IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 18-002

COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS RULES ADVISORY COMMITTEE

ORDERED that:

- 1. All previous orders concerning the composition and function of the Court of Criminal Appeals Rules Advisory Committee are vacated and this order is substituted.
- 2. The Court of Criminal Appeals Rules Advisory Committee (the Committee) assists the Court of Criminal Appeals (the Court) in the continuing study, review, and development of rules of post-trial and appellate procedure applicable to criminal cases, rules of evidence in the trials of criminal cases, electronic filing rules for capital cases, rules affecting criminal justice under consideration by the Texas Supreme Court Advisory Committee, and any other rules affecting the administration of criminal justice in Texas as directed by the Court. The Committee will take into consideration the rules and procedures of other courts in the United States and proposals for changes from varied sources. The Committee may draft proposed rules; solicit, summarize, and report to the Court the views of the Committee members, the bar, and the public on rules and procedures; and make recommendations for change. The Court is not bound by the Committee's recommendations.
- 3. Committee meetings are held after public notice and are open to the public. Minutes will be recorded at all Committee proceedings and will be available to the public upon request.
- 4. Members of the Committee are appointed by the Court, which shall from time to time determine their number, qualifications, and terms of service. A Chair appointed by the Court to serve at its pleasure calls meetings with the approval of the Court, prepares an agenda in advance of each meeting, and presides over the meetings. Proposals, drafts, and other materials to be discussed are circulated before meetings. The Hon. David Newell is appointed Chair of the Committee.
- 5. The following persons are appointed to serve as members of the Court of Criminal Appeals Rules Advisory Committee from the date of this order until December 31, 2019:

Prof. Steven Goode Austin Hon. Tom Gray Waco

Michael Gross San Antonio Hon. Barbara Hervey Austin Emily Johnson-Liu Austin Donna Kay McKinney San Antonio Hon. Jefferson Moore San Antonio Hon. David Newell Austin Christopher Prine Houston John Rolator McKinney Sian Schilhab Austin Kathleen Schneider Austin Holly Taylor Austin Joseph Varela Houston Deana Williamson Austin Ben Wolff Austin

6. The following persons are appointed as ex officio members of the Committee to serve at the pleasure of the Court: a member of the Texas Supreme Court as designated by that Court; and the Rules Attorney for the Texas Supreme Court.

Austin

Dated: January 22, 2018

Hon. Kevin Yeary

Sharon Keller, Presiding Judge Barbara Hervey, Judge Scott Walker, Judge