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The Texas Eviction Diversion Program (TEDP) Set-Aside of the Texas
Rent Relief (TRR) Program helps Texas tenants stay in their homes
and provides landlords an alternative to eviction.

The TEDP may provide up to 15 months of rental and utility assistance for eligible
tenants who are behind on their rent due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been sued
for eviction. Both the tenant and the landlord must agree to participate and meet the
requirements listed on the back of this page.

This temporary program is a unique partnership between the Supreme Court of Texas,
Texas Office of Court Administration (OCA), and the Texas Department of Housing and
Community Affairs (TDHCA).

If the rent is below the TRR Program maximum, assistance can be used to pay the
contracted rent for all past due rent as far back as March 13, 2020 (up to 12 months),
plus up to 3 months of current/future rent. An additional 3 months (not to exceed
the total of 15 months) may be provided upon re-application if necessary to ensure
housing stability and if funds are available.

The TEDP allows courts to put eviction lawsuits on hold so that the tenant may apply
for available rental assistance. When approved, lump sum payments are provided to
landlords for past-due rent and late fees in exchange for allowing tenants to remainin
their homes and covering court costs. The payment to landlord is generally within 14
days of a complete application being received. Diverted cases will be dismissed and
made confidential from public disclosure.

Tenants are ineligible if they are receiving tenant-based voucher assistance, such as
a Housing Choice Voucher, project-based Section 8 or are living in public housing, or
have already received rental assistance from another source for the same time period.

March 8, 2021




LANDLORD / UNIT TENANT / HOUSEHOLD

Eligibility Requirements:

B Assistance for rent and reasonable late fees (stemming
from non-payment of rent) no older than March 13, 2020

B Contract rent for the household assisted may not exceed
the TDHCA maximum limits (limits available by zip code
and county at TexasRentRelief.com)

B Must have a bank account and accept direct deposit

B Units are INELIGIBLE if tenants are receiving tenant-
based voucher assistance, such as a Housing Choice
Voucher, project-based Section 8 or are living in public
housing, or have already received rental assistance from
another source for the same time period

Documents Needed:

B Government-issued or personal ID (only if individual/sole
proprietor)

B Lease agreement (or if no lease agreement, landlord
attestation as part of the application regarding term and
amount of rent)

B Completed IRS Form W-9

Direct Deposit Information

B Proof of Ownership (real property record/Appraisal
District information)

You will be required to certify that you:

B Will waive any fees or penalties not covered by TEDP/TRR,
and not pass court costs on to the tenant

B Have not received assistance from another program for the
same months of rent for this household and will not apply
in the future for the covered months

B Will release the tenant from payment liability for this time
period, waive all claims raised in the eviction case, and not
evict the tenant for the period covered by TEDP/TRR

B Will reimburse the TEDP/TRR within 10 business days if
you receive rent payment for this same unit and time period

Eligibility Requirements:
B Household has been sued for eviction from primary residence,
located in Texas, and has eviction court docket number

B Household income at or below 80% of Area Median Income (limits
available by county at TexasRentRelief.com)

B AND one or more of the household members:

®  Qualified for unemployment benefits on or after March 13,
2020; OR

m Attest in writing that due to or during the pandemic they have:
* Experienced a reduction in household income,
* Incurred significant costs, or

* Experienced financial hardship
B AND households must demonstrate:

®  That they are at risk of homelessness or housing instability by
providing an eviction notice or past-due utility or rent notice; OR

m  Attest that unless they receive rental assistance, they would
have to move to an unsafe/unhealthy environment like a
shared living situation or emergency shelter

Documents Needed:

B Government-issued or personal ID of a person on the lease

B Lease agreement (or if no lease, rent receipt for the three most
recent complete months paid)

B Income documentation:

® If household has 6 or fewer members, recent SNAP or LIHEAP
eligibility or recent SSI eligibility for the head or co-head of
household, OR

Recent income certification from an affordable property, OR
Annual income documentation for 2020, OR

® Income evidence for past 30 days (self-attestation allowed in
some circumstances, more details on TexasRentRelief.com)

B Notices of late rent payment or notice to evict, including court
docket number, Justice of the Peace precinct, and county

B Past due utility bills, if utility assistance is being requested
B Unemployment documentation, if applicable

You will be required to certify that you:

M Have not received rental assistance for the same months of rent
or the rental assistance received was less than the full amount
owed, and will not seek such assistance in the future for the
covered months

B Will reimburse the TEDP/TRR within 10 business days if you
receive rent (or utility) payment for this same time period

Tenant and Landlord both apply online (TexasRentRelief.com) or by phone (833-9TX-RENT)
If Texas Rent Relief application is eligible and complete, payment to landlord is generally within 14 days

For Questions

Program Eligibility, Process and Application: TexasRentRelief.com | 833-9TX-RENT / 833-989-7368
Court Process: txcourts.gov/eviction-diversion | 855-270-7655 (Texas Legal Service Center)
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