

Court of Appeals Fourteenth District of Texas

301 Fannin, Room 245 Houston, Texas77002 (713) 274-2800

February 1, 2023

In 2004, the Appellate Section of the State Bar of Texas and the Courts of Appeals worked together to identify key information needed by appellate attorneys and pro se litigants to practice effectively before the court. To assist the court in this effort, the Appellate Section collected and formatted the relevant information and published it in the Appellate Advocate in February 2005. This information was updated in February 2023 and the court intends to keep the information current for the use of persons with matters before the court.

Internal Operating Procedures of the Fourteenth Court of Appeals

The Basics

- 1. Court's Address: 301 Fannin, Room 245, Houston, Texas 77002
- 2. Telephone number: Phone (713) 274-2800
- 3. Website address: <u>http://www.txcourts.gov/14thcoa</u>
- 4. Justices: Tracy Christopher (C.J.), Ken Wise, Kevin D. Jewell, Frances Bourliot, Jerry Zimmerer, Charles A. Spain, Meagan Hassan, Margaret 'Meg' Poissant, and Randy Wilson.
- 5. Chief Staff Attorney: Debora M. Young
- 6. Clerk of the Court: Deborah M. Young, Clerk Pro Tempore
- 7. Local Rules: Local Rules Relating to Assignment of Related Cases to and Transfers of Related Cases Between the First and Fourteenth Courts of Appeals. The other internal operating procedures of the Court are confidential.
- 8. Counties in District: The 1st and 14th Courts have concurrent jurisdiction over cases from Harris and 9 other counties: Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Grimes, Waller, and Washington.

9. The trial court clerk randomly assigns each appeal to either the 1st or 14th Court, with one exception: cases in which a related matter has previously been heard by a particular court are assigned to that court.

		I ne ins and Outs		
PROCEDURE	WHAT AND HOW TO FILE	HOW HANDLED	Court's Particular Practices	SPECIAL NOTES
E-Filing	Effective January 1, 2014, <u>all</u> <u>attorneys in civil and criminal</u> <u>cases</u> are required to file all documents (except a document submitted under seal or subject to a motion to seal) with the Court through the <u>eFileTexas.gov</u> electronic filing system. Parties not represented by an attorney may efile documents, but e-filing is not required. Visit <u>http://efiletexas.gov/</u> and the Supreme Court website at <u>www.supreme.courts.state.tx.us/</u> <u>ebriefs/ebriefs.asp</u> for more information.	All filers should consult the Redaction Guidelines found on the Supreme Court's website and Rules 9.8, 9.9, and 9.10 of the Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure.	Texas Rules of	An e-filed document must include the e-filer's email address, in addition to any other information required by the Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure.

The Ins and Outs

Records	Court sets due date and notifies parties, clerks, and reporter in accordance with Tex. R. App. P. 35. Motions to extend are filed by clerks and reporters directly with Court.	Except in parental termination and child protection cases as defined in Tex. R. App. P. 28.4(a)(2), first motions to extend for 30 days or less—10 days or less in accelerated cases—are generally handled by the clerks. First motions asking for more than this amount of time, as well as subsequent motions, are submitted to a panel for consideration.	All records are electronic and may be viewed by attorneys of record via the Attorney portal (https://attorneyportal.txcourts .gov/Account/Login)or on CDRom at the requests of selfrepresented parties. Sealed Records will not be checked out or viewed except as authorized by an order of the court sealing the record or an order by this Court specifying who may check out or view the record.	Under Tex. R. App. P. 35.3(c), each extension granted may not exceed 30 days in regular appeals and 10 days in accelerated appeals. In juvenile certification and parental termination and child protection cases, extensions may not exceed 30 days total, and the Court may deny or shorten requested extensions. Tex. R. App. P. 28.4(b)(2).
Motions	See e-filing requirements	Cases are assigned to one of three panels when filed. Motions are ruled on by the current members of the panel to which the case is assigned (panel	The Court generally grants a first motion for extension of time for up to 30 days to file a brief. Further requests for extensions to file a brief will	As a general rule, motion rulings and orders issue on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

membership generally changes four times per year). For agreed or unopposed motions, including a certificate of conference can expedite the ruling on the motion. Motions will be held for 10 days unless a certificate of conference shows the motion isbe considered on a case-bycase basis.	PROCEDURE	WHAT AND HOW TO FILE	HOW HANDLED	COURT'S PARTICULAR PRACTICES	SPECIAL NOTES
unopposed, it is an emergency, or it requests an extension of time to file a brief.			four times per year). For agreed or unopposed motions, including a certificate of conference can expedite the ruling on the motion. Motions will be held for 10 days unless a certificate of conference shows the motion is unopposed, it is an emergency, or it requests an extension of time	•	

Briefs	<i>See</i> e-filing requirements.	Briefs that do not comply with Rule 9 of the Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure are not accepted and are returned for correction.	The Court follows the Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure. Electronic features : It is useful for the bookmarks in electronic briefs to list each section and heading in the brief (or a shortened version thereof) and each item in the appendix. Hyperlinks from citations in the brief to items in the appendix are also useful.	All filers should consult the Redaction Guidelines found on the Supreme Court's website and Rules 9.8, 9.9, and 9.10 of the Texas Rule of appellate Procedure.
			Appendix: In addition to the items required by Tex. R. App. P. 38.1(k)(1), the appendix should include key authorities that are not available on Westlaw.	
			Cross-Appeals: In cases involving cross-appeals, the Court considers motions to alter the number and schedule of briefs.	
Case Assignment	Pursuant to the Court's Local Rules, when a notice of appeal is filed, it must contain a statement indicating whether a related appeal	Panels are generally reconstituted four times per year (at the first of August, November, February, and May) according to a random	The justices and legal staff of each panel read briefs, review	En banc consideration is rare.

PROCEDURE	WHAT AND HOW TO FILE	HOW HANDLED	COURT'S PARTICULAR	SPECIAL NOTES
			PRACTICES	

	or original proceeding has been previously filed in either the First or Fourteenth Court of Appeals. The notice must provide the related case's caption and cause numbers.	matrix. The Chief Justice always presides over A Panel or any other panel on which the Chief Justice is assigned. The most senior justice selected for each of the other panels will preside over that panel. A random draw several weeks before submission determines initial authorship of each case.	cases at pre-submission and post-submission conference.	
Oral Argument	A request for oral argument must be noted on the front cover of the party's brief (somewhere other than the top right corner). A party requesting argument is encouraged to include a statement of reasons in the body of the brief addressing why argument should be permitted. <i>See</i> Tex. R. App. P. 38.1(e), 39.7. If the case is part of the SBOT/HBA pro bono program, that fact should be included in the statement. A party's failure to request oral argument on the front cover waives the right to argue. If the request is inadvertently omitted, it is proper to file a motion requesting argument promptly after discovering the omission. Late requests are not favored.	The Court grants 15 minutes per side, and appellant may reserve time for rebuttal. Requests to modify the time permitted for argument should be made before the day of argument. Parties are notified of the justices on the panel when a submission notice letter is mailed about 30 days before argument.	The Court grants oral argument under the guidelines of Tex. R. App. P. 39. If the Court grants oral argument, both sides generally will be given an opportunity to argue even if one side did not request oral argument in their brief(s).	Oral argument exhibits may be filed electronically before the day of argument. There is a charge of \$25 per exhibit.
Voting			The Court's deliberative process is confidential.	Opinions and motions are circulated electronically for voting by the justices.
Opinions		The Court has undisclosed internal guidelines with deadlines for drafting and circulation opinions. The authoring judge circulates an opinion only to the other members of the panel.	Except for emergency matters, the Court issues opinions on Tuesdays and Thursdays.	

PROCEDURE	WHAT AND HOW TO FILE	HOW HANDLED	COURT'S PARTICULAR PRACTICES	SPECIAL NOTES
Motions for Rehearing	<i>See</i> e-filing requirements.	Motions are circulated to the entire panel and voted on by the individual panel members. It is rare for the Court to grant a rehearing without a request by the parties.	En banc consideration is not favored. The justices on the Court carefully apply the standard in Rule 41.2(c), which limits en banc consideration to cases where extraordinary circumstances or conflicts exist. The justices on the original panel first consider the en banc motion. If the panel changes its opinion, the en banc motion is not circulated to the rest of the Court. If the panel does not change its opinion, the vote of the justices on the panel is reported to the rest of justices, who then consider the motion. If any justice calls for a vote, the entire Court votes on rehearing.	By ORDER dated January 1, 2021, the Court has adopted a procedure for the assignment of justices when a justice can no longer participate in deciding the motion for rehearing. Tex. R. App. P. 49.3

Original Proceedings	When an original proceeding is filed, the Court's local rules require that a notice must be filed indicating whether a related appeal or original proceeding has been previously filed in either the First or Fourteenth Courts of Appeals. The notice must provide the related case's caption and cause numbers.	The First and Fourteenth Courts of Appeals have concurrent habeas and mandamus jurisdiction. Petitions are docketed in a single book and assigned on a rotation basis. If, however, one court had a related matter, the proceeding will be assigned to the court that had that related matter. See Local Rule 1.	A party seeking emergency relief should call and notify the court clerk that the motion is going to be filed. The Court reviews requests for emergency relief immediately. The Court's staff reviews petitions when they are filed. All original proceedings are given expedited consideration.	The panel assigned an original proceeding will determine whether to hear oral argument based on the particular issues presented. The Court may grant mandamus relief without oral argument.
PROCEDURE	WHAT AND HOW TO FILE	HOW HANDLED	COURT'S PARTICULAR Practices	SPECIAL NOTES
Use of Visiting Justices			The Justices of the 14th Court of Appeals strive to limit the use of visiting justices in their court. In the event that a justice may need help for an extended period of time, the justice, with the approval of a majority of the justices, may request a visiting justice in one of two ways. The justice can either ask the chief justice of the supreme court for a particular judge or justice to be assigned to the court or can ask the chief justice of the supreme court to assign a visiting justice, without a recommendation.	Our notice letter to the parties will state whether the justice requested a particular judge or justice or whether the assignment was made pursuant to the discretion of the chief justice of the supreme court.

Technology

- 1. The Court uses Westlaw primarily. The Court does not have access to Lexis. The Court has Supreme Court Reporters, but not U.S Reporters. Providing citations to the Supreme Court Reporter is helpful.
- 2. <u>The Court no longer accepts any filings filed by fax</u>. For a motion that needs immediate consideration, parties should file motions through eFileTexas.gov, the portal established by the Texas Legislature.
- 3. The Court has access to the Harris County Law Library, but appreciates it if the parties provide copies of authorities not available on Westlaw.
- 4. The Court distributes its orders and opinions electronically on its website.
- 5. The Court records oral arguments.

Appellate Mediation

- 1. The Court has a process for appellate mediation.
- 2. Parties are ordered to mediation if the Court determines the case is appropriate for mediation or the parties agree. If mediation is ordered, the appeal is abated for 60 days, or longer if an extension is granted. Parties are entitled to object to a mediation order within 10 days of the date of the order. The Parties must agree on the selection of a mediator. The Court does not appoint a mediator or track mediation fees.
- 3. When a civil appeal is filed, the parties are notified that the appellant should complete and file a docketing statement, which includes a mediation section, and appellee should complete and file a one-page mediation docketing statement, both within 10 days of the date the case is docketed. A failure to comply may be deemed as an affirmative response to mediation by the non-filing party.

Fees

- 1. Appeals: \$205
- 2. Petitions for Permissive Appeal: \$205
- 3. Original Proceedings: \$155
- 4. Motions: \$10
- 5. Motions for rehearing: \$15
- 6. Responses to Motions or Petition for Permissive Appeals: No charge.
- 7. DVD Copies of Oral Argument: \$25
- 8. Exhibits for Oral Argument: \$25 per exhibit
- 9. Standard Paper Copy of Document without Certificate or Seal:

1 - 50 pages.....\$.10 per page over 50 pages.....\$.50 per page

A \$25 fee is required in advance for retrieval of cases kept in off-site storage.

(In accordance with the guidelines as provided by Tex. Gov't Code §51.207, §51.208, and §51.941Tex. Admin Code §70.3)

- 10. Certified Copies: \$1.00 per page for the first five pages (\$5.00 minimum) and one dollar per page for each additional page.
- 11. All records are electronic and available to the appointed/retained attorneys through the attorney record portal. Pro se parties may obtain records in active cases on CD.

Miscellaneous

- 1. As of June 6, 2011, after-hours filing will no longer be available through the "drop-box" in the lobby of the Court of Appeals building. After hours filing is available through electronic filing. A party represented by an attorney must e-file any document filed with the Court, except a document under seal or subject to a motion to seal. Documents e-filed with the Fourteenth Court of Appeals must conform to Rule 9 of the Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure. Visit the Court's website and <u>http://efiletexas.gov/</u> to learn more.
- 2. The Court occasionally utilizes the services of visiting judges.
- 3. In transfer cases in which the Court decides to hear oral argument, the Court gives the parties the option to hold argument in person in Houston or to allow the parties to appear through the use of teleconferencing technology in the city of the transferor court as provided by Section 73.003 of the Texas Government Code.