
 

 

 
 

Court of Appeals 
Ninth District of Texas 

1001 Pearl St., Suite 330 
Beaumont, Texas77701 

(409) 835-8402 
 
In 2004,  the Appellate Section of the State Bar of Texas and the Courts of Appeals  worked together to identify key information needed by 

appellate attorneys and pro se litigants to practice effectively before the court. To assist the court in this effort, the Appellate Section collected and 
formatted the relevant information and published it in the Appellate Advocate in February 2005.  This information was updated in June 2014 and 

the court intends to keep the information current for the use of persons with matters before the court. 
 

Internal Operating Procedures of the Ninth Court of Appeals 
 

 
The Basics 

 
1. Court’s Address: 1001 Pearl St., Suite 330, Beaumont, Texas 77701  
2. Telephone number: Phone (409) 835-8402 
3. Website address: http://www.9thcoa.courts.state.tx.us/ 
4. Chief Justice:  Steve McKeithen  Justices: Charles Kreger, Hollis Horton, and Leanne Johnson  
5. Clerk of the Court: Carol Anne Harley 
6. Chief Staff Attorney: Leslie Saia   
7. Counties in District: Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Polk, San Jacinto, 

and Tyler.  

http://www.9thcoa.courts.state.tx.us/


 

 

 
 
 

 The Ins and Outs 
PROCEDURE WHAT AND HOW TO FILE HOW HANDLED COURT’S PARTICULAR 

PRACTICES 
SPECIAL NOTES 

E-Filing Effective January 1, 2014, all 
attorneys in civil and criminal 
cases are required to file all 
documents with the Court through 
the eFileTexas.gov electronic 
filing system. Parties not 
represented by an attorney may e-
file documents, but e-filing is not 
required. 
 
 

All filers should consult the 
Redaction Guidelines found on 
the Supreme Court's website and 
Rules 9.8, 9.9, and 9.10 of the 
Texas Rules of Appellate 
Procedure. 

A filer who e-files a document 
must comply with Rule 9 of 
the Texas Rules of Appellate 
Procedure. 
 
Rule 9.3 of the Texas Rules of 
Appellate Procedure governs 
the number of paper copies 
required when a document is 
filed in a paper format by a 
party not represented by an 
attorney. 

An e-filed document must 
include the e-filer's email 
address, in addition to any 
other information required by 
the Texas Rules of Appellate 
Procedure.  
 
 

Records Court sets due date and notifies 
parties, clerks, and reporter in 
accordance with Tex. R. App. P. 
35.  
 
Motions to extend are filed by 
clerks and reporters directly with 
court.  

Except in parental termination 
and child protection cases as 
defined in Tex. R. App. P. 
28.4(a)(2), first motions to 
extend for 30 days or less––10 
days or less in accelerated cases–
are generally handled by the 
clerks.   
 

Sealed Records will not be 
checked out or viewed except 
as authorized by an order of 
the court sealing the record or 
an order by this Court 
specifying who may check out 
or view the record. 

Under Tex. R. App. P. 35.3(c), 
each extension granted may 
not exceed 30 days in regular 
appeals and 10 days in 
accelerated appeals.  
 
In parental termination and 
child protection cases, 
extensions may not exceed 
30 days total, and the court 
may deny or shorten 
requested extensions. Tex. R. 
App. P. 28.4(b)(2).  

Motions 
 
 
 

See e-filing requirements  Motions are ruled on by the 
Court For agreed or unopposed 
motions, including a certificate 
of conference can expedite the 
ruling on the motion. Motions 

The court generally grants a 
first motion for extension of 
time for up to 30 days to file a 
brief. Further request for an 
extension to file a brief will be 

As a general rule, motion 
rulings and orders issue on 
Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 
Fridays. 

http://efiletexas.gov/
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will be held for 10 days unless a 
certificate of conference shows 
the motion is unopposed, it is an 
emergency, or it requests an 
extension of time to file a brief. 

granted with a notation 
FINAL. 

Briefs See e-filing requirements. Briefs that do not comply with 
Rule 9 of the Texas Rule of 
Appellate Procedure are not 
accepted and are returned for 
correction.  

The Court follows the Texas 
Rules of Appellate Procedure. 

Electronic features: It is 
useful for the bookmarks in 
electronic briefs to list each 
section and heading in the 
brief and each item in the 
appendix.  Hyperlinks from 
citations in the brief to items 
in the appendix are also 
useful. 

Appendix: Appendix should 
include  the items required by 
Tex. R. App. P. 38.1(k)(1) 

 

All filers should consult the 
Redaction Guidelines found 
on the Supreme Court's 
website and Rules 9.8, 9.9, 
and 9.10 of the Texas Rule of 
appellate Procedure. 

Oral Argument A request for oral argument must 
be noted on the front cover of the 
party’s brief, and the party may 
include a statement regarding oral 
argument in the body of the brief.  
See Tex. R. App. P. 38.1(e), 39.7. 
A party’s failure to request oral 
argument on the front cover waives 
the right to argue. If the request is 
inadvertently omitted, it is proper 
to file a motion requesting 
argument promptly after 
discovering the omission.  

The Court grants 20 minutes per 
side, and appellant may reserve 
time for rebuttal. Requests to 
modify the time permitted for 
argument should be made before 
the day of argument. Parties are 
notified of the justices on the 
panel when a submission notice 
letter is mailed about 30 days 
before argument.  

The Court grants oral 
argument under the guidelines 
of Tex. R. App. P. 39.  If the 
court grants oral argument, 
both sides generally will be 
given an opportunity to argue 
even if one side did not 
request oral argument in their 
brief(s). 

Oral argument exhibits may be 
filed electronically before the 
day of argument.  There is a 
charge of $25 per exhibit. 
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Opinions  The Court has undisclosed 
internal guidelines for drafting 
and circulation opinions.  

Except for emergency matters, 
the court issues opinions on: 
Criminal - Wednesdays and 
Civil - Thursdays. 

 

Motions for 
Rehearing 

See e-filing requirements. Motions are circulated to the 
entire panel and voted on by the 
individual panel members.   

En banc consideration is rarely 
requested.  

 

Original 
Proceedings 

 An original proceeding must be 
electronically filed by attorneys but 
is optional for pro se litigants.    

All original proceedings are 
given expedited consideration.  

The Court reviews requests for 
emergency relief immediately. 
The Court’s Judges review 
petitions when they are filed.  

The panel assigned an original 
proceeding will determine 
whether to hear oral argument  

 
 

Technology 
 

1. The Court uses Westlaw, Westlaw Next, Lexis, and Lexis Advance. The Court no longer accepts any filings filed by fax 
from attorneys. For a motion that needs immediate consideration, parties should file motions through eFileTexas.gov, the 
portal established by the Texas Legislature. 

2. The court has access to the Jefferson County Law Library, but appreciates it if the parties provide copies of authorities.  
3. The Court distributes its orders and opinions electronically on its website. 

 
Appellate Mediation 
 
1. The Court has a program for appellate mediation.  
2. Parties are ordered to mediation if the court determines the case is appropriate for mediation or the parties agree. If mediation 

is ordered, the appeal is abated for 60 days, or longer if an extension is granted. Parties are entitled to object to a mediation 
order within 10 days of the date of the order. 

3. When a civil appeal is filed, the parties are notified that the appellant should complete and file a docketing statement, which 
includes a mediation section, and appellee should complete and file a one-page mediation docketing statement.  

 
 



 

 

Fees 
 
1. Appeals: $195 
2. Petitions for Permissive Appeal: $195 
3. Original Proceedings: $145 
4. Motions: $ 10 
5. Motions for rehearing: $15 
6. Responses to Motions or Petition for Permissive Appeals:  No charge. 
7. Exhibits for Oral Argument: $25 per exhibit  
8. Standard Paper Copy of Document without Certificate or Seal: 

 
 1 - 50 pages............................................... $ .10 per page 
 over 50 pages.............................................$ .50 per page 
 offsite files………………………………$1.00 per page 
    
 

(In accordance with the guidelines as provided by Tex. Gov't Code §51.207,  
§51.208, and §51.941Tex. Admin Code §70.3) 
 

9. Certified Copies: $1.00 per page for the first five pages ($5.00 minimum) and one dollar per page for each additional page. 
10. Records are electronic and may be checked out for ten (10) days without charge on civil cases by the attorneys of record. 
 


