IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 11- 9213

ORDER SETTING HEARING ON STATE-WIDE E-FILING

Courts across Texas have slowly implemented e-filing on a county by county basis over the last eight years. Of the approximately fifty counties that have implemented e-filing in their courts, several use an e-filing system different from that mandated in the Supreme Court of Texas and used by other courts throughout the state.

As the use of e-filing grows, the Court must assess whether Texas, like other states, should adopt a state-wide uniform e-filing system. While a uniform e-filing system may aid users by increasing convenience and decreasing costs, these benefits must be balanced against local concerns and individual counties' desires to implement a system of their choosing.

But the method by which court documents are filed is not the end of the inquiry. The Court must also determine whether parties, the public, and practicing attorneys alike would benefit from a statewide PACER-type system, which would allow users to access court documents via a centralized service once they have been e-filed.

To assist the Court in understanding the benefits and drawbacks of a uniform state-wide efiling system and evaluating the type of e-filing and document access system that may be most practical, beneficial, and cost-efficient, the Court has scheduled a hearing for Thursday, December 8, 2011 in the Supreme Court of Texas Courtroom, to begin at 2:00 p.m. The Court invites the following individuals to share their knowledge and views on these issues:

 Honorable Rebecca Simmons, Chair, Judicial Committee on Information Technology Honorable Mike Engelhart, Judge, 151st District Court, Harris County Honorable Chris Daniel, District Clerk, Harris County Honorable Gary Fitzsimmons, District Clerk, Dallas County Honorable Amalia Rodriguez-Mendoza, District Clerk, Travis County Honorable Sheri Woodfin, District Clerk, Tom Green County Erin Hutchins, Director of Portal Operations, NIC Tammy Carter, General Manager, CaseFile Xpress Dennis Van Metre, Chief Technology Officer, Vinson & Elkins All speakers are limited to five minutes with the exception of the Honorable Rebecca Simmons, who will have ten minutes to address the Court. The Court may extend this time at its discretion. In the event one of the above-named individuals is unable to attend, that individual may designate an alternate to speak in his or her place. The names of alternates should be submitted to Blake Hawthorne, Clerk of the Court, no later than December 1, 2011.

In addition, the Court asks all invited speakers to submit written comments explaining their position on these e-filing and access issues. Members of the public are invited to submit written comments as well. Please address all written comments to Blake Hawthorne at P.O. Box 12248, Austin, Texas, 78711 no later than November 15, 2011.

SIGNED this 3^{4} day of October, 2011.

Wallace B. Geffern

Wallace B. Jefferson, Chief

Nathan L. Hecht, Justice

Dale Wainwright, Justice

Medinn David M. Medina, Justice

Paul W. Green, Justice

Phil Johnson, Justice

 $\frac{\bigcup_{D \in \mathcal{R}} \mathcal{R}}{\text{Don R. Willett, Justice}}$

Eva M. Guzman, Justice

Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice