



## **MEDIA ADVISORY**

For Immediate Release: April 20, 2018

## Texas's Two Highest Courts Announce Members for Judicial Commission on Mental Health

Texas's two high courts have appointed 31 members to lead the <u>newly established Judicial</u> <u>Commission on Mental Health</u>. The commission, the first body jointly created by the Texas Supreme Court and the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, will examine best practices in the administration of civil and criminal justice for persons with mental illness.

In February, the Courts issued a joint order to establish the commission following the <u>January 11</u>, <u>2018 hearing</u> where mental health professionals, judges and law enforcement officers attested to the need for a permanent judicial body on mental health.

The first meeting of the newly-appointed commission is scheduled for Tuesday, May 15 in Austin. The meeting will be webcast and later archived at <a href="TexasBarCLE.com">TexasBarCLE.com</a>.

The new commissioners will serve through August 2020.

Hon. Brent Carr, Fort Worth

Camille Cain, Austin Terry Crocker, Edinburg Jerry Davis, Austin

Hon. Francisco Dominguez, El Paso

Hon. Camile DuBose, Hondo Dr. Tony Fabelo, Austin Sonja Gaines, Austin

Hon. Ernie Glenn, San Antonio Hon. Sid Harle, San Antonio Dr. Andrew Keller, Dallas Adrienne Kennedy, Austin Hon. M. Sue Kurita, El Paso Beth Ann Lawson, Lubbock Major Mike Lee, Houston

Chief James McLaughlin, Jr. (ret.), Elgin

Mike Maples, Austin

Dr. Octavio Martinez, Austin

Hon. Stacey Matthews, Round Rock

Beth Mitchell, Austin
Tom Mitchell, Houston

Hon. Roxanne Nelson, Marble Falls Hon. Robert Newsom, Sulphur Springs

Hon. Harriet O'Neill (ret.), Austin

Denise Oncken, Houston

Dr. William B. Schnapp, Houston Dr. Brian Shannon, Lubbock Reginald Smith, Austin

reginala Siliti, Austin

Hon. Polly Jackson Spencer (ret.), San

Antonio

Hon. Cynthia Wheless, Plano

Justice Jeff Brown, Supreme Court of Texas, and Judge Barbara Hervey, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, will serve as the initial co-chairs of the Commission. Fourteenth Court of Appeals Justice Bill Boyce, will serve as the initial vice chair.

The governor has been invited to designate a person to serve as an ex-officio member of the Commission. The lieutenant governor and the speaker of the house have also been invited to designate a member from the Texas Senate and the Texas House of Representatives, respectively, to serve as ex-officio members of the Commission.

The signed order can be found at <u>TexasJCMH.gov</u>.

## Contact:

Jessica Arguijo
Communications Manager
Supreme Court Children's Commission
Judicial Commission on Mental Health
Jessica.Arguijo@TXCourts.gov
512-463-7226

###