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Chapter 1

GENERAL

1.1 Obijective.

These rules are promulgated to provide a uniform system for the fair,
impartial and prompt disposition of matters properly before the County Courts

at law of Travis County. They are to be interpreted consistent with this objective.

1.2 Scope.

These rules govern all cases filed in the County Courts at Law of Travis
County, Texas. They are promulgated pursuant to Rule 3a, Texas Rules of Civil

Procedure.

1.3  Jurisdiction.
The County Courts at Law of Travis County hear:

(@)  Civil cases in which the amount in controversy is $500-$250,000,
excluding interest, statutory or punitive damages and penalties, attorneys fees
and costs, as alleged on the face of the petition.

(b)  Eminent domain (condemnation) cases regardless of the amount in
controversy;

(©)  Appeals of final rulings and decisions of the Texas Workers'
Compensation Commission regardless of the amount in controversy;

(d)  Criminal offenses which are either class A or B misdemeanors, non-
felony driving while intoxicated, or in which punishment does not exceed the
maximum for a class A misdemeanor;

(e)  Appeals from justice of the peace courts and municipal courts

within Travis County;



(f)  Cases seeking a protective order pursuant to Chapter 71, Texas
Family Code;

(g)  Occupational Drivers Licenses.

(h)  Appeals from the State Office of Administrative Hearings
concerning Administrative License Revocations.

(i)  County Court at Law #4 also has jurisdiction of state jail felony and
third degree felony cases involving family violence.

While the County Courts at Law also have jurisdiction in probate and
mental health matters, those cases are heard primarily by Probate Court No. 1 of

Travis County.

14 Organization.

While any judge may sit in any court, County Courts at Law 1 and 2 will
hear primarily civil cases and courts 3, 5, 6 and 7 will hear primarily criminal
cases. Court 4 will hear primarily cases involving allegations of family violence,
whether civil or criminal. Each criminal court has its own judicial aide
responsible for setting cases on the individual docket of that court. The civil
courts each have a judicial aide, but set cases on a central docket.

In addition, the Criminal Courts Administrator is responsible for the

administration of the County Courts at Law that hear criminal cases.

1.5 Calendar.

The Criminal Courts Administrator shall publish a calendar showing the
jury and non-jury weeks of each court hearing criminal cases as well as court
holidays.

The judicial aides of Courts 1 and 2 shall publish a calendar jointly
showing the jury and non-jury weeks and holidays for the year. The civil courts’

calendar typically follows the civil district courts’ jury and non-jury calendar.



The elected judges will generally be available as indicated by these rules
and the calendar. However, when a judge is on vacation, at a judicial or
educational conference, or suffering an extended illness, it is the policy of the
courts to obtain a visiting judge, whenever possible, so that there will be no
interruption in the work of each court. Notice of the assignment of a visiting

judge will be posted as soon as is practical.

1.6 Jury Selection.

The County Courts at Law utilize the electronic method of selecting
names of persons assigned for jury service. Jury Impaneling is conducted in
cooperation with the District, Municipal and Justice Courts. Questions about the
jury impaneling process and jury service may be addressed to the jury office at

854-9669.

1.7  Exhibits.
In all cases attorneys shall, prior to the trial or hearing, ensure that all

exhibits they intend to introduce have an exhibit label affixed thereto.



Chapter 2

CIVIL CASES

2.1 Filing Cases.

All civil cases shall be filed in rotation in County Courts at Law 1 and 2,
except for Applications for Protective Orders pursuant to the Family Code,
which shall be filed in Court 4. Pulling the file from the Clerk's office for any

contact with the court will be the responsibility of the attorneys.

22  Mediation.

It is the policy of the Travis County Courts at Law to encourage the
peaceful resolution of disputes and the early settlement of pending litigation. To
enforce this policy, all cases set for trial on the merits after January 1, 2003, which
are expected to take more than 3 hours to hear, are automatically referred to pre-
trial mediation, except as provided below.

Any party receiving notice of a setting that automatically refers the case to
ADR has 10 days from receipt of the notice to file a motion objecting to the
automatic referral. Failure to file such a motion waives the objection to the
referral. If any party to a case files a motion objecting to the automatic referral to
mediation, and the court finds that there is a reasonable basis for the objection,
the case may be excused from the automatic referral.

If the parties have not completed the required mediation by the close of
the announcement period for the date of the trial, the case will be moved to the
bottom of the list of announced cases and tried only after all other cases have

been reached.



23 Setting Cases.

All civil jury cases are to be brought to trial or final disposition within 18
months from appearance date.

All civil non-jury cases are to be brought to trial of final disposition within
12 months from appearance date.

At any time the court may order a pre-trial conference pursuant to Rule
166, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. The court shall order such a conference if it
appears from the Clerk's file that the case has remained inactive for 180 days.
The court shall enter an order following each pre-trial conference, which will
address each of the applicable matters stated in Rule 166.

Cases may be set with the Judicial Aide for Court 1 or 2. No case should
be set without consultation among counsel for all sides in accordance with The
Texas Lawyers Creed.

Courts 1 and 2 shall maintain a central docket for trials in Courts 1 and 2.
The fact that a case was filed in a court or that pre-trial matters were heard by a
court does not mean all proceedings will be in that court.

Non-jury cases will be divided, for setting purposes, into two categories:
those taking less than three hours (the short docket); and those taking more than
three hours (the long docket).

Non-jury cases may be set for either 9:00 a.m. or 2:00 p.m. Monday
through Friday.

Jury cases will be set for a particular week and, following the Monday 9:00
a.m. docket call, will be assigned a particular day and time during that week.

Any given case may have only one setting unless more than one is
ordered by the judge. A case may not be set for jury trial if a non-jury setting
was obtained prior to payment of the jury fee, except by the written agreement of
the parties or as ordered by a judge. No setting may be requested prior to

appearance day of the defendant, except when permitted by law.



It is always the responsibility of the party setting the case, and
never the responsibility of the court, to give written notice to the opposing party

or attorney.

24 Demand for Jury of Twelve,

A party filing a written request for a 12-member jury pursuant to
Government Code § 25.2292(d) shall give a written copy of the request to the
judicial aide of the court in which the case is filed not later than the 30th day
before trial to assure the summoning of a panel of adequate size to seat a 12-

member jury.

2.5  Setting Before a Particular Judge.

If a judge has heard preliminary, pre-trial, or related matters in a complex
or time consuming case, the judge may, either sua sponte or on the suggestion of
the parties, retain that case through final disposition.

Cases may be set in this manner only with the approval of the judge who
heard the earlier matters in that case. A setting before a particular judge is not

necessarily a preferential setting.

2.6  Preferential Settings.

No more than two preferential jury cases and no more than four
preferential non-jury cases can be set on their respective weeks.

Preferential settings may be obtained only from the judge in the presence
of all attorneys and will be granted only if the circumstances or law of the case
compel it.

A preferential setting is not necessarily a setting before a particular judge.

2.7 Docket Call and Continuances.

A docket call will be held each week for cases set the following week.




Each docket call will begin Monday at 8:30 a.m. and end Wednesday at
4:30 p.m. At any time between 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., attorneys for either side
shall telephone or appear before the Judicial Aide to give their announcement of
readiness and updated time estimate. Announcements may also be sent by
facsimile to 854-4724 during the applicable time period. A setting before a
particular judge or a preferential setting does not excuse the parties from this
rule and failure to follow it may result in loss of the setting. Cases set but in
which no attorney appeared for docket call will be heard only after all other
cases.

Continuances will be heard not later than Thursday of the week preceding
the trial. Motions heard on Thursday will be heard at 8:30 a.m. The notice and
pleading requirements of law must be followed. Continuances will not be heard
thereafter unless they allege grounds, which arose only after that time.

By Friday at noon the Judicial Aides shall publish a list of cases set the
following week, which will include the court and the order in which the cases
shall be heard. Jury cases will be assigned a particular day and time for trial at

the Monday 9:00 a.m. appearance docket on the week of trial.

2.8 Uncontested Docket.

Uncontested matters and routine matters of very short duration may be
heard at the uncontested docket held twice daily 8:30 a.m.-9:00 a.m. and 1:30
p-m.-2: 00 p.m.

The parties are responsible for arranging in advance with the Clerk's office
to have the files pulled, and for bringing them to court. If more than two cases
will be presented at the uncontested docket, please inform the clerk of the cause
number and style of each case at least 24 hours in advance.

Court reporters will be available at uncontested docket.

Location of this docket will be posted on the bulletin board in the hallway

on the second floor of the courthouse.




29 Matters Preliminary To Trial On The Merits.

Except for motions for continuance based on new circumstances, all
motions in limine, exceptions and all pre-trial motions and pleas in every case
shall be presented and heard not later than Friday of the week preceding trial.

All such exceptions, motions, and pleas not presented and heard within
the time provided by this Rule will be deemed waived except upon a showing of
good cause for failure to comply with this Rule.

This Rule does not relieve a movant of the burden of delivering a copy of
the motion in the manner and within the time provided by the Texas Rules of

Civil Procedure.

2,10 Hearings Conducted By Telephone.

By agreement of the attorneys and the judge, short hearings (generally 30
minutes or less) not requiring the introduction of evidence may be conducted by
telephone conference calls.

At the discretion of the judge a court reporter or recording device may be
provided by the court during these calls. A request by an attorney for such an
arrangement must be made in advance.

A judge will not initiate a conference call. All arrangements with
telephone operators must be made by an attorney.

At any time, even after the completion of a conference call, a judge may
determine that a hearing by telephone will not be sufficient and may require a

hearing in court upon notice to all parties.

211 Dismissal For Want Of Prosecution.

Pursuant to Rule 165a, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, notice will be given
at least twice each year that certain cases will be dismissed for want of
prosecution on a date certain. In order to prevent dismissal of a case on this

docket, a party must file a written motion showing good cause to retain, set a



hearing, give proper notice of the hearing on the motion and have a judge sign

an order retaining the case before the date specified for dismissal.

If an order retaining is signed, the case will be set by the court for trial
within 90 days from the date on which the case was set to be dismissed.

If no appearance or announcement is made when the case is called for
trial, the case will be dismissed for want of prosecution at that time.

Cases set for trial after notice of intent to dismiss for want of prosecution
may not be reset, even by agreement, and will be dismissed if not otherwise

disposed of at that setting.

2,12 Drafts Of Judgments And Orders.

So far as practicable, every draft of a judgment or order to be signed by a
judge should be approved as to form by attorneys for all parties before it is
presented to the judge.

Every draft of a judgment or order which is not submitted in the
courtroom immediately after a trial or hearing shall have typed on it below the
line for the judge's signature the name of the judge who presided at that trial or
hearing.

When sent by mail each such draft shall also be accompanied by a letter
stating the name of the judge who presided and the date and nature of the trial
or hearing.

A draft of an order shall not be typed on the same page with a pleading,
motion, certificate of service, or any part thereof, and each such draft shall have a
heading showing the cause number, the style of the case, and the court in which
it is pending.

The word "entered" should not be used in the line provided immediately
above the judge's signature to show the date on which a judgment or order is

signed.



2,13 Motions To Withdraw As Attorney.

Except as provided in Rules 8 and 10, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, a
motion to withdraw will be granted without a hearing only if the moving
attorney:

(@) files written consents to the withdrawal signed by attorneys for all
parties; and

(b) files a written consent to the withdrawal signed by the client, or
includes in the motion a specific statement of the circumstances that justify the
withdrawal and the circumstances that prevent the moving attorney from
obtaining the client's written consent; and

(o) files a certificate stating the last known mailing address of the
client.

If all requirements above are not satisfied, a motion to withdraw or to
substitute another attorney must be presented at a hearing after notice to the

client and to all other parties.

2,14 Protective Orders, Chapter 71, Family Code.

Applications for protective orders pursuant to Chapter 71, Family Code
will be treated with priority over all other types of cases.

Requests for temporary ex parte orders made pursuant to Chapter 83,
Texas Family Code, and the presentation of Agreed Protective Orders made
pursuant to Chapter 85.005, Texas Family Code, may be presented at any
uncontested docket.

Hearings on applications for protective orders will be held within the time
provided by Chapter 84, Texas Family Code; however, it will be the
responsibility of the party setting the hearing to comply with the time and notice

requirements set forth in Chapter 84, Texas Family Code.
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215 Eminent Domain (Condemnation Cases).

All aspects of eminent domain cases will be the responsibility of the
Probate Court from the time of filing of the petition to the filing of the award of
commissioners.

If there are no objections to the award, the Probate Court will continue to
be responsible for the case through completion.

If there is an objection to the award all remaining matters involving the
case through conclusion will be the responsibility of County Court at Law 1 or 2.

Files for these cases are located and will always remain in the probate
section of the County Clerk's office.

After the filing of objection to the award, settings can be obtained as in

any other civil case under these Rules.

216 Holidays.
When any date mentioned in these rules falls on a court holiday then the

applicable date shall be the last date preceding the holiday.
The court holidays shall be published along with the calendar showing the

jury and non-jury weeks of each court.

217 Authorization to Serve Citation (Rule 103).

A person wishing to be authorized by written order of the court to serve
citations and other notices may file a written affidavit in application for
authorization on a form supplied by the County Clerk or a similar suitable
application. The court may, upon approval of the application, authorize service
by the applicant in all suits pending in the County Courts at Law of Travis
County. Prior to, or in conjunction with the filing of return of service in any suit,
the person verifying the return shall also file an affidavit that he or she is not a
party to and has no interest in said suit. The affidavit may be part of the verified

return required by Rule 107, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure.

11




Chapter 3

Criminal Cases

3.1 Filing Cases.

All criminal cases shall be filed in rotation in County Courts at Law 3,5,6,
and 7, except as provided herein. All criminal cases in which family violence is
alleged shall be filed in County Court Law 4, except as provided in this section.

A defendant who has a pending case, including a defendant who is
currently on probation in Courts 3, 4, 5, 6 or 7 shall have all subsequent cases
assigned to the same court, even if those subsequent cases involve an allegation
of family violence.

Multiple prosecutions arising from the same facts or against the same
defendant will be filed in the same court. If cases must be transferred to
accomplish this, all cases will go to the court of the cases with the lowest cause

number, unless the judges order otherwise.

3.2 First Appearance.

Defendants will appear in room 1.300, Criminal Justice Center building,
on the 21st day after arrest, where they will be advised if the case has been filed
by the County Attorney.

If so, the case will be reset for announcement in the court where it has
been filed two weeks later.

If not, defendants will be given another date certain to report to Room
1.300.

Bond forfeitures occur only at announcement or subsequent settings.

3.3  Setting Cases.
Cases are set by defense attorneys or defendants (herein: "Defense") with

the judicial aide of the court in which the case is filed.

12



Attorneys or their employees may reset cases by telephone no later than
the day before the current setting. Attorneys are expected to stand by settings
made by their employees to avoid losing this privilege.

Judicial aides are authorized to give the following settings; all other must be
approved by a judge:

(a) Announcements (8:30 a.m.)

Defendants may reset their announcements (in person only) to obtain
counsel; attorneys may not reset a case for announcement.

(b) Pretrial (9:30 a.m.)

All cases may be set for a pretrial whether or not an evidentiary hearing is
necessary. If Defense desires an evidentiary hearing, motions must be filed and
served on the County Attorney 21 days prior to the hearing.

Note: All pretrial hearing will be held on the day set unless a written State or
Defense motion for continuance is granted

(c) Trial Before the Court (TBC) (9:30 a.m..)

Attorneys should not set a case for TBC unless the defendant intends to
waive jury. Demanding a jury while on the TBC docket may result in a trial
occurring before the next available jury. All cases shall be tried when set before
any available judge unless a written State or Defense motion for continuance is
granted.

(d) Jury Trial

Jury docket call is at 1:30 p.m. on the Tuesday prior to a jury week. State and
Defense must either announce ready or file a written motion for continuance. If
Defense waives jury at the docket call, a written waiver signed by counsel and
defendant must be presented.

(e) Plea (8:30 a.m.)

Judicial aides may give not more than two plea settings. If the case is
expected to involve community supervision, the Personal Data/Social History

form must be filed with Community Supervision and Corrections two weeks in

13



advance. In all DWI cases expect to involve community supervision, an alcohol
evaluation is necessary prior to entry of a negotiated plea. Resets for sentencing
are at the discretion of the judge. Sentencings are set for 8:30 a.m., and failure to
appear may result in bond forfeiture or sentencing in absentia, at the discretion
of the judge.

(f) Application for Community Supervision Revocation (8:30 a.m.)

Probationers who respond to a summons or who have been arrested and
bonded may be reset on the APR docket by the judge to retain counsel. Attorneys

may reset only for a trial before the court or plea.

34  Time Limits.

It is the policy of the Travis County Courts at Law to dispose of cases as
quickly as possible consistent with justice. Judicial Aides may not reset cases
outside the following time limits except under the direction of a judge:

(a) New cases entering the system by summons should be tried or pled
within 200 days of filing.

(b) New cases entering the system by arrest should be tried or plead
within 200 days of arrest.

(c) Bond Forfeitures re-entering the system may not be set for pretrial
except by a judge and should be tried or pled within 90 days.

(d) Probation revocations should be tried or pled within 90 days.

(e) Class C trials de novo should be had within 90 days.

(f) Appeals on the record from Municipal Courts of Record should be
decided within 60 days.

3.5  Appeals from Municipal Courts of Record.
Appeals shall be assigned by the Clerk to Court 1. The judge to whom the

case is assigned shall decide the appeal by written opinion. If, in the opinion of

the assigned judge, a question of law is raised that should be finally settled for

14



the sake of future appeals, the assigned judge shall seek the concurrence of two

other judges in deciding the appeal.

3.6 Jail Call.

Court Administration shall set incarcerated defendants in Court within 5

working days after the attorney receives notification of appointment.

3.7 Appointment of Counsel.

The County Court Administrator shall maintain a list of attorneys
available for appointment to represent indigent defendants in criminal cases. To
be on the list, the attorney must be licensed by the Supreme Court of Texas and
must prove that 10 hours of the 16 hours of the of minimum continuing legal
education (MCLE) annually required by the State Bar of Texas have been
completed in the area of criminal law and procedure. Each attorney shall
provide proof of MCLE completion to the County Court Administrator by his or
her birth month. Any attorney who has not completed the MCLE requirement
will be immediately removed from the list and not returned until compliance is
proved.

An attorney shall attend any CLE course required by the District and
County Court at Law judges.

An attorney may be removed from the list for failure to satisfy
requirements listed in the Fair Defense Act Program Guidelines, failure to
effectively represent appointed defendants and failure to respond promptly to
communication from the Court.

Court appointed attorneys would be notified of their appointment by
facsimile. The attorney shall return the Court appointment form to the Office of
Court Administration in person, by facsimile or e-mail within 72 hours of
receiving notice of appointment, an acknowledgement of the appointment and a

confirmation that the attorney made a reasonable effort to contact the defendant

15




by the end of the first working day after the date of the appointment. Reasonable

effort includes letter, facsimile, phone, videoconference, or personal visit.

3.8 Motions to Withdraw or Substitute.

An attorney becomes attorney of record in a misdemeanor case by listing
his or her name on a bond application or by setting, or resetting the case, or by
Court Appointment. He or she remains attorney of record until relieved by
written order of the court. A retained attorney shall notify in writing, the
previously appointed attorney and the court of his/her retention within 3 days
of being retained.

An attorney's motion to withdraw will be heard at any time when the
defendant has had notice to appear. Adequate notice is by certified mail, return
receipt requested. If the defendant does not appear, the bond will be forfeited
and a warrant issued.

Motions to substitute counsel will be granted without hearing if the order
is signed by the defendant as well as the incoming and outgoing attorneys, and
the motion states that the incoming attorney accepts the case's next setting. A
motion to substitute counsel that will cause delay requires a hearing.

Motions to withdraw or to substitute counsel should notify the State when

the motion is set.

16



Chapter 4

Rules of Decorum

41 Opening Procedure.

Immediately before the scheduled time for the first court session on each
day the bailiff shall direct all persons present to their seats and shall cause the
courtroom to come to order. As the judge enters the courtroom the bailiff shall
state:

"Everyone rise, please.”

And while everyone is still standing, the bailiff shall announce: “The
County at Law No___ of Travis County, Texas is now in session, Judge ___
presiding. Be seated. Please.”

42 Recess
When the judge announces a recess, the bailiff shall state:
“Everyone rise, please.”

And all shall remain standing until the judge leaves the courtroom,
whereupon the bailiff shall announce:

"The Court is recessed until____ (a certain time)”.

In reconvening after a recess the bailiff shall call the courtroom to order
and request everyone to rise as the judge enters and shall state:

"Be seated please."

Before a recess of a jury trial the jury will be excused, and all other persons
present shall remain seated while the bailiff conducts the jury from the
courtroom into the jury room.

After a recess the bailiff shall direct all jurors to the jury room and shall
call the courtroom to order and request everyone to rise as the judge enters, as in
non-jury trials. After everyone is reseated the jury shall be returned to the jury

box from the jury room.

17



4.3 General Rules of Courtroom Conduct.

All officers of the court except the judge and jurors, and all other
participants except witnesses who have been placed under the rule, shall
promptly enter the courtroom before the scheduled time for each court session.
When the bailiff calls the court to order complete order should be observed.

In the courtrooms there shall be:

(a) no tobacco used;

(b) no chewing gum;

(c)  no shorts or bare midriffs;

(d) no reading of newspapers;

(e) no audible cell phones or pagers;

()  no bottles, cups or beverage containers except court water;
pitchers and cups or as otherwise permitted by the judge;

(g) noedibles;

(h) no propping of feet on tables or chairs;

(i)  nonoise or talking that interferes with court proceedings.

The judge, the attorneys, and other officers of the court will refer to and
address other court officers and other participants in the proceedings
respectfully and impersonally, as by using appropriate titles and surnames
rather than first names.

The oath will be administered in a manner calculated to impress the
witness with the importance and solemnity of the promise to adhere to the truth.

All officers of the court should dress appropriately for court sessions.

Attorneys
(a) Attorneys should observe the letter and spirit of all canons of ethics

including those dealing with discussion of cases with representatives
of the media and those concerning improper ex parte communications

with the judge.

18



(b) Attorneys should advise their clients and witnesses of Local Rules of
Decorum that may be applicable.

(c) All objections, arguments, and other comments by counsel shall be
directed to the judge or jury and not to opposing counsel.

(d) While another attorney is addressing the judge or jury, an attorney
should not stand for any purpose except to claim the right to interrupt
the attorney who is speaking.

(e) Attorneys should not approach the bench without leave of court and
must never lean on the bench.

(f) Attorneys shall remain seated at the counsel tables at all times except:

(1) when the Judge enters and leaves;
(2) when addressing the judge or jury; and
(3) whenever it may be proper to handle documents, exhibits, or
other evidence (leave of court is not required.)
(g)  Attorneys should anticipate any need to move furniture,
appliances, or easels, and should make advance arrangements with

the bailiff. Tables should not be moved during court sessions.

19



RULES GOVERNING THE RECORDING AND BROADCASTING OF
COURT
PROCEEDINGS IN CERTAIN CIVIL COURTS OF TRAVIS
Pursuant to Rule 18c(a) of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, the following
rules govern the recording and broadcasting of court proceedings in the civil

district courts, county courts at law, and probate court of Travis County.

L. Policy. The policy of these rules is to allow media coverage of public civil
court proceedings to facilitate the free flow of information to the public
concerning the Judicial system, to foster better public understanding about
the administration of justice, and to encourage continuing legal education
and professionalism by lawyers. These rules are to be construed to provide
the greatest access possible while at the same time maintaining the dignity,

decorum and impartiality of the court proceedings.

2. Definitions.
Certain terms are defined for purposes of these rules as follows:

2.1. "Court" means the particular County Court at Law in which
the proceeding will be held.

2.2 "Media coverage" means any visual or audio coverage of
court proceedings by a media agency.

23  "Media" or "media agency" means any person or
organization engaging in news gathering or reporting and includes any
newspaper, radio or television station or network, news service,
magazine, trade paper, in-house publication, professional journal, or other
news reporting or news gathering agency.

24  "Visual coverage" means coverage by equipment, which has
the capacity to reproduce or telecast an image, and includes still and

moving picture photographic equipment and video equipment.

20




3. Media coverage permitted.

3.1  Media coverage is allowed in the courtroom only as
permitted by Rule 18c of Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and these rules.

3.2 If media coverage is of investiture or ceremonial proceedings
as allowed by Rule 18¢(c) of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure,
permission for, and the manner of such coverage, are determined solely
by the court, with or without guidance from these rules. If media coverage
is for other than investiture or ceremonial proceedings, that is, under Rule
18c(a) or (b) of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, the provisions of these
rules shall govern.

3.3  Media coverage under Rule 18c(a) and (b) of the Texas Rules
of Civil Procedure is permitted only on written order of the court. A
request for an order shall be made on the form included in these rules.
The following procedure shall be followed, except in extraordinary
circumstances and only if there is a finding by the court that good cause
justifies a different procedure: (i) the request should be filed with district
clerk or county clerk, depending upon the court in which the proceeding
is pending, with a copy delivered to the court, court administrator, all
counsel of record and, where possible, all parties not represented by
attorneys, and (ii) such request shall be made in time to afford the
attorneys and parties sufficient time to confer, to contact their witnesses
and to be fully heard by the court on the questions of whether media
coverage should be allowed and, if so, what conditions, if any, should be
imposed on such coverage. Whether or not consent of the parties or
witnesses is obtained, the court may in its discretion deny, limit or
terminate media coverage. In exercising such discretion the court shall
consider all relevant factors, including but not limited to those listed in

rule 3.5 below.
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34  If media coverage is sought with consent as provided in
Rule 18c(b) of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, consent forms adopted
by the court shall be used to evidence the consent of the parties and
witnesses. Original signed consent forms of the witnesses shall be
obtained in the manner directed by the court. No witness or party shall
give consent to media coverage in exchange for payment or other
consideration, of any kind or character, either directly or indirectly. No
media agency shall pay or offer to pay any consideration in exchange for
such consent.

35  If media coverage is sought without consent, pursuant to
Rule 18c(a) of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, the decision to allow
such coverage is discretionary and will be made by the court on a case by
case basis. Objections to medial coverage should not be conclusory but
should state the specific and demonstrable injury alleged to result from
media coverage. If the court denies coverage, it shall set forth in its order
the findings upon which such denial is based. In determining an
application for coverage, the court shall consider all relevant factors,
including but not limited to:

(@) The type of case involved;

(b) whether the coverage would cause harm to any participants;

(c) whether the coverage would interfere with the fair
administration of justice, and advancement of a fair trial, or the rights of
the parties;

(d) whether the coverage would interfere with any law
enforcement activity;

(e) the objections of any of the parties, prospective witnesses,
victims, or other participants in the proceeding of which coverage is

sought;
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(f) the physical structure of the courtroom and the likelihood that
any equipment required to conduct coverage of proceedings can be
installed and operated without disturbance to those proceedings or any
other proceedings in the courthouse;

(g) the extent to which the coverage would be barred by law in the
judicial proceeding of which coverage is sought; and

(h) the fact that any party, prospective witness, victim, or other
participant in the proceeding is a child, to which fact the court shall all
give great weight.

4. Media coverage prohibited

4.1. Media coverage of proceedings held in chambers, proceedings closed
to the public, and jury selection is prohibited. Audio coverage and close-up video
coverage of conferences between an attorney and client, witness or aide, between
attorneys or between counsel and the court at the bench is prohibited.

4.2. Visual coverage of potential jurors and jurors in the courthouse is
prohibited except when in the courtroom the physical layout of the courtroom
makes it impossible to conduct visual coverage of the proceeding without
including the jury, and the court so finds. In such cases visual coverage is
allowed only if the jury is in the background of a picture of some other subject

and only if individual jurors are not identifiable.

5. Equipment and personnel.

The court may require medial personnel to demonstrate that proposed
equipment complies with these rules. The court may specify the placement of
medial personnel and equipment to permit reasonable coverage without
disruption to the proceedings. Unless the court in its discretion and for good

cause orders otherwise, the following standards apply:
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5.1.  One television camera and one still photographer, with not more
than two cameras and four lenses, are permitted.

5.2.  Equipment shall not produce distracting sound or light. Signal
lights or devices, which show when equipment is operating, shall not be visible.
Moving lights, flash attachments, or sudden lighting changes shall not be used.

5.3.  Existing courtroom sound and lighting systems shall be used
without modification. An order granting permission to modify existing systems
is deemed to require that the modifications be installed, maintained, and
removed without public expense. Microphones and wiring shall be
unobtrusively located in places approved by the court and shall be operated by
one person.

54  Operators shall not move equipment or enter or leave the
courtroom while the court is in session, or otherwise cause a distraction. All
equipment shall be in place in advance of the proceeding or session.

5.5  Identifying marks, call letters, words and symbols shall be
concealed on all equipment. Media personnel shall not display any identifying

insignia on their clothing.

6. Delay of proceedings.

No proceeding or session shall be delayed or continued for the sole
purpose of allowing media coverage, whether because of installation of
equipment, obtaining witness consents, conduct or hearings related to the media
coverage or other media coverage questions. To assist media agencies to prepare
in advance for media coverage, and when requested to do so: (i) the court will
attempt to make the courtroom available when not in use for the purpose of
installing equipment; (ii) counsel (to the extent they deem their client's rights will
not be jeopardized) should make available to the media witness lists; (ii) and the

court administrator will inform the media agencies of settings or proceedings.
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7. Pooling.
If more than one media agency of one type wish to cover a proceeding or
session, they shall make pool arrangements. If they are unable to agree, the court

may deny media coverage by that type of media agency.

8. Official record.
Films, videotapes, photographs or audio reproductions made in the
proceeding pursuant to these rules shall not be considered as part of the official

court record.
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* In the County
V.
* Courtat Law #___
* Travis County, Texas
Consent to Media Coverage by Witness
My name is

I will be called as a witness in the above numbered and entitled case. I
understand that I may refuse to consent to media coverage, but also that the
court in its discretion may allow such coverage pursuant to the court’s
Guidelines for Photographing, Recording and Broadcasting in Courtroom
(Guidelines) whether or not I consent.

Pursuant to Rule 18c (b) of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the
Guidelines, I consent to media coverage of my testimony in this case.

I have neither received nor will I receive any payment or other
consideration of any kind or character, either directly or indirectly, in exchange

for my consent to media coverage of my testimony in this case.

Date

Witness
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No:

* In The County
V. * Court at Law #
* Travis County, Texas

Consent to Media Coverage by Party

My name is

I am a party/attorney for party in the

above numbered and entitled case. Iunderstand that I may refuse to consent to
media coverage, but also that the court in its discretion may allow such coverage
pursuant to the court’s Guidelines for Photographing, Recording and
Broadcasting in Courtroom (Guidelines) whether or not I consent.

Pursuant to Rule 18¢ (b) of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the
Guidelines, I consent to media coverage of the proceedings in this case.

I have neither received nor will I receive any payment or other
consideration of any kind or character, either directly or indirectly, in exchange
for my, or my client’s, consent to media coverage of any portion of any

proceeding in this case.

Date

Party / Attorney

27



NO:

* In the County

V. * Court at Law #
* Travis County, Texas
Order

The request for order to allow media coverage filed with the County Clerk

on ,20__, by

is hereby granted/denied.

Signed this , 20

Judge Presiding
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NO:

*

In the County

V. * Court at Law #

Travis County, Texas

Request for Order to Allow Media Coverage Without Consent of Parties or

Witnesses

Pursuant to Rule 18 c (a) of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the
court’s Guidelines for Photographing, Recording and Broadcasting in the
Courtroom (Guidelines), I request media coverage of the above described case
without consent of the parties or witnesses, as follows:

1. Courtroom:

2. Equipment:

3. Dates of Coverage:

I, individually, and on behalf of the personnel of the medical agency I
represent and all media personnel who participate in media coverage through
any pooling agreement, understand and agree that:

1. All media personnel covering the proceeding will comply with the

provisions of Rule 18 c of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the Guidelines.

29



2. Permission may be withdrawn by the court any time pursuant to

the Guidelines, at which time media coverage will immediately cease.

The original of this request was filed with the County Clerk, with a copy

delivered to the trial court and the court administrator, on

Individual—Signature

Individual—Print Name

Name of Media Agency

Position

Address

Telephone Number
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NO:

*

In the County

V. * Court at Law #

Travis County, Texas

Request for Order to Allow Media Coverage With Consent of Parties or

Witnesses

Pursuant to Rule 18 ¢ (a) of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the
court’s Guidelines for Photographing, Recording and Broadcasting in the
Courtroom (Guidelines), I request media coverage of the above described case
without consent of the parties or witnesses, as follows:

1. Courtroom:

2. Equipment:

3. Dates of Coverage:

I, individually, and on behalf of the personnel of the medical agency I
represent and all media personnel who participate in media coverage through
any pooling agreement, understand and agree that:

1. All media personnel covering the proceeding will comply with the

provisions of Rule 18 c of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the Guidelines.
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2. Permission may be withdrawn by the court any time pursuant to

the Guidelines, at which time media coverage will immediately cease.

The original of this request was filed with the County Clerk, with a copy

delivered to the trial court and the court administrator, on

Individual—Signature

Individual—Print Name

Name of Media Agency

Position

Address

Telephone Number
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These Local Rules were amended and adopted by the County Court at Law Judges in
Travis County at a meeting held on April 30, 2002.
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CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL

The attached Local Rules of Procedure and Rules of Decorum for the County
Courts at Law of Travis County, Texas, is hereby approved and transmitted to the

Supreme Court of Texas for final action this 10™ day of June, 2002.

(SIS Ay

B.B. Schraub, Presiding Judge
Third Administrative Judicial Region




THIRD ADMINISTRATIVE JUDICIAL REGION

B. B. SCHRAUB, PRESIDING JUDGE
830-379-8556
. ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT FAX 830-372-0400 101 EAST COURT STREET, ROOM 302
DIANNE GRIEPENTROG E-MAIL 3rdjudreg@co.guadalupe.tx.us SEGUIN, TEXAS 78155-5742

June 10, 2002

The Honorable Thomas R. Phillips

Chief Justice, The Supreme Court of Texas
P.O. Box 12248

Austin, Texas 78711

RE: PROPOSED LOCAL RULES OF PROCEDURE AND RULES OF
DECORUM FOR THE COUNTY COURTS AT LAW OF TRAVIS
COUNTY, TEXAS

Dear Chief Justice Phillips:

Enclosed you will find proposed Local Rules of Procedure and Rules of Decorum for the

County Courts at Law of Travis County, Texas. I have approved these Local Rules as

evidenced by the enclosed Order.

I respectfully request this matter be submitted to the Supreme Court for their
consideration and approval.

Very truly yours,
B.B. Schraub
BBS/dg
Enclosure

XC: The Honorable Brenda P. Kennedy
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