IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 93-0134

SUPREME COURT RULES ADVISORY COMMITTEE

ORDERED:

1. The Court's Orders establishing the Supreme Court Advisory Committee — Order of July 7, 1980, amended by part V of the Court's Order of April 18, 1988, further amended by Order of July 7, 1980 — are vacated, and the following Order is substituted:

The Supreme Court Rules Advisory Committee, first created in 1939 and reconstituted at various times since then, shall assist the Supreme Court in the continuing study, review and development of rules and procedures for the courts of Texas, taking into consideration the rules and procedures of other courts of the United States and proposals for changes from whatever source received. The Committee shall solicit, summarize and report to the Court the views of the bar and the public on court rules and procedures, and shall make recommendations for change. The Court is not bound by the Committee's recommendations.

The meetings of the Committee shall be open to the public, and a record shall be made of all its proceedings. The Office of Court Administration shall serve as Secretariat for the Committee. The expenses of the Committee shall be paid from funds appropriated by the Legislature, or by the State Bar of Texas.

Members of the Committee shall be appointed by the Supreme Court, which shall from time to time determine their number, qualifications and terms of service. A Chair appointed by the Court to serve at its pleasure shall call meetings with the approval of the Court, prepare an agenda in advance of each meeting, and preside over the meetings. The Court and each Committee member shall be given the proposals, drafts and other materials to be discussed at each meeting.

2. The following persons are appointed to serve as members of the Supreme Court Rules Advisory Committee from the date of this Order until December 31, 1996:

Alejandro Acosta Jr.	El Paso	David E. Keltner	Fort Worth
Prof. Alexandra W. Albright	Austin	Tommy Jacks	Austin
Charles L. Babcock	Houston	Thomas S. Leatherbury	Dallas
Pamela Stanton Baron	Austin	John H. Marks Jr.	Dallas
Hon. Scott A. Brister	Houston	Hon. F. Scott McCown	Austin
Prof. Elaine A. G. Carlson	Houston	Harriet E. Miers	Dallas
Hon. Ann Tyrrell Cochran	Houston	Hon. David Peeples	San Antonio
Sarah B. Duncan	San Antonio	Dan R. Price	Austin
Michael T. Gallagher	Houston	Luther H. Soules	San Antonio
Anne L. Gardner	Fort Worth	Stephen D. Susman	Houston
Donald M. Hunt	Lubbock	Stephen Yelenosky	Austin

3. The members whose terms expire December 31, 1993, continue to serve. The following persons are appointed to serve as members of the Supreme Court Rules Advisory Committee from January 1, 1994, to December 31, 1996:

David J. Beck	Houston	Gilbert I. Low	Beaumont
Prof. William V. Dorsaneo III	Dallas	Russell H. McMains	Corpus Christi
Hon. Clarence A. Guittard	Dallas	Robert E. Meadows	Houston
Michael A. Hatchell	Tyler	Richard R. Orsinger	San Antonio
Charles F. Herring Jr.	Austin	David L. Perry	Corpus Christi
Franklin Jones Jr.	Marshall	Anthony J. Sadberry	Houston
Joseph Latting Jr.	Austin	Paula Sweeney	Dallas

- 4. The following persons are appointed *ex officio* members of the Committee to serve at the pleasure of the Court:
- a Member of the Court of Criminal Appeals designated by that Court
- a member of the State Bar of Texas Court Rules Committee, Administration of Rules of Evidence Committee, Appellate Section, and Litigation Section, designated by the chair of each such group, respectively
- a district clerk and a county clerk designated by the president of the County and District Clerks' Association of Texas
- a justice of the peace designated by the president of the Texas Justices of the Peace and Constables Association
- a court reporter designated by the president of the Texas Court Reporters Association
 - 5. Luther H. Soules of San Antonio is reappointed chairman of the Committee.

SIGNED AND ENTERED this 30 day of July, 1993.

Thomas R. Phillips
Thomas R. Phillips, Chief Justice
Raul A. Gonzalez, Justice
Raul A. Gonzalez, Justice
La Att
Jack Hightower, Justice
Nathan C. Sch
Nathan L. Hecht, Justice
Lloyd Doggett, Justice
Lloyd Doggett, Justice
John Cornyn, Justice
John Cornyn, Justice
Sol Vans
Bob Gammage, Justice
Cran Grock
Craig Enoch, Justice
RoseSteela
Rose Spector Justice