Court, Corpus Christi; Presiding Judge – Fifth Region

Hon. Emily Miskel, Judge, 470th District Court, McKinney

Hon. Valencia Nash, Justice of the Peace Pct. 1, Place 2, Dallas County

Hon. Kathleen Person, Judge, City of Temple Municipal Court, Temple

Hon. Sherry Radack, Chief Justice, 1st Court of Appeals, Houston

Mr. Kenneth S. Saks, Oliva Saks Garcia & Curiel, LLP, San Antonio

Hon. Maggie Sawyer, Justice of the Peace, McCulloch County, Brady

Hon. Reggie Smith, State Representative, Sherman

Hon. Edward J. Spillane, III, Presiding Judge, City of College Station

Hon. Ken Wise, Justice, 14th Court of Appeals, Houston

Mr. Evan Young, Baker Botts, Austin

Hon. Judith Zaffirini, State Senator, Laredo

¹ The meeting may be viewed on the Office of Court Administration YouTube site at https://www.youtube.com/user/TexasCourtAdmin/.

Texas Judicial Council Minutes of Meeting August 20, 2021 Page 2 of 3

Members not in attendance were Senator Brandon Creighton and Ms. Rachel Racz.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The April 9, 2021, meeting minutes were approved as presented.

REPORTS AND ACTION ITEMS

Texas Indigent Defense Commission Report

Mr. Geoff Burkhart, Executive Director, Texas Indigent Defense Commission, presented the TIDC Report.

Update on Uniform Case Management System Procurement

Mr. Casey Kennedy, Director, Information Services, Office of Court Administration, presented a status update on the Uniform Case Management System.

Update on Border Magistration

Mr. David Slayton, Administrative Director, Office of Court Administration, addressed Operation Lone Star, the status of border magistration, and the OCA's involvement.

Presentation on the Texas Eviction Diversion Program

Chief Justice Hecht presented some historical information on the Texas Eviction Diversion Program. Mr. Slayton presented on the status of the Texas Eviction Diversion Program and introduced Ms. Monica McCarthy, Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs.

Legislative Update

Ms. Megan LaVoie, Director of Public Affairs and Special Counsel, Office of Court Administration, gave an update on the 87th Legislative Session and the Special Sessions.

Consider setting salary of active Regional Presiding Judges pursuant to Government Code. Sec. 74.015(b) for the FY 2022-2023 biennium

Ms. Mena Ramon, General Counsel, Office of Court Administration, gave an overview on setting the salary of the Regional Presiding Judges for the Fiscal Year 2022-2023.

Judge Bill Gravell moved to set the salary of the active Presiding Judges at thirty percent of a district judge's base salary. Judge Ed Spillane seconded the motion. Judge Missy Medary abstained from voting. There were no objections and motion passed as presented.

Discuss Implementation of CPS reporting requirements pursuant to Senate Bill 560 (86th R.S.) Mr. Geoff Burkhart, Executive Director, Texas Indigent Defense Commission and Mr. Wesley Shackelford, Deputy Director, Texas Indigent Defense Commission, presented on the implementation of the CPS requirements pursuant to Senate Bill 560 from the 86th Legislative Session.

Texas Judicial Council Minutes of Meeting August 20, 2021 Page 3 of 3

A motion to adopt the implementation strategy mentioned in the memo from TIDC was made by Senator Judith Zaffirini and second from Judge Bill Gravell. The motion was adopted with no opposition.

NEW BUSINESS

Establish Judicial Council Committees & Committee Charges for 2021-2022 Chief Justice Hecht gave an overview of the past Committees and the duties of the Committees. In the coming months an outline will be distributed, and members of the committees will be established.

Resolution of the Texas Judicial Council Acknowledging David Slayton's exemplary work, leadership and contributions to the State of Texas Judiciary and Texas Judicial Council.

The Resolution was adopted unanimously

Next Meeting – TBD

Adjourn - 11:50 AM

Nathan L. Hecht

Chair