
 
 
 
 IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TEXAS 
 
 ════════════════════ 
 Misc. Docket No. 18-010 
 ════════════════════ 
 
════════════════════════════════════════════════════ 

ORDER PROPOSING TEXAS RULE OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE 4.6 
════════════════════════════════════════════════════ 

 
ORDERED that: 
 

1. Pursuant to section 22.108 of the Texas Government Code, the Court of Criminal 
Appeals proposes Rule of Appellate Procedure 4.6. 
 

2. This amendment may be changed in response to public comments received before July 6, 
2018. Any interested party may submit written comments to the Court of Criminal 
Appeals at txccarulescomments@txcourts.gov. 
 

3. The Clerk is directed to: 
  

a. file a copy of this order with the Secretary of State; 
 

b. cause a copy of this order to be mailed to each registered member of the   
 State Bar of Texas by publication in the Texas Bar Journal; 

 
c. send a copy of this order to each elected member of the Legislature; and 

 
d. submit a copy of the order for publication in the Texas Register. 

  
  
Dated: April 30, 2018.  
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Tex. R. App. P. 4.6. No Notice of Trial Court’s Appealable Order on a Motion for 
Forensic DNA Testing  
 
(a)  Additional Time to File Notice of Appeal. If an adversely affected defendant or the 

defendant’s attorney did not receive notice or acquire actual knowledge of the 
signing of an order appealable under Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 64 
within twenty days after the signing, then the time periods under these rules 
which ordinarily run from the signing of an appealable order will begin to run on 
the earliest date when the defendant or the defendant’s attorney received notice 
or acquired actual knowledge of the signing. But in no event shall such periods 
begin more than 120 days after the day the trial judge signed the appealable 
order. 

 
(b)  Procedure to Gain Additional Time.  In order to establish the application of 

paragraph (a) of this rule, the defendant adversely affected must prove in the trial 
court the earliest date on which the defendant or the defendant’s attorney first 
received notice or acquired actual knowledge that the trial judge signed the 
appealable order, and the defendant must prove that this date was more than 
twenty days after the signing. The motion must be in writing and sworn, state the 
defendant’s desire to appeal from the appealable order, state the earliest date 
when the defendant or the defendant’s attorney first received notice or acquired 
actual knowledge of the signing, be filed within 120 days of the signing, and 
comply with Rule 10.5(b)(2).  If the defendant’s motion for additional time meets 
the above requirements, the motion may serve as the defendant’s notice of 
appeal.  

 
(c)  The Court’s Order. After hearing the motion for additional time, the trial judge 

must sign a written order that determines the earliest date when the defendant or 
the defendant’s attorney first received notice or acquired actual knowledge that 
the trial judge signed the appealable order.  

 
(d)  The Clerk’s Duties. Upon the filing of a motion for additional time, the trial court 

clerk must immediately (as they are filed or entered in the record) forward copies 
of the defendant’s motion for additional time, the trial judge’s written order under 
subsection (c), the order the defendant seeks to appeal, and any exhibits and 
related documents to the attorney representing the State. Also upon the filing of a 
motion for additional time, the trial court clerk must immediately (as they are filed 
or entered in the record) forward copies of the trial judge’s written order under 
subsection (c), the order the defendant seeks to appeal, and any State’s 
response, exhibits, and related documents to the defendant and the attorney 
representing the defendant, if any. 

 

Comment to 2018 change:  Rule 4.6 is intended to provide redress for criminal 
defendants who are entitled to appeal trial court rulings made pursuant to Texas Code 
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of Criminal Procedure Chapter 64, but receive late or no notice of the rulings. The rule 
allows a defendant additional time to file a notice of appeal when neither the defendant 
nor the defendant’s attorney received notice or acquired actual knowledge of the signing 
of the appealable order within the first 20 days after the signing. The rule is based on 
the framework of Rule of Appellate Procedure 4.2 and Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 
306a, but is intended to apply only in the limited context of appealable rulings on 
Chapter 64 motions. If a trial judge grants a defendant’s motion for additional time filed 
under this rule, the court of appeals may treat the defendant’s late-filed notice of appeal 
as timely or treat the motion for additional time itself as a notice of appeal for the 
purpose of determining compliance with Rules 25.2 and 26.2. 


