11th Administrative Judicial Region

Welcome to the Eleventh Administrative Judicial Region 

Houston, Texas

The Honorable Susan B. Brown, Presiding Judge

Presiding Judge Susan BrownThe state is divided into eleven administrative judicial regions. The office of the Eleventh Administrative Judicial Region (11th AJR) is located in Houston, Texas. The 11th AJR was created by the legislature in 2017 and currently covers six counties (listed below).

The duties of the presiding judge include promulgating and implementing regional rules of administration, advising local judges on judicial management, recommending changes to the Supreme Court for the improvement of judicial administration, and acting for local administrative judges in their absence. The presiding judges also have the authority to assign visiting judges to hold court when necessary to dispose of accumulated business in the region.

    • Brazoria
    • Fort Bend
    • Galveston
    • Harris
    • Matagorda
    • Wharton
Rules and Forms
Region Local Rules
Request for Assignment Form
Attorneys for Capital Cases
Death Penalty Approved Attorneys List
Standards for Qualification
Attorney Application to be placed on Approved Attorney List
Application to be Maintained on Approved Attorney List