Texas Judicial Council


The Texas Judicial Council is composed of 16 ex-officio and six appointed members. The Council is chaired by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court with the Presiding Judge of the Court of Criminal Appeals as Vice-Chair. The Chief Justice appoints ten judicial members, two from each level of court. The Lieutenant Governor appoints two members of the Senate, and the Speaker of the House of Representatives appoints one member of the House with the chair of the Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence Committee serving on the Council. The Governor appoints six citizen members to the Council, three of which are members of the State Bar of Texas and two of which must not be licensed to practice law. Citizen members serve six-year terms.

Chair  Term Expires
Hon. Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Texas 12/31/20
Hon. Sharon Keller, Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals 12/31/18
Legislative Members  
Hon. Brandon Creighton, Senator, Conroe  
Hon. Andrew Murr, Representative, Junction  
Hon. John T. Smithee, Representative, Amarillo  
Hon. Judith Zaffirini, Senator, Laredo  
Judicial Members  
Hon. Gary Bellair, Presiding Judge, Ransom Canyon Municipal Court 02/01/19
Hon. Bill Boyce, Justice, 14th Court of Appeals, Houston 02/01/21
Hon. Bill Gravell Jr., Justice of the Peace Pct. 3, Williamson County 02/01/19
Hon. Scott Jenkins, Judge, 53rd District Court, Travis County 02/01/19
Hon. Kelly Moore, Judge, 121st Judicial District, Terry & Yoakum 02/01/21
Hon. Valencia Nash, Justice of the Peace Pct. 1, Place 2, Dallas County 02/01/21
Hon. Sherry Radack, Chief Justice, 1st Court of Appeals, Houston 02/01/19
Hon. Polly Spencer, Judge (Ret.), Probate Court #1, Bexar County 02/01/19
Hon. Edward J. Spillane, III, Presiding Judge, City of College Station 02/01/21
Hon. Vivian Torres, Medina County Court at Law, Hondo 02/01/21
Citizen Members  
Mr. Carlos Z. Amaral, Information Services Group, Inc., Plano 06/30/17
Ms. Sonia Clayton, Virtual Intelligence Providers LLC, Houston 06/30/19
Ms. Allyson Ho, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP, Dallas 06/30/19
Ms. Ashley Johnson, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP, Dallas 06/30/17
Mr. Kenneth S. Saks, Oliva Saks Garcia & Curiel, LLP, San Antonio 06/30/21
Mr. Evan Young, Baker Botts, Austin 06/30/21
Executive Director  
David Slayton