
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS 

 

════════════════════ 

Misc. Docket No. 16-9158 

════════════════════ 

 

════════════════════════════════════════════════════ 

APPROVAL OF AMENDMENTS TO RULE XVIII OF THE  

RULES GOVERNING ADMISSION TO THE BAR OF TEXAS  

════════════════════════════════════════════════════ 

 

ORDERED that: 

 

1. Rule XVIII of the Rules Governing Admission to the Bar of Texas is amended as follows, 

effective immediately. 

 

2. The Clerk is directed to: 

 

a. file a copy of this order with the Secretary of State; 

 

b. cause a copy of this order to be mailed to each registered member of the   

 State Bar of Texas by publication in the Texas Bar Journal; 

 

c. send a copy of this order to each elected member of the Legislature; and 

 

d. submit a copy of the order for publication in the Texas Register. 

  

     

 

Dated: October 18, 2016   

 

    

  

       

 

 

 

 



Misc. Docket No. 16-9158    Page 2 

 

        

      Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice  

 

 

        

      Paul W. Green, Justice 

 

 

        

      Phil Johnson, Justice 

 

 

        

      Don R. Willett, Justice 

 

 

        

      Eva M. Guzman, Justice 

 

 

        

      Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice 

 

 

        

      Jeffrey S. Boyd, Justice 

 

 

        

      John P. Devine, Justice 

 

  

        

      Jeffrey V. Brown, Justice 

 

 
 

  



 

1 
 

Rule XVIII  

Fees 
 

(a) The following provisions shall govern the fees charged by the Board: 

 

FEES RELATING TO DECLARATIONS 

Declaration Investigation Fee      $150 

Fingerprint Card Processing Fee     $  40 

$190 

 

Late Filing Fee       $150 

Fee for Check Returned for Insufficient Funds   $  25  

 

  

FEES RELATING TO ELIGIBILITY & EXAMINATIONS 

 

Texas Law Student: 

 $150  Application Fee 

 95  Examination Fee 

 75    55 Investigation Fee 

         $320   300 

 

Out-of-State Law Student: 

 $150  Application Fee 

 40  Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 

 95   150 Examination Fee 

           150  Investigation Fee 

         $435   490 

 

Attorneys Licensed in another State: 

 $700   Application Fee 

  40   Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 

150  Examination Fee 

150   Investigation Fee 

       $1,040 

 

Attorneys Qualified for Admission Without Examination Under Rule XIII: 

$700  Application Fee 

      40   Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 

  150  Investigation Fee 

            $890 

 

Foreign Nation Attorney – Texas Bar Exam Applicant only: 

  $700   Application Fee 

    40   Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 
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    150   Examination Fee 

  150   Investigation Fee 

  100  Foreign Nation Inquiry Fee 

         $1,140 

 

Foreign Nation Attorney – Concurrent Texas Bar Exam and Foreign Legal Consultant 

Applications: 

  $700  Application Fee 

   150 Foreign Legal Consultation Supplemental Processing Fee 

      40   Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 

  150   Examination Fee 

  150  Investigation Fee 

  100   Foreign Nation Inquiry Fee 

         $1,290 

 

Re-application for Examination: 

$150  Re-application Fee 

    95   Examination Fee 

    75   Investigation Fee on Re-Application 

$320 

 

Foreign Legal Consultant – Application only: 

  $700  Application Fee 

    40   Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 

  150   Investigation Fee 

  100   Foreign Nation Inquiry Fee 

            $990 

 

Foreign Legal Consultant Re-Application Fee: 

$150   Re-Application Fee 

  150   Supplemental Investigation Fee (every second renewal year only)  

$300   ($150 in alternate years) 

 

Supplemental Investigation (S.I.) Fee (as required under Rule IX             $150 

Fingerprint Card Processing Fee                 $  40 

            $190 

 

Military Attorney Application Fee (as required under Rule XXII)  $  25 

Military Attorney Renewal Application Fee (as required under Rule XXII) $  25 

 

Miscellaneous Fees 

 

Late Filing Fee        $150 

Fee for Check Returned for Insufficient Funds    $  25 

MBE Transfer Fee        $  25 

Application Deposit Fee1       $  30 

                                                           
1 One deposit fee shall be credited toward the filing fee if the application is filed within one (1) year of the date the 

deposit is received. 
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Incompleteness Fee2        $  75 

Laptop Examination Fee       $  50 

 

 (b) No refund or transfer of fees will be made in the event of the withdrawal of any 

Declaration or Application, nor in the event a determination is made by the Board that the 

Applicant or Declarant does not meet the requirements imposed under these Rules. 

 

(c) Any fee required under these Rules may be waived or lowered by the Board upon 

written request and proof of indigence. 
 

 

                                                           

 
2 This fee shall be imposed when a document (Declaration, Application, Supplemental investigation, etc.,) is received, 

for the second and subsequent times, which is determined to be incomplete (e.g., unanswered questions, not signed, 

not notarized, incorrect fees, etc.). 

 


