State	When passed	Who can file	Evidence required	Length of Order and Standard of Proof	Sell or Transfer firearms?	Surrender	Procedural safeguards	Process for enforcement	Return of Firearms
California	2016	LE, Family or HH member	Must consider: threats or acts of violence to self or others in past 6 months; violation of a DV PO in effect or within the past 6 months; any conviction for any crime that prohibits purchase and possession of firearms; a pattern of violence acts or threats within the past 12 months. May consider other evidence (prior arrests, reckless use of a firearm or brandishing, history of violating DV POs, recent acquisition of firearms, etc.)	Temporary: 21 days and reasonable cause Yearlong: clear and convincing	Respondent can sell or transfer directly to a licensed firearm dealer; must issue a receipt and filed with the court within 48 hours of being served the order	Statute silent as to searching for the firearms; order states respondent has 24 hours from service of order to relinquish guns and amo to LE (or sell/transfer to licensed dealer).	Crime to knowingly file a false or intentionally harassing petition	Requires surrender to specific LE immediately upon service of the PO or to LE within 24 hours or may sell/transfer to a licensed firearms dealer with receipt and file receipts within 48 hours;	33850 requires an application to CA DOJ to have firearms returned 33865 requires a background check

State	When passed	Who can file	Evidence required	Length of Order and Standard of Proof	Sell or Transfer firearms?	Surrender	Procedural safeguards	Process for enforcement	Return of Firearms
Connecticut	1999	2 LE officers or 1 state's attorney	Person poses a risk of imminent injury to self or others; person possesses one or more firearms; firearm is within or upon any place, thing or person	Temporary: 14 days and Probable cause Yearlong: clear and convincing evidence required	29-36k Anytime while a person's firearms are seized, that person may transfer/sell such firearms to any person eligible to possess such firearms by giving written notice to the head of the state agency holding such seized firearms. The agency must deliver such firearms within ten days to the designated	The warrant permits LE to search within a reasonable time the person, place or thing named for any and all firearms and ammunition			29-36k requires a request be made to return firearms; only returned if LE confirms: 1) restraining order, protective order, or court removal order are expired; 2) person not otherwise disqualified from possessing a firearm; 3) legally entitled to possess a firearm
					transferee				

State Wh	nen ssed	Who can file	Evidence required	Length of Order and Standard of Proof	Sell or Transfer firearms?	Surrender	Procedural safeguards	Process for enforcement	Return of Firearms
Florida 201	18	LE only	Respondent poses a significant danger of causing personal injury to self or others; court can consider (history of suicide, threats of violence, attempts or actual violence; previous convictions; drug abuse; previous gun crimes; recent purchase or attempt to purchase; etc.)	LE must attempt to provide notice to family/HH members at risk; no fee required; Temporary: reasonable cause and 14 days. Yearlong: clear and convincing evidence; order lasts 12 months	Once in the possession of LE, respondent may elect to transfer firearms and amo to another person. LE must allows such a transfer only if: 1) person is eligible to own or possess after confirmation of background check 2)attests to storing such that respondent has no access; 3) attests not to transfer back until ERPO ends	Must surrender immediately; LE may seek a search warrant from a court to search for firearms if probable cause to believe that there are firearms or ammunition owned which have not been surrendered; 3rd degree felony to possess after PO;	Court must provide form to respondent to request vacating the order; respondent may request 1 time to vacate the order; petitioner can request extension up to 30 days before expiration; 3rd degree felony to make false statement under oath at hearing on PO; crime to make a false statement under oath	Requires surrender to specific LE immediately upon service of the PO	Weapons back immediately upon expiration of order with request from respondent and a background check; court required to send notice to Petitioner at least 30 days before the order expires notifying respondent of the impending end of the ERPO; LE must provide notice to family or HH members before the return of surrender

State	When passed	Who can file	Evidence required	Length of Order and Standard of Proof	Sell or Transfer firearms?	Surrender	Procedural safeguards	Process for enforcement	Return of Firearms
Indiana	2005	LE only	A sworn affidavit describing the facts leading LE to believe an individual is dangerous and in possession of a firearm	Temporary: 14 days; Probable cause Indefinite: must prove by clear and convincing; order lasts indefinitely; Search and seizure warrant issued	Once in LE's possession, respondent may request the court to order LE to sell the firearm(s) at auction and return the proceeds to the individual	Search and seizure warrant issued	Person can petition the court for return of the firearm at least 180 days after the court ordered LE to retain the firearms. Individual must prove by a preponderance of the evidence that he/she is not dangerous.	File a return with the court stating when the warrant served and the quantity and identify of any firearms seized;	Only returned if prove by preponderance of evidence that no longer dangerous.

	Vhen assed	Who can file	Evidence required	Length of Order and Standard of Proof	Sell or Transfer firearms?	Surrender	Procedural safeguards	Process for enforcement	Return of Firearms
Maryland 20	018	LE, Family or HH member, and certain categories of mental and other health workers	Poses an immediate and present danger to self or others; identify number, types and locations of any firearms	Interim: reasonable grounds and hearing on first or second day on which a district court judge is sitting after issuance of interim order; Temporary: Reasonable grounds and only effective for 7 days; Judge may extend temporary not to exceed 6 months; Yearlong: must prove by clear and convincing; order lasts 12 months; can only proceed to final order hearing if respondent appears, has been served or court has personal jurisdiction over the respondent	If someone other than respondent owns the guns, LE shall return firearms to them provided they agree to prevent respondent from accessing gun	Must surrender. LE may seek a search warrant from a court to search for firearms if have probable cause to believe that there are firearms or ammunition owned which have not been surrendered;	Interim, temporary or final order should include form advising rights (seek an attorney, grounds asserted, notice of the hearing, etc.); respondent can reschedule the hearing for no later than 30 days after initial hearing; Crime to knowingly file a false or intentionally harassing petition	Requires surrender; court can issue search warrant upon probable cause person failed to surrender or reacquired firearms;	upon expiration of order LE must notify respondent they can request return of firearms and amo; with request from respondent and a background check;

ра	hen assed	Who can file	Evidence required	Length of Order and Standard of Proof	Sell or Transfer firearms?	Surrender	Procedural safeguards	Process for enforcement	Return of Firearms
Oregon 20	017	LE Family or HH member	Presents a risk in the near future to self or others; factors court can consider (history of suicide, threats of violence, attempts or actual violence; previous convictions; drug abuse; previous gun crimes; recent purchase or attempt to purchase; etc.)	Clear and convincing evidence; respondent has 30 days to request a hearing to contest the ex parte order; if requested, the hearing must be held in 21 days; no fee required Both parties can request extension or termination of order once within 12 months; hearing required and person requesting has burden of proof	Respondent can surrender firearms directly to LE, gun dealer, or a third party who can lawfully possess; If guns owned by someone else, LE must give guns to that person, but requires person to prevent respondent from gaining access	order states respondent has 24 hours from service of order to relinquish guns and amo to LE (or sell/transfer to licensed dealer). Continuing to possess is a Class A misdemean or.	Crime to knowingly file a false or intentionally harassing petition	The order states place to surrender guns/ammuniti on; if owned by someone else, LE must give guns to the owner who is required to prevent the person from gaining access	Must be returned upon expiration of order upon request and after background check

State	When passed	Who can file	Evidence required	Length of Order and	Sell or Transfer	Surrender	Procedural safeguards	Process for enforcement	Return of Firearms
				Standard of	firearms?				
				Proof					
Vermont	2018	LE only or		Temporary:	Can	Statute	Crime to		Released upon
		other		Preponderance	surrender	silent as to	knowingly file a		receipt of a
		state		of the evidence;	firearms	searching	false or		court order
		officials		Hearing on final	directly to a	for	intentionally		stating the
				order held	licensed	firearms;	harassing		firearms can
				within 14 days	firearms	order states	petition		be released; if
				of issuance of ex	dealer or a	respondent			failed to be
				parte order;	third party;	has 24			retrieved
				Yearlong:	third party	hours from			within 90 days
				Must prove by	must	service of			of court order
				clear and	execute an	order to			releasing it,
				convincing	affidavit	relinquish			can be sold;
					they are	guns to LE			
					subject to	(or			
					civil	sell/transfer			
					contempt if	to licensed			
					allow	dealer).			
					respondent				
					to have				
I					access				

State	When passed	Who can file	Evidence required	Length of Order and Standard of Proof	Sell or Transfer firearms?	Surrender	Procedural safeguards	Process for enforcement	Return of Firearms
Washington	2016	LE, Family or HH member	Identify number, types and locations of any firearms	Temporary: Ex parte order lasts 14 days; reasonable cause Yearlong: Preponderance of the evidence	If someone other than respondent owns the guns, LE shall return firearms to them provided they agree to prevent respondent from accessing gun	Surrender within 48 hours; LE may seek a search warrant from a court to search for firearms if probable cause to believe that there are firearms or ammunition owned which have not been surrendered	crime to knowingly file a false or intentionally harassing petition		Requires a background check before returning and confirmation from the court the ERPO has terminated or expired without renewal; must provide notice to family or HH member if requested;