
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 12- 9Q32

FINAL APPROVAL OF AMENDMENTS TO

TEXAS RULE OF JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION 6

ORDERED that:

1. Pursuant to the Texas Constitution, article V, section 31 (a), and section 74.024 ofthe

Texas Government Code, and in accordance with the Act of May 5, 2011, 82nd Leg., R.S., ch. 75

(HB 906), Rule of Judicial Administration 6 is amended as follows.

2. By Order dated December 12, 2011, in Misc. Docket No. 11-9251, the Court

proposed amendments to Rule ofJudicial Administration 6 and invited public comment. This Order

contains the final version of Rule of Judicial Administration 6, effective May 1, 2012.

2. The Clerk is directed to:

a. file a copy of this Order with the Secretary of State;

b. cause a copy ofthis Order to be mailed to each registered member ofthe State

Bar of Texas by publication in the Texas Bar Journal;

c. send a copy of this Order to each elected member of the Legislature; and

d. submit a copy of the Order for publication in the Texas Register.

Dated: March(_, 2012.



t/JLuult.
Wallace B. Jefferson, Chief/) us/ic/e

i
Nathan L. Hecht, Justice

I •

)ale Wainwright, Justic

DaW M. Medina, Justice^

Paul W. Green, Justice

Phil Johnson, Justice

F-. IaJJIU
Don R. Willett, Justice

('Eva M. Guzman, Jus

Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice
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Amendment to Texas Rules of Judicial Administration

Rule 6. Time Standards for the Disposition of Cases

Rule 6.1 District and Statutory County Courts

District and statutory county court judges of the county in which cases are filed should, so

far as reasonably possible, ensure that all cases are brought to trial or final disposition in conformity

with the following time standards:

a:(a) Criminal Cases. As provided by Article 32A.02, Code of Criminal Procedure.

br£b}_ Civil Cases Other Than Family Law.

(1) CivilJury Cases. Within 18 months from appearance date.

(2) Civil Nonjury Cases. Within 12 months from appearance date.

tr(c) Family Law Cases.

(1) Contested Family Law Cases. Within 6 months from appearance date or within

6 months from the expiration of the waiting period provided by the Family Code

where such is required, whichever is later.

(2) UncontestedFamily Law Cases. Within 3 months from appearance date or within

3 months from the expiration of the waiting period provided by the Family Code

where such is required, whichever is later.

cb (d) Juvenile Cases. In addition to the requirements of Title 3, Texas Family Code:

(1) Detention Hearings. On the next business day following admission to any

detention facility.

(2) Adjudicatory or Transfer (Waiver) Hearings.
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(a) Concerning a juvenile in a detention facility: Not later than 10 days

following admission to such a facility, except for good cause shown of

record.

(b) Concerning a juvenile not in a detention facility: Not later than 30 days

following the filing of the petition, except for good cause shown of record.

(3) Disposition Hearing. Not later than 15 days following the adjudicatory hearing.

The court may grant additional time in exceptional cases that require more complex

evaluation.

(4) Nothing herein shall prevent a judge from recessing a juvenile hearing at any

stage ofthe proceeding where the parties are agreeable or when in the opinion ofthe

judge presiding in the case the best interests of the child and of society shall be

served.

c: (e) Complex Cases. It is recognized that in especially complex cases or special

circumstances it may not be possible to adhere to these standards.

Rule 6.2 Appeals in Certain Cases Involving the Parent-Child Relationship.

In an appeal of a suit for termination of the parent-child relationship or a suit affecting the

parent-child relationship filed bv a governmental entity for managing conservatorship, appellate

courts should, so far as reasonably possible, ensure that the appeal is brought to final disposition in

conformity with the following time standards:

(a) Courts of Appeals. Within 180 days of the date the notice of appeal is filed.

(b) Supreme Court. Within 180 days of the date the petition for review is filed.
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