

THE FIFTH ADMINISTRATIVE JUDICIAL REGION OF TEXAS THE DEATH PENALTY QUALIFIED ATTORNEY SELECTION COMMITTEE

LIST OF CURRENTLY QUALIFIED ATTORNEYS ELIGIBLE FOR APPOINTMENT IN DEATH PENALTY CASES (AS OF FEBRUARY 27, 2024)

As either Lead Attorney or Second Chair Attorney:

	Name	County	Date Qualified
1	O. Rene Flores	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023
2	Rogelio Garza	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023
3	Hector Rene Gonzalez	Nueces	February 28, 2023
4	Nathaniel Perez	Cameron	February 28, 2023
5	Ed Stapleton	Cameron	February 28, 2023
6	Jaime Aleman	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023
7	Maria N. Morales	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023
8	Alfredo Padilla	Cameron	February 28, 2023
9	Ernesto Gamez, Jr.	Cameron	February 28, 2023
10	Edmund Cyganiewicz	Cameron	February 28, 2023
11	Daniel Reyes	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023

As Second Chair only:

	Name	County	Date Qualified
1	Robert Capello	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023
2	Irma Sanjines	Nueces	February 28, 2023
3	Carlos Ortegon	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023
4	Abner Burnett	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023
5	Epimenio Ysassi	Nueces	February 28, 2023
6	Lisa Greenberg	Nueces	February 28, 2023
7	Hector Hernandez	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023
8	Juan Tijerina	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023
9	Sara Stapleton Barrera	Cameron	February 28, 2023
10	Clay Dean Thomas	Nacodoches	February 28, 2023
11	Christopher Gale	Nueces	February 28, 2023
12	Norton A. Colvin Jr.	Cameron	February 28, 2023

Ī	13	Cesar de Leon	Cameron	February 27, 2024

For Direct Appeals:

	Name	County	Date Qualified
1	O. Rene Flores	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023
2	Alfredo Padilla	Cameron	February 28, 2023
3	Rolando Garza	Hidalgo	February 28, 2023
4	Travis Berry	Nueces	February 28, 2023
5	Irma Sanjines	Nueces	February 28, 2023
6	Gretchen Sween	Travis	February 28, 2023
7	Clay Dean Thomas	Nacodoches	February 28, 2023
8	Jennae Swiergula	Travis	February 27, 2024