ORDER OF THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 96-9263

The Supreme Court of Texas hereby amends Section 1 of the Rules for Establishment of the Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee as follows:

Section 1. Appointment of Committee

The Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee for the State Bar of Texas (hereinafter the "Committee") shall consist of nine (9) members appointed by the Supreme Court, three (3) of which members shall be nonlawyers. Members of the Committee shall serve a term of three (3) years except that the Supreme Court in making the first appointments to the Committee shall appoint three (3) members to serve an initial term of one (1) year, three (3) members to serve an initial term of two (2) years, and three (3) members to serve an initial term of three (3) years. All members of the Committee shall be eligible for reappointment. A chairperson and vice chair of the Committee shall be designated each year by the Supreme Court. The vice chair may act for the chair in his absence or incapacity.

This amendment is effective immediately.

In Chambers, this 2^{4} day of December, 1996.

Thomas R. Phillips, Chief Justice

Raul A. Gonzalez,

Nathan L. Hecht, Justice

John Cornyn, Justice

2 Craig T. Enoch, Justice

Rose Spector, Justice

Priscilla R. Owen, Justice

25

A. Baker, Justice Jame

flu Greg Abbott, Justice

Misc. Docket No. 96-9263