IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 05-9122

CERTIFICATION OF PERSONS
AUTHORIZED TO SERVE PROCESS UNDER
RULES 103 AND 536(a), TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE
(AMENDED)

Rules 103 and 536(a), Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, permit, among others, any person who
is not a party to or interested in the outcome of a suit and who is certified under order of the Supreme
Court of Texas to serve process. To improve the standards for persons authorized to serve process
and to reduce the disparity among Texas civil courts for approving persons to serve process,

IT IS ORDERED:

1. To be certified to serve process under Rules 103 and 536(a), Texas Rules of Civil
Procedure, a person must file with the Clerk of the Supreme Court a sworn application in the form
prescribed by the Court. The application must contain a statement that the applicant has not been
convicted of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude. Form applications may be
obtained in the Clerk’s office or on the Supreme Court website. The application must include a
criminal history record obtained within the preceding 90 days from the Texas Department of Public
Safety in Austin, Texas, and a certificate from the director of a civil process service course approved
as provided by this Order that the applicant has completed the approved course within the prior year.

2. Applications will be reviewed and approved or rejected for good cause by the Texas
Process Service Review Board, appointed by the Court. The Board will notify each applicant of its
action, and for each person certified, will post on a list maintained on the Supreme Court website
the person’s name and an assigned identification number. The Office of Court Administration will
provide clerical assistance to the Board.



3. Certification is effective for three years from the last day of the month it issues.
4. Certification may be revoked for good cause, including a conviction of a felony or
of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude. A person suffering such a conviction must

immediately notify the Clerk of the Supreme Court and cease to serve process.

5. A person must not represent that he or she is certified under this Order if certification
has not been approved, has expired, or has been revoked.

6. The following civil process service courses are approved:

a. the course now offered by the Houston Young Lawyer’s Association, for
certification for every state court;

b. the course now offered by the Texas Process Server’s Association, for
certification except for courts in Harris County;

c. a course offered by an academy or other provider licensed or approved by
the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, for certification for every state court.

7. A civil process service course that meets the following requirements, similar to
the courses approved in paragraph 6, may apply to the Board for approval by the Court:

a. a minimum of 7 hours of monitored instruction;
b. instruction on applicable laws, including the historical development of the

law, with emphasis on practical training of proper service and return of service (for
example, using sample returns depicting both correct and incorrect returns of service),

C. instruction on a process server’s exposure to criminal lability;
d. instruction on unique issues involving family law cases; and
€. basic competence testing upon completion of the course.
8. No non-governmental organization that offers an approved civil process service

course may make membership in the organization a prerequisite to taking the course.
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9. The effective date of this Order is July 1, 2005. A person who on that date is shown
to have met the requirements for an approved private process server already in place in Dallas
County, Denton County, or Harris County is considered to have been certified under this Order as
if the person had complied with this Order on that date. Persons meeting the Harris County
requirements will be certified to serve for all Texas courts. Persons meeting the requirements set
for Dallas or Denton counties will be certified to serve all courts except for courts in Harris County.

SIGNED AND ENTERED this __29th _ day of June, 2005.
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