Dismissed and Opinion filed November 16, 2000.



## In The

## **Fourteenth Court of Appeals**

\_\_\_\_\_

NO. 14-99-00883-CR

\_\_\_\_\_

PATRICIA JOHNSON, Appellant

V.

THE STATE OF TEXAS, Appellee

On Appeal from the 232nd District Court Harris County, Texas Trial Court Cause No. 729,511

## OPINION

The trial court, after appellant pled guilty to the felony offense of engaging in organized crime, placed appellant on five years' deferred adjudication community supervision. Subsequently, the State filed a motion to adjudicate guilt. Appellant was adjudicated guilty of credit card abuse and sentenced to six months confinement in the Harris County Jail. In a motion for new trial, appellant challenged the voluntariness of her guilty plea. The trial court denied appellant's motion for new trial.

In appellant's first two points of error, she alleges a denial of her right to effective assistance of counsel as guaranteed by the United States and Texas Constitutions. In appellant's third point of error, she argues that the trial court abused its discretion in denying her motion for new trial. All of appellant's

arguments concern the voluntariness of her guilty plea at the time she received deferred adjudication. As a result, the State contends that we lack jurisdiction to hear appellant's complaints. We agree.

A defendant placed on deferred adjudication community supervision may raise issues relating to the original plea proceeding only in appeals taken when deferred adjudication is first imposed. *See Manuel v. State*, 944 S.W.2d 658, 661 (Tex. Crim. App. 1999). Appellant could have raised the voluntariness of her plea in an appeal from the order placing her on deferred adjudication. Her failure to do so precludes us from now hearing the merits of her complaints. *See Hanson v. State*, 11 S.W.3d 285, 288 (Tex. App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 1999, pet. ref'd).

Accordingly, we dismiss this appeal for want of jurisdiction.

/s/ Paul C. Murphy Chief Justice

Judgment rendered and Opinion filed November 16, 2000.

Panel consists of Chief Justice Murphy and Justices Amidei and Hudson.

Do Not Publish — TEX. R. APP. P. 47.3(b).