APPENDIX A

PROPOSED RULE 8a, TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE

8a. REFERRAL FEES

8a.1 Referral Fee Defined. A referral fee is a

8a.2

8a.3
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payment of money or anything of value:
(a) made by any person in consideration of:
(1) the referral of a client or case, or

(2) the solicitation of a client or a case by
any means that does not include the
name of lead counsel or lead counsel’s
law firm; and

(b) made to an attorney who does not, and is not
reasonably expected to, provide professional
services in the case:

(1) that are substantial; and

(2) for which the payment would be a
reasonable fee apart from the referral.

Disclosure. The attorney in charge for a party
must file with the court a notice disclosing every
referral fee paid or agreed to be paid with respect
to the party. The notice must:

(a) state the amount and date of each payment
made or agreed to be made:

(b) state the name, address, telephone number,
and state bar identification number of each
attorney to whom a payment has been made
or 1s to be made; and

(¢) state that the client has approved each such
payment or agreement.

Time for Disclosure. An attorney in charge must
make the disclosure required by Rule 8a.2 within
30 days of the attorney’s first appearance as
attorney in charge. Thereafter, an attorney in
charge must disclose any previously undisclosed
payment of a referral fee or agreement to pay a
referral within 30 days of the date the payment or
agreement is made.
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8a.4 Sanctions.

(a) Grounds for sanctions. The court must
impose just sanctions on an attorney if the
court finds that;

(1) the attorney intentionally failed to
make the disclosure required by Rule
8a.2; or

(2) the attorney divided or agreed to
divide a fee in violation of Rule 1.04
of the Texas Disciplinary Rules of
Professional Conduct.

(by  Unconscionable referral fee. A referral fee
is unconscionable within the meaning of
Rule 1.04 of the Texas Disciplinary Rules of
Professional Conduct if it exceeds $50,000
or 15% of the attorney fees for the party in
the case, whichever is less. A lesser referral
fee may also be determined to be
unconscionable in the circumstances in
which it is paid.

(¢) Sanctions imposed. 1f the court finds that
grounds for imposing sanctions on an
attorney exist, the court:

(1) must disqualify the attorney from
representing the party in the case
unless disqualification would unfairly
prejudice the party;

(2) may permit the party to void the
party’s agreement to retain the
attorney;

(3) may order the forfeiture of all fees for
the attorney in the case; and

(4) may impose other appropriate
sanctions in addition.

8a.5 Hcaring. The court must. on a party’s motion,

and may. on its own initiative, conduct an
evidentiary hearing to determine whether there has
been a violation of this rule.



