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Brady Handgun Violence Prevention
Act of 1993

* Requires states to report all Brady Act
disqualifiers (from purchasing or receiving a
firearm) to the federal criminal databases.

* Per 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(1-9), disqualifiers
include:
* Felony convictions

* Misdemeanor convictions of domestic
violence

e Under indictment/information where
punishment exceed 1 year

* Mental health involuntary inpatient
commitments

* Final protective orders against intimate
partner or his/her child

 Fugitives from justice
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Databases

* TCIC—Texas Crime Information Center
* Via Texas Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (TLETS)
* Provides responses within 12 seconds

* Links to NCIC so that Texas law enforcement officers know instantly
about stolen property, wanted persons, and protective orders
anywhere in the country

* lll—Interstate Identification Index; federal criminal history
database

e NCIC—National Crime Information Center

* NICS—National Instant Criminal Background Check System

e Checks available records in NCIC, Ill, and the NICS Index to determine
if prospective transferees are disqualified from receiving firearms
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The Judiciary’s Role in Reporting Criminal
Disqualifiers

CRIMINAL RECORDS FLOWCHART
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Reporting Criminal Record Disqualifiers

* Convicted Felons cannot possess firearm for 5 years after release from
confinement following conviction or release from community
supervision, parole, mandatory supervision, whichever is later. (3™
Degree Felony) (Penal Code Sec. 46.04)

e Law enforcement must report arrest to DPS within 7 days of arrest (Code
of Crim. Proc. Art. 66.252(e))

* Prosecutors/clerks must report filing decision/conviction to DPS within
30 days of the date the prosecutor/clerk receives the information (Code
of Crim. Proc. Art. 66.252(d))

 Governor Abbott Executive Order #8

* Requires CJD grant awards to contain commitment from counties/clerks to
report convictions within 7 business days by 1/1/20 and 5 business days by
1/1/21.
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The Judiciary’s Role in Reporting Mental
Health Disqualifiers

MENTAL HEALTH RECORDS FLOWCHART

MENTAL HEALTH RECORDS
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Reporting Mental Health
Record Disqualifiers

* Clerk must submit information to DPS within 30 days of the date the
court finds/orders the action that is a mental health disqualifier (Gov’t
Code Sec. 411.0521(a))

* Clerk must also submit information to DPS within 30 days of the date the
clerk receives an appellate court mandate reversing the mental health
disqualifier (Gov’s Code Sec. 411.052(d))
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Mental Health Commitments FY 2018

Modification
Cases on
Temporary

D' ocC k e t Mental Health Extended Mental Inpatient to Dutpatient to Total

SETVICES Health Services Outpatient Inpatient Cases
MNew Applications Filed 47 218 332 115 113 47,778
Orders for Protective Custody Signed 44417 — — — 44417
Hearings
Probable Cause Hearings Held 36,124 — — — 36,124
Release/Dismissal Prior to Final Hearing 32,159 20 9 15 32,203
Final Commitment Hearings Held 11674 173 9 9 11,8565

Other Information
Disposition at Final Hearing

Denied [Release) 3841 13 0 1 3,855

Granted (Commit)

inpatient » 7,107 207 17 — 7,331

Outpatient 357 42 —_ 12 411
Order to Authorize Psychoactive Medications Total
MNew Applications Filed 4 909
Dismissal Prior to Hearing 004
Hearings Held 3,824
Disposition at Hearing

Denied 120

Granted 3,699
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Improving Reporting of
Mental Health Records

* FY 2012-13 OCA received NICS Act Record Improvement
grants from U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice
Statistics (DOJ), to improve NICS reporting of Mental Health
Records.

* Texas Mental Health Records Submitted to NICS
* 10/1/11 - 168,384
*12/1/17 — 285,067

* 69% increase in the number of records submitted as clerks worked to ensure
historical and new records are reported.

«12/31/18 - 297,036
* 9/1/19 —-304,000
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Types of Protective Orders
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Reporting Protective Order Disqualifiers

* Clerks required to send family violence protective orders and
magistrate’s emergency protective orders to law
enforcement to enter order into CJIS no later than next
business day after ordered entered. (Family Code Sec.
85.042)

* Law enforcement must enter protective order into CJIS no
later than 3 business days after receipt of protective order.
(Family Code Sec. 86.0011)
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State Statutes regarding firearms &
domestic violence

A person subject to a protective order, including a magistrate’s emergency order
of protection, may not possess a firearm if he/she has received notice of the
order (unless the person is an active, sworn, full-time, paid peace officer). (Penal
Code Sec. 46.04(c)).

* Also a violation of condition of bond and new offense under Penal Code Sec. 25.07(a).

Court may prohibit person from possessing firearm in a protective order (Family
Code Sec. 85.022(b)(6)).

» Statute does not give court clear authority to prohibit person from possessing firearm in temporary ex
parte protective order — “court may direct a respondent to do or refrain from doing specific acts.” (Family
Code Sec. 83.001)

However, both protective order and temporary ex parte protective orders must
contain language in the order that states that it is unlawful for a person subject
to a protective order to possess a firearm or ammunition. (Family Code Sec.
85.026).

* This same warning must be on protective orders for victims of sexual assault, human trafficking, and
stalking. (Code Crim. Proc. 7A.06)

Magistrate issuing emergency protective order shall suspend license to carry a
handgun that is held by the defendant. (CCP 17.292(l))

In a protective order issued for victims of sexual assault, or abuse, stalking, or
trafficking under CCP 7A, the court may suspend license to carry a handgun held
by the defendant. (CCP 7A.05(c))
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State Statutes regarding Firearms &
Domestic Violence

* Convicted of domestic violence, including for dating partner, cannot possess firearm
for 5 years after release from confinement following conviction or release from
community supervision, parole, mandatory supervision, whichever is later. (Class A
misdemeanor) — Penal Code Sec. 46.04

* Court shall notify person convicted of domestic violence of the fact that it is
unlawful to possess or transfer firearm or ammunition. (Code Crim. Proc. Art.
42.0131)

* Before accepting a plea in a misdemeanor involving family violence, court shall
admonish defendant, orally or in writing, with specific language about unlawful
possession of firearm. (Code Crim. Proc. Art. 27.14(e))

« Citations issued for Class C offenses involving domestic violence are required to have
language warning of unlawful possession of firearm. (Code Crim. Proc. Art. 14.06(b))

* No law requires surrender of firearms or ammunition by domestic abusers who have
become prohibited from possessing firearms or ammunition under federal or state
law.
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Legislation from 85t Session

e SB 325 — Protective Order Registry

* Requires OCA, in consultation with DPS and the courts, to establish and
maintain a centralized Internet based registry for protective order
applications filed and protective orders issued in Texas, including a
magistrate’s order for emergency protection. Limited access by the public
if the victim opts in.

 HB 1528 — Family Violence Class C Appearances

* Requires Class C misdemeanants charged with offenses that involve
family violence to appear in person.

* Prior to 9/1, defendants could plea online or by mail and therefore, they
did not have to submit fingerprints that go to DPS.

* Because individuals were not required to appear in person, they were
]zca_lso not receiving proper notice that they were ineligible to possess
irearms.

 SB 1804 — Law Enforcement Access to DV Bond Conditions
(Vetoed)

* Would have provided law enforcement access to bond conditions for
domestic violence suspects.
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Areas for Improvement in Reporting

* Automation
* Computer system compatibility

* Case management system

* OCA received funding for FY 2020-21 for uniform case management
system focused on counties under 20K

e Lack of standardized forms and orders

* Inability to verify records in NICS

* NICS queries records from 3 databases, making it difficult for courts
and other agencies to verify the number of records available to the
system.

* Continued need for training on data entry
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