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JUDICIAL SALARIES EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2019
(HB 2384, 86t Legislature Regular Session)

The 86 Texas Legislature enacted a new salary structure for the Texas judiciary effective September 1, 2019.
The salary structure rewards continued service by providing a salary increase for judges who have 4 or more
years of service. It also increased the amount of longevity pay for state judges and reduced the number of
years of actual service needed to be entitled to state longevity pay from 16 years to 12 years.

The district judge state salary in effect during the 2018-19 biennium ($140,000) was established as the new
“base salary” and serves as the benchmark for salary increases based on years of service and for calculating

the minimum salaries of the appellate, county court at law, and statutory probate court justices and judges.
The following is a summary of the bill’s changes to judicial salaries.

DISTRICT COURT JUDGES

Salary: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 659.012(a)(1))

State Maximum Total
State Longevity County Maximum
Years of Service Salary Pay Supplement | Compensation
0-4 years (Base Salary) $140,000 SO $18,000 $158,000
4-8 years $154,000 S0 $18,000 $172,000
8+ years $168,000 S0 $18,000 $186,000
12+ years (longevity) $168,000 $8,400 $18,000 $194,400

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in
the Judicial Retirement System Plan | or Plan Il while serving as a state district or appellate judge or justice,
and years of service as a judge of a statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory
probate court. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs.
833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the
peace, constitutional county court judge, associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 659.012(b))
A district judge is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date the judge
accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

District Judge County Supplement: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 659.012(a)(1) and 32.001)

The county supplement amount allowed under Sec. 32.001, Tex. Government Code did not change. District
judges are eligible to receive up to $18,000 annually in county supplements. Any supplement amount over
$18,000 will result in the district judge’s state salary being reduced to maintain the salary differential between
district court and court of appeals justices imposed by Sec. 659.012(a)(1), Tex. Government Code.
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COURT OF APPEALS JUSTICES

State Maximum Total
State Longevity County Maximum
Years of Service Salary Pay Supplement | Compensation
0-4 years (Base Salary) $154,000 SO $9,000 $163,000
4-8 years $169,400 S0 $9,000 $178,400
8+ years $184,800 S0 $9,000 $193,800
12+ years (longevity) $184,800 $9,240 $9,000 $203,040

Salary: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 659.012(a)(2))

The base salary of a justice on a court of appeals is 110% of the state base salary of a district judge and serves
as the benchmark for salary increases based on years of service. The chief justice of a court of appeals is
entitled to an additional $2,500 in their base salary.

Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in
the Judicial Retirement System Plan | or Plan Il while serving as a state district or appellate judge or justice,
and years of service as a judge of a statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory
probate court. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs.
833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the
peace, constitutional county court judge, associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases. (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 659.012(b))
A court of appeals justice is entitled to the increased salary beginning with the pay period following the date
the justice accrues the years of service for the higher tier.

Court of Appeals Justice County Supplement: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 659.012(a)(2) and 31.001)

The county supplement amount allowed under Sec. 31.001, Tex. Government Code did not change. Court of
appeals justices are eligible to receive up to $9,000 annually in county supplements. Any supplement amount
over $9,000 will result in the justice’s state salary being reduced to maintain the salary differential between
court of appeals and supreme court justices imposed by Sec. 659.012(a)(2), Tex. Government Code.

SUPREME COURT JUSTICES AND COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS JUDGES

State Total
State Longevity Maximum
Years of Service Salary Pay Compensation
0-4 years (Base Salary) $168,000 SO $168,000
4-8 years $184,800 SO $184,000
8+ years $201,600 SO $196,800
12+ years (longevity) $201,600 $10,080 $211,680

Salary: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 659.012(a)(3))

The base salary of a justice on the Supreme Court of Texas and a judge on the Court of Criminal Appeals is
120% of the state base salary of a district judge and serves as the benchmark for salary increases based on
years of service. The chief justice of the Supreme Court of Texas and the presiding judge of the Court of
Criminal Appeals are entitled to an additional $2,500 in their base salary.
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Calculating Years of Service:

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate tier include years of contributing service credit in
the Judicial Retirement System Plan | or Plan Il while serving as a state district or appellate judge or justice,
and years of service as a judge of a statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or statutory
probate court. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs.
833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Gov't Code. It also does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the
peace, constitutional county court judge, associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 659.012(b))
A judge or justice on the Court of Criminal Appeals or the Supreme Court of Texas is entitled to the increased

salary beginning with the pay period following the date the judge or justice accrues the years of service for the
higher tier.

COUNTY COURT AT LAW JUDGES (CCAL)

Salary: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 25.0005)

Minimum County Salary .
(assuming maximum District Maximum
Years of Service Judge county supplement)* County Salary
0-4 years (Base Salary) $157,000 $193,400
4-8 years $171,000 $193,400
8+ years $185,000 $193,400
12+ years $185,000 $193,400

*|f a district judge is not receiving the maximum county supplement amount of $18,000, the minimum county salary
amount for a CCAL judge should be reduced by the difference between the maximum county supplement allowed
(518,000) and the actual county supplement amount being paid to the district judge.

Minimum Salary: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 25.0005(a))

A CCAL judge’s minimum salary is $1,000 less than the sum of the annual salary for a district judge with
comparable years of service as the CCAL judge plus any state and county contributions and supplements
paid to a district judge in the county. This is a minimum salary —a CCAL judge may receive a higher salary
than the minimum to which the CCAL judge is entitled. (Note that for purposes of this calculation: 1) the
total amount of the county supplement received under Sec. 32.001, Tex. Government Code, by a district
judge of a multicounty judicial district should be included even if the CCAL judge’s county only contributes
a portion or none of the district judge’s supplement amount; and 2) the salary paid to a regional presiding
judge for his or her service as a regional presiding judge is not considered a state or county supplement or
contribution).

Maximum Salary: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 25.0005(a-2))

The new salary structure established a maximum salary for CCAL judges of $1,000 less than the highest
salary a district judge can earn (highest salary tier with maximum county supplement plus longevity). For
the 2020-21 biennium, a CCAL judge’s maximum salary is $193,400 ([DJ Salary of $168,000 + County
Supplement of $18,000 + Longevity Pay of $8,400] - $1,000).

Calculating Years of Service: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 25.0005(a))

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate salary tier include any years of service as a justice
or judge of an appellate court, district court, statutory county court, multicounty statutory county court, or
statutory probate court. It does not include other established service credit, such as military service credit
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under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103, Tex. Government Code. It does not include service as a municipal judge,
justice of the peace, constitutional county court judge, associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 25.0005(a-1))
A CCAL judge is entitled to the increased salary on the first day of the county’s fiscal year following the
date the CCAL judge becomes eligible for the higher salary.

State Contribution Toward Salary: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 25.0015)

The amount of the state contribution provided to counties for each CCAL judge in the county is set at
60% of a district judge’s base pay. The state contribution remains the same regardless of which salary
tier the CCAL judge falls under. Because a district judge’s base pay is $140,000, the amount of the
state contribution provided to the counties is $84,000.

STATUTORY PROBATE COURT JUDGES (SPC)

Salary: (Tex. Gov't Code Sec. 25.0023)

Minimum County Salary .
(assuming maximum District Maximum
Years of Service Judge county supplement)* County Salary
0-4 years (Base Salary) $158,000 $193,400
4-8 years $172,000 $193,400
8+ years $186,000 $193,400
12+ years $186,000 $193,400

*|f a district judge is not receiving the maximum county supplement amount of $18,000, the minimum county salary
amount for a SPC judge should be reduced by the difference between the maximum county supplement allowed
(518,000) and the actual county supplement amount being paid to the district judge.

Minimum Salary: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 25.0023(a))

A SPC judge’s minimum salary is an amount equal to the sum of the annual salary for a district
judge with comparable years of service as the SPC judge plus any state and county contributions
and supplements paid to a district judge in the county. This is @ minimum salary —a SPC judge may
receive a higher salary than the minimum to which the judge is entitled. (Note that for purposes
of this calculation: 1) the total amount of the county supplement received under Sec. 32.001, Tex.
Gov't Code, by a district judge of a multicounty judicial district should be included even if the SPC
judge’s county only contributes a portion or none of the district judge’s supplement amount; and
2) the salary paid to a regional presiding judge or the presiding judge of the statutory probate
courts in the state for their service as presiding judges is not considered a state or county
supplement or contribution.)

Maximum Salary: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 25.0023(a-2))

The new salary structure established a maximum salary for SPC judges of $1,000 less than the
highest salary a district judge can earn (highest salary tier with maximum county supplement plus
longevity). For the 2020-21 biennium, a SPC judge’s maximum salary is $193,400 ([DJ Salary of
$168,000 + County Supplement of $18,000 + Longevity Pay of $8,400] - $1,000).
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Calculating Years of Service: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 25.0023(a))

Years of service for purposes of determining the appropriate salary tier include any years of
service as a justice or judge of an appellate court, district court, statutory county court,
multicounty statutory county court, or statutory probate court. It does not include other
established service credit, such as military service credit under Secs. 833.103 and 838.103,
Tex. Government Code. It does not include service as a municipal judge, justice of the peace,
constitutional county court judge, associate judge, referee, master, or magistrate.

Effective Date of Salary Increases: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 25.0023(a-1))
A SPC judge is entitled to the increased salary on the first day of the county’s fiscal year
following the date the SPC judge becomes eligible for the higher salary.

State Contribution Toward Salary: (Tex. Gov’t Code Sec. 25.00211)
The amount of the state contribution provided to counties for each SPC judge in the county is
$40,000.



