## Motion Granted and Corrected Order filed May 14, 2020.



### In The

# Fourteenth Court of Appeals

NO. 14-20-00370-CV

IN RE OPRONA, INC., Relator

On Appeal from the 269th District Court Harris County, Texas Trial Court Cause No. 2016-14025

## **CORRECTED ORDER**

On May 13, 2020, relator Oprona, Inc. filed a petition for writ of mandamus in this court. *See* Tex. Gov't Code Ann. § 22.221; *see also* Tex. R. App. P. 52. In the petition relator asks this court to compel the Honorable Cory Don Sepolio, presiding judge of the 269th District Court in Harris County, Texas, to set aside his (1) April 1, 2020 order granting the real party in interest's motion for new trial and (2) May 3, 2020 order denying relator's motion to void the April 1, 2020 new trial order entered in trial court trial number 2016-14025, styled *Erika Arroyo v. Oprona, Inc.* 

Relator has also filed a motion for temporary stay of proceedings below. *See* Tex. R. App. P. 52.8(b), 52.10. On May 13, 2020, relator asked this court to stay proceedings in the trial court pending a decision on the petition for writ of mandamus.

It appears from the facts stated in the petition and motion that relator's request for relief requires further consideration and that relator will be prejudiced unless immediate temporary relief is granted. We therefore **GRANT** relator's motion and issue the following order:

We **ORDER** the filing of the response to the motion to compel discovery due on May 14, 2020 and the hearing on the motion to compel discovery on May 18, 2020, in trial court number 2016-14025, styled *Erika Arroyo v. Oprona, Inc.*, **STAYED** until a final decision by this court on relators' petition for writ of mandamus, or until further order of this court. This order does not stay the mediation scheduled for May 19, 2020.

In addition, the court requests Erika Arroyo, the real party in interest, to file a response to the petition for writ of mandamus on or before May 19, 2020. *See* Tex. R. App. P. 52.4.

#### PER CURIAM

Panel consists of Chief Justice Frost and Justices Zimmerer and Poissant (Zimmerer, J., votes to deny the motion).