
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 13-9022

FINAL APPROVAL OF RULES FOR DISMISSALS

AND EXPEDITED ACTIONS

ORDERED that:

1. hi accordance with the Act ofMay 25, 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., ch. 203, §§ 1.01, 2.01

(HB 274), amending section 22.004 ofthe Texas Government Code, Rules 91 a and 169 ofthe Texas

Rules ofCivil Procedure and Rule 902(10)(c) ofthe Texas Rules ofEvidence are adopted as follows,

and Rules 47 and 190 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure are amended as follows.

2. By Order dated November 13, 2012, in Misc. Docket No. 12-9191, the Court

promulgated Rules of Civil Procedure 91a and 169 and Rule of Evidence 902(10)(c), as well as

amendments to Rules ofCivil Procedure 47 and 190, and invited public comment. Following public

comment, the Court made revisions to the rules. This Order incorporates those revisions and

contains the final version of the rules, effective March 1, 2013.

3. Rule of Civil Procedure 91a and Rule of Evidence 902(10)(c) apply to all cases,

including those pending on March 1, 2013. Rule of Civil Procedure 169 and the amendments to

Rules ofCivil Procedure 47 and 190 apply to cases filed on or after March 1,2013, except for those

filed in justice court.

4. This Order also promulgates a revised civil case information sheet required by Rule

78a of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, in accordance with the amendments to Rule of Civil

Procedure 47. The revised case information sheet applies to cases filed on or after March 1, 2013.

5. The Clerk is directed to:

a. file a copy of this Order with the Secretary of State;

b. cause a copy ofthis Order to be mailed to each registered member ofthe State

Bar of Texas by publication in the Texas Bar Journal;



c. send a copy of this Order to each elected member of the Legislature; and

d. submit a copy of the Order for publication in the Texas Register.

Dated: February 12, 2013

Misc. Docket No. 13-3 H 2 2 Pa8e 2



Misc. Docket No. 13- 8 0 2 2

liJLA
Wallace B. Jefferson, Chief Jusfti

Nathan L. Hecht, Justice

Paul W. Green, Justice

Phil Johnson, Justice

ud—■

Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice

Page 3



DISMISSAL RULE

New Rule 91a, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure:

91a. Dismissal of Baseless Causes of Action

91a.l Motion and Grounds. Except in a case brought under the Family Code or a case

governed by Chapter 14 of the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code, a party may

move to dismiss a cause of action on the grounds that it has no basis in law or fact. A

cause of action has no basis in law if the allegations, taken as true, together with

inferences reasonably drawn from them, do not entitle the claimant to the relief sought. A

cause of action has no basis in fact if no reasonable person could believe the facts

pleaded.

91a.2 Contents of Motion. A motion to dismiss must state that it is made pursuant to this rule,

must identify each cause of action to which it is addressed, and must state specifically the

reasons the cause of action has no basis in law, no basis in fact, or both.

91a.3 Time for Motion and Ruling. A motion to dismiss must be:

(a) filed within 60 days after the first pleading containing the challenged cause of

action is served on the movant;

(b) filed at least 21 days before the motion is heard; and

(c) granted or denied within 45 days after the motion is filed.

91a.4 Time for Response. Any response to the motion must be filed no later than 7 days

before the date of the hearing.

91a.5 Effect of Nonsuit or Amendment; Withdrawal of Motion.

(a) The court may not rule on a motion to dismiss if, at least 3 days before the date of

the hearing, the respondent files a nonsuit of the challenged cause of action, or the

movant files a withdrawal of the motion.

(b) If the respondent amends the challenged cause of action at least 3 days before the

date of the hearing, the movant may, before the date of the hearing, file a
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withdrawal of the motion or an amended motion directed to the amended cause of

action.

(c) Except by agreement of the parties, the court must rule on a motion unless it has

been withdrawn or the cause of action has been nonsuited in accordance with (a)

or (b). In ruling on the motion, the court must not consider a nonsuit or

amendment not filed as permitted by paragraphs (a) or (b).

(d) An amended motion filed in accordance with (b) restarts the time periods in this

rule.

91a.6 Hearing; No Evidence Considered. Each party is entitled to at least 14 days' notice of

the hearing on the motion to dismiss. The court may, but is not required to, conduct an

oral hearing on the motion. Except as required by 91 a. 7, the court may not consider

evidence in ruling on the motion and must decide the motion based solely on the pleading

of the cause of action, together with any pleading exhibits permitted by Rule 59.

91a.7 Award of Costs and Attorney Fees Required. Except in an action by or against a

governmental entity or a public official acting in his or her official capacity or under color

of law, the court must award the prevailing party on the motion all costs and reasonable

and necessary attorney fees incurred with respect to the challenged cause of action in the

trial court. The court must consider evidence regarding costs and fees in determining the

award.

91a.8 Effect on Venue and Personal Jurisdiction. This rule is not an exception to the

pleading requirements of Rules 86 and 120a, but a party does not, by filing a motion to

dismiss pursuant to this rule or obtaining a ruling on it, waive a special appearance or a

motion to transfer venue. By filing a motion to dismiss, a party submits to the court's

jurisdiction only in proceedings on the motion and is bound by the court's ruling,

including an award of attorney fees and costs against the party.

91a.9 Dismissal Procedure Cumulative. This rule is in addition to, and does not supersede or

affect, other procedures that authorize dismissal.

Comment to 2013 change: Rule 91a is a new rule implementing section 22.004(g)

of the Texas Government Code, which was added in 2011 and calls for rules to

provide for the dismissal of causes of action that have no basis in law or fact on

motion and without evidence. A motion to dismiss filed under this rule must be

QA99
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ruled on by the court within 45 days unless the motion, pleading, or cause of

action is withdrawn, amended, or nonsuited as specified in 9 la. 5. If an amended

motion is filed in response to an amended cause of action in accordance with

91a.5(b), the court must rule on the motion within 45 days of the filing of the

amended motion and the respondent must be given an opportunity to respond to

the amended motion. The term "hearing" in the rule includes both submission

and an oral hearing. Attorney fees awarded under 91a.7 are limited to those

associated with challenged cause of action, including fees for preparing or

responding to the motion to dismiss.

RULES FOR EXPEDITED ACTIONS

Amendments to Rule 47, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure:

Rule 47. Claims for Relief

An original pleading which sets forth a claim for relief, whether an original petition,

counterclaim, cross-claim, or third party claim, shall contain;

(a) a short statement of the cause of action sufficient to give fair notice of the claim

involved;;

(b) in all claims for unliquidated damages only the a_statement that the damages sought are

within the jurisdictional limits of the court;;

(c) except in suits governed by the Family Code, a statement that the party seeks:

(1) only monetary relief of $ 100,000 or less, including damages of any kind,

penalties, costs, expenses, pre-judgment interest, and attorney fees; or

(2) monetary relief of $ 100.000 or less and non-monetary relief; or

(3) monetary relief over $ 100.000 but not more than $200.000; or

(4) monetary relief over $200.000 but not more than $ 1.000.000; or

(5) monetary relief over $ 1.000.000: and
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(cd) a demand for judgment for all the other relief to which the party deems himself

entitled.

Relief in the alternative or of several different types may be demanded; provided, further, that

upon special exception the court shall require the pleader to amend so as to specify the maximum

amount claimed. A party that fails to comply with (c) may not conduct discovery until the

party's pleading is amended to comply.

Comment to 2013 change: Rule 47 is amended to require a more specific

statement of the relief sought by a party. The amendment requires parties to plead

into or out of the expedited actions process governed by Rule 169, added to

implement section 22.004(h) of the Texas Government Code. Except in a in a suit

governed by the Family Code, the Property Code, the Tax Code, or Chapter 74 of

the Civil Practice & Remedies Code, a suit in which the original petition contains

the statement in paragraph (c)(l) is governed by the expedited actions process.

The further specificity in paragraphs (c)(2)-(5) is to provide information regarding

the nature of cases filed and does not affect a party's substantive rights.

New Rule 169, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure:

Rule 169. Expedited Actions

(a) Application.

(1) The expedited actions process in this rule applies to a suit in which all claimants,

other than counter-claimants, affirmatively plead that they seek only monetary

relief aggregating $100,000 or less, including damages of any kind, penalties,

costs, expenses, pre-judgment interest, and attorney fees.

(2) The expedited actions process does not apply to a suit in which a party has filed a

claim governed by the Family Code, the Property Code, the Tax Code, or Chapter

74 of the Civil Practice & Remedies Code.

(b) Recovery, hi no event may a party who prosecutes a suit under this rule recover a

judgment in excess of $ 100,000, excluding post-judgment interest.

(c) Removalfrom Process.

(1) A court must remove a suit from the expedited actions process:
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(A) on motion and a showing of good cause by any party; or

(B) if any claimant, other than a counter-claimant, files a pleading or an

amended or supplemental pleading that seeks any relief other than the

monetary relief allowed by (a)(l).

(2) A pleading, amended pleading, or supplemental pleading that removes a suit from

the expedited actions process may not be filed without leave of court unless it is

filed before the earlier of 30 days after the discovery period is closed or 30 days

before the date set for trial. Leave to amend may be granted only if good cause for

filing the pleading outweighs any prejudice to an opposing party.

(3) If a suit is removed from the expedited actions process, the court must reopen

discovery under Rule 190.2(c).

(d) Expedited Actions Process.

(1) Discovery. Discovery is governed by Rule 190.2.

(2) Trial Setting; Continuances. On any party's request, the court must set the case

for a trial date that is within 90 days after the discovery period in Rule 190.2(b)(l)

ends. The court may continue the case twice, not to exceed a total of 60 days.

(3) Time Limits for Trial. Each side is allowed no more than eight hours to complete

jury selection, opening statements, presentation of evidence, examination and

cross-examination of witnesses, and closing arguments. On motion and a

showing of good cause by any party, the court may extend the time limit to no

more than twelve hours per side.

(A) The term "side" has the same definition set out in Rule 233.

(B) Time spent on objections, bench conferences, bills of exception, and

challenges for cause to a juror under Rule 228 are not included in the time

limit.

(4) Alternative Dispute Resolution.
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(A) Unless the parties have agreed not to engage in alternative dispute

resolution, the court may refer the case to an alternative dispute resolution

procedure once, and the procedure must:

(i) not exceed a half-day in duration, excluding scheduling time;

(ii) not exceed a total cost of twice the amount of applicable civil filing

fees; and

(iii) be completed no later than 60 days before the initial trial setting.

(B) The court must consider objections to the referral unless prohibited by

statute.

(C) The parties may agree to engage in alternative dispute resolution other

than that provided for in (A).

(5) Expert Testimony. Unless requested by the party sponsoring the expert, a party

may only challenge the admissibility of expert testimony as an objection to

summary judgment evidence under Rule 166a or during the trial on the merits.

This paragraph does not apply to a motion to strike for late designation.

Comments to 2013 change:

1. Rule 169 is a new rule implementing section 22.004(h) of the Texas

Government Code, which was added in 2011 and calls for rules to promote the

prompt, efficient, and cost-effective resolution of civil actions when the amount in

controversy does not exceed $100,000.

2. The expedited actions process created by Rule 169 is mandatory; any

suit that falls within the definition of 169(a)(l) is subject to the provisions of the

rule.

3. In determining whether there is good cause to remove the case from the

process or extend the time limit for trial, the court should consider factors such as

whether the damages sought by multiple claimants against the same defendant

exceed in the aggregate the relief allowed under 169(a)(l), whether a defendant

has filed a compulsory counterclaim in good faith that seeks relief other than that
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allowed under 169(a)(l), the number of parties and witnesses, the complexity of

the legal and factual issues, and whether an interpreter is necessary.

4. Rule 169(b) specifies that a party who prosecutes a suit under this rule

cannot recover a judgment in excess of $100,000. Thus, the rule in Greenhalgh v.

Service Lloyds Ins. Co., 787 S.W.2d 938 (Tex. 1990), does not apply if a jury

awards damages in excess of $100,000 to the party. The limitation in 169(b) does

not apply to a counter-claimant that seeks relief other than that allowed under

5. The discovery limitations for expedited actions are set out in Rule

190.2, which is also amended to implement section 22.004(h) of the Texas

Government Code.

Amendments to Rule 190, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure:

Rule 190. Discovery Limitations

190.2. Discovery Control Plan — Suits Involving $50,000 or Less Expedited Actions and

Divorces Involving $50,000 or Less (Level 1)

(a) Application. This subdivision applies to:

(1) any suit in which all plaintiffs affirmatively plead that they seek only monetary

rciici ag^icgating 4OU,uuu or less, excluding costs, prc-judgiiiciit interest and

attorneys' fees any suit that is governed by the expedited actions process in Rule

169:and

(2) unless the parties agree that Rule 190.3 should apply or the court orders a

discovery control plan under Rule 190.4, any suit for divorce not involving

children in which a party pleads that the value of the marital estate is more than

zero but not more than $50,000.

\\)) LiiXccptioiis. 1 ins subdivision docs not cipply it"

y 1) tlic parties 3.^1 cc tncit ivulc lyu.J sliould 3.pply^
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(2) the court orders a discovery control plan under Rule 190.4; or

y-j) any party rues a pleading or an amended or supplemental pleading tiiat sccks reliei

otlier tlian tnat to wnicn tins subdivision applies.

r\ pleading, amended pleading ^including trial amendment^, or supplemental pleading tnat

renders this subdivision no longer applicable may not be filed without leave of court less

man *tO days Deiorc xne date set ior tuai. .Leave may De granted only n good cause tor

tiling tiie pleading outweigiis any prejudice to an opposing party.

(cb) Limitations. Discovery is subject to the limitations provided elsewhere in these rules and

to the following additional limitations:

(1) Discovery Period. All discovery must be conducted during the discovery period,

which begins when the suit is filed and continues until 30 days before the date set

for trial 180 days after the date the first request for discovery of any kind is served

on a party.

(2) Total Time for Oral Depositions. Each party may have no more than six hours in

total to examine and cross-examine all witnesses in oral depositions. The parties

may agree to expand this limit up to ten hours in total, but not more except by

court order. The court may modify the deposition hours so that no party is given

unfair advantage.

(3) Interrogatories. Any party may serve on any other party no more than 25-15

written interrogatories, excluding interrogatories asking a party only to identify or

authenticate specific documents. Each discrete subpart of an interrogatory is

considered a separate interrogatory.

(4) Requests for Production. Any party may serve on any other party no more than 15

written requests for production. Each discrete subpart of a request for production

is considered a separate request for production.

(5) Requests for Admissions. Any party may serve on any other party no more than

15 written requests for admissions. Each discrete subpart of a request for

admission is considered a separate request for admission.

(6) Requests for Disclosure. In addition to the content subject to disclosure under

Rule 194.2. a party may request disclosure of all documents, electronic
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information, and tangible items that the disclosing party has in its possession,

custody, or control and may use to support its claims or defenses. A request for

disclosure made pursuant to this paragraph is not considered a request for

production.

(dc) Reopening Discovery. When the filing of a pleading or an amended or supplemental

pleading renders this subdivision no longer applicable. If a suit is removed from the

expedited actions process in Rule 169 or. in a divorce, the filing of a pleading renders this

subdivision no longer applicable, the discovery period reopens, and discovery must be

completed within the limitations provided in Rules 190.3 or 190.4, whichever is

applicable. Any person previously deposed may be redeposed. On motion of any party,

the court should continue the trial date if necessary to permit completion of discovery.

190.5. Modification of Discovery Control Plan

The court may modify a discovery control plan at any time and must do so when the interest of

justice requires. Unless a suit is governed by the expedited actions process in Rule 169. ffhe

court must allow additional discovery:

(a) related to new, amended or supplemental pleadings, or new information disclosed in a

discovery response or in an amended or supplemental response, if:

(1) the pleadings or responses were made after the deadline for completion of

discovery or so nearly before that deadline that an adverse party does not have an

adequate opportunity to conduct discovery related to the new matters, and

(2) the adverse party would be unfairly prejudiced without such additional discovery;

(b) regarding matters that have changed materially after the discovery cutoff if trial is set or

postponed so that the trial date is more than three months after the discovery period ends.

Comment to 2013 change: Rule 190 is amended to implement section 22.004(h)

of the Texas Government Code, which calls for rules to promote the prompt,

efficient, and cost-effective resolution of civil actions when the amount in

controversy does not exceed $100,000. Rule 190.2 now applies to expedited

actions, as defined by Rule 169. Rule 190.2 continues to apply to divorces not

involving children in which the value of the marital estate is not more than
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$50,000, which are otherwise exempt from the expedited actions process.

Amended Rule 190.2(b) ends the discovery period 180 days after the date the first

discovery request is served; imposes a fifteen limit maximum on interrogatories,

requests for production, and requests for admission; and allows for additional

disclosures. Although expedited actions are not subject to mandatory additional

discovery under amended Rule 190.5, the court may still allow additional

discovery if the conditions of Rule 190.5(a) are met.

New Rule 902(10)(c), Texas Rules of Evidence:

Rule 902. Self-Authentication

(10) Business Records Accompanied by Affidavit.

(c) Medical expenses affidavit. A party may make prima facie proof of medical expenses by

affidavit that substantially complies with the following form:

Affidavit of Records Custodian of

STATE OF TEXAS §

§
COUNTY OF §

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared , who, being by

me duly sworn, deposed as follows:

Mv name is . I am of sound mind and capable ofmaking this affidavit, and

personally acquainted with the facts herein stated.
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I am a custodian of records for . Attached to this affidavit are records that

provide an itemized statement of the service and the charge for the service that

provided to on . The attached records are a part of this affidavit.

The attached records are kept by in the regular course ofbusiness, and it was

the regular course of business of for an employee or representative of ,

with knowledge of the service provided, to make the record or to transmit information to be

included in the record. The records were made in the regular course of business at or near the

time or reasonably soon after the time the service was provided. The records are the original or a

duplicate of the original.

The services provided were necessary and the amount charged for the services was

reasonable at the time and place that the services were provided.

The total amount paid for the services was $ and the amount currently unpaid but

which has a right to be paid after any adjustments or credits is $ .

Affiant

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on the day of

Notary Public, State of Texas

Notary's printed name: My commission expires:

Comment to 2013 Change: Rule 902(10)(c) is added to provide a form affidavit

for proof of medical expenses. The affidavit is intended to comport with Section

41.0105 of the Civil Practice and Remedies Code, which allows evidence of only

those medical expenses that have been paid or will be paid, after any required

credits or adjustments. See Haygood v. Escabedo, 356 S.W.3d 390 (Tex. 2011).

Misc. Docket No. 13- Page 14



CIVIL CASE INFORMATION SHEET (REV.2/13*

CAUSE NUMBER (FOR CLERK USE OMY): COURT (FOR CLERK USE ONLY):

STYLED
(e.g., John Smith v. All American Insurance Co; In re Mary Ann Jones; In the Matter of the Estate of George Jackson)

A civil case information sheet must be completed and submitted when an original petition or application is filed to initiate a new civil, family law, probate, or mental
health case or when a post-judgment petition for modification or motion for enforcement is filed in a family law case. The information should be the best available at
the time of filing.

L Contact information for person completing case information sheet; Names of parties in case: Person or entity completing sheet is:

Name: Email: Plaintiff(s)/Petitioners):

Address: Telephone:

D Attorney for Plaintiff/Petitioner
D/Vo Se Plaintiff/Petitioner
DTitle IV-D Agency
D Other:

City/State/Zip: Fax:
Defendant s)/ Respondent s):

Signature: State Bar No:

Additional Parties in Child Support Case:

Custodial Parent:

Non-Custodial Parent:

Presumed Father:

[Attach additional page as necessary to list all parties]

2, Indicate case type, or identify the most important issue in the case (select only />:

Civil Family Law

Contract Injury or Damage Real Property Marriage Relationship
Post-judgment Actions

(non-Title IV-D)
Debt/Contract

D Consumer/DTP A
D Debt/Contract
I I Fraud/Misrepresentation
DOther Debt/Contract:

Foreclosure
DHome Equity—Expedited
D Other Foreclosure

D Franchise
D Insurance
D Landlord/Tenant
I I Non-Competition
l~~l Partnership
D Other Contract:

D Assault' Battery
D Construction
D Defamation
Malpractice

l~1 Accounting
D Legal
D Medical
CH Other Professional

Liability:

n Motor Vehicle Accident
n Premises
Product Liability

[~~l Asbestos/ Silica
D Other Product Liability

List Product:

ther Injury or Damage:

I I Eminent Domain/
Condemnation

D Partition
D Quiet Title
EH Trespass to Try Title
DOther Property:

n Annulment
n Declare Marriage Void
Divorce

D With Children
QNo Children

CH Enforcement
D Modification—Custody
D Modification—Other

Title IV-D
D Enforcement/Modification
D Paternity
DReciprocals(UIFSA)
dl Support Order

Related to Criminal
Matters Other Family Law Parent-Child Relationship

D Expunction
n Judgment Nisi
D Non-Disclosure
I I Seizure/Forfeiture
n Writ of Habeas Corpus

Pre-indictment
D Other:

D Enforce Foreign
Judgment

H] Habeas Corpus
d] Name Change
D Protective Order
n Removal of Disabilities

of Minority
D Other:

Employment
l~l Discrimination
PI Retaliation
[""[Termination
n Workers' Compensation
DOther Employment:

[H Administrative Appeal
F~l Antitrust/Unfair

Competition
DCode Violations
n Foreign Judgment
D Intellectual Property

Other Civil
CH Lawyer Discipline
CH Perpetuate Testimony
[~~l Securities/Stock
DTortious Interference
DOther:

n Adoption/ Adoption with
Termination

D Chi Id Protection
EH Child Support
n Custody or Visitation
DGestational Parenting
CH Grandparent Access
("I Parentage/Paternity
d]Termination of Parental

Rights
DOther Parent-Child:

Tax Probate & Mental Health
DTax Appraisal
DTax Delinquency
D Other Tax

Probate/Wills/Intestate Administration
dl Dependent Administration
C] Independent Administration
CH Other Estate Proceedings

n Guardianship—Adult
C] Guardianship—Minor
D Mental Health
D Other:

3, Indicate procedure or remedy, if applicable (may select more than I):
0 Appeal from Municipal or Justice Court
fl Arbitration-related
n Attachment
D Bill of Review
1 ICertiorari
QClass Action

C] Declaratory Judgment
d] Garnishment
n Inteipleader
HH License
n Mandamus
(~l Post-judgment

DPrejudgment Remedy
n Protective Order
l~i Receiver
I [Sequestration
C]Temporary Restraining Order/Injunction

4. Indicate damages sought (do not select if it is a family law case):
DLess than $100,000, including damages of any kind, penalties, costs, expenses, pre-judgment interest, and attorney fees
DLess than SI00,000 and non-monetary relief
DOver SI00, 000 but not more than S200,000
DOver $200,000 but not more than $1,000,000
DOver $1,000,000


