
Survey of the Texas Appellate Courts - Seventh District Court of Appeals (Amarillo) 

 

The Basics 

1. Court's Physical Address: Seventh Court of Appeals, 501 S. Fillmore, Suite 2-A, Amarillo, TX 79101-2449 

 Court’s Mailing Address: Seventh Court of Appeals, P.O. Box 9540, Amarillo, TX 79105-9540   

2. Telephone number: (806) 342-2650  

3. Website address: www.txcourts.gov/7thcoa   

4. Names of Justices: Chief Justice Brian Quinn, and Justices James T. Campbell, Mackey K. Hancock, and Patrick A. Pirtle 

5. Clerk: Vivian Long.  Chief Deputy Clerk: Rhonda Silverman; Deputy Clerk: Donna Artis; Deputy Clerk: Donalee Gibson 

6. Central Staff Attorney: Bobby Ramirez 

7. Jurisdiction: The Court’s jurisdiction includes Potter (seat), and Armstrong, Bailey, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Cochran, Collingsworth, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, 

Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Floyd, Foard, Garza, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Hemphill, Hockley, Hutchinson, Kent, King, Lamb, Lipscomb, 

Lubbock, Lynn, Moore, Motley, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, Terry, Wheeler, Wilbarger, and Yoakum. 

 

The Ins and Outs 

 

PROCEDURE WHAT AND HOW TO FILE HOW HANDLED COURT'S PARTICULAR PRACTICES SPECIAL NOTES 

E-Filing Effective January 1, 2014, all 

attorneys in civil and criminal 

cases are required to file all 

documents with the Court 

through the eFileTexas.gov 

electronic filing system.  

Parties not represented by an 

attorney may e-file documents, 

but e-filing is not required. 

 

All filers should consult the 

Redaction Guidelines found on 

the Supreme Court’s website and 

Rules 9.8, 9.9, and 9.10 of the 

Texas Rules of Appellate 

Procedure. 

 

A filer who e-files a document must 

comply with Rule 9.2(c) of the Texas 

Rules of Appellate Procedure. 

 

An e-filed document must include the 

e-filer’s email address, in addition to 

any other information required by 

Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure. 

Reasons why documents will be 

rejected: 

 

1) document is not PDF searchable; 

2) no email included; 

3) no certificate of compliance on 

word limit included in briefs (rule 

9.4)(3)); and 

4) no certificate of service or 

conference on motions. 

Record Clerk's and Court Reporter's 

records must be filed 

electronically and must 

conform to Appendix C of the 

Texas Rules of Appellate 

Procedure. The record must be 

submitted through the TAMES 

Records Submission Portal 

(RSP). 

Except in parental termination 

and child protection cases as 

defined in Tex. R. App. P. 

28.4(a)(2), first motions to extend 

for 30 days or less are generally 

handled by the clerks. 

 

In parental termination and child 

protection cases, extensions may 

not exceed 30 days total, and the 

court may deny or shorten 

requested extensions.  Tex. R. 

App. P. 28.4(b)(2). 

Criminal – The record must be requested 

from the trial court clerk. Tex. R. App. P. 

34.5(g), 34.6(h).    

Civil - Only attorney of record is 

authorized a copy of the electronic record 

without cost. Original exhibits will not be 

provided. A letter request must be 

electronically filed and state what portion 

of the record is requested.  Copies will be 

provided on a CD or other electronic 

access. 

Sealed Records will not be available or 

Notices of Appeal, information 

sheets, extension requests and 

monthly court reporter reports should 

also be filed through the RSP.   

 

 



PROCEDURE WHAT AND HOW TO FILE HOW HANDLED COURT'S PARTICULAR PRACTICES SPECIAL NOTES 

 viewed except as authorized by an order 

of the court sealing the record or an order 

by this Court specifying who may check 

out or view the record. 

Motions E-filed: No Paper Copies 

 

Paper:  Original only 

 

Paper only permitted for pro se 

filers. 

 

 

Motions are ruled on by the 

Court.  For agreed or unopposed 

motions, including a certificate of 

conference can expedite the ruling 

on the motion.  Motions will be 

held for 10 days unless a 

certificate of conference shows 

the motion is unopposed, it is an 

emergency, or it requests an 

extension of time to file a brief. 

The clerk generally grants a first motion 

for extension of time for up to 30 days to 

file a brief. Further request for an 

extension will be submitted to the court. 

Motions are considered on a daily 

basis. 

Briefs See e-filing requirements. 

 

E-filed: No Paper Copies 

 

Paper:  Original only 

 

Paper only permitted for pro se 

filers. 

 

Briefs that do not comply with 

Rule 9 of the Texas Rule of 

Appellate Procedure are rejected 

and returned for correction.  

 

The Court will review briefs for 

compliance with Rule 38 and may 

direct compliance or 

supplementation. 

 

The Court follows the Texas Rules of 

Appellate Procedure. 

Electronic features: It is useful for the 

bookmarks in electronic briefs to list each 

section and heading in the brief and each 

item in the appendix.  Hyperlinks from 

citations in the brief to items in the 

appendix are also useful. 

Appendix: Appendix should include the 

items required by Tex. R. App. P. 

38.1(k)(1) 

In a civil case, the Court prefers that 

parties be referred to by their names as 

opposed to appellant/appellee. If last 

names are all different, use those. If there 

are multiple parties with the same last 

name as is common in family law cases, 

use first names throughout once the 

parties have been identified. 

 

The Court prefers a one or two sentence 

issue. Do not renumber or rename issues 

in the body of the brief; keep them 

consistent to avoid confusion. 

A statement of the standard of review is 

not required, but is helpful. 

 

All filers should consult the 

Redaction Guidelines found on the 

Supreme Court's website and Rules 

9.8, 9.9, and 9.10 of the Texas Rule 

of Appellate Procedure. 

 

Under Rule 9.4(j), the following will 

result in the brief being rejected: 

 

1) email address is missing; 

2) certification of word compliance is 

missing; and 

3) if not in text searchable format. 



PROCEDURE WHAT AND HOW TO FILE HOW HANDLED COURT'S PARTICULAR PRACTICES SPECIAL NOTES 

Summary judgment briefs should present 

separate analysis of traditional and no-

evidence motions. 

 

Oral Argument A request for oral argument 

must be noted on the front 

cover of the party’s brief, and 

the party may include a 

statement regarding oral 

argument in the body of the 

brief.  See Tex. R. App. P. 

38.1(e), 39.7. A party’s failure 

to request oral argument on the 

front cover or in the body of 

the brief waives the right to 

argue. If the request is 

inadvertently omitted, it is 

proper to file a motion 

requesting argument promptly 

after discovering the omission. 

The Court generally grants 20 

minutes per side, and a 5 minute 

rebuttal for appellant.  Parties are 

notified of the justices on the 

panel when a submission notice 

letter is mailed about 21 days 

before argument.  

The Court grants or denies oral argument 

under the guidelines of Tex. R. App. P. 

39.   

Handouts are preferable and placards 

are fine if large enough for all to see 

during argument. 

 

Power point or a sign board may be 

useful for key words in a statute or a 

controlling authority. 

 

If you are going to attempt to use 

technology, provide handouts as a 

back-up in case of an equipment 

malfunction.  Remember that fiddling 

with visual aids can be distracting and 

can take away from the short time 

available during oral argument. 

Notify the Court no less than 5 days 

before arguments. 

 

The Court generally does not set 

cases for oral arguments during June, 

July and August except in emergency 

situations and transfer cases. 

 

Opinions  

 

The Court has undisclosed 

internal guidelines for drafting 

and circulating opinions.  

The Court releases opinions on any 

business day. 

 

 

 

Motions for 

Rehearing 

E-filed: No Paper Copies 

 

Paper:  Original only 

 

Paper only permitted for pro se 

filers. 

 

Motions for rehearing are initially 

circulated to the author, who 

considers the motion and makes a 

recommendation to the panel. 

 

 

 

 

Original 

Proceedings 

See e-filing requirements. 

 

Once filed, an original proceeding 

is immediately assigned a panel 

and author.  All justices on the 

panel are immediately provided 

copies of the petition after it is 

processed by the clerks. 

 

 

Indigent inmates must comply with 

the filing requirements of Chapter 14 

of the Tex. Civ. Prac. And Rem. 

Code when filing an original 

proceeding. 
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If a motion requesting emergency 

relief is also filed, it is circulated 

immediately and dealt with 

ASAP.   

 

Because of an inherent delay in a 

document being uploaded to an 

electronic service provider and 

that document being reviewed and 

accepted by the clerk’s office for 

filing, the court strongly 

encourages parties to call the 

clerk’s office before or 

immediately after filing a 

document requiring emergency 

action so that the document may 

be processed and circulated to the 

court expeditiously.   

 

Technology   

 

1. The Court subscribes to Lexis and Lexis Advance. 

2. The Court prefers parallel citations to United States Supreme Court cases. 

3. The Court does not record oral arguments. 

 

Appellate Mediation:  The Court does not have a structured program for appellate mediation.  Requests for abatement or continuance so mediation can take place are generally 

granted. 

 

Fees 

     1. Appeal: $205 

     2. Original Proceeding: $155 

     3. Motion for Rehearing: $15 

     4. All Motions other than for Rehearing: $10 

     5. Certified copy including certificate and seal certification: $1.00 per page, $5 minimum 

     6. Comparing and certifying copy of document: $1.00 per page, $5 minimum 

     7. Response to any type of Motion: None 

     8. Exhibits tendered for oral argument: $25 

     9. Standard Paper Copy of Document without Certificate or Seal: 

 1 - 50 pages............................................... $ .10 per page 

 over 50 pages............................................ $ .50 per page 

   

Miscellaneous   
 For more information refer to the court’s website: http://www.txcourts.gov/7thcoa or call the clerk’s office at 806-342-2650. 

http://www.txcourts.gov/7thcoa

