How to order a Certificate of Good Standing
Certificates of good standing from the Supreme Court of Texas may now be ordered online by logging on to the State Bar of Texas website. Although you will be logging on to the State Bar website, the certificates are issued by the Supreme Court of Texas. Click on the link below to log on and place your request. Each certificate is $10.00 (plus postage/handling fee of $1.00) and, once processed, may be delivered to you or a third party via email, standard mail, or overnight mail (additional $25.00 overnight fee). Up to three separate recipients may be specified on each request. All requests for certificates will be handled within five business days.
If you are a law firm requesting certificates for 10 or more attorneys, please email the State Bar of Texas directly at
firstname.lastname@example.org for instructions on what is required to place your request.
Any questions or concerns about obtaining your certificate of good standing should be sent to email@example.com
If you need a form for another jurisdiction completed by the Supreme Court of Texas (e.g. North Carolina Certification of Court of Last Resort, Virginia Verification of Reciprocity Form, Ohio Certificate of Admission) contact the Clerk's office at 512-463-1312 ext. 41363 for further instructions.
Attorney licenses are issued after the Board of Law Examiners has certified to the Supreme Court that applicants have passed the bar exam or otherwise are eligible for bar membership. When you receive notice from the board that you have been certified, follow the directions in its letter and send your checks or money orders for the amounts indicated to the State Bar of Texas. Make the checks for dues and license fee payable to "Clerk of the Supreme Court." After your fees have been accepted, your license should be mailed within 6-8 weeks. Do not send us the oath that you are administered. It must be affixed to the back of your license. Click here for a copy of the oath. Click here for a copy of the alternative oath.
To change your name on the official records of the court you must:
- complete the name change form**; and
- provide a copy of a valid, government-issued identification card such as a driver’s license, social security card or passport.
**If you have difficulty opening the name change form, use this static form.
Mail both the completed name change form and a copy of your government-issued identification card to:
Attention: Name Change Request
The Supreme Court of Texas
P.O. Box 12248
Austin, TX 78711
If you want a new law license with the new name on it, you will also need to return your old law license along with a $25 check or money order payable to the "Clerk of the Supreme Court." You may not pay for a new law license with a credit card - only checks are accepted for a new license.
If you want a new bar card with the new name on it, you will need to return your old bar card. Along with the name change form and old bar card, you must include a separate check for $25 payable to the "Clerk of the Supreme Court" or the completed credit card authorization form. [PLEASE NOTE: When paying by check for both the law license and the bar card, two separate checks are required, as described above. A new law license may not be purchased using a credit card.]
You may wish to keep your current law license with your old name on it and just have a new bar card issued. If so, simply send us the aforementioned documentation along with the $25 check payable to the Clerk of the Supreme Court or the completed credit card authorization form, and return your old bar card. Please allow approximately two weeks for processing.
If your license was lost you will need to send a notarized affidavit, stating to that fact. If your license was damaged, you will need to return the damaged license back to the Court. The fee for a replacement license is $25. Please make the check or money order payable to Clerk, Supreme Court of Texas. A new license WILL NOT be issued if you do not provide the Court with either a notarized affidavit or the damaged license.
The Court only issues one original license, but the Court does provide the option of purchasing a License Certificate. The License Certificate is the same size as the original license (16x20). The only difference is the License Certificate is only signed by the Clerk of the Court. To purchase a License Certificate you will need to send a request in writing. The cost is $25.00. Please make the check or money order payable to Clerk, Supreme Court of Texas. Please read the above. If you still have questions concerning certificates, status of your law license, or name changes please contact our Deputy Clerk for Licensing at (512) 463-1312 ext. 41363.
Questions about attorneys and their status can be found on the State Bar of Texas website, www.texasbar.com. If you have any other questions on a particular attorney, please contact the State Bar of Texas at (800) 204-2222.
Texas Lawyer’s Creed
The Supreme Court of Texas and the Court of Criminal Appeals promulgated and adopted the Texas Lawyer’s Creed - A Mandate for Professionalism on November 7, 1989. The Texas Lawyer’s Creed sets out standards of conduct for lawyers in their interactions with clients, other lawyers, and judges.