IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 15-9092

MEMBERSHIP OF THE TEXAS ACCESS TO JUSTICE COMMISSION

In 2001, this Court created the Texas Access to Justice Commission to develop and implement policy initiatives designed to expand access to and enhance the quality of justice in civil legal matters for low-income Texas residents.

The Commission consists of seventeen members appointed for staggered three-year terms. The Commission was structured to reflect the diverse segments of the statewide access to justice partnership, as well as the diverse ethnic, legal and geographic communities in Texas.

Access to justice for all is a societal issue that must be addressed by the entire community, with the legal profession providing leadership on this issue. As the Commission's efforts have dramatically increased, so has the need for an expanded Commission to lead the efforts.

The Court, having considered the need for an expanded Commission, **HEREBY ORDERS**:

- 1. The Texas Access to Justice Commission consists of eighteen members, including seventeen previously existing positions and one new position for an at-large attorney representative. The new position is appointed by this Court and will serve a three-year term.
- 2. The Honorable Ken Wise, 14th Court of Appeals, Houston, is hereby appointed to the new at-large attorney position on the Texas Access to Justice Commission for a term of three years to expire May 31, 2018.

SIGNED this 9th day of June, 2015.

Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice
Janu Ben
Paul W. Green, Justice
Phil Johnson, Justice On P. Willett
Don R. Willett, Justice
Eva M. Guzman, Justice
Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice
Jeffrey S. Hoyer, Justice
John P. Devine, Justice
Jeffrey V. Brown, Justice