(Address)

County, Texas

(Address)

(Address)

JURY SUMMONS NO.

Dear Prospective Juror:

You are hereby summoned for
jury service as set out below:

Time:
Date:
Place:

Forwarding Service Requested

POSTMASTER

PLEASE DELIVER TO:

THE FOLLOWING “JUROR QUESTIONNAIRE” IS MANDATED BY GOVERNMENT CODE, SECTION 62.0132.
Your answers are CONFIDENTIAL. Your answers may be disclosed only to the judge, court personnel, the litigant, the litigant’s attorney, and,
other than juror gualification information related to the legal accusation of, indictment for, or conviction of misdemeanor theft or a felony, to the

county voter registrar.

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT WITH INK ONLY

JUROR QUESTIONNAIRE

o Male o Female | Race (required by State Law):

Age: Date of Birth:

AreyouaU.S. Citizen?oY o N
(Please see “Note” below.)

Your Name:
Home Address:

Mailing Address (if different from home):

Primary Phone:

Alternate Phone:

County of Residence:

Your Occupation:

Please check highest level of
education completed:

o No H.S. Diploma or GED o GED
o H.S. Diploma

o 2yr College

o 4yr College/University

o Post-Graduate

o Other

Your Employer: How Long? Current Marital Status:
> . R .o o Single
Spouse’s Name: Spouse’s Occupation: o Married
o Widowed
Spouse’s Employer: How Long? o Divorced
Have you ever served on a civil jury? oY oN Have you ever served on a criminal jury? oY oN Number of Children:

| CERTIFY THAT ALL ANSWERS ARE TRUE AND CORRECT.

Please sign here:

Ranges of Age:
from years to years

NOTE: If you state that you are not a U.S. citizen, you will no longer be eligible to vote if you fail to provide proof of

U.S. citizenship to your county voter registrar.




Directions: You must report for jury service unless you: (1) claim an exemption; (2) are disqualified; or (3) choose to postpone your service.
To claim an Exemption: Circle the exemption(s) that you claim. Sign the form. Mail or take the form to the clerk’s
office. NOTE: You do not have to claim an exemption and may instead choose to serve.
If you are Disqualified: Circle the qualification(s) that you do not meet. Sign the form. Mail or take the form to the
clerk. NOTE: If you claim to be disqualified because you are not a resident of this
county, you may become ineligible to vote in this county. If you state that you are nota U.S.
citizen, you will no longer be eligible to vote if you fail to provide proof of U.S. citizenship to your
county voter registrar.

To Postpone your Service: Contact the clerk’s office before your scheduled date of service.
Before Reporting for Jury Service: Please complete the juror questionnaire. Bring the questionnaire with you when you report.
Questions or Special Accommodations: Please contact the clerk’s office.
(Clerk)
(Contact)

(Information)

EXEMPTIONS FROM JURY SERVICE
(Texas Government Code, Section 62.106)

1. You are over 70 years of age.

2. You have legal custody of a child or children younger than 12 years of age and service on the jury would require leaving the child or children
without adequate supervision.

3. You are a student at a public or private high school.

4. You are enrolled and in actual attendance at an institution of higher education.

5. You are an officer or an employee of the senate, the house of representatives, or any department, commission, board, office, or other agency in
the legislative branch of state government.

6. You are the primary caretaker of a person who is unable to care for himself or herself. (This exemption does not apply to you if you are a
primary caretaker only in your capacity as a health care worker.)

7. You are a member of the United States military forces serving on active duty and deployed to a location away from your home station and out

of your county of residence;

You have served as a juror in this county during the 24-month period prior to the date you are required to appear by this summons.

9. You have been summoned for jury service in this county and you have served as a petit juror in this county during the three-year period prior
to the date you are required to appear by this summons.

©

QUALIFICATIONS FOR JURY SERVICE
(Texas Government Code, Section 62.102)
To be qualified to serve as a juror you must:
1. be at least 18 years of age;
2. be acitizen of the United States;
3. be aresident of this state and a resident of the county in which you are to serve as a juror;
4.  be qualified under the Constitution and laws to vote in the county in which you are to serve as a juror (Note: You do not have to be registered
to vote to be qualified to vote.);
5. be of sound mind and good moral character;
6. be able to read and write;
7. not have served as a juror for six days during the preceding three months in the county court or during the preceding six months in the district
court; and
8. not have been convicted of, or be under indictment or other legal accusation for, misdemeanor theft or a felony.

I certify that | am exempt or disqualified from jury service for the reasons circled above.

Signature Date

Right to Reemployment: An employer may not discharge, threaten to discharge, intimidate, or coerce any permanent employee because the
employee serves as a juror, or for the employee's attendance or scheduled attendance in connection with the service, in any court in the United
States. An employee who is discharged, threatened with discharge, intimidated, or coerced in violation of this section is entitled to return to the
same employment that the employee held when summoned for jury service if the employee, as soon as practical after release from jury service,
gives the employer actual notice that the employee intends to return. (Civil Practice and Remedies Code, Section 122.001).

Failure to Answer Summons and Provision of False Information: A person who fails to comply with this summons, or who knowingly provides
false information in a request for an exemption or to be excused from jury service, is subject to a contempt action punishable by a fine of not less
than $100 nor more than $1,000 (Government Code, Section 62.0141). Additionally, a person shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500
if the person: (1) fails to attend court in obedience to this summons without reasonable excuse; or (2) files a false claim of exemption from jury
service. (Government Code, Section 62.111; see also Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 35.01).



