
Misc. Docket No. 98- 9104

ORDER

of the

Supreme Court of Texas

Revised Operating Policy for

Collecting the Attorney Occupation Tax

The Supreme Court of Texas hereby adopts the attached revised

Internal Operating Policy for Collection of the Attorney Occupation
Tax.

In Chambers, this c3^ day of JU^ Z, 1998.

Raul A. Gonzalez, Justice

Priscilla R. Owen, Justice



Debol'ah G. Hankinson, Justice

Misc . Docket No. 98- 9104



STATE BAR OF TEXAS

Attorney Occupation Tax

Internal Operating Policy

1. Every member of the State Bar of Texas is subject to the occupational tax except

for those who apply to the following exemptions:

A)

B)

C)

D)

E)

F)

G)

H)

70 years of age or older;

Inactive status under the rules governing the State Bar of Texas;

Out of state attorneys who are not practicing law in Texas;

Judges - Ask them to specify type (e.g., 53rd District);

Federal and State employees (specify the name of the agency);

City, County, and District attorneys who do not have a private practice that

accounts for more than 50% of their time (specify city, county, or district);

An employee of a 501(c)(3) or 501(c)(6) nonprofit corporation who is

prohibited from private practice;

Exempt from the MCLE requirements because of non-practicing status as

defined by the State Bar.

II. To establish an exemption from the occupational tax would require notification in

writing on the letterhead of the agency. It is the attorney's responsibility to inform

the Clerk of the Supreme Court when the exemption is no longer applicable.

1



III. The tax rate is $200.00 per year made payable to the State Treasurer due on or

before June 01 of the tax year. The tax is prorated for attorneys licensed to practice

law in Texas after June 30 of a tax year, whose licenses are reactivated after that

date, or whose exemptions are no longer applicable at the amount of $16.67 per

month through May 31 of the tax year. No partial payments are accepted. All prior

balances must be paid in full before a current balance will be accepted for those

members eligible to practice law in Texas. Members not practicing law may submit

a notarized statement attesting as such as an exception from the tax for prior years,

but must qualify for an exemption for the current year. Members requesting inactive

status must pay prior balances due before inactive status will be granted

IV. A post office box will be set up for receipt of all tax payments to be processed by the

State Treasury's lock box service. Any items that the lock box cannot process will

be sent to.the State Bar Membership Department for review and processing. The

State Treasury's Items Processing Division will provide the State Bar of Texas

Membership Department with a daily magnetic tape of all payments received and

deposited for posting to the members' records. The State Bar will post any

payments received to an outstanding balance if applicable. The State Treasury's

office will notify the State Bar Membership Department of return check items that

need to be addressed.

V. On May 01, or on the first working day following May 01 if May 01 falls on a

weekend, the Clerk will mail statements to each member of the State Bar of Texas,
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except for those who apply to the following exemptions:

A) 70 years of age or older;

B) Inactive status under the rules governing the State Bar of Texas;

H) Exempt from the MCLE requirements because of non-practicing status as

defined by the State Bar.

The mailing will include a tax statement, and a return envelope.

June 11 The Court has adopted a "mail" rule for the receipt of tax

payments. Per the attached memo dated 06/19/96, we will

accept a tax payment if the payment bears a post mark that is

on or before the last day to pay. Payments processed through

the State Treasury's lock box service will continue to be

accepted through the tenth day following the due date and will

be assumed that they were mailed and post marked on or

before the due date. Thereafter the tenth day, if the tax

payment has not been received or an exemption report filed,

a 5% penalty will be added to the tax due; however, the

penalty will not be billed until August 01. The burden of proof

will be on the sender to show evidence that payment was

mailed and post marked on or before the due date.

July 11 If the tax is not received or an exemption report established
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within 40 days after the day on which the'tax or report is due,

an additional 5% penalty of the tax will be added.

August 01 The Clerk, through the State Bar of Texas Membership

Department, will notify the member of delinquency and the

penalties due. The notice will caution that delinquent taxes

draw interest beginning 60 days from the due date. The notice

will further caution the member of suspension from the practice

of law for failure to complete this obligation within 30 days after

the date of our notice.

Delinquent taxes will start to draw 12% simple interest from

August 11, however, interest accruing after that date will not

be charged up to an amount not to exceed $2.94, provided

payment is received before September 1 and there is no other

outstanding balance.

September 11 If on September 11 the Clerk has not received all taxes,

penalties and interest accrued due to late payment, the

member shall automatically be suspended from the practice of

law. The Clerk will notify the member of suspension and the

balance due for reinstatement.

VI. When a member suspended for nonpayment of the tax remits the tax, penalties,

and interest accrued due to late payment, the suspension will be lifted and the
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member restored to former status as long as the member has no other

administrative or disciplinary sanctions against his or her law license.

Reinstatement shall not affect any proceedings for discipline of the member for

professional misconduct.

VII. Inquiries concerning the attorney occupation tax should be addressed to the State

Bar Membership Department. Unresolved difficulties may be addressed to the

Supreme Court of Texas in writing.

revised 4-28-98
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