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National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) 
 

The National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) is a centralized computer system 

providing information to federal firearms licensees (FFLs) on whether a prospective purchaser is 

eligible to receive or possess firearms. Before transferring a firearm to a non-licensed individual, 

an FFL must contact NICS for a background check on the prospective transferee. NICS then checks 

automated databases and, in cases where additional information is needed, makes follow-up 

requests to law enforcement agencies, prosecutors, or courts that may have relevant information 

demonstrating whether the individual is prohibited from receiving a firearm under state or federal 

law. NICS has 3 business days to determine whether a proposed gun transfer is prohibited. If NICS 

has not been able to make a definitive determination within that time frame, the FFL may lawfully 

transfer the firearm. 

 

House Bill 3352 (2009) 
 
House Bill 3352 (now codified at sections 411.052 and 411.0521 of the Government Code and 
section 574.088 of the Health and Safety Code) was passed by the 81st Texas Legislature in 2009 
to comply with and implement the requirements of the federal NICS Improvement Amendments 
Act of 2007. It requires district and county clerks to report federal prohibited person information 
as defined in Section 411.052 Government Code to the Texas Criminal Justice Information System 
(CJIS) maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The bill also requires district and 
county clerks to report to CJIS all relevant cases in which an order was previously issued from 
September 1, 1989 through August 31, 2009. 

 

Senate Bill 728 (2023) 

 
On June 25, 2022, the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act was signed into law. One of the most 

prominent changes to federal law under the Act was enhancing the review process for juvenile 

mental health record checks when a prospective buyer of firearms initiates a purchase from a 

Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL). The Act amended the definition of disqualifying mental health  

adjudications to include juveniles aged 16 years or older. 

 

Effective September 1, 2023, Senate Bill 728 was passed by the 88th Texas Legislature to align with 

federal law. Amending Government Code Sections 411.052(a) and 411.0521 as well as Family Code 

Section 58.007(a), it 

• Maintains the criteria for reporting an incapacitated adult under guardianship at age 18 or 

older; 
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• Changes the definition of a federal prohibited person to an individual “who is at least 16 

years of age” in the case of 

o a person ordered by a court to receive inpatient mental health services; 

o a person acquitted in a criminal case by reason of insanity or lack of mental 

responsibility; 

o a person determined to have an intellectual disability and committed by a court for 

long-term placement in a residential care facility; and 

o a person determined to be incompetent to stand trial. 

• Adds to the definition of a federal prohibited person a child involved in a juvenile case 

who is at least 16 years of age and has been 

o found unfit to proceed as a result of mental illness or an intellectual disability; 

o found not responsible for the child’s conduct as a result of mental illness or an 

intellectual disability; 

o ordered by a court to receive inpatient mental health services as a result of mental 

illness; or 

o committed by a court to a residential care facility as a result of an intellectual disability. 

Why Reporting is Important 

After the April 2007 shooting tragedy at Virginia Tech, it became apparent that very few mental 

health records had been made available to the FBI for background checks. The NICS Improvement 

Amendments Act of 2007 was passed to address the gap in information available to NICS about 

prohibiting mental health adjudications and commitments and other prohibiting factors. In 

addition, it required the automation of records to reduce delays for law-abiding gun purchasers. 
 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
Note: It is the signed court order or receipt of a mandate from an appellate court reversing the order in 

the cases below that trigger the reporting requirement. 

Cases to Report Case Status Patient Status Facilities 
Report 

Due 
1. Mental Health or Intellectual Disability Commitments – 16 years of age or older 

a. Court-Ordered Mental 
Health Commitment 
(Health and Safety 
Code, Chapter 574) 

 
  

Order for court-
ordered inpatient 
commitment signed 
& filed 

Court-ordered temporary or 
extended inpatient mental 
health commitment 

State hospitals, 
private hospitals, 
Veterans’ Affairs 
hospitals, etc. 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

Order granting relief 
from a firearms 

May petition for relief from 
firearms disability if 

N/A 
Within 30 
days of 

NICS REPORTING CHART 
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disability signed (HSC 
§574.088) 

furloughed or discharged 
from court-ordered mental 
health services 

court order 
to NICS 

b. Commitment to Long-
Term Residential Care                     
(Health and Safety 
Code, Subchapter C, 

Chapter 593) 
 

Order for 
commitment signed 
& filed 

Intellectually disabled  

State supported 
living center or 
ICF-IID 
component of the 
Rio Grande Ctr 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

Order granting relief 
from a firearms 
disability signed (HSC 
§574.088) 

May petition for relief from 
firearms disability if 
furloughed or discharged 
from court-ordered mental 
health services  

N/A 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

2.  Criminal Cases – Adults (17 years or older) or Juveniles (under 17 years of age) Certified as an Adult 

a. Incompetency to Stand 
Trial (Code of Criminal 
Procedure, Chapter 
46B) 

Order of 
determination of 
incompetency to 
stand trial; order 
extending previously 
ordered commitment 

Found incompetent to stand 
trial, including mental illness 
or intellectual disability – 
released on bail or 
committed to treatment 
facility or jail-based 
competency restoration 
program 

Outpatient or jail-
based 
competency 
restoration 
program, mental 
health facility, or 
residential care 
facility 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS  
 
 
 
 
 

b. Acquittal for reasons of 
insanity or lack of 
mental responsibility 
(Code of Criminal 
Procedure, Chapter 
46C) 

Final acquittal 
disposition reflecting 
insanity or lack of 
mental responsibility 

Insanity or lack of mental 
responsibility 

Regardless of 
order for 
inpatient 
treatment or 
residential care 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS and 
within 5 
days of 
disposition 
(to CJIS) 

3. Juvenile Cases (Delinquent Conduct or Conduct Indicating a Need for Supervision) – 16 years of age 

a. Unfit to Proceed 
(Family Code, Chapter 
55, Subchapter C or 
Health and Safety 
Code, Chapter 574) 

 
  

Court finding or jury 
verdict regarding 
unfitness to proceed 
due to mental illness 
or intellectual 
disability 

Mental illness or intellectual 
disability 

Placed in 
outpatient 
program or 
private inpatient 
psychiatric facility; 
commitment to 
mental health 
facility; or 
commitment to 
residential care 
facility 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

Order granting relief 
from a firearms 
disability signed (HSC 
§574.088) 

May petition for relief from 
firearms disability if 
furloughed or discharged 
from court-ordered mental 
health services 

N/A 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 



Revised August 2023 
6 

 

b. Not Responsible for 
Conduct (Family Code, 
Chapter 55, Subchapter 
D) 

Court finding or jury 
verdict regarding lack 
of responsibility due 
to mental illness or 
intellectual disability 

Mental illness or intellectual 
disability 

Regardless of 
order for 
inpatient 
treatment or 
residential care 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

c. Court-Ordered Mental 
Health Commitment 
(Family Code, Chapter 
55, Subchapters B, C, or 
D or Health and Safety 
Code, Chapter 574) 

 
  

Order for court-
ordered inpatient 
commitment signed 
& filed 

Court-ordered temporary or 
extended inpatient mental 
health commitment 

State hospitals, 
private hospitals, 
etc. 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

Order granting relief 
from a firearms 
disability signed (HSC 
§574.088) 

May petition for relief from 
firearms disability if 
furloughed or discharged 
from court-ordered mental 
health services 

N/A 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

d. Commitment to Long-
Term Residential Care                     
(Family Code, Chapter 
55, Subchapter C or D 
or Health and Safety 
Code, Subchapter C, 

Chapter 593) 
 

Order for 
commitment signed 
& filed 

Intellectually disabled  

State supported 
living center or 
ICF-IID 
component of the 
Rio Grande Ctr 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

Order granting relief 
from a firearms 
disability signed (HSC 
§574.088) 

May petition for relief from 
firearms disability if 
furloughed or discharged 
from court-ordered mental 
health services  

N/A 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

4.  Guardianships of an Adult - 18 years of age or older 

Court Appointed Guardian 
of Incapacitated Adult 
(Estates Code, Title 3) 

Order appointing 
permanent or 
temporary guardian 
signed & filed 

Incapacitated adult who 
lacks mental capacity to 
manage his/her affairs, 
requiring guardian of the 
person, estate, or person 
and estate 

None specified 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS 

Order granting relief 
from firearm 
disability signed (EC 
§1202.201) 

May petition for relief from 
firearms disability if 

guardianship was 
terminated because the 
person’s capacity was 
completely restored 

N/A 

Within 30 
days of 
court order 
to NICS  

5. Reversal of Order by Appellate Court 

Reversal of order 
Mandate issued by 
appellate court 

N/A N/A 

 
Within 30 
days of 
receipt of 
mandate 
from 
appellate 
court by 
clerk 
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Cases to Report 

The following types of cases must be reported: 

 
• Commitments of individuals 16 years or older for temporary or extended inpatient mental 

health services under Chapter 574, Health and Safety Code or Chapter 55, Family Code. 

This includes individuals involuntarily committed to state hospitals, private hospitals, 

Veterans’ Affairs hospitals, etc.; 

 
• Commitments of individuals 16 years or older determined to have intellectual disabilities 

requiring long-term placement in a residential care facility under Chapter 593, Health and 

Safety Code or Chapter 55, Family Code; 

 

• Acquittals in criminal cases for reasons of insanity or lack of mental responsibility, 

whether or not the person was ordered to receive inpatient treatment or residential care 

under Chapter 46C, Code of Criminal Procedure; and 

 
• Criminal cases in which a person is found to be incompetent to stand trial under Chapter 

46B, Code of Criminal Procedure; 

 

• Juvenile cases in which a child 16 years of age is found to be unfit to proceed under Chapter 

55C, Family Code; 

 

• Juvenile cases in which a child 16 years of age is found not responsible for the child’s 

conduct under Chapter 55D, Family Code; and 

 

Do Not Report 

1. Guardianship of minors 
4.  Commitments orders for temporary or extended 

outpatient mental health services 

2. Orders for emergency mental health detentions, 
admissions, or warrants; order of protective 
custody (mental health) 

5.  Applications for court-ordered inpatient mental health 
services that are transferred to another county to re-file 
or to hear your original filing  

3. Voluntary mental health commitments 
6.  Court-ordered inpatient chemical dependency or alcohol 

services 

7.     Juvenile (Delinquent Conduct or Conduct Indicating 
a Need for Supervision) cases in which the 
respondent is under 16 years of age 
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• Cases in which the court appoints a guardian of an incapacitated adult individual under 

Title 3, Estates Code, based on the determination that the person lacks the mental 

capacity to manage his/her affairs (adult guardianships of the person, estate, or person 

and estate, including temporary guardianships);          

 
Note: It is the signed COURT ORDER in each of the cases above that triggers the reporting 

requirement.  DO NOT REPORT based on the filing of a medical or psychological examination 

report presented as evidence; there must be an order filed by the court. 

 
DO NOT REPORT: 
 

• Guardianships of minors; 

• Emergency mental health detentions, admissions or warrants; 

• Orders of protective custody; 

• Voluntary commitments; 

• Commitments for temporary or extended outpatient mental health services; 

• Applications for court-ordered inpatient mental health services that are forwarded to 
another county to re-file or to hear your original filing; and 

• Court-ordered inpatient chemical dependency or alcohol services. 
 
Information related to reporting mental health commitments, criminal cases, and adult 

guardianships is reviewed in greater detail in the following sections. 

 

Mental Health Commitments 

Court ordered involuntary mental health commitments of individuals age 16 or older for 

temporary or extended inpatient mental health services, including persons committed to state 

hospitals, private hospitals, Veterans’ Affairs hospitals, etc. must be reported. This requirement 

also includes the following scenarios: 

• If an individual has more than one commitment order, all should be reported. 

• If a court initially issues a temporary commitment order and then later issues an extended 

commitment order (or another temporary commitment order), each commitment order 

is reported. 

• The initial commitment order for extended mental health services and a renewal order 

for extended mental health services are each reported. 

The clerk must file a new case for each application for court-ordered inpatient mental health 

services, whether temporary or extended, and assign a new cause number to each. However, 

some clerks are filing multiple applications for commitment orders for the same individual under 
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the same cause number. In those counties where the same cause number (e.g., 12345) is used 

for multiple applications for commitment orders for the same individual, the clerk should report 

each order into CJIS/NICS by adding a numerical suffix, such as a dash and a “1” (i.e., “-1”) after 

the cause number (e.g., 12345-1) to designate the initial commitment order, a “-2” for the second 

commitment order (e.g., 12345-2), etc.   

Criminal Cases 

Report cases in which a defendant (including a juvenile tried as an adult) was acquitted for 

reasons of insanity or lack of mental responsibility, whether the person was ordered to receive 

inpatient treatment or residential care under Chapter 46C, Code of Criminal Procedure.  Also 

report cases in which a defendant is found to be incompetent to stand trial under Chapter 46B, 

Code of Criminal Procedure.    

A signed court order triggers the reporting requirement for these cases; do not report the cases 

based solely on a medical or psychological examination report, there must be an order based on 

the findings in the examination. 

In a case in which a defendant is found by the court to remain incompetent and ordered to 

continue to be committed, the judicial finding that the defendant remains incompetent is not 

reported – only the original incompetency finding is reported. However, the order continuing the 

defendant’s commitment is reported. This type of order is commonly called a “criminal 

commitment.” If the clerk does not give a separate cause number to the “criminal commitment” 

order, then the clerk should report the criminal commitment order under the original criminal 

cause number into CJIS/NICS by adding a numerical suffix, such as a dash and a “1” (i.e., “-1”) 

after the cause number (e.g., 12345-1) to designate the criminal commitment order. 

If a person found incompetent to stand trial is later found competent, the NICS entry for that 

person remains in the database. Section 411.0521 of the Government Code states that the duty 

of a clerk to prepare and forward information is not affected by any subsequent appeal of the 

court order, any subsequent modification of the court order, or the expiration of the court order. 

To regain his/her rights to obtain or possess a firearm, the person must petition the court that 

entered the prohibiting order and present evidence during a hearing demonstrating that he/she 

is no longer a danger to public safety. 

Adult Guardianships 

Cases in which the court appoints a guardian of an incapacitated adult individual under Title 3, 

Estates Code, based on the determination that the person lacks the mental capacity to manage 
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his/her affairs (adult guardianships of the person, estate, or person and estate, and 

temporary guardianships) must be reported. This requirement also includes the following 

scenarios: 

• Report guardianship cases in which Texas Health and Human Services is appointed as the 

guardian of an incapacitated adult. 

• Report cases in which a guardian of the person or guardian of the person and estate is 

appointed for a person found to be partially incapacitated. 

• Report cases in which a guardian of the person or guardian of the person and estate was 

appointed, even if the court later issued an order closing the guardianship after decreeing 

that the person was restored to full legal capacity. These cases must still be reported; 

however, effective January 1, 2014, a person whose guardianship was terminated 

because the person’s capacity was completely restored may file an application with the 

court that created the guardianship for an order requesting the removal of the person’s 

disability to obtain or possess a firearm (see Section 1202.201 of the Estates Code).  The 

person who is the subject of the order will need to submit the order to FBI/NICS to be 

removed from the database. 

Do not report guardianships of minors. If the subject of a minor guardianship becomes an adult, 
the minor guardianship should still not be reported. Instead, an application for adult guardianship 
should be filed, if relevant. If an adult guardianship is granted, the adult guardianship must then 
be reported to CJIS. 

Do not report the appointment of a successor guardian.  (Note: Sometimes a judge may refer to 

a successor guardian as an alternate guardian.) Although a successor guardian is appointed, the 

order does not create a new guardianship, it modifies the existing guardianship.   

Data to Report 

All records must contain the following information: 

• Court ORI 

• Case Number 

• Case Type 

• Court Date (Date of order/judgment) 

• First Name 

• Last Name 

• Date of Birth (Note: you may enter this with only 2 of the 3 numbers in the birth date) 

• Sex 

• Race (Note: you may select “Unknown”) 



Revised August 2023 
11 

 

The following fields are optional: 
 

• State Identification Number 

• Social Security Number 

• Driver License Number 

Report all fields possible. While the identifying number fields are optional, they are important 

in accurately identifying the individual who is the subject of the prohibiting order and should 

be reported when available. 

New Cases 

New cases are cases in which the court issued a reportable order on or after September 1, 2009. 

These cases must be entered into CJIS not later than 30 days after the date of the court order. If 

an appellate court reverses an order previously reported, the entry in CJIS must be cancelled by 

the clerk not later than 30 days after the clerk receives the mandate from the appellate court. 

Clerks should capture and report all required data elements for new cases. Changes to processes, 

forms, and case management systems may be needed to capture the information required for 

case entry into CJIS within the 30-day timeframe. 

 

Older Cases 
When House Bill 3352 was enacted in 2009, it required clerks to submit by September 1, 2010 

records for cases in which an order was issued on or after September 1, 1989 and before 

September 1, 2009. Although this deadline has passed, older cases must still be entered until all 

required reporting is completed. 

The clerk can research which older cases are reportable by: 
 

• Running reports from the case management system to identify cases that may need 

to be reported; and 

• Reviewing docket books to find potentially reportable cases and preparing a list of 

those cases. 
 

If a list is generated from the case management system or by reviewing docket books, the clerk 

must review the actual case files to confirm each reportable case. For example, in a mental health 

case, the signed commitment order for inpatient treatment must be reviewed. After a case is 

confirmed to be reportable, the clerk will obtain the data required for record entry from the case 

file (case number, court date, case type, first name, last name, date of birth, sex, race and any 

available identifiers). 
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For those clerk offices where lists cannot be generated from the case management system or the 

review of docket books, each case file must be reviewed to determine which cases meet the 

criteria to be reported. 

Mental Health Information Sheet 

A Mental Health Information sheet is recommended for collecting the necessary information to 

enter mental health cases into the NICS database. See Appendix A for a sample form. The court 

can require the form to be submitted with each mental health case that is filed. 

Guardianship Information Sheet 

A Guardianship Information sheet is recommended for collecting the necessary information to 

enter adult guardianship cases into the NICS database. See Appendix B for a sample form. The 

court can require the form to be submitted with each adult guardianship case that is filed. 

How to Find Missing Identifiers 

For cases that are missing required identifying information, additional research should be 

conducted to find the missing information. All available data sources, such as the case 

management system, jail records, and skip tracing databases should be used to obtain the missing 

identifying information. In addition, clerks in nearby counties may be contacted to determine if 

they have any additional information on the individuals. Keep a list of cases with insufficient 

identifiers for entry into CJIS/NICS, if the information becomes available later. 

How to Report Cases in CJIS 

The NICS Indices Entry (NIE) User Guide is produced by DPS and can be found at:  

 https://www.dps.texas.gov/administration/crime_records/docs/cjis/nieUserGuide.pdf  
 

Zero Reports  
For each month in which there are no reportable cases, the clerk must enter a “zero report” into 

CJIS to be considered in compliance with reporting requirements. A zero report must be entered 

for each ORI under which a clerk reports, regardless of whether the court is a designated to hear 

Mental Health cases. Please see the NICS User Guide for reporting instructions. 

 

 

 

 

https://www.dps.texas.gov/administration/crime_records/docs/cjis/nieUserGuide.pdf
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Responding to Inquiries from the FBI 

NICS has 3 business days to determine whether a proposed firearm transfer is prohibited. If NICS 

has not been able to make a definitive determination within that time frame, the federal firearm 

licensee may lawfully transfer the firearm. 

The NICS Section of the FBI’s Criminal Justice Information Services Division may contact clerks for 

additional or clarifying information if additional research is needed on a potential match of the 

prospective firearm transferee’s descriptive information to that of record information located in 

NICS. It is critical for the clerk to respond to NICS inquiries as soon as possible to help NICS meet 

their 3 business day requirement. If NICS does not get a response to their request for additional 

or clarifying information, the sale of the firearm can proceed. 

Data Validation and Audits 

The FBI requires DPS to conduct validations on the data submitted to NICS. DPS pulls a sample of 

cases for a county, then asks the clerk to submit documentation (court orders) validating the NICS 

entry. It is important to respond to the NICS validation request in a timely manner. If counties do 

not comply with the validation request, the FBI will purge all NICS records for that county. 
 

An FBI audit is more detailed than the validation process. For audits, the FBI requires a copy of the 

court order for each entry selected for audit, so that they can ensure the entry is valid and meets 

statutory authority. The FBI requires compliance with audits for anyone that submits records to 

their databases. If a clerk does not provide a copy of the requested order(s), the clerk will receive 

a letter from the FBI and DPS stating that he/she has failed the audit. The clerk must respond by 

stating the corrective actions that will be taken. Clerks who fail to correct and submit the 

requested order(s) can be cut off from participating in the NICS database. 

Record Retention Requirements 

Record Retention Schedules specifically for mental health-related cases reported to CJIS/NICS are 

addressed under several different record series (e.g., criminal, probate, commitment, and 

admission to state care) which have different retention periods. Although the current retention 

periods for these case records is generally long, caution would favor a permanent retention period 

so that essential records would be available if needed for establishing a person’s identity, resolving 

some other issue relating to a person’s ability to obtain or possess firearms, or situations in which 

a person seeks relief from a firearms disability. 
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As part of the original review, the issue of records related to entry of the required pieces of 

information was raised. Title 37 of the Texas Administrative Code, Sec. 27.141, mandates the clerk 

of the court to enter the required information electronically via the website provided by DPS. If the 

clerk creates a “report” with the information and uses it to enter the information, that report is 

transitory information (record number GR1000-50) with a retention period of AV, or as long as 

administratively valuable. The report is not essential to fulfill statutory obligations or document 

government functions; the info is collected from the case papers for the sole purpose of facilitating 

entry into CJIS. Clerks may destroy these reports after they enter the information. 

 

In summary, 

• Records series already exist for the case papers that resulted in a person being reportable; 

• Petitions for orders for relief from firearms disability and hearing papers are civil case 
papers that fall under records retention series for civil case papers;  

• A report collecting the 12 required data elements for entry in the NICS website is a 
transitory record and does not have to be retained after entry. 

There is no penalty for keeping the records longer than the legally required minimum – any record 

may be kept permanently if that policy is adopted internally at a county or district clerk’s office.  

 

Best Practices 

A recommended best practice is to segregate the NICS mental health-related records from other 

case records and maintain them in a location that is easy to access. Ease of access is important if 

the FBI requests additional or clarifying information to determine whether a person is eligible to 

purchase a firearm. 

Another record retention best practice, for cases in which the clerk has located personal 

identifying information from other databases or sources (such as case management system, jail 

and skip tracing records), is to make photocopies of the personal identifying information obtained 

from those databases or sources and keep those copies in the file for the case that is reported to 

CJIS/NICS. [Note: It was a recommendation of the NICS Record Improvement Task Force that clerks 

search other databases and sources when personal identifying information is not in the case file.] 

Relief from Disability 

Relief from disability refers to the process by which individuals who have lost the right to purchase 

a firearm (i.e., individuals entered into the CJIS/NICS database) can petition the court to restore 

their right to purchase a firearm. Individuals that were entered into the CJIS/NICS database must 

go through the relief from disability process to be removed from the database. 
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Mental Health 

Section 574.088 of the Health and Safety Code provides for the relief from disabilities in mental 

health cases. A person who is discharged from court-ordered mental health services may petition 

the court that entered the commitment order for an order stating that the person qualifies for 

relief from a firearms disability. Section 574.088 provides detailed information about the 

proceeding that must be held, and the findings required to restore a person’s right to purchase a 

firearm. If all requirements are met, the individual’s NICS record may be cancelled through CJIS. 

To complete the record cancellation in a case in which a proceeding has been held and all 

appropriate findings and an order granting relief from disability are entered in the record, answer 

“Y” to the Relief from Disabilities question in CJIS/NICS. 

Guardianship 

Section 1202.201 of the Estates Code permits a person whose guardianship was terminated 

because the person’s capacity was completely restored to file an application with the court that 

created the guardianship for an order requesting the removal of the person’s disability to 

purchase a firearm. Section 1202.201 provides detailed information about the proceeding that 

must be held, and the findings required to restore a person’s right to purchase a firearm. If all 

requirements are met and an order granting relief from disability is entered by the court, the 

individual’s NICS record may be cancelled through CJIS/NICS. To complete the record cancellation 

in a case in which a proceeding has been held and all appropriate findings are entered in the 

record, answer “Y” to the Relief from Disabilities question. 

Canceling a Record in the CJIS/NICS Database 

If an individual in the CJIS/NICS database has had his/her right to obtain or possess a firearm 

restored through the required court hearing and order, that individual’s entry in the CJIS/NICS 

database can be cancelled. Follow the instructions in the NICS Indices Entry (NIE) User Guide to 

cancel NICS transactions. To complete the record cancellation, a response is required to the 

“Relief from Disabilities” question. Because the individual’s rights were restored through the 

hearing process, select “Y.” 

If a record was entered into the database in error (for example, a guardianship of a minor was 

entered), the incorrectly entered record can be cancelled through the NICS Indices record 

cancellation process. In this instance, enter “N” to the Relief from Disabilities question because 

the record is being deleted because it was entered in error rather than being removed as the 

result of a relief from disability order. 
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Additional Questions 
 

For questions about what type of cases to report, contact Research and Court Services, Office of Court 

Administration, at court.services@txcourts.gov or 512-463-2417. 

 

For NICS Reporting questions and record validation, contact your CJIS Field Auditor directly or the CJIS 
Field Audit Unit: CJISJJIS@dps.texas.gov  

 

For questions about CJIS access and ORIs, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety- EDR Unit, at 

GRP_CJIS_SITE@dps.texas.gov. 

Appendix A—Sample Mental Health Information Sheet  
 

CAUSE NO. <CAUSE #> 

THE STATE OF TEXAS 

FOR THE BEST INTEREST 

AND PROTECTION OF 

§ IN THE <COURT NAME> 

<PROPOSED PATIENT INITIALS> § OF 

THE PROPOSED PATIENT § <COUNTY NAME> COUNTY, TEXAS 

 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

1.  Applicant’s name:   

 Address:  

 Telephone:                                                                                                                            

 Cell number:    

2.  Patient’s Unit (if applicable):    

3.  Relationship, if any, to patient:    

4.  Patient’s gender:    

5.  Patient’s age and date of birth:    

6.  Patient’s DL# or State-issued ID: (either give the number or indicate with your initials that you were unable to ID) 

                         Number:   OR Initial if unable to ID:    

7.  Patient’s SSN#: (either give the number or indicate with your initials that you were unable to get the SSN) 

                         Number:   OR Initial if unable to get SSN:    

8.  Patient’s race:  Caucasian  Black  Hispanic  Asian 

          Two or More Races        Unknown 

9.  If patient is a minor or the subject of a guardianship, the parent(s), managing  conservator(s), 

or guardian(s), and their address for service: 

             

10. Who is responsible for costs and expenses? Please complete this section. 

 (    ) Hospital; indicate name of hospital:          

mailto:court.services@txcourts.gov
mailto:CJISJJIS@dps.texas.gov
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 (    )  Healthcare District   (    ) <COUNTY NAME> County 

 (    ) Other County**:                             

 If a County other than <COUNTY NAME> is guaranteeing costs, give County name above, and add the following 

information below (1) Person you spoke with, (2) Court and court number represented, (3) telephone number, and (4) 

when contacted. **Attach Paperwork from Transferring County** 
 
 

 

11.  Physician/Psychiatrist, if any, treating patient:     

12.  Prior psychiatric/chemical dependency history:     
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13.  The proposed patient has the following pending criminal charges: 

 

14.  Current temporary expiration date: or extended expiration date:    

15. How entered hospital? Check one, and attach required back-up: 

 Emergency without warrant (attach Mental Health Unit copies) 

 Emergency with a warrant (attach copy) 

 Voluntary 

If originally voluntary and facility is now seeking a commitment, check appropriate reason, 

and attach required back-up: 
 Written request for release (attach copy) 

 Absent without authorization (attach letter from treating physician) 

 Unable to consent to treatment (attach letter from treating physician) 

 Refuses to consent to treatment (physician must complete item 10 on physician’s 

certificate) 

16. Date, time, and circumstances of emergency detention: 
 
 

 

 

17. Acts leading to application: 
 
 

 

 

 

18. Witnesses’ names, addresses, and phone numbers: 
 
 

 

          Family contact:    
 
 

19. What mental health facility or chemical dependency treatment facility is proposed patient 

 going to? If private facility, consent must be obtained (attach letter of confirmation): 
 

20. Person or agency who is to transport patient: 
 
 

 

         SIGNED AND DATED THIS             day of    , 20  . 
 

             

    TEXAS COLLEGE OF PROBATE JUDGES March 2020 Applicant 
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Appendix B—Sample Guardianship NICS Information Sheet 

Guardianship Reporting Form (Sec. 411.052, Government Code) 

Cause No.        

Name of Ward:             

Date of Birth:          

Gender (circle):   Male   Female 

Race:           

Social Security #:         

TX Driver’s License/ID #:        

Date Guardianship Granted:        

Type of Guardianship (circle all that apply): 

  Temporary   Permanent 

  Person Only   Estate Only   Person & Estate 

Full guardianship (no rights retained by ward)?  Yes  No 

Limited guardianship (some rights retained by ward)? Yes  No 

  If yes, rights retained by ward: 

  Driving?  Yes  No 

  Voting?   Yes  No 

  Other (describe):        

Basis for Guardianship (circle all that apply): 

 Mental retardation  Autism   Mental Illness  Stroke 

 Alzheimer’s Dementia  Head Injury  Parkinson’s Disease 

 Other (explain)            

 

 

The information requested above is necessary for compliance with Government Code, Sec. 411.052, Federal Firearm Reporting.  This 

information is confidential and will not be made part of the Court’s file in the referenced guardianship matter. 

 

 

 

 

 
 

TEXAS COLLEGE OF PROBATE JUDGES March 2020 


