IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 07 - 9137

ORDER ESTABLISHING TASK FORCE TO EXPAND LEGAL SERVICES DELIVERY

At the request of the Court, the Texas Access to Justice Commission reported on the status of civil legal services to the poor in Texas in September 2004. In its report, the Commission identified various problems facing access to justice in Texas. Although every Texas county is served by a federally funded legal services program, some areas in the state remain chronically underserved, especially the rural counties. Remote distances, fewer satellite offices, and lack of transportation complicate access for poor people in rural counties.

The Supreme Court recognizes that access to justice requires special attention to the expansion of legal services to the underserved areas of Texas. Upon the recommendation of the Texas Access to Justice Commission, the Court agrees that a special Task Force would assist the Commission in the successful expansion of legal services to underserved areas of Texas.

The Court **HEREBY ORDERS**:

. . .

The appointment and creation of a Supreme Court Task Force to Expand Legal Services Delivery. The Supreme Court Task Force to Expand Legal Services Delivery will:

- 1. Coordinate a statewide effort with existing legal service providers to expand civil legal services to underserved areas of the state;
- 2. Report its findings, recommendations and results directly to the Texas Access to Justice Commission and respond to specific recommendations as directed by the Commission to develop new and innovative programs;
- 3. Draft an initial report to the Commission, which shall be due no later than December 1st of each year. The report should include:
 - Minutes from each Task Force meeting;
 - Findings, plans and recommendations of the Task Force to better coordinate and expand delivery of legal services to the underserved areas of the state;
 - Results of actions taken;
 - Recommendation for Commission action to provide access to justice in underserved areas;

Misc. Docket No. 07- 9137

- A one-year Plan of Action from each appointed member of the Task Force that details his or her section's stated intentions, plans and/or goals to assist the Access to Justice Commission; and
- Other relevant information.
- 4. The Task Force will select its own chair from members appointed to the Task Force.
- 5. The following members are hereby appointed to the Task Force for terms as indicated:

Permanent members:

« · .

Administrative Director, Office of Court Administration Chair, Texas Access to Justice Commission Chief Executive Officer, Lone Star Legal Aid Chief Executive Officer, Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas Commission Liaison, Supreme Court of Texas Executive Director, Texas RioGrande Legal Aid Pro Bono Committee Chair, Texas Court Reporters Association

Two-year terms, beginning each odd-numbered year:

Chair-Elect, Administrative & Public Law Section, State Bar of Texas Chair-Elect, Bankruptcy Law Section, State Bar of Texas Chair-Elect, Consumer & Commercial Law Section, State Bar of Texas Chair-Elect, Corporate Counsel Section, State Bar of Texas Chair-Elect, Military Law Section, State Bar of Texas Chair, Poverty Law Section, State Bar of Texas President-Elect, Texas Association of Defense Counsel* President-Elect, Texas Young Lawyers Association

Two-year terms, beginning each even-numbered year:

Chair-Elect, Appellate Section, State Bar of Texas* Chair-Elect, Family Law Section, State Bar of Texas Chair-Elect, Government Lawyers Section, State Bar of Texas Vice-Chair, Labor & Employment Law Section, State Bar of Texas Vice-Chair, Litigation Section, State Bar of Texas President-Elect, Paralegal Division, State Bar of Texas Vice-Chair, Real Estate, Probate & Trust Law Section, State Bar of Texas President-Elect, Texas Trial Lawyers Association

Each member of the Task Force is appointed for a two-year term commencing June 1, unless otherwise indicated. As each two-year term expires, the member is replaced by the incoming Chair-Elect, Chair, Vice-Chair or President-Elect, of their respective organization, as indicated in the order.

Misc. Docket No. 07-___ 9137

* Each member from this group or State Bar section is appointed for a two-year term commencing November 1.

Miscellaneous Docket Order No. 05-9182 is hereby withdrawn. 6.

Wallace B. Jefferson, Chief/Justice

Nathan L. Hecht, Justice

riet O'Neill, Justice Η

Dale Wainwright, Justice

Scott A. Brister, Justice

David Medina, Justice

Paul W. Green, Justice

Phil Johnson, Justice

6-K. 4 Don R. Willett, Justice

.

٠