## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 11- 9180

APPOINTMENT OF TASK FORCE FOR RULES IN SMALL CLAIMS CASES AND JUSTICE COURT PROCEEDINGS

## **ORDERED** that:

1. A task force is appointed to advise the Supreme Court regarding rules to be adopted or revised pursuant to House Bill 79 enacted by the 82nd Legislature (Act of June 29, 2011, 82nd Leg., 1st C.S., ch. 3, §§ 5.02 (adopting Tex. Gov.t Code § 27.060) and 5.07). House Bill 79 calls for the Court to promulgate rules to define which justice court cases constitute small claims cases; rules of civil procedure applicable to small claims cases; and rules for eviction proceedings. The legislation directs that the rules ensure the fair, expeditious, and inexpensive resolution of small claims cases.

2. Because House Bill 79 repeals chapter 28 of the Texas Government Code effective May 1, 2013, thereby abolishing small claims court as of that date, and calls for rules to be promulgated not later than that date, the task force is directed to make final recommendations to the Court by April 1, 2012. The Court will refer the recommendations to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee and publish them for public comment before final adoption.

2	The mean have	. f +1 +	1. C
э.	The members	of the tas	k force are:

Michael J. Black	San Antonio	Hon. Greg Magee	Point Blank
Hon. Russell B. Casey	Hurst	Janet Marton	Houston
Hon. Albert Bernard Cercone	Dallas	Nelson Mock	Austin
Hon. David Cobos	Midland	Hon. Russell C. Ridgway	Houston
Hon. Jo Ann Delgado	Houston	Hon. Gordon Starkenburg	Pearland
Hon. Judy Schier Hobbs	Taylor	Hon. Ralph Swearingin Jr.	Fort Worth
Hon. Ronnie Jordan	Crockett	Bronson Tucker	Austin
Marty B. Leewright	Fort Worth	Ted Wood	Austin

- 4. Hon. Russell B. Casey is chair of the task force.
- 5. Justice Nathan L. Hecht is the Supreme Court's liaison to the task force.

Dated: September 7, 2011.

me IR

Wallace B. Jefferson, Chief Justice

in

Nathan L. Hecht, Justice

L MUC

Dale Wainwright, Justice

David M. Medina, Justice

([IW

Paul W. Green, Justice

Phil Johnson, Justice

6 R. W. l.6-Don R. Willett, Justice Man

Eva M. Guzman, Justice

Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice

Page 3