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The Texas Judicial Branch courts and agencies collectively submitted a total biennial budget request 
of $757.5 million. Exceptional Item requests totaled $30.1 million bringing the total request to $787.6 
million.

The Conference Committee Report for Senate Bill 1 (CCR SB1) approved by the 87th Legislature appro-
priated a total of $797 million to the Judicial Branch courts and agencies. This funding level is approx-
imately $60 million less or a 7% biennial decrease from 2020-2021 spending levels. CCR SB1 provides 
a total of 1,538.8 FTEs, a decrease of 8.8 FTEs from 2020-2021 levels. The entire budget for the third 
branch of government makes up 3.7% of the state budget of Texas.

Funding the Judiciary

FY 2020-2021 Total Funding - All Judiciary
Supreme Court $97,285,363
Court of Criminal Appeals $46,585,181
1st COA $9,608,214
2nd COA $7,561,224
3rd COA $6,345,376
4th COA $7,509,727
5th COA $13,356,839
6th COA $3,473,364
7th COA $4,354,581
8th COA $3,382,437
9th COA $4,426,470
10th COA $3,555,347
11th COA $3,451,658
12th COA $3,509,104
13th COA $6,422,129
14th COA $10,001,571
Office of Court Administration $199,469,519
Capital and Forensic Writs $4,301,421
State Prosecuting Attorney $942,240
State Law Library $2,186,853
State Commission on Judicial Conduct $2,443,908
Judiciary Section, Comptroller’s Dept. $355,882,996
Total $796,055,522
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FY2021-2022 Objects of Expense - 
All Judiciary

Salaries and Wages $389,361,566
Other Personnel Costs $8,683,316
Professional Fees $12,627,716
Consumables $580,357
Utilities $615,262
Travel $3,764,446
Fuels/Lubricants $37,300
Rent-Building $595,918
Rent-Machine $292,344
Other Operating Exp $60,808,839
Grants $318,646,040
Capital Expenditures $42,418
Total $796,055,522

FY 2021-2022 Total Funding - Appellate Courts
Supreme Court $97,285,363
Court of Criminal Appeals $46,585,181
1st COA $9,608,214
2nd COA $7,561,224
3rd COA $6,345,376
4th COA $7,509,727
5th COA $13,356,839
6th COA $3,473,364
7th COA $4,354,581
8th COA $3,382,437
9th COA $4,426,470
10th COA $3,555,347
11th COA $3,451,658
12th COA $3,509,104
13th COA $6,422,129
14th COA $10,001,571
Total $230,828,585

$410,638,902 
$99,265,347 

$133,269,848 
$31,775,656 

$10,000,000 
$49,742,002 

$6,540,420 
$4,510,324 

$22,598,183 
$973,490 
$259,350 

$26,482,000 

 $-  $50,000,000  $100,000,000  $150,000,000  $200,000,000  $250,000,000  $300,000,000  $350,000,000  $400,000,000  $450,000,000

GENERAL REVENUE
FAIR DEFENSE ACCT 5073

JUDICIAL FUND 573
JUDICIAL AND COURT PERSONNEL TRAINING FUND 540

SEXUAL ASSAULT PROGRAM ACCT 5010
ELECTRONIC FILING SYSTEM ACCT 5157

ASSISTANT PROSECUTOR SUPPLEMENT FUND 303
FEDERAL FUNDS

INTERAGENCY CONTRACTS
APPROPRIATED RECEIPTS

FORENSIC SCIENCE COMM FUND 5173
JURY SERVICE FUND

Judicial Branch by Method of Finance

Funding the Judiciary
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METHOD OF FINANCE 2020-2021 2021-2022 INCREASE/(DECREASE)
General Revenue  $403,206,686  $410,638,902 $7,432,216 
Fair Defense Account  $93,146,403  $99,265,347 $6,118,944 
Judicial Fund 573  $143,078,708  $133,269,848 ($9,808,860)
Judicial & Court Personnel Training Fund 
540  $27,008,764  $31,775,656 $4,766,892 

Sexual Assault Prgm Fund 5010  $10,000,000  $10,000,000 $0
E-Filing Account 5157  $60,529,020  $49,742,002 ($10,787,018)
Asst Prosecutor Supp Fund 303  $8,018,000  $6,540,420 ($1,477,580)
Federal Funds  $3,544,671  $4,510,324 $965,653 
Interagency Contracts  $21,951,982  $22,598,183 $646,201 
Appropriated Receipts  $670,811  $973,490 $302,679 
Forensic Science Commission Acct 5157  $273,000  $259,350 ($13,650)
Jury Service Fund  $23,251,000  $26,482,000 $3,231,000 
Total  $794,679,045  $796,055,522  $1,376,477 

FY 2021-2022 Total Funding - Judicial Agencies 
excluding the Appellate Courts

Office of Court Administration $199,469,519
Office of Capital and Forensic 
Writs $4,301,421

Office of the State Prosecuting 
Attorney $942,240

State Law Library $2,186,853
State Commission on Judicial 
Conduct $2,443,908

Judiciary Section, Comptroller’s 
Dept. $355,882,996

Total $565,226,937
$410,638,902 

$99,265,347 
$133,269,848 

$31,775,656 
$10,000,000 

$49,742,002 
$6,540,420 

$4,510,324 
$22,598,183 

$973,490 
$259,350 

$26,482,000 

 $-  $50,000,000  $100,000,000  $150,000,000  $200,000,000  $250,000,000  $300,000,000  $350,000,000  $400,000,000  $450,000,000

GENERAL REVENUE
FAIR DEFENSE ACCT 5073

JUDICIAL FUND 573
JUDICIAL AND COURT PERSONNEL TRAINING FUND 540

SEXUAL ASSAULT PROGRAM ACCT 5010
ELECTRONIC FILING SYSTEM ACCT 5157

ASSISTANT PROSECUTOR SUPPLEMENT FUND 303
FEDERAL FUNDS

INTERAGENCY CONTRACTS
APPROPRIATED RECEIPTS

FORENSIC SCIENCE COMM FUND 5173
JURY SERVICE FUND

Judicial Branch by Method of Finance $796,055,522

Funding the Judiciary
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HB 79: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the presiding judge of each administrative judicial region, after conferring with certain courts 
with jurisdiction over guardianship proceedings or protective services proceedings, to determine whether 
those courts require the appointment of an associate judge to assist the courts with guardianship 
proceedings or protective services proceedings. Outlines associate judge appointment procedures, 
qualifications, general powers, and compensation, as well as host county designation and responsibilities 
where the presiding judge determines the courts require the services of an associate judge. Requires 
the Office of Court Administration to assist the presiding judges in various supervision of, training of, 
and evaluation of associate judges. See Gov’t Code ch. 54A, subch. D. See also Guardianship and Mental 
Health.

HB 2941: Effective 6/7/2021.

Provides that the members of an appraisal review board are appointed by the local administrative district 
judge in the county in which the appraisal district is established. See Tax Code § 6.41.

Appellate Courts

HB 2086: Effective 6/16/2021.

Authorizes the appeal from an interlocutory order of a district court, county court at law, statutory 
probate court, or county court that grants or denies a motion for summary judgment filed by a contractor 
based on the limited liability of a contractor who constructs or repairs a highway, road, or street for the 
Texas Department of Transportation. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code 51.014(a). See also County and District 
Courts.

SB 6: Effective 6/14/2021.

Provides physicians, health care providers, and first responders, under certain circumstances, exceptions 
from liability for injuries or death arising from care, treatment, or failure to provide care or treatment 
relating to or impacted by a pandemic disease or a disaster declaration related to a pandemic disease. 
Limits the liability, under certain circumstances, of a person who designs, manufactures, sells, or donates 
certain products during a pandemic emergency for personal injury, death, or property damage caused 
by the product. Limits the liability of a person, under certain circumstances, for injury or death caused 
by exposing an individual to a pandemic disease during a pandemic emergency. Limits the liability 
of an educational institution for damages or equitable monetary relief arising from a cancellation 
or modification of a course, program, or activity of the institution if the cancellation or modification 
arose during a pandemic emergency under certain circumstances. Permits a person to appeal from an 

Administrative Judicial Regions

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB00079F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB02941F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB02086F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00006F.pdf#navpanes=0
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interlocutory order that overrules an objection filed under a pandemic emergency provision added by 
the bill or denying relief sought by a motion under a pandemic emergency provision added by the bill. 
See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code §§ 51.014(a), 74.155, and ch. 148. See also Civil Law and Procedure.

SB 232: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows a court to make a preliminary determination regarding whether a claim made by the claimant is 
a health care liability claim for the purposes of Civil Practice & Remedies Code § 74.351 (expert report). 
Makes preliminary determination subject to interlocutory appeal. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code §§ 51.014(a), 
74.351, 74.353. See also Civil Law and Procedure.

Civil Law and Procedure 

HB 19: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that, in a civil action involving a commercial motor vehicle, on motion of defendant the court must 
provide for a bifurcated trial. The trier of fact would determine liability for and amount of compensatory 
damages in first phase and liability for and amount of exemplary damages in the second phase. Details 
an employer-defendant’s liability for damages caused by ordinary negligence in certain instances and 
outlines evidence admissibility where action is bifurcated. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code ch. 72, subchs. A, B.

HB 20 (2d Called Session): Effective 9/9/2021.

Prohibits a social media platform from censoring a user, a user’s expression, or a user’s ability to receive 
expression based on certain factors. Authorizes a user to bring an action against a social media platform 
for violating certain provision established by bill. Authorizes attorney general to bring action to enjoin 
a violation or potential violation of certain bill provisions. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code ch. 143A. See also 
Special Session Bills.

HB 365: Effective 9/1/2021.

Expands limitations on liability arising from certain farm animal activities. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code §§ 
87.001, 87.0021, 87.003, 87.004, 87.005.

HB 1239: Effective 6/16/2021.

Prohibits a governmental agency or public official from issuing an order that closes or has the effect of 
closing a place of worship in Texas or a geographic area of the state. Allows a person whose free exercise 
of religion that has been substantially burdened in violation of the prohibition to assert that violation as 

Appellate Courts

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00232F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB00019F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/872/billtext/pdf/HB00020F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB00365F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB01239F.pdf#navpanes=0
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a defense in a judicial or administrative proceeding without regard to whether the proceeding is brought 
in the name of the state or by any other person. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code §§ 110.001, 110.002, 110.0031, 
110.004. See also Government Entity or Political Subdivision.

HB 1493: Effective 9/1/2021.

Prevents a filing entity or foreign filing entity from using a name in Texas that falsely implies an affiliation 
with a governmental entity. Allows attorney general to seek injunctive relief to require with certain 
provisions established under the bill. Entitles a governmental unit to enjoin another person’s use of an 
entity name that falsely implies governmental affiliation with the governmental unit. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. 
Code ch. 150C; Bus. Orgs. Code §§ 5.064, 5.065. See also Government Entity or Political Subdivision.

HB 1578: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows, under certain circumstances, a person to recover reasonable attorney’s fees from an individual 
or organization (as defined by Business Organizations Code § 1.002) other than a quasi-governmental 
entity authorized to perform a function by state law, a religious organization, a charitable organization, 
or a charitable trust. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 38.001.

HB 1939: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that, except for an action for fraud or breach of contract, a person must bring suit for damages 
or other relief arising from an appraisal or appraisal review conducted by a real estate appraiser or 
appraisal firm within a certain amount of time. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 16.013. 

HB 2416: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows a person to recovery reasonable attorney’s fees from an individual, corporation, or other entity 
from which recovery is permitted as compensatory damages for breach of a construction contract. See 
Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 38.0015.

HB 3289: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates a civil penalty for violating provisions of the Agriculture Code related to the protection of pecans 
or pecan trees from disease or pests. Provides a remedy in lieu of civil penalty or criminal penalty for 
violations of certain Agriculture Code provisions. See Agric. Code §§ 71.012, 71.013. See also Criminal 
Law and Procedure.

SB 1 (2d Called Session): Effective 9/7/2021.

Amends and adds various provisions related to elections in the Elections Code, the Government Code, 
and the Code of Criminal Procedure. Amends the offense of false statement on a voter registration 
application and enhances the punishment for the offense. Makes a county civilly liable for certain voter 

Civil Law and Procedure

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB01493F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB01578F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB01939F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB02416F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB03289F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/872/billtext/pdf/SB00001F.pdf#navpanes=0


11Texas Judicial Council

Texas Judiciary Legislative Update
87th Legislature

registrar actions. Makes it an offense for an election officer to intentionally or knowingly refuse to accept 
a watcher for service when acceptance is required by statute. Expands criminal conduct for unlawfully 
obstructing an election watcher and provides for certain relief for unlawful prevention or obstruction of 
an election watcher’s duties. Amends various statutes on fraud and other unlawful practices related to 
voting and adds various offenses related to voting practices. Allows for certain lawsuits alleging improper 
election activities. Requires a court, where a defendant is adjudged guilty of a felony offense, to make an 
affirmative finding of the judgment and instruct the defendant regarding how the felony conviction will 
impact the defendant’s right to vote. See also Criminal Law and Procedure; Elections and Lobbying; 
Special Session Bills.

SB 6: Effective 6/14/2021.

Provides physicians, health care providers, and first responders, under certain circumstances, exceptions 
from liability for injuries or death arising from care, treatment, or failure to provide care or treatment 
relating to or impacted by a pandemic disease or a disaster declaration related to a pandemic disease. 
Limits the liability, under certain circumstances, of a person who designs, manufactures, sells, or donates 
certain products during a pandemic emergency for personal injury, death, or property damage caused 
by the product. Limits the liability of a person, under certain circumstances, for injury or death caused 
by exposing an individual to a pandemic disease during a pandemic emergency. Limits the liability 
of an educational institution for damages or equitable monetary relief arising from a cancellation 
or modification of a course, program, or activity of the institution if the cancellation or modification 
arose during a pandemic emergency under certain circumstances. Permits a person to appeal from an 
interlocutory order that overrules an objection filed under a pandemic emergency provision added by 
the bill or denying relief sought by a motion under a pandemic emergency provision added by the bill. 
See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code §§ 51.014(a), 74.155, and ch. 148. See also Appellate Courts.

SB 8: Effective 9/1/2021.

Adds a new subchapter to Health and Safety Code Chapter 171 related to the detection of a fetal 
heartbeat. Limits how the new subchapter may be construed and provides that the requirements of 
the new subchapter must be enforced exclusively through certain private civil actions. Provides that any 
person, other than a state employee or officer, may bring a civil action against any person who engages 
in certain behavior in violation of the new subchapter. Provides that a civil action cannot be brought by a 
person who impregnated the abortion patient through an act of rape, sexual assault, incest, or any other 
act prohibited by certain Penal Code provisions. Provides and limits certain defenses available under the 
new subchapter. Outlines venue, immunity, and severability. Provides that any entity, attorney, or law 
firm who seeks declaratory or injunctive relief to prevent the state or local government from enforcing 
any statute, ordinance, rule, regulation, or other type of law that regulates or restricts abortion or that 
limits taxpayer funding for individuals or entities that perform or promote abortions, in any state or 
federal court, or that represents any litigant seeking such relief, is jointly and severally liable to pay 
the costs and attorney’s fees of the prevailing party. Provides prevailing party may bring a civil action 

Civil Law and Procedure

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00006F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00008F.pdf#navpanes=0
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to recover costs and fees against a person that sought declaratory or injunctive relief within a certain 
amount of time. Adds a new section to the Government Code related to the construction of abortion 
statutes. See Health & Safety Code ch. 171, subch. H; Health & Safety Code §§ 171.005, 171.008, 171.012(a), 
245.011(c). Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 30.022; Gov’t Code § 311.036

SB 219: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that a contractor is not responsible for the consequences of design defects in and may not 
warranty the accuracy, adequacy, sufficiency, or suitability of plans, specifications, or other design 
documents provided to a contractor by a person other than the contractor’s agents, contractors, 
fabricators, or suppliers, or its consultants, of any tier. Requires contractor to disclose in writing, within a 
certain amount of time, discovered defects, inaccuracies, or other insufficiencies in a plan. Set standards 
of care for certain designs and professionals. See Bus. & Com. Code ch. 59; Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code §§ 130.0021, 
130.004; Trans. Code § 473.003.

SB 232: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows a court to make a preliminary determination regarding whether a claim made by the claimant is 
a health care liability claim for the purposes of Civil Practice & Remedies Code § 74.351 (expert report). 
Makes preliminary determination subject to interlocutory appeal. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code §§ 51.014(a), 
74.351, 74.353. See also Appellate Courts.

SB 484: Effective 9/1/2021. 

Permits a Texas military forces service member ordered to state active duty or training or other duty by 
the proper state authority, and who is entitled to certain benefits and protections, to retain private legal 
counsel and file a civil action in state district court if the service member is aggrieved by a violation of or 
is denied a benefit or protection guaranteed under Government Code § 437.204 or certain federal law. 
See Gov’t Code § 437.2131. See also County Courts and District Courts.

Clerks

HB 766: Effective 1/1/2022, except Section 2 effective 9/1/2021.

Adds new article to the Code of Criminal Procedure related to the entry into the Texas Crime Information 
Center of certain information regarding orders imposing a condition of bond in a criminal case involving 
a violent offense. Requires a magistrate, as soon as practicable but not later than the next day after the 
date the magistrate issues an order imposing a condition of bond for a violent offense, to notify the 
sheriff of the condition and to provide the sheriff certain information related to the order. Requires the 

Civil Law and Procedure

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00219F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00232F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00484F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB00766F.pdf#navpanes=0
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magistrate, as soon as practicable but not later than the next business day after the date a magistrate 
revokes or modifies the terms of a bond or disposes of the underlying charges, to notify the sheriff 
and provide the sheriff with information sufficient to enable the sheriff to make record changes in the 
database. Requires the clerk of the court that issues an order described by the bill to send a copy to 
any named person the condition of bond is intended to protect. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 17.50. See also 
Criminal Law and Procedure; Magistrates and Magistrate Duties.

HB 840: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows county commissioners, as an alternative to a certain random selection process for salary grievance 
committee selection, to direct the county clerk to use a computer to generate a randomized list of names 
of all persons who served on a grand jury in the county in the preceding calendar year. Requires county 
commissioners to adopt the randomized list, enter list into meeting minutes, and select in the order of 
the list the necessary number of public members and alternatives. See Loc. Gov’t Code § 152.015. See also 
Jury Service and Grand Jury Service.

HB 1264: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the local registrar of deaths and the clerks of courts with probate jurisdiction to file their 
abstracts related to death to the voter registrar and the secretary of state within 7 days after the date 
the abstract is prepared. See Elec. Code § 16.001. See also Elections and Lobbying; Probate, Trusts, and 
Estates.

HB 1514: Effective 5/18/2021.

Amends various provisions of the Estates, Insurance, and Property Codes regarding the administration 
of unclaimed property. Allows clerk of a court that ordered payment of certain estate shares to the 
comptroller to provide the copy of the order by certified mail or email. See Est. Code § 551.005(b); Ins. 
Code § 1109.013; Prop. Code §§ 72.001, 74.001, 74.101, 74.1011, 74.301, 74.401, 74.405, 74.501, 74.503, 
74.506, 74.507, 74.601. 

HB 1831: Effective 5/15/2021.

Allows a clerk to carry over to the following calendar year not more than 10 hours of completed continuing 
education courses that exceed the number required each calendar year. See Gov’t Code § 51.605.

HB 3415: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows a county clerk in a county with a population of 800,000 or more to require a person filing certain 
documents in person to present photo identification to the clerk. See Loc. Gov’t Code § 191.010(b).

Clerks

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB00840F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB01264F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB01514F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB01831F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB03415F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00030F.pdf#navpanes=0
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SB 30: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows a person who owns real property or an interest in real property, the chain of title for which 
includes a recorded conveyance instrument containing a discriminatory provision, or another person 
with the permission of the owner, to request the removal of the discriminatory provision by completing 
and filing a motion with certain information in a suggested form. Prohibits clerk from collecting filing fee 
for motion and requires court to enter appropriate finding of fact and law related to the conveyance. 
Requires county clerk to maintain index to findings of fact and conclusions of law entered related to the 
conveyance. See Prop. Code § 5.0261; Loc. Gov’t Code §§ 193.003(a) and (b). See also Costs, Fees, Fines, 
and Collections.

SB 285: Effective 9/1/2021. 

Requires the clerk of the court to provide the state case registry with a record of a court order for 
medical support and dental support. Provides that the clerk of a court of a county participating in the 
unified enforcement system for Title IV-D cases must use a record of support order form that includes 
an option for the obligee or obligor to apply for child support services provided by the Title IV-D agency. 
Provides that, in an agreed child support order, a party may sign a waiver using a digitized signature. 
Provides that a waiver related to an agreed child support order must be sworn before a notary public 
or executed using an unsworn declaration under Civil Practice and Remedies Code § 132.001. Requires 
a mailing address in an agreed child support order to be omitted in certain cases. Requires the clerk, 
if court-ordered, to deliver by substitute service a copy of the petition for confirmation of a nonagreed 
review order and a copy of the order to each party entitled to service who has not waived service. 
Extends the amount of time in which a court must sign an agreed child support review order upon its 
filing. See also Family Law.

SB 626: Effective 9/1/2021.

Omnibus guardianship bill. Requires each party or counsel to include certain identifying information in 
initial pleadings, including probate or guardianship proceedings, in certain courts, including statutory 
probate court. Requires county clerk to make and retain copy of entire casefile and transmit original to 
court where venue is proper for probate proceeding. Authorizes authenticated copy of will or certain 
testamentary instruments written in language other than English to be filed for recording in certain 
circumstances. Requires notice to the potential beneficiary, the beneficiary’s guardian, and family 
members when an application for the creation of a management trust is filed. Allows management 
trust to last until removal of an incapacity or until beneficiary dies. Allows county courts-at-law to hear 
trust cases when the person under guardianship is a trust’s beneficiary. Revises statutes regarding 
guardianship sale and action procedures. Requires trustee of a management trust created for a ward to 
provide a copy of the annual account to each guardian of the ward. Clarifies that a court investigator or 
guardian ad litem may investigate a complete relating to modification or termination of a guardianship. 
Clarifies what newspaper must be used for notice of a guardianship proceeding. Allows guardianship 
applicants to submit a declaration under penalty of perjury regarding their commitment to discharge 

Clerks
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their duties as a guardian faithfully. Requires attorney general to defend certain judges, including a 
visiting judge assigned to hear a guardianship or probate matter by the presiding judge of the statutory 
probate court, in any action in which the judge is a defendant because of the judge’s office or capacity 
as judge, if the judge requests the attorney general’s assistance in the defense of the suit. See also 
Guardianship and Mental Health; Probate, Trusts, and Estates.

SB 907: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires Texas Judicial Council, in consultation with the Department of State, to develop and implement 
rules for a voluntary certification process under which a county clerk may be certified to issue a marriage 
license to applicants through the use of remote technology. Allows a clerk who has been certified by the 
Texas Judicial Council to issue a marriage license through the use of remote technology. See Gov’t Code § 
71.039; Fam. Code § 2.0091. See also Commissions, Committees, Councils, and Task Forces.

Commissions, Committees, Councils, And Task Forces

HB 1296: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows a court to serve notice on a guardian by certified mail instead of personal service of a hearing on 
the court’s motion to transfer the guardianship to another county. Allows a court to serve notice on a 
guardian by certified mail of a hearing on a complaint by the Judicial Branch Certification Commission 
that the guardian is ineligible to serve due to failure to maintain certification with the Commission. See 
Est. Code §§ 1023.004, 1203.052. See also Guardianship and Mental Health.

HB 3774: Effective 9/1/2021 except Sections 1.01, 1.03, 1.05, and 2.04(a) which take effects 1/1/2022; 
Sections 1.06 and 1.10 which take effect 9/1/2022; Sections 1.04, 1.08, 2.05, and 2.11 which take effect 
10/1/2022; and Sections 1.09, 2.09, and 2.10 which take effect 1/1/2023.

Creates six new district courts (478th, composed of Bell County; 480th, composed of Williamson County, 
481st, composed of Denton County; 482nd, composed of Harris County; 484th, composed of Cameron 
County; and 474th, composed of McLennan County). Creates Criminal Judicial District No. 5, composed 
of Tarrant County. Creates five new statutory county courts (CCL No. 3 of McLennan, CCL No 6 of 
Montgomery, CCL No. 2 of San Patricio, CCL No. 5 of Williamson, and County Criminal Court No. 6 of 
Tarrant). Creates Probate Court No. 2 of Denton County. Revises the jurisdiction of various statutory 
county courts. Revises how the state annually compensates counties that collect certain fees in statutory 
probate courts. Prohibits a justice or judge in a justice or municipal court from accepting a guilty or no 
contest plea in criminal proceedings unless it appeared the defendant was mentally competent, and 
plea was voluntary and free. Establishes dual status case transfer provisions for juvenile/family courts. 

Clerks
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Extends jurisdiction in criminal actions to certain magistrates in certain counties. Revises the duties of 
the capital and forensic writ committee to include providing oversight and strategic guidance to the 
Office of Capital and Forensic Writs. Requires the Office of Court Administration to adopt certain rules 
related to the transfer of certain documents and cases between courts. Permits applicants for writs of 
habeas corpus the option of using secure electronic mail to serve a copy of the application on the state’s 
attorneys. Requires citations for receivership for certain missing persons to be posted on a certain 
website published by the Office of Court Administration. Revises the statutes governing the Forensic 
Science Commission. Expands the places where jurors may donate their daily reimbursement to include 
veterans county service offices and removes cap on meal reimbursement given to jurors in certain 
courts. Allows a judge or magistrate of a district court or statutory county court who is authorized to 
hear criminal cases to be appointed to preside over a certain regional specialty court program in certain 
circumstances. Expands the protective order registry maintained by the Office of Court Administration 
to include certain protective orders. See also County Courts and District Courts; Criminal Law and 
Procedure; Juvenile Justice; New Courts; Office of Court Administration. 

SB 280: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the capital and forensic writs committee to provide oversight and strategic guidance to the 
Office of Capital and Forensic Writs, including recommending a director for the Office upon a vacancy, 
setting policy for the Office, and developing a budget proposal. Revises committee composition and 
qualifications. See Gov’t Code §§ 78.002, 78.003. 

SB 907: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires Texas Judicial Council, in consultation with the Department of State, to develop and implement 
rules for a voluntary certification process under which a county clerk may be certified to issue a marriage 
license to applicants through the use of remote technology. Allows a clerk who has been certified by the 
Texas Judicial Council to issue a marriage license through the use of remote technology. See Gov’t Code § 
71.039; Fam. Code § 2.0091. See also Clerks.

Costs, Fees, Fines, and Collections

HB 80: Effective 9/1/2021.

Prohibits a judge or justice from imposing a fine and court costs on a defendant who is under the 
conservatorship of the Department of Family and Protective Services or in extended foster care. Permits 
the judge or justice, in lieu of a fine, to require the defendant to perform community service. See Code 
Crim. Proc. art. 45.041(b-6). 

Commission, Committees, Councils, and Task Forces
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HB 402: Effective 9/1/2021.

Authorizes use of certain funds derived from criminal asset forfeiture to cover the costs of a contract 
with a municipal or county program to provide services to domestic victims of trafficking. See Code Crim. 
Proc. art. 59.06. See also Criminal Law and Procedure.

HB 569: Effective 9/1/2021. 

Requires a justice or judge to apply jail credit toward any outstanding fine or costs in a misdemeanor 
case punishable by a fine only if the defendant is subsequently confined in a jail or prison in another case 
if that confinement occurred after the commission of the misdemeanor. Requires that certain notice be 
given to defendant regarding the jail credit prior to the issuance of an arrest warrant for defendant’s 
failure to appear at the initial court setting. See Code Crim. Proc. arts. 45.014, 45.041, 45.048. See also 
Justice and Municipal Courts.

HB 1213: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows for recovery of court reporter costs incurred in a hearing or proceeding for the involuntary 
detention of a person with mental illness. See Health & Safety Code § 571.018(c). See also Jury Service 
and Grand Jury Service.

HB 1906: Effective 6/15/2021.

Requires Office of the Governor’s Criminal Justice Division to establish and administer a grant program to 
reimburse counties for all or part of the costs incurred from monitoring defendants and victims in family 
violence cases who participate in a global positioning monitoring system. See Gov’t Code § 772.0077. See 
also County and District Courts.

SB 30: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows a person who owns real property or an interest in real property, the chain of title for which 
includes a recorded conveyance instrument containing a discriminatory provision, or another person 
with the permission of the owner, to request the removal of the discriminatory provision by completing 
and filing a motion with certain information in a suggested form. Prohibits clerk from collecting filing fee 
for motion and requires court to enter appropriate finding of fact and law related to the conveyance. 
Requires county clerk to maintain index to findings of fact and conclusions of law entered related to the 
conveyance. See Prop. Code § 5.0261; Loc. Gov’t Code §§ 193.003(a) and (b). See also Clerks.

Costs, Fees, Fines, and Collections
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SB 41: Effective 1/1/2022.

Consolidates various civil filing fees, repeals various court fees and costs, and makes conforming changes 
across several codes. 

SB 181: Effective 9/1/2021.

Sets fine for certain drug and controlled substance act convictions. Reduces mandatory license 
suspensions for conviction of a drug offense. Permits court to waive suspension for certain defendants 
and permits those subject to the suspension to take certain drug education courses online. See Code Crim. 
Proc. art. 102.0179; Trans. Code §§ 521.372, 521.374(a) and (b). See also Criminal Law and Procedure.

SB 1373: Effective 9/1/2021.

Clarifies that fines are uncollectible if the defendant is dead or serving life, or the fine remains unpaid 
after 15 years. Clarifies that court costs include any fee modified or imposed after judgment. Requires 
judges to inquire on the record about the defendant’s ability to pay in Class C misdemeanor cases. See 
Code Crim. Proc. arts. 42.15(a-1), 43.015(3), 45.004, and 103.0081. See also Criminal Law and Procedure.

SB 1923: Effective 9/1/2021.

Reclassifies certain criminal court fines and fees as reimbursement fees. Establishes that, for purposes 
of certain Code of Criminal Procedure provisions relating to costs, fines, and fees, a person is considered 
to have been convicted if a judgment, a sentence, or both a judgment and a sentence are imposed on the 
person; if the person receives community supervision, deferred adjudication, or deferred disposition; or 
if the court defers final disposition of the case or imposition of the judgment and sentence. See Code Crim. 
Proc. arts. 42.152(b), 42A.303, 101.004, 102.011, and 102.018; Gov’t Code § 51.607; Loc. Gov’t Code §§ 
133.055, 133.058; Parks & Wild. Code § 31.127; Trans. Code §§ 502.407, 502.473, 502.475, 504.943, 504.945, 
521.026, 521.054, 521.221, 547.004, 548.605, and 681.013. See also Criminal Law and Procedure.

County Courts and District Courts

HB 1906: Effective 6/15/2021.

Requires Office of the Governor’s Criminal Justice Division to establish and administer a grant program to 
reimburse counties for all or part of the costs incurred from monitoring defendants and victims in family 
violence cases who participate in a global positioning monitoring system. See Gov’t Code § 772.0077. See 
also Costs, Fees, Fines, and Collections.

Costs, Fees, Fines, and Collections

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00041F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00181F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB01373F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB01923F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB01906F.pdf#navpanes=0


19Texas Judicial Council

Texas Judiciary Legislative Update
87th Legislature

HB 3363: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires a search warrant for the disclosure of location information created after the issuance of the 
warrant and held in electronic storage in the possession, care, custody, or control of an electronic 
communications service provider or remote computing service provider. Provides that only a prosecutor 
or prosecutor’s assistant with jurisdiction may file an application for the warrant, which must be filed 
with as district court judge in the applicable judicial district. Establishes grounds for warrant issuance, 
duration, and sealing. Limits the admissibility of evidence obtained through certain required disclosure 
of location information. See Code Crim. Proc. arts. 18.01(b), 18.06(a), 18.07(a), 18B.001, and subch. G-1. 
See also Criminal Law and Procedure.

HB 3774: Effective 9/1/2021 except Sections 1.01, 1.03, 1.05, and 2.04(a) which take effects 1/1/2022; 
Sections 1.06 and 1.10 which take effect 9/1/2022; Sections 1.04, 1.08, 2.05, and 2.11 which take effect 
10/1/2022; and Sections 1.09, 2.09, and 2.10 which take effect 1/1/2023.

Creates six new district courts (478th, composed of Bell County; 480th, composed of Williamson County, 
481st, composed of Denton County; 482nd, composed of Harris County; 484th, composed of Cameron 
County; and 474th, composed of McLennan County). Creates Criminal Judicial District No. 5, composed 
of Tarrant County. Creates five new statutory county courts (CCL No. 3 of McLennan, CCL No 6 of 
Montgomery, CCL No. 2 of San Patricio, CCL No. 5 of Williamson, and County Criminal Court No. 6 of 
Tarrant). Creates Probate Court No. 2 of Denton County. Revises the jurisdiction of various statutory 
county courts. Revises how the state annually compensates counties that collect certain fees in statutory 
probate courts. Prohibits a justice or judge in a justice or municipal court from accepting a guilty or no 
contest plea in criminal proceedings unless it appeared the defendant was mentally competent, and 
plea was voluntary and free. Establishes dual status case transfer provisions for juvenile/family courts. 
Extends jurisdiction in criminal actions to certain magistrates in certain counties. Revises the duties of 
the capital and forensic writ committee to include providing oversight and strategic guidance to the 
Office of Capital and Forensic Writs. Requires the Office of Court Administration to adopt certain rules 
related to the transfer of certain documents and cases between courts. Permits applicants for writs of 
habeas corpus the option of using secure electronic mail to serve a copy of the application on the state’s 
attorneys. Requires citations for receivership for certain missing persons to be posted on a certain 
website published by the Office of Court Administration. Revises the statutes governing the Forensic 
Science Commission. Expands the places where jurors may donate their daily reimbursement to include 
veterans county service offices and removes cap on meal reimbursement given to jurors in certain 
courts. Allows a judge or magistrate of a district court or statutory county court who is authorized to 
hear criminal cases to be appointed to preside over a certain regional specialty court program in certain 
circumstances. Expands the protective order registry maintained by the Office of Court Administration 
to include certain protective orders. See also Commissions, Committees, Councils, and Task Forces; 
Criminal Law and Procedure; Juvenile Justice; New Courts; Office of Court Administration.

County Courts and District Courts
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HB 4293: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the Office of Court Administration to develop and make available to each county a court 
reminder program that allows the county to send a text message to notify criminal defendants of 
scheduled court appearances. Permits the justices of the justice courts and the judges of the county, 
statutory county, and district courts with jurisdiction over criminal cases in each county to establish a 
court reminder program that allows the county to send a text message to notify criminal defendants 
of scheduled court appearances. Permits the Office of Court Administration or the judges or justices to 
partner with municipalities and local law enforcement agencies to allow individuals to whom a peace 
officer issue a citation and release to receive text message reminders of scheduled court appearances 
and criminal defendants in municipal court to receive text message reminders of scheduled court 
appearances. See Gov’t Code ch. 75, subch. J. See also Justice Courts and Municipal Courts; Office of 
Court Administration.

SB 484: Effective 9/1/2021. 

Permits a Texas military forces service member ordered to state active duty or training or other duty by 
the proper state authority, and who is entitled to certain benefits and protections, to retain private legal 
counsel and file a civil action in state district court if the service member is aggrieved by a violation of or 
is denied a benefit or protection guaranteed under Government Code § 437.204 or certain federal law. 
See Gov’t Code § 437.2131. See also Civil Law and Procedure.

Courthouse Security and Judicial Privacy

HB 1082: Effective 5/19/2021.

Limits the public availability of personal information of an elected public officer. See Gov’t Code §§ 
552.117(a), 552.1175(a); Tax Code §25.025(a).

County Courts and District Courts
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HB 9: Effective 9/1/2021.

Increases the punishment for obstructing a highway or other passageway if the person prevents the 
passage of an emergency vehicle operating its emergency audible or visual signals or obstructs access to 
a hospital or healthcare facility that provides emergency medical care. Requires a person, as a condition 
of community supervision for certain offenses involving the obstruction of a highway or passageway, to 
serve a minimum of 10 days in the county jail. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 42A.517 and Penal Code § 42.03. 

HB 39: Effective 9/1/2021.

Amends the Family Code to make agreed protective orders civilly and criminally enforceable, amends 
the list of persons that may file an application for a protective order, and requires that proof of service 
on a respondent must be filed before a hearing in which a court may issue a protective order by default 
due to a respondent’s failure to appear. See Fam. Code §§ 85.005, 85.006, 85.026, 86.0011(a); Code Crim. 
Proc. arts. 7B.001, 7B.003, 7B.007, 56A.052; Penal Code § 25.07. See also Family Law.

HB 246: Effective 9/1/2021.

Prohibits the release to the general public the name of an employee of a public or private primary 
or secondary school who is accused of committing an offense under Penal Code § 21.12 (Improper 
Relationship Between Educator and Student) until the employee is indicted for the offense. Allows for 
certain release of the accused’s name regardless of indictment in certain circumstances. See Penal Code 
§ 21.12.

HB 375: Effective 9/1/2021.

Expands the offense of continuous sexual abuse of a young child to include offenses against “disabled 
individuals.” See Penal Code § 21.02

HB 385: Effective 9/1/2021.

Amends various laws relating to the conditions of community supervision and procedures applicable to 
the reduction or termination of a defendant’s period of community supervision. Expands the purposes 
for modifying the conditions of community supervision and expands the court’s considerations before 
ordering the defendant to make payments under Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 42A (Community 
Supervision). Requires the court to consider whether defendant has sufficient resources or income to 
make payments, and where the defendant does not, requires the court to determine whether all or a 
portion of the payment should be paid later, paid in intervals, waived (completely or partially), discharged 
through community service, or any combination thereof. Requires supervision officer to notify the court 
if certain defendants complete court-ordered counseling or treatment and make delinquent restitution 
payments and requires court to review defendant’s record and consider whether to reduce or terminate 
community supervision. Directs the Office of Court Administration to adopt a standardized from that 

Criminal Law and Procedure
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a defendant may use to make a request for reconsideration of ability to pay. See Code Crim. Proc. arts. 
42A.052, 42A.301, 42A.655, 42A.701, 42A.702. See also Office of Court Administration.

HB 402: Effective 9/1/2021.

Authorizes use of certain funds derived from criminal asset forfeiture to cover the costs of a contract 
with a municipal or county program to provide services to domestic victims of trafficking. See Code Crim. 
Proc. art. 59.06. See also Costs, Fees, Fines, and Collections.

HB 465: Effective 9/1/2021.

Removes or limits eligibility considerations to release to parole supervision for individuals serving 
sentences of certain trafficking of persons offenses involving children. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 42.01991; 
Gov’t Code § 508.145.

HB 624: Effective 9/1/2021.

Increases the criminal penalty for certain offenses committed in retaliation for or on account of a person’s 
service or status as a public servant. See Penal Code § 12.501.

HB 757: Effective 9/1/2021.

Prohibits the denial, suspension, or revocation of a professional license or certificate to a qualified 
individual based on completion of deferred adjudication community supervision in certain cases. Permits 
occupational licensing agencies to consider the deferred adjudication community supervision in certain 
instances when issuing, renewing, denying, or revoking a license. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 42A.111. 

HB 766: Effective 1/1/2022, except Section 2 effective 9/1/2021.

Adds new article to the Code of Criminal Procedure related to the entry into the Texas Crime Information 
Center of certain information regarding orders imposing a condition of bond in a criminal case involving 
a violent offense. Requires a magistrate, as soon as practicable but not later than the next day after the 
date the magistrate issues an order imposing a condition of bond for a violent offense, to notify the 
sheriff of the condition and to provide the sheriff certain information related to the order. Requires the 
magistrate, as soon as practicable but not later than the next business day after the date a magistrate 
revokes or modifies the terms of a bond or disposes of the underlying charges, to notify the sheriff 
and provide the sheriff with information sufficient to enable the sheriff to make record changes in the 
database. Requires the clerk of the court that issues an order described by the bill to send a copy to 
any named person the condition of bond is intended to protect. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 17.50. See also 
Clerks; Magistrates and Magistrate Duties.

Criminal Law and Procedure
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HB 1005: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires that a bail bond for a defendant charged with certain trafficking or prostitution-related offenses 
must include, along with certain information already required by statute, the address, identification 
number, and state of issuance as shown on a valid driver’s license or identification card for the defendant 
and any surety. Sets a mandatory bond condition that a defendant charged with a certain trafficking or 
prostitution-related offense committed against a person 18 years or older be barred from direct or 
indirect communication with the victim and certain proximity to the victim and victim’s child. Raises age 
at which victim is considered a child for purposes of mandatory bond conditions of a defendant. See Code 
Crim. Proc. arts. 17.081, 17.41, 17.465.

HB 1156: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates offense of financial abuse of elderly individual. See Penal Code § 32.55.

HB 1280: Effective 9/1/2021.

Prohibits a person from knowingly performing, inducing, or attempting an abortion except in certain 
circumstances. Creates a felony criminal offense for violating the prohibition. Prohibition and related 
criminal and civil penalties related thereto do not take effect until a certain time. See Health and Safety 
Code ch. 170A.  

HB 1306: Effective 9/1/2021.

Increases penalty for assault or aggravated assault if committed against a person the individual knew 
was a process server and while the person was performing a duty as a process server. See Penal Code 
§§22.01(b) and (e), 22.02(b) and (d).

HB 1403: Effective 9/1/2021.

Permits the concurrent or consecutive running of sentences if each sentence is for a conviction of certain 
sexual, assaultive, or gang-related conduct arising out of the same criminal episode. See Penal Code § 3.03.

HB 1407: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates an exception to the offense of unlawful carrying of a handgun by a license holder who intentionally 
displays the handgun in plain view of another in a public place and the handgun was holstered, and the 
handgun and license holder were in a motor vehicle. See Penal Code § 46.035(a).

HB 1480: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates a criminal offense for intentional damages, theft, breaking and entering, or possession of 
records or equipment without consent for animal or crop facilities. Requires court to order a defendant 
convicted of offense under bill’s provisions to pay restitution. Authorizes injunctive relief by a facility 

Criminal Law and Procedure
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owner or operator against a person who engages or threatens to engage in conduct that would be an 
offense under the bill. See Agric. Code ch. 252.

HB 1920: Effective 9/1/2021.

Expands defenses to prosecution for possession of a weapon in a secured area of an airport. See Penal 
Code § 46.03. 

HB 1925: Effective 9/1/2021.

Makes it a Class C misdemeanor offense for a person to intentionally or knowingly camp in a public 
place without effective consent. Prohibits a local entity from adopting or enforcing a policy under which 
the entity prohibits or discourages the enforcement of any public camping ban and from prohibiting or 
discouraging a peace officer or prosecuting attorney employed by or under the direction or control of 
the entity from enforcing a public camping ban. Authorizes Attorney General to bring action to enjoin a 
violation of the bill’s prohibitions. See Penal Code § 48.05; Gov’t Code ch. 2306, subch. PP; Loc. Gov’t Code 
ch. 364. See also Government Entity or Political Subdivision.

HB 1927: Effective 9/1/2021.

Makes it legal for a person age 21 or older to carry a handgun while not on the person’s own premises or 
premises the person controlled or while not inside of or directly en route to a motor vehicle or watercraft 
owned or controlled by the person. Makes it an offense for a person to carry a handgun and intentionally 
display it in plain view of another person in a public place unless the handgun is partially or wholly visible 
but was carried in a holster. Repeals Penal Code § 46.035 (unlawful carrying of handgun by license 
holder) and expands scope of Penal Code § 46.03 (places weapons prohibited). Amends and repeals 
other various provisions related to carrying of handgun. See Code Crim. Proc. arts. 14.03, 55.01, 55.02; 
Penal Code §§ 30.05, 46.02, 46.03, 46.04, 46.15. 

HB 2048: Effective 9/1/2021.

Makes it an offense for the operator of a vehicle approaching another vehicle to fail to slow to a specified 
speed or vacate the lane closest to the other vehicle where that other vehicle, operated or contracted by 
a toll entity, is using compliant visual signals. See Transp. Code § 545.157.

HB 2112: Effective 9/1/2021.

Revises various offenses in the Penal Code to provide that a handgun may be carried in a holster rather 
than specifically in a shoulder or belt holster. See Penal Code §§ 30.05(f), 30.07(f), 46.02(a-1), 46.035, 
46.15(b).
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HB 2315: Effective 9/1/2021.

Expands definition of contraband to include, in certain circumstances, property used in the commission 
of the offense of racing on a highway. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 59.01(2). 

HB 2352: Effective 9/1/2021.

Authorizes judge assessing punishment in a state jail felony case to suspend sentence imposition and place 
defendant on community supervision with condition that defendant participate in a certain educational 
and vocational pilot program. Eliminates authorization for a judge to require those convicted of a state 
jail felony and placed on community supervision to serve a certain term in a state jail at the beginning of 
the community supervision term. Requires Department of Criminal Justice to establish a pilot program 
to provide educational and vocational training, employment, and reentry services to inmates released 
on parole who are required to participate in the program as a condition of parole. Requires the Office of 
Court Administration to develop and annually provide a training program to educate and inform judges 
on the components of the entire pilot program, which also includes defendants placed on community 
supervision. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 42A.562; Gov’t Code §§ 72.036, 493.034. See also Office of Court 
Administration.

HB 2366: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates a state jail felony-level offense for exploding or igniting fireworks with the intent to interfere 
with or flee from a law enforcement officer under certain circumstances. Provides certain penalty 
enhancements for the offense. Provides penalty enhancement for unlawful use of a laser pointer 
directed at a uniformed safety officer in certain circumstances. See Penal Code § 42.13, Penal Code ch. 50.

HB 3157: Effective 9/1/2021.

Increases the penalties for violating the civil rights of a person in custody and for improper sexual activity 
with a person in custody. See Penal Code § 39.04(b). 

HB 3289: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates a civil penalty for violating provisions of the Agriculture Code related to the protection of pecans 
or pecan trees from disease or pests. Provides a remedy in lieu of civil penalty or criminal penalty for 
violations of certain Agriculture Code provisions. See Agric. Code §§ 71.012, 71.013. See also Civil Law 
and Procedure.

HB 3363: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires a search warrant for the disclosure of location information created after the issuance of the 
warrant and held in electronic storage in the possession, care, custody, or control of an electronic 
communications service provider or remote computing service provider. Provides that only a prosecutor 
or prosecutor’s assistant with jurisdiction may file an application for the warrant, which must be filed 
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with as district court judge in the applicable judicial district. Establishes grounds for warrant issuance, 
duration, and sealing. Limits the admissibility of evidence obtained through certain required disclosure 
of location information. See Code Crim. Proc. arts. 18.01(b), 18.06(a), 18.07(a), 18B.001, and subch. G-1. 
See also County Courts and District Courts.

HB 3521: Effective 9/1/2021.

Expands definition of “coercion” for the offense of trafficking of persons. See Penal Code § 20A.01. 

HB 3774: Effective 9/1/2021 except Sections 1.01, 1.03, 1.05, and 2.04(a) which take effects 1/1/2022; 
Sections 1.06 and 1.10 which take effect 9/1/2022; Sections 1.04, 1.08, 2.05, and 2.11 which take effect 
10/1/2022; and Sections 1.09, 2.09, and 2.10 which take effect 1/1/2023.

Creates six new district courts (478th, composed of Bell County; 480th, composed of Williamson County, 
481st, composed of Denton County; 482nd, composed of Harris County; 484th, composed of Cameron 
County; and 474th, composed of McLennan County). Creates Criminal Judicial District No. 5, composed 
of Tarrant County. Creates five new statutory county courts (CCL No. 3 of McLennan, CCL No 6 of 
Montgomery, CCL No. 2 of San Patricio, CCL No. 5 of Williamson, and County Criminal Court No. 6 of 
Tarrant). Creates Probate Court No. 2 of Denton County. Revises the jurisdiction of various statutory 
county courts. Revises how the state annually compensates counties that collect certain fees in statutory 
probate courts. Prohibits a justice or judge in a justice or municipal court from accepting a guilty or no 
contest plea in criminal proceedings unless it appeared the defendant was mentally competent, and 
plea was voluntary and free. Establishes dual status case transfer provisions for juvenile/family courts. 
Extends jurisdiction in criminal actions to certain magistrates in certain counties. Revises the duties of 
the capital and forensic writ committee to include providing oversight and strategic guidance to the 
Office of Capital and Forensic Writs. Requires the Office of Court Administration to adopt certain rules 
related to the transfer of certain documents and cases between courts. Permits applicants for writs of 
habeas corpus the option of using secure electronic mail to serve a copy of the application on the state’s 
attorneys. Requires citations for receivership for certain missing persons to be posted on a certain 
website published by the Office of Court Administration. Revises the statutes governing the Forensic 
Science Commission. Expands the places where jurors may donate their daily reimbursement to include 
veterans county service offices and removes cap on meal reimbursement given to jurors in certain 
courts. Allows a judge or magistrate of a district court or statutory county court who is authorized to 
hear criminal cases to be appointed to preside over a certain regional specialty court program in certain 
circumstances. Expands the protective order registry maintained by the Office of Court Administration 
to include certain protective orders. See also Commissions, Committees, Councils, and Task Forces; 
County Courts and District Courts; Juvenile Justice; New Courts; Office of Court Administration.

SB 1 (2d Called Session): Effective 9/7/2021.

Amends and adds various provisions related to elections in the Elections Code, the Government Code, 
and the Code of Criminal Procedure. Amends the offense of false statement on a voter registration 
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application and enhances the punishment for the offense. Makes a county civilly liable for certain voter 
registrar actions. Makes it an offense for an election officer to intentionally or knowingly refuse to accept 
a watcher for service when acceptance is required by statute. Expands criminal conduct for unlawfully 
obstructing an election watcher and provides for certain relief for unlawful prevention or obstruction of 
an election watcher’s duties. Amends various statutes on fraud and other unlawful practices related to 
voting and adds various offenses related to voting practices. Allows for certain lawsuits alleging improper 
election activities. Requires a court, where a defendant is adjudged guilty of a felony offense, to make 
an affirmative finding of the judgment and instruct the defendant regarding how the felony conviction 
will impact the defendant’s right to vote. See also Civil Law and Procedure; Elections and Lobbying; 
Special Session Bills.

SB 4 (2d Called Session): Effective 9/17/2021.

Creates a state jail felony offense for certain persons who intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly violates 
certain provisions relating to abortion-inducing drugs. See Health & Safety Code § 171.065. See also Special 
Session Bills.

SB 5 (3d Called Session): Effective 10/25/2021

Repeals and replaces the Health and Safety Code subchapter addressing the unlawful restraint of 
dogs. Makes a first-time offense a Class C misdemeanor and classifies repeat violations as a Class B 
misdemeanor. See Health & Safety Code ch. 821, subch. E. See also Special Session Bills.

SB 6 (2d Called Session): Effective 1/1/2022 except for Sections 4, 6, 17, 18, 19, 20, and 21 and Articles 
17.021, 17.024, 17.15(a), and 17.15(c), Code of Criminal Procedure, as added or amended by Act, which 
take effect 12/2/2021.

Amends various provisions of the Code of Criminal Procedure, the Government Code, and the Local 
Government Code related to the Texas bail system. Requires any person to be eligible for bail unless 
denial of bail expressly permitted by Texas Constitution or other law. Requires a magistrate to grant or 
deny bail within 48 hours of defendant’s arrest and requires magistrate to set bail at least restrictive and 
minimum amount necessary to ensure defendant’s appearance while ensuring safety of community. 
Requires OCA to develop a public safety report system standardized for statewide use that meets certain 
specifications. Requires a magistrate setting bail to consider a public safety report for a defendant charged 
with a Class B misdemeanor or higher category of offense. Requires OCA to develop a training course 
regarding magistrate’s duties with respect to public safety reports and setting bail. Expands rules for fixing 
the amount of bail and requires magistrate to consider defendant’s criminal history and immigration 
status before setting bail. Regulates charitable organizations that solicit donations from the public for 
the purpose of posting bail bonds for defendants and imposes certain filing and reporting requirements 
on such organizations. Requires OCA to annually submit a report regarding the charitable organizations. 
Requires OCA to develop statewide procedures and forms to be used by courts to facilitate the refund 
of cash paid toward a monetary bail and the application of those funds to outstanding costs, fines, or 
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fees. Requires OCA to promulgate a bail form for use by magistrates, judges, sheriffs, peace officers, and 
jailers each time bail is set. Requires the clerk of each court setting bail to include certain information 
in its monthly report to OCA and requires OCA to post the information on its website without disclosing 
certain personal information of the defendant, judge, or magistrate. Limits the amount that a clerk may 
deduct from a defendant’s cash bond or cash bail bond. See also Magistrates and Magistrate Duties; 
Office of Court Administration; Special Session Bills.

SB 48: Effective 9/1/2021.

Expands list of animal cruelty offenses for which a judge granting community supervision could require 
individuals to relinquish custody of any animals, prohibit the individual from possessing or controlling 
animals or residing in a house where animals are present, or require the individual to participate in 
certain counseling or other appropriate treatment. See Code Crim. Proc. § 42A.511(c).

SB 109: Effective 9/1/2021.

Changes the name of offense of “securing execution of document by deception” to “fraudulent securing 
of document execution,” revises offense elements to account for certain effective consent, and defines 
“effective consent.” See Penal Code § 32.46.

SB 111: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires a law enforcement agency that files a case with the attorney representing the state to submit 
to the prosecutor a written statement from an officer attesting that all exculpatory, impeaching, or 
mitigating evidence in the agency’s possession has been released to the state’s attorney at the time the 
case is filed. Requires that any exculpatory, impeaching, or mitigating evidence collected afterward must 
be promptly turned over to the state’s attorney. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 2.1397.

SB 112: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires a warrant to obtain the disclosure of location information held in electronic storage in the 
possession, care, custody, or control of a provider of an electronic communications service or provider 
of a remote computing service. Mandates that only certain prosecutors may file an application for the 
warrant and allows district court judge to issue warrant to obtain disclosure of location regardless of 
where location information is held. Details the emergency disclosure of location information without a 
warrant and admissibility of location information. See Code Crim. Proc. arts. 18.01(b), 18.06(a), 18.07(a), 
18B.202(c), and ch. 18B, subch. G-1.

SB 162: Effective 9/1/2021.

Makes it a state jail felony-level offense for a person, while prohibited from possessing a firearm under 
state or federal law, to knowingly make a materially false statement on a form that is required by state 
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or federal law for the purchase, sale, or transfer of a firearm and that is submitted to a licensed firearms 
dealer. See Penal Code § 46.06.

SB 181: Effective 9/1/2021.

Sets fine for certain drug and controlled substance act convictions. Reduces mandatory license 
suspensions for conviction of a drug offense. Permits court to waive suspension for certain defendants 
and permits those subject to the suspension to take certain drug education courses online. See Code 
Crim. Proc. art. 102.0179; Trans. Code §§ 521.372, 521.374(a) and (b). See also Costs, Fees, Fines, and 
Collections.

SB 312: Effective 9/1/2021.

Increases the punishment for the criminal offense of improper sexual activity with a person in custody. 
See Penal Code § 39.04(b).

SB 315: Effective 5/24/2021.

Prohibits an individual younger than 18 years of age from being on premises operating as a sexually 
oriented business that is covered by a permit or license issued under the Alcoholic Beverage Code. Creates 
an offense related to the prohibition. Expands scope of common nuisance related to employment or 
contracting for work or services with an individual younger than age 21 for work or services performed, 
or for permitting an individual younger than 18 to enter premises. See Alco. Bev. Code § 106.17; Bus. & 
Com. Code §§ 102.0031, 102.004, 102.005, 125.0015; Lab. Code §§ 51.016, 51.031.

SB 335: Effective 9/1/2021. 

Requires a person from whom toxicology evidence was collected and, if the person is a minor, the 
person’s parent or guardian, to be notified of the periods for which the evidence is authorized to be 
retained and preserved. Authorizes the entity or individual charged with storing toxicological evidence 
to destroy the evidence on expiration of the applicable retention period. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 38.50. 

SB 500: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates an offense for operating a boarding home facility without the required local permit from the 
applicable municipality or county. See Health & Safety Code § 260.0051.

SB 516: Effective 9/1/2021.

Makes offense of criminal mischief a third-degree felony if the actor causes wholly or partly impairment 
or interruption of access to an automated teller machine, regardless of the amount of the pecuniary 
loss. See Penal Code §§ 28.03(b) and (g).

Criminal Law and Procedure

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00181F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00312F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00315F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00335F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00500F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00516F.pdf#navpanes=0


30 Texas Judicial Council

Texas Judiciary Legislative Update
87th Legislature

SB 530: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates a criminal offense for harassment for certain communications published on an Internet website, 
including a social media platform, that causes distress, abuse, or torment to another person, unless the 
communications are made in connection with a matter of public concern. See Penal Code § 42.07.

SB 550: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that a handgun may be carried in a holster, rather than specifically in a shoulder or belt holster. 
See Penal Code §§ 46.035, 30.05, 30.07, 46.02, 46.15.

SB 576: Effective 9/1/2021.

Revises provisions relating to the prosecution and punishment of the offense of smuggling of persons. 
See Penal Code §§ 20.01, 20.05.

SB 623: Effective 9/1/2021.

Amends law relating to the investigation and punishment of certain sexual offenses, to protective orders 
issued on the basis of certain sexual offenses, to crime victims’ compensation, and to the establishment 
of a state sexual offense prevention and response program for the Texas Military Department. See Gov’t 
Code ch. 432, subch. J-1; Code Crim. Proc. arts. 7B.001, 7B.002. 

SB 768: Effective 9/1/2021.

Revises the penalty grouping for certain controlled substances and controlled substance analogues 
under the Texas Controlled Substances Act. Creates an offense for the manufacture or delivery of 
certain substances. Provides that a defendant is not eligible for community supervision under certain 
circumstances, including a conviction for manufacture or delivery of certain controlled substances. 
See Health & Safety Code §§ 481.002, 481.102, 481.1022, 481.106, 481.1123, 481.115, 481.122, 481.124, 
481.134, 481.140, 481.141, and 161.042; Code Crim. Proc. arts. 42A.054, 42A.056, and 42A.102; Gov’t Code 
§ 508.149; Occ. Code § 551.003; Penal Code §§ 22.041 71.023.

SB 906: Effective 9/1/2021.

Authorizes an attorney for the state to file a petition alleging a person is a sexually violent predator and 
requires the judge to commence a trial to determine whether the person is a sexually violent predator. 
Details jury proceeding for civil commitment proceeding. Requires the Texas Civil Commitment Office to 
report a change in address to each local law enforcement authority serving as the current or proposed 
primary registration authority for a person required to register who is civilly committed as a sexual 
violent predator. Creates exceptions to certain requirements for persons required to register as a sex 
offender. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 62.055; Health & Safety Code §§ 841.041, 841.061, 841.062, 841.063, 
841.064, 841.0834, 841.0837, 841.084, 841.146, 841.151, 841.0834. 
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SB 957: Effective 9/1/2021.

Prevents the attorney general from denying or reducing an award otherwise payable under the Crime 
Victims’ Compensation Act based on the interactions of the claimant or victim with law enforcement at 
the crime scene or hospital unless the attorney general finds that the claimant or victim, subsequent to 
the interactions, failed or refused to substantially cooperate with law enforcement. See Code Crim. Proc. 
art. 56B.107.

SB 1055: Effective 9/1/2021.

Makes it an offense for a person to, with criminal negligence, operate a motor vehicle within the area of a 
crosswalk and cause certain injury to a pedestrian or a person operating a bike, motor scooter, or other 
vulnerable vehicle. See Trans. Code §§ 545.428, 544.007. 

SB 1056: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates an offense related to the making of a false report of a criminal offense or emergency that causes 
an emergency response. See Penal Code § 42.0601; Code Crim. Proc. arts. 13.40, 42.014, and 42.037; Fam. 
Code § 51.03.

SB 1373: Effective 9/1/2021.

Clarifies that fines are uncollectible if the defendant is dead or serving life, or the fine remains unpaid 
after 15 years. Clarifies that court costs include any fee modified or imposed after judgment. Requires 
judges to inquire on the record about the defendant’s ability to pay in Class C misdemeanor cases. 
See Code Crim. Proc. arts. 42.15(a-1), 43.015(3), 45.004, and 103.0081. See also Costs, Fees, Fines, and 
Collections.

SB 1923: Effective 9/1/2021.

Reclassifies certain criminal court fines and fees as reimbursement fees. Establishes that, for purposes 
of certain Code of Criminal Procedure provisions relating to costs, fines, and fees, a person is considered 
to have been convicted if a judgment, a sentence, or both a judgment and a sentence are imposed on the 
person; if the person receives community supervision, deferred adjudication, or deferred disposition; or 
if the court defers final disposition of the case or imposition of the judgment and sentence. See Code Crim. 
Proc. arts. 42.152(b), 42A.303, 101.004, 102.011, and 102.018; Gov’t Code § 51.607; Loc. Gov’t Code §§ 
133.055, 133.058; Parks & Wild. Code § 31.127; Trans. Code §§ 502.407, 502.473, 502.475, 504.943, 504.945, 
521.026, 521.054, 521.221, 547.004, 548.605, and 681.013. See also Costs, Fees, Fines, and Collections.

SCR 1: Signed by Governor 5/28/2021.
Concurrent resolution expressing opposition to the enactment or enforcement in Texas of a law, under 
a federal mandate, that automatically suspends the driver’s license of an individual who is convicted of 
certain offenses.
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HB 574: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates a second-degree felony offense related to the counting of invalid votes or refusal to count valid 
votes in an election. See Elec. Code § 276.014.

HB 1264: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the local registrar of deaths and the clerks of courts with probate jurisdiction to file their 
abstracts related to death to the voter registrar and the secretary of state within 7 days after the date 
the abstract is prepared. See Elec. Code § 16.001. See also Clerks; Probate, Trusts, and Estates.

SB 1 (2d Called Session): Effective 9/7/2021.

Amends and adds various provisions related to elections in the Elections Code, the Government Code, 
and the Code of Criminal Procedure. Amends the offense of false statement on a voter registration 
application and enhances the punishment for the offense. Makes a county civilly liable for certain voter 
registrar actions. Makes it an offense for an election officer to intentionally or knowingly refuse to accept 
a watcher for service when acceptance is required by statute. Expands criminal conduct for unlawfully 
obstructing an election watcher and provides for certain relief for unlawful prevention or obstruction of 
an election watcher’s duties. Amends various statutes on fraud and other unlawful practices related to 
voting and adds various offenses related to voting practices. Allows for certain lawsuits alleging improper 
election activities. Requires a court, where a defendant is adjudged guilty of a felony offense, to make an 
affirmative finding of the judgment and instruct the defendant regarding how the felony conviction will 
impact the defendant’s right to vote. See also Civil Law and Procedure; Criminal Law and Procedure; 
Special Session Bills.

Family Law

HB 39: Effective 9/1/2021.

Amends the Family Code to make agreed protective orders civilly and criminally enforceable, amends 
the list of persons that may file an application for a protective order, and requires that proof of service 
on a respondent must be filed before a hearing in which a court may issue a protective order by default 
due to a respondent’s failure to appear. See Fam. Code §§ 85.005, 85.006, 85.026, 86.0011(a); Code Crim. 
Proc. arts. 7B.001, 7B.003, 7B.007, 56A.052; Penal Code § 25.07. See also Criminal Law and Procedure.
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HB 135: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the Department of Family and Protective Services to inform an alleged perpetrator of child 
abuse or neglect, before conducting an interview with the alleged perpetrator, that he or she may create 
an audio or video recording of the interview and that the recording may be subject to subpoena. See Fam. 
Code § 261.3027.

HB 458: Effective 9/1/2021.

Amends the Family Code related to the collection and enforcement of income withholding for the 
payment of child support. Expands the definition of earnings for child support calculations to include 
compensation from a transportation network company and from a person that operates a technology 
platform used to make deliveries to customers. See Fam. Code §§ 101.011, 234.101.

HB 567: Effective 9/1/2021.

Amends various sections of the Family Code related to the procedures and grounds for terminating the 
parent-child relationship, for taking possession of a child, and for certain hearings in a suit affecting 
the parent-child relationship involving the Department of Family and Protective Services. Requires an 
attorney ad litem appointed for a child in a proceeding under Family Code Chapter 264 (child welfare 
services) to perform certain tasks while representing the child. See Fam. Code §§ 107.003, 107.004, 
161.001(c), 161.101, 261.001, 262.116, 262.201, 263.002, 263.401, 263.4011, 263.403, 264.203.

HB 851: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that a party who files a motion to modify maintenance based on a material and substantial 
change of circumstances cannot be considered on that basis alone to have admitted a material and 
substantial change of circumstances regarding any other matter. Provides that a party who files a motion 
to modify an order that provides for the appointment of a conservator of a child, provide terms and 
conditions of conservatorship, provides for possession of or access to a child, or provides for support of 
a child based on a material and substantial change of circumstances cannot be considered on that basis 
alone to have admitted a material and substantial change of circumstances regarding any other matter. 
See Fam. Code §§ 8.057(c-1), 156.007.

HB 867: Effective 9/1/2021.

Makes various amendments to Family Code related to qualified domestic relations orders. Provides that 
the amount of maintenance specified in a court order or the portion of a decree that provides for the 
maintenance of a former spouse may be modified by the filing of a motion in the court that originally 
rendered the order. Prevents a court from increasing the maintenance to an amount or duration that 
exceeds the amount or remaining duration of the original maintenance order. Permits a party to a 
maintenance order to petition the court for a qualified domestic relations order. Provides that the court 
that rendered the maintenance payment or that obtains jurisdiction to enforce the maintenance has 
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continuing jurisdiction to render enforceable qualified domestic relations orders. Provides that the 
court rendering the order retains continuing jurisdiction to amend the order, to convert the amount or 
frequency of payments under the order, or to vacate or terminate the order. Permits a party to a child 
support order or the Title IV-D agency to petition the court for a qualified domestic relations order. 
provide that the court that rendered the child support order or that obtains jurisdiction to enforce a child 
support order under Chapter 159 has continuing jurisdiction to render enforceable qualified domestic 
relations orders. Provide that the court rendering the order retains continuing jurisdiction to amend the 
order, to convert the amount or frequency of the payments under the order, or to vacate or terminate 
the order. See Fam. Code §§ 8.057, 8.059, 154.003; Fam. Code ch. 8, subch. H; Fam. Code ch. 157, subch. J.

HB 868: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that, in a jury trial, a party is entitled to a verdict by jury and the court may not contravene a jury 
verdict on the issues of the determination of whether to impose a restriction on the geographic area in 
which a sole managing conservator may designate the child’s primary residence and, if the restriction is 
imposed, the determination of the geographic area within which the sole managing conservator must 
designate the child’s primary residence. Prevents the court from submitting certain questions to the jury 
on the issues of any right or duty of a conservator. See Fam. Code § 105.002(c).

HB 1012: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires a person applying for a writ authorizing entry to a former residence to retrieve personal 
property to apply to the court that has jurisdiction over a pending suit under the Family Code or which 
has jurisdiction over a divorce decree or annulment, or neither of these options are applicable, to a 
justice court. See Prop. Code §§ 24A.002, 24A.0021, 24A.003. See also Justice Courts and Municipal 
Courts.

HB 1227: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires court that modifies an existing order for financial support of a child by requiring that payments 
be made to the Department of Family and Protective Services to notify the Office of the Attorney General 
not later than the 10th day after the date the order is rendered. See Fam. Code § 154.001. 

HB 1315: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that in a suit filed by a governmental entity in which termination of the parent-child relationship 
or appointment of the entity as a conservator of the child is requested, an order appointing the 
Department of Family and Protective Services as the child’s managing conservator is required to provide 
for the continuation of the appointment of the guardian ad litem or attorney ad litem for the child, or 
an attorney appointed to serve in the dual role, for the duration of the child’s time in the Department’s 
conservatorship. See Fam. Code § 107.016.

Family Law
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HB 1372: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows protective order petitioners to request separation of their wireless telephone number from the 
respondent’s wireless telephone service account if the petitioner is the primary user of that number. 
Allows a petitioner’s request to include a phone number used primarily by the petitioner’s child. Requires 
court in certain circumstances to render separate order directing wireless telephone service provider 
to transfer billing responsibilities and rights to each listed number to the petitioner. Directs service 
providers, on receipt of order, to comply with order. Limits civil liability of provider and agents for actions 
taken as required by court order. See Fam. Code § 85.0225; Bus. & Com. Code ch. 608.

HB 1849: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that the death of a child’s conservator constitutes a material and substantial change of 
circumstances sufficient to justify a temporary order and modification of an existing court order or 
portion of a decree that provides for the appointment of a conservator or that sets the terms and 
conditions of conservatorship or for visitation with the child. See Fam. Code § 156.106.

HB 2058: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires a judge, at each permanency hearing after the court renders a final order, to review the 
Department of Public Safety’s efforts to ensure that the child has regular, ongoing opportunities to 
engage in age-appropriate normalcy activities, including activities not listed in the child’s service plan. 
See Fam. Code § 263.5031(b). 

HB 2536: Effective 5/15/2021.

Prohibits a court from ordering the involuntary termination of the parent-child relationship based on 
evidence that the parent sought an opinion from more than one medical provider relating to the child’s 
medical care, transferred the child’s medical care to a new medical provider, or transferred the child to 
another health care facility. See Fam. Code § 161.001. 

HB 2924: Effective 9/1/2021.

Narrows the circumstances under which a court may terminate a parent’s right to a child in certain 
cases. See Fam. Code §§ 161.001, 262.2015. 

HB 2926: Effective 9/1/2021.

Establishes conditions under which a petition for the reinstatement of parental rights could be filed 
following the involuntary termination of the parent-child relationship. See Fam. Code ch. 161, subch. D. 

Family Law
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HB 3009: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires court, in appointing a child custody evaluator in a suit in which a party subject to the evaluation 
does not speak English as a primary language, to ensure the evaluator is able to effectively communicate 
in the primary language of the party or will be assisted by a licensed or certified interpreter. See Fam. Code 
§ 107.103.

HB 3041: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) to establish a pilot program for family 
preservation services in certain child protective service regions in the state. Outlines court proceedings 
for requiring an applicable family or child to obtain family preservation services. Requires the court to 
appoint attorneys ad litem and details when the court must order DFPS to provide family preservation 
services and to execute a family preservation services plan. See Fam. Code ch. 262, subch. F.

HB 3165: Effective 6/4/2021.

Creates a new affirmative defense to an allegation that a child committed truant conduct if the absences 
from school were due to the child’s voluntary absence from the child’s home because of abuse. See Fam. 
Code § 65.003. See also Juvenile Justice.

HB 3203: Effective 9/1/2021.

Adds to the list of alternative beginning and ending visitation times by a possessory conservator a 
provision that for weekend periods extended by a student holiday or teacher in-service day that falls on 
a Monday, the possession period ends 8AM Tuesday. Adds provision regarding beginning and ending 
possession periods in standard possession order for parents residing 50 miles or less apart. See Fam. 
Code §§ 153.317(a), 153.3171. 

SB 285: Effective 9/1/2021. 

Requires the clerk of the court to provide the state case registry with a record of a court order for 
medical support and dental support. Provides that the clerk of a court of a county participating in the 
unified enforcement system for Title IV-D cases must use a record of support order form that includes 
an option for the obligee or obligor to apply for child support services provided by the Title IV-D agency. 
Provides that, in an agreed child support order, a party may sign a waiver using a digitized signature. 
Provides that a waiver related to an agreed child support order must be sworn before a notary public 
or executed using an unsworn declaration under Civil Practice and Remedies Code § 132.001. Requires 
a mailing address in an agreed child support order to be omitted in certain cases. Requires the clerk, 
if court-ordered, to deliver by substitute service a copy of the petition for confirmation of a nonagreed 
review order and a copy of the order to each party entitled to service who has not waived service. 
Extends the amount of time in which a court must sign an agreed child support review order upon its 
filing. See also Clerks.

Family Law
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SB 286: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the court, whenever possible, to rely on evidence of an obligor’s resources when determining 
the appropriate amount of child support to order. Requires court, in absence of evidence of a party’s 
resources, to consider certain relevant background circumstances regarding the obligor. Prohibits 
courts from treating incarceration as intentional unemployment or underemployment in establishing or 
modifying support orders. Amends guidelines for computing certain support of children. Requires court 
to confirm the amount of arrearages and render certain cumulative money judgment. See Fam. Code §§ 
8.062, 154.0655, 154.066, 154.125, 154.129, 156.401, 157.005, 157.263, 159.605, 234.007; Prop. Code § 
240.009.

SB 567: Effective 9/1/2021.

Authorizes a domestic relations office to file suit under Family Code Title 5 (The Parent-Child Relationship 
and the Suit Affecting the Parent-Child Relationship), including a suit to establish paternity and to enforce, 
clarify, or modify a court order for child support or for possession of and access to a child. See Fam. Code 
§ 203.004(a).

Government Entity or Political Subdivision

HB 525: Effective 6/18/2021.

Prohibits a governmental entity from prohibiting a religious organization from engaging in religious 
or other related activities at any time, including during a declared state of disaster. Allows a person to 
assert a violation of the prohibition as a claim or defense in a judicial or administrative proceeding and 
allows person to obtain certain injunctive and declaratory relief. Authorizes Attorney General to enforce 
new provisions. See Gov’t Code ch. 2401. 

HB 1118: Effective 5/18/2021.

Requires certain local government employees to undergo certain cybersecurity training. Requires each 
applicable state agency strategic plan of operation to include a written certification of the agency’s 
compliance with training requirements. See Gov’t Code §§ 772.012, 2054.5191, 2056.002(b). 

HB 1239: Effective 6/16/2021.

Prohibits a governmental agency or public official from issuing an order that closes or has the effect of 
closing a place of worship in Texas or a geographic area of the state. Allows a person whose free exercise 
of religion that has been substantially burdened in violation of the prohibition to assert that violation as 
a defense in a judicial or administrative proceeding without regard to whether the proceeding is brought 

Family Law
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in the name of the state or by any other person. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code §§ 110.001, 110.002, 110.0031, 
110.004. See also Civil Law and Procedure.

HB 1322: Effective 9/1/2023.

Requires a state agency that files notice of a proposed rule with the Secretary of State under the 
Administrative Procedure Act to publish on its website a summary of the proposed rule written in plain 
language in both English and Spanish. See Gov’t Code § 2001.023. 

HB 1493: Effective 9/1/2021.

Prevents a filing entity or foreign filing entity from using a name in Texas that falsely implies an affiliation 
with a governmental entity. Allows attorney general to seek injunctive relief to require with certain 
provisions established under the bill. Entitles a governmental unit to enjoin another person’s use of an 
entity name that falsely implies governmental affiliation with the governmental unit. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. 
Code ch. 150C; Bus. Orgs. Code §§ 5.064, 5.065. See also Civil Law and Procedure.

HB 1925: Effective 9/1/2021.

Makes it a Class C misdemeanor offense for a person to intentionally or knowingly camp in a public 
place without effective consent. Prohibits a local entity from adopting or enforcing a policy under which 
the entity prohibits or discourages the enforcement of any public camping ban and from prohibiting or 
discouraging a peace officer or prosecuting attorney employed by or under the direction or control of 
the entity from enforcing a public camping ban. Authorizes Attorney General to bring action to enjoin a 
violation of the bill’s prohibitions. See Penal Code § 48.05; Gov’t Code ch. 2306, subch. PP; Loc. Gov’t Code 
ch. 364. See also Criminal Law and Procedure.

HB 3069: Effective 6/14/2021.

Shortens the limitations period under which a governmental entity could bring a suit for damages for 
certain claims against design professionals who designed, planned, or inspected the construction of 
an improvement to real property or equipment attached to real property, or against a person who 
constructed or repaired an improvement to real property. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code §§ 16.008, 16.009.

SB 44: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides up to 10 days of paid leave each fiscal year for executive and judicial branch state employees 
who are volunteers of any organization that is a member of the Texas Voluntary Organizations Active 
in Disaster to participate in disaster relief services for a state of disaster declared by the Governor. See 
Gov’t Code § 661.9075.

Government Entity or Political Subdivision
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SB 211: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows certain persons to appeal certain TCEQ actions by filing a petition in a Travis County district court 
within certain amount of time. Requires petitions against certain political subdivisions exercising power 
under the Solid Waste Act to be filed within 30 days of the relevant act and requires service of citation 
of the petition within the same timeframe. See Health & Safety Code §§ 361.321, 361.322, 382.032; Water 
Code § 5.351.

SB 282: 9/1/2021.
Prohibits the legislature from appropriating money and a state agency from using appropriated money 
to settle or otherwise pay a sexual harassment claim made against a person who is an elected member 
of the executive, legislative, or judicial branch of state government, is appointed by the governor to serve 
in public office within state government, or serves as staff for an elected or appointed person. Prohibits 
a political subdivision from using public money to settle or otherwise pay a sexual harassment claim 
made against an elected or appointed member of the governing body of the political subdivision or an 
officer or employee of the political subdivision. See Gov’t Code ch. 576; Loc. Gov’t Code § 180.008. 

SB 1821: Effective 6/7/2021.

Classifies an amendment to an existing contingent fee contract for legal services entered into by an 
applicable governmental entity as a contingent fee contract if the amendment changes the scope of the 
representation or may result in the filing of an action or the amending of a petition in an existing action. 
See Gov’t Code § 2254.101.

Guardianship and Mental Health

HB 79: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the presiding judge of each administrative judicial region, after conferring with certain courts 
with jurisdiction over guardianship proceedings or protective services proceedings, to determine whether 
those courts require the appointment of an associate judge to assist the courts with guardianship 
proceedings or protective services proceedings. Outlines associate judge appointment procedures, 
qualifications, general powers, and compensation, as well as host county designation and responsibilities 
where the presiding judge determines the courts require the services of an associate judge. Requires 
the Office of Court Administration to assist the presiding judges in various supervision of, training of, 
and evaluation of associate judges. See Gov’t Code ch. 54A, subch. D. See also Administrative Judicial 
Regions.

Government Entity or Political Subdivision
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HB 1213: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows for recovery of court reporter costs incurred in a hearing or proceeding for the involuntary 
detention of a person with mental illness. See Health & Safety Code § 571.018(c). See also Costs, Fees, 
Fines, and Collections.

HB 1296: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows a court to serve notice on a guardian by certified mail instead of personal service of a hearing on 
the court’s motion to transfer the guardianship to another county. Allows a court to serve notice on a 
guardian by certified mail of a hearing on a complaint by the Judicial Branch Certification Commission 
that the guardian is ineligible to serve due to failure to maintain certification with the Commission. See 
Est. Code §§ 1023.004, 1203.052. See also Commissions, Committees, Councils, and Task Forces.

HB 3394: Effective 9/1/2021.

Authorizes a court, if there was probable cause to believe a guardian was incapacitated, upon court’s 
own motion or an application by an interested party, to appoint an attorney ad litem for a ward and a 
court investigator or guardian ad litem to investigate the competence of the guardian. Permits court to 
appoint necessary physician to examine guardian to determine whether the guardian was incapacitated. 
See Est. Code §§ 1203.052(a), (c). 

SB 49: Effective 9/1/2021.

Eliminates certain mental illness or intellectual or developmental disability screening requirements for 
certain defendants no longer in custody.  Requires magistrate to provide copies of the screening report 
to the sheriff or other person responsible for the defendant’s medical records while the defendant 
is confined in county jail and to, as applicable, certain bond or supervisory persons. Provides that a 
personal bond is not required to contain a certain oath related to appearances and the failure to appear 
where the magistrate determines the defendant has a mental illness or intellectual disability, is released 
on bond, or is found incompetent to stand trial. Sets the date the competency restoration period begins. 
Clarifies that court retains authority to order transfer of defendant who is subject to order for jail-
based competency restoration services to an outpatient competency restoration program under certain 
conditions. See Code Crim. Proc. arts. 16.22(a)(2), (b-1), and (b-2), 17.04(b), 46B.0735, 46B.080, 46B.090(l-2), 
46B.091(m), 46B.1055. See also Magistrate and Magistrate Duties.

SB 615: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows for the electronic transfer of the file and index of probate and guardianship proceedings from 
one clerk to another when the case is transferred from the county where it as originally filed to another 
county. Requires attorneys representing any party’s interest in a guardianship proceeding to complete 
the court of instruction on guardianship offered by the State Bar. Allows authenticated wills and other 
testamentary instruments completely or partially written in a foreign language to be recorded in a 

Guardianship and Mental Health
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county’s deed records along with the order admitting them to probate and a sworn translation of the 
document to English. Requires attorney general to provide legal representation to visiting judges assigned 
to probate matters who are sued in their capacity as judge. Clarifies that a bond covering judges with 
probate and guardianship jurisdiction also covers visiting and associate judges in that court. Repeals 
a statute allowing for recording a deed without signature. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 30.014(a); Est. 
Code §§ 33.101, 33.102, 33.103, 51.003, 202.054, 351.351, 404.0036, 404.005, 452.006, 503.002, 1023.006, 
1023.007, 1051.003, 1054.201, 1101.001, 1101.153, 1151.005, 1251.005, 1251.153, 1253.001; Gov’t Code 
§§ 25.0006, 25.00231, 25.0027, 74.141, 81.114, 155.205. See also Probate, Trusts, and Estates.

SB 626: Effective 9/1/2021.

Omnibus guardianship bill. Requires each party or counsel to include certain identifying information in 
initial pleadings, including probate or guardianship proceedings, in certain courts, including statutory 
probate court. Requires county clerk to make and retain copy of entire casefile and transmit original to 
court where venue is proper for probate proceeding. Authorizes authenticated copy of will or certain 
testamentary instruments written in language other than English to be filed for recording in certain 
circumstances. Requires notice to the potential beneficiary, the beneficiary’s guardian, and family 
members when an application for the creation of a management trust is filed. Allows management 
trust to last until removal of an incapacity or until beneficiary dies. Allows county courts-at-law to hear 
trust cases when the person under guardianship is a trust’s beneficiary. Revises statutes regarding 
guardianship sale and action procedures. Requires trustee of a management trust created for a ward to 
provide a copy of the annual account to each guardian of the ward. Clarifies that a court investigator or 
guardian ad litem may investigate a complete relating to modification or termination of a guardianship. 
Clarifies what newspaper must be used for notice of a guardianship proceeding. Allows guardianship 
applicants to submit a declaration under penalty of perjury regarding their commitment to discharge 
their duties as a guardian faithfully. Requires attorney general to defend certain judges, including a 
visiting judge assigned to hear a guardianship or probate matter by the presiding judge of the statutory 
probate court, in any action in which the judge is a defendant because of the judge’s office or capacity as 
judge, if the judge requests the attorney general’s assistance in the defense of the suit. See also Clerks; 
Probate, Trusts, and Estates.

SB 692: Effective 5/30/2021.

Requires financial institutions or other persons, as applicable, to provide the Guardianship Abuse, Fraud, 
and Exploitation Deterrence Program with access to certain records concerning a ward or the ward’s 
estate for purposes of conducting reviews and audits under the Program. Allows Program to request the 
court in which the guardianship is pending to order certain institutions or persons to provide the records 
to the Program. Allows court to issue an order requiring certain institutions or persons to provide the 
records to the Program. See Gov’t Code §§ 72.121, 72.1221.

Guardianship and Mental Health
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SB 1129: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires (and otherwise authorizes) the Office of Court Administration to by rule establish a guardianship 
mediation training course and requires a mediation training provider to adhere to the established 
curriculum in providing the training course. Revises provisions regarding the transfer of a guardianship 
from one county to another. See Est. Code §§ 1023.005, 1023.008, 1023.011, 1055.151, and 1055.152; 
Gov’t Code ch. 155, subch. G. See also Office of Court Administration.

Indigent Defense

HB 9 (2d Called Session): Effective 9/17/2021.

Appropriates to the Office of Court Administration certain funds for the purpose of providing funding 
for indigent legal representation, foreign language interpreters for courts, increased staff functions, 
equipment purchases, and program administration costs for a certain amount of time. See also Office 
of Court Administration; Special Session Bills.

HB 295: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the Texas Indigent Defense Commission to provide technical support to assist counties in 
improving their provision of indigent defense services, including indigent defense support systems. 
Expands list of entities eligible to receive grants from the Commission to provide or improve the provision 
of indigent defense services. Change the definition of “indigent defense compensation expenditures” for 
purposes of the adjustment of a county’s no-new-revenue maintenance and operations rate to reflect 
increases in those expenditures. See Gov’t Code § 79.037; Tax Code § 26.0442(a). 

Judicial Qualifications

SJR 47: Proposed amendment to be submitted to voters at election to be held 11/2/2021.

Proposes an amendment to the Texas Constitution to revise the eligibility requirements for a district 
court judge, a justice of the Texas Supreme Court, a judge of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, and a 
justice of a court of appeals. See Tex. Const. art. I, § 2(b) and Tex. Const. art. V, §7.

Guardianship and Mental Health
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HB 840: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows county commissioners, as an alternative to a certain random selection process for salary grievance 
committee selection, to direct the county clerk to use a computer to generate a randomized list of names 
of all persons who served on a grand jury in the county in the preceding calendar year. Requires county 
commissioners to adopt the randomized list, enter list into meeting minutes, and select in the order of 
the list the necessary number of public members and alternatives. See Loc. Gov’t Code § 152.015. See also 
Clerks.

SB 456: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that a juror may donate all or a specific amount of the person’s daily reimbursement to a 
veterans county service office. See Gov’t Code §§ 61.003, 434.032. 

SB 1179: Effective 9/1/2021.

Specifies that juror donation cards be distributed after a trial concludes. See Gov’t Code § 61.003.

Justice Courts and Municipal Courts

HB 569: Effective 9/1/2021. 

Requires a justice or judge to apply jail credit toward any outstanding fine or costs in a misdemeanor 
case punishable by a fine only if the defendant is subsequently confined in a jail or prison in another case 
if that confinement occurred after the commission of the misdemeanor. Requires that certain notice be 
given to defendant regarding the jail credit prior to the issuance of an arrest warrant for defendant’s 
failure to appear at the initial court setting. See Code Crim. Proc. arts. 45.014, 45.041, 45.048. See also 
Costs, Fees, Fines, and Collections.

HB 900: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that a landlord is not liable for damages to the tenant resulting from the execution of a writ of 
possession by an officer under Property Code § 24.0061. See Prop. Code § 24.0061. 

HB 1012: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires a person applying for a writ authorizing entry to a former residence to retrieve personal 
property to apply to the court that has jurisdiction over a pending suit under the Family Code or which 
has jurisdiction over a divorce decree or annulment, or neither of these options are applicable, to a 
justice court. See Prop. Code §§ 24A.002, 24A.0021, 24A.003. See also Family Law.

Jury Service and Grand Jury Service
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HB 1693: Effective 6/4/2021.

Permits a justice or municipal court to access the financial responsibility verification program established 
under the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act to verify responsibility for the purpose of court 
proceedings. See Transp. Code § 601.455. 

HB 2430: Effective 9/1/2021.

Authorizes a commissioners court, if a temporary justice is also serving as a justice of the peace in 
another justice precinct in the county, to authorize mileage expense reimbursement. See Gov’t Code § 
27.055(b). 

HB 4293: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the Office of Court Administration to develop and make available to each county a court 
reminder program that allows the county to send a text message to notify criminal defendants of 
scheduled court appearances. Permits the justices of the justice courts and the judges of the county, 
statutory county, and district courts with jurisdiction over criminal cases in each county to establish a 
court reminder program that allows the county to send a text message to notify criminal defendants 
of scheduled court appearances. Permits the Office of Court Administration or the judges or justices to 
partner with municipalities and local law enforcement agencies to allow individuals to whom a peace 
officer issue a citation and release to receive text message reminders of scheduled court appearances 
and criminal defendants in municipal court to receive text message reminders of scheduled court 
appearances. See Gov’t Code ch. 75, subch. J. See also County Courts and District Courts; Office of 
Court Administration. 

Juvenile Justice

HB 454: Effective 9/1/2021.

Permits county commissioners to establish a juvenile family drug court program for individuals who 
reside with a child who is the subject of a juvenile justice case and are suspected by the Department of 
Family and Protective Services or the court of having a substance abuse problem. Establishes essential 
characteristics of juvenile family drug court program and outlines participant payment and county 
funding. See Gov’t Code ch. 130. See also Specialty Courts.

HB 1401: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows applications for the sealing of an individual’s juvenile records to be sent to the court by any 
reasonable method authorized under Rule 21, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, including secure electronic 

Justice Courts and Municipal Courts
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means. Authorizes court clerk to send copies of sealing orders to entities by secure electronic means 
and eliminates specific authority to send copes by regular mail or email. See Fam. Code §§ 58.256, 58.258. 

HB 2107: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows a juvenile court to order a child who has been found unfit to proceed, or to lack responsibility for 
the child’s conduct, as a result of intellectual disability, to receive services for the intellectual disability on 
an outpatient basis for not more than 90 days. See Fam. Code §§ 55.33, 55.34, 55.35, 55.43, 55.52, 55.53, 
55.54. 

HB 2633: Effective 9/1/2021.

Authorizes a juvenile court to require a child adjudicated to have engaged in delinquent conduct or 
conduct indicating a need for supervision and who is believed to be a victim of an offense of trafficking 
as defined by Code of Criminal Procedure Article 56B.003 to participate in a certain trafficked persons 
program. See Fam. Code § 54.04012(b).

HB 3165: Effective 6/4/2021.

Creates a new affirmative defense to an allegation that a child committed truant conduct if the absences 
from school were due to the child’s voluntary absence from the child’s home because of abuse. See Fam. 
Code § 65.003. See also Family Law.

HB 3774: Effective 9/1/2021 except Sections 1.01, 1.03, 1.05, and 2.04(a) which take effects 1/1/2022; 
Sections 1.06 and 1.10 which take effect 9/1/2022; Sections 1.04, 1.08, 2.05, and 2.11 which take effect 
10/1/2022; and Sections 1.09, 2.09, and 2.10 which take effect 1/1/2023.

Creates six new district courts (478th, composed of Bell County; 480th, composed of Williamson County, 
481st, composed of Denton County; 482nd, composed of Harris County; 484th, composed of Cameron 
County; and 474th, composed of McLennan County). Creates Criminal Judicial District No. 5, composed 
of Tarrant County. Creates five new statutory county courts (CCL No. 3 of McLennan, CCL No 6 of 
Montgomery, CCL No. 2 of San Patricio, CCL No. 5 of Williamson, and County Criminal Court No. 6 of 
Tarrant). Creates Probate Court No. 2 of Denton County. Revises the jurisdiction of various statutory 
county courts. Revises how the state annually compensates counties that collect certain fees in statutory 
probate courts. Prohibits a justice or judge in a justice or municipal court from accepting a guilty or no 
contest plea in criminal proceedings unless it appeared the defendant was mentally competent, and 
plea was voluntary and free. Establishes dual status case transfer provisions for juvenile/family courts. 
Extends jurisdiction in criminal actions to certain magistrates in certain counties. Revises the duties of 
the capital and forensic writ committee to include providing oversight and strategic guidance to the 
Office of Capital and Forensic Writs. Requires the Office of Court Administration to adopt certain rules 
related to the transfer of certain documents and cases between courts. Permits applicants for writs of 
habeas corpus the option of using secure electronic mail to serve a copy of the application on the state’s 

Juvenile Justice
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attorneys. Requires citations for receivership for certain missing persons to be posted on a certain 
website published by the Office of Court Administration. Revises the statutes governing the Forensic 
Science Commission. Expands the places where jurors may donate their daily reimbursement to include 
veterans county service offices and removes cap on meal reimbursement given to jurors in certain 
courts. Allows a judge or magistrate of a district court or statutory county court who is authorized to 
hear criminal cases to be appointed to preside over a certain regional specialty court program in certain 
circumstances. Expands the protective order registry maintained by the Office of Court Administration 
to include certain protective orders. See also Commissions, Committees, Councils, and Task Forces; 
County Courts and District Courts; Criminal Law and Procedure; New Courts; Office of Court 
Administration.

SB 2049: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provide that a juvenile court may appoint the guardian ad litem under Family Code Chapter 107 for a 
child in a suit affecting the parent-child relationship filed by the Department of Family and Protective 
Services to serve as the guardian ad litem for the child in a proceeding under Title 3 of the Family Code. 
Prevents guardians ad litem from investigating any charges involving the child that are pending with the 
juvenile court. See Fam. Code §§ 51.11, 54.01, 54.02, 54.04, 54.05, 54.11, and 107.011.

Legal Profession

HB 368: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the Department of Public Safety to accept for a county attorney, district attorney, criminal district 
attorney, assistant county attorney, assistant district attorney, or assistant criminal district attorney, an 
office address as an alternative address for driver’s license licensure. See Transp. Code § 521.1211.

SB 904: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires an attorney qualified for appointment as an attorney ad litem for a child in a child protection 
case to complete certain trauma training. See Fam. Code § 107.004

Juvenile Justice
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HB 766: Effective 1/1/2022, except Section 2 effective 9/1/2021.

Adds new article to the Code of Criminal Procedure related to the entry into the Texas Crime Information 
Center of certain information regarding orders imposing a condition of bond in a criminal case involving 
a violent offense. Requires a magistrate, as soon as practicable but not later than the next day after the 
date the magistrate issues an order imposing a condition of bond for a violent offense, to notify the 
sheriff of the condition and to provide the sheriff certain information related to the order. Requires the 
magistrate, as soon as practicable but not later than the next business day after the date a magistrate 
revokes or modifies the terms of a bond or disposes of the underlying charges, to notify the sheriff 
and provide the sheriff with information sufficient to enable the sheriff to make record changes in the 
database. Requires the clerk of the court that issues an order described by the bill to send a copy to 
any named person the condition of bond is intended to protect. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 17.50. See also 
Clerks; Criminal Law and Procedure.

SB 6 (2d Called Session): Effective 1/1/2022 except for Sections 4, 6, 17, 18, 19, 20, and 21 and Articles 
17.021, 17.024, 17.15(a), and 17.15(c), Code of Criminal Procedure, as added or amended by Act, which 
take effect 12/2/2021.

Amends various provisions of the Code of Criminal Procedure, the Government Code, and the Local 
Government Code related to the Texas bail system. Requires any person to be eligible for bail unless 
denial of bail expressly permitted by Texas Constitution or other law. Requires a magistrate to grant or 
deny bail within 48 hours of defendant’s arrest and requires magistrate to set bail at least restrictive and 
minimum amount necessary to ensure defendant’s appearance while ensuring safety of community. 
Requires OCA to develop a public safety report system standardized for statewide use that meets certain 
specifications. Requires a magistrate setting bail to consider a public safety report for a defendant 
charged with a Class B misdemeanor or higher category of offense. Requires OCA to develop a training 
course regarding magistrate’s duties with respect to public safety reports and setting bail. Expands 
rules for fixing the amount of bail and requires magistrate to consider defendant’s criminal history 
and immigration status before setting bail. Regulates charitable organizations that solicit donations 
from the public for the purpose of posting bail bonds for defendants and imposes certain filing and 
reporting requirements on such organizations. Requires OCA to annually submit a report regarding 
the charitable organizations. Requires OCA to develop statewide procedures and forms to be used by 
courts to facilitate the refund of cash paid toward a monetary bail and the application of those funds to 
outstanding costs, fines, or fees. Requires OCA to promulgate a bail form for use by magistrates, judges, 
sheriffs, peace officers, and jailers each time bail is set. Requires the clerk of each court setting bail to 
include certain information in its monthly report to OCA and requires OCA to post the information on its 
website without disclosing certain personal information of the defendant, judge, or magistrate. Limits 
the amount that a clerk may deduct from a defendant’s cash bond or cash bail bond. See also Criminal 
Law and Procedure; Office of Court Administration; Special Session Bills.

Magistrates and Magistrate Duties
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SB 49: Effective 9/1/2021.

Eliminates certain mental illness or intellectual or developmental disability screening requirements for 
certain defendants no longer in custody.  Requires magistrate to provide copies of the screening report 
to the sheriff or other person responsible for the defendant’s medical records while the defendant 
is confined in county jail and to, as applicable, certain bond or supervisory persons. Provides that a 
personal bond is not required to contain a certain oath related to appearances and the failure to appear 
where the magistrate determines the defendant has a mental illness or intellectual disability, is released 
on bond, or is found incompetent to stand trial. Sets the date the competency restoration period begins. 
Clarifies that court retains authority to order transfer of defendant who is subject to order for jail-
based competency restoration services to an outpatient competency restoration program under certain 
conditions. See Code Crim. Proc. arts. 16.22(a)(2), (b-1), and (b-2), 17.04(b), 46B.0735, 46B.080, 46B.090(l-2), 
46B.091(m), 46B.1055. See also Guardianship and Mental Health.

New Courts

HB 3774: Effective 9/1/2021 except Sections 1.01, 1.03, 1.05, and 2.04(a) which take effects 1/1/2022; 
Sections 1.06 and 1.10 which take effect 9/1/2022; Sections 1.04, 1.08, 2.05, and 2.11 which take effect 
10/1/2022; and Sections 1.09, 2.09, and 2.10 which take effect 1/1/2023.

Creates six new district courts (478th, composed of Bell County; 480th, composed of Williamson County, 
481st, composed of Denton County; 482nd, composed of Harris County; 484th, composed of Cameron 
County; and 474th, composed of McLennan County). Creates Criminal Judicial District No. 5, composed 
of Tarrant County. Creates five new statutory county courts (CCL No. 3 of McLennan, CCL No 6 of 
Montgomery, CCL No. 2 of San Patricio, CCL No. 5 of Williamson, and County Criminal Court No. 6 of 
Tarrant). Creates Probate Court No. 2 of Denton County. Revises the jurisdiction of various statutory 
county courts. Revises how the state annually compensates counties that collect certain fees in statutory 
probate courts. Prohibits a justice or judge in a justice or municipal court from accepting a guilty or no 
contest plea in criminal proceedings unless it appeared the defendant was mentally competent, and 
plea was voluntary and free. Establishes dual status case transfer provisions for juvenile/family courts. 
Extends jurisdiction in criminal actions to certain magistrates in certain counties. Revises the duties of 
the capital and forensic writ committee to include providing oversight and strategic guidance to the 
Office of Capital and Forensic Writs. Requires the Office of Court Administration to adopt certain rules 
related to the transfer of certain documents and cases between courts. Permits applicants for writs of 
habeas corpus the option of using secure electronic mail to serve a copy of the application on the state’s 
attorneys. Requires citations for receivership for certain missing persons to be posted on a certain 
website published by the Office of Court Administration. Revises the statutes governing the Forensic 
Science Commission. Expands the places where jurors may donate their daily reimbursement to include 

Magistrates and Magistrate Duties
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veterans county service offices and removes cap on meal reimbursement given to jurors in certain 
courts. Allows a judge or magistrate of a district court or statutory county court who is authorized to 
hear criminal cases to be appointed to preside over a certain regional specialty court program in certain 
circumstances. Expands the protective order registry maintained by the Office of Court Administration 
to include certain protective orders. See also Commissions, Committees, Councils, and Task Forces; 
County Courts and District Courts; Criminal Law and Procedure; Juvenile Justice; Office of Court 
Administration.

Office of Court Administration

HB 9 (2d Called Session): Effective 9/17/2021.

Appropriates to the Office of Court Administration certain funds for the purpose of providing funding 
for indigent legal representation, foreign language interpreters for courts, increased staff functions, 
equipment purchases, and program administration costs for a certain amount of time. See also Indigent 
Defense; Special Session Bills.

HB 385: Effective 9/1/2021.

Amends various laws relating to the conditions of community supervision and procedures applicable to 
the reduction or termination of a defendant’s period of community supervision. Expands the purposes 
for modifying the conditions of community supervision and expands the court’s considerations before 
ordering the defendant to make payments under Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 42A (Community 
Supervision). Requires the court to consider whether defendant has sufficient resources or income to 
make payments, and where the defendant does not, requires the court to determine whether all or a 
portion of the payment should be paid later, paid in intervals, waived (completely or partially), discharged 
through community service, or any combination thereof. Requires supervision officer to notify the court 
if certain defendants complete court-ordered counseling or treatment and make delinquent restitution 
payments and requires court to review defendant’s record and consider whether to reduce or terminate 
community supervision. Directs the Office of Court Administration to adopt a standardized from that 
a defendant may use to make a request for reconsideration of ability to pay. See Code Crim. Proc. arts. 
42A.052, 42A.301, 42A.655, 42A.701, 42A.702. See also Criminal Law and Procedure.

HB 2352: Effective 9/1/2021.

Authorizes judge assessing punishment in a state jail felony case to suspend sentence imposition and place 
defendant on community supervision with condition that defendant participate in a certain educational 
and vocational pilot program. Eliminates authorization for a judge to require those convicted of a state 

New Courts
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jail felony and placed on community supervision to serve a certain term in a state jail at the beginning of 
the community supervision term. Requires Department of Criminal Justice to establish a pilot program 
to provide educational and vocational training, employment, and reentry services to inmates released 
on parole who are required to participate in the program as a condition of parole. Requires the Office of 
Court Administration to develop and annually provide a training program to educate and inform judges 
on the components of the entire pilot program, which also includes defendants placed on community 
supervision. See Code Crim. Proc. art. 42A.562; Gov’t Code §§ 72.036, 493.034. See also Criminal Law and 
Procedure.

HB 3774: Effective 9/1/2021 except Sections 1.01, 1.03, 1.05, and 2.04(a) which take effects 1/1/2022; 
Sections 1.06 and 1.10 which take effect 9/1/2022; Sections 1.04, 1.08, 2.05, and 2.11 which take effect 
10/1/2022; and Sections 1.09, 2.09, and 2.10 which take effect 1/1/2023.

Creates six new district courts (478th, composed of Bell County; 480th, composed of Williamson County, 
481st, composed of Denton County; 482nd, composed of Harris County; 484th, composed of Cameron 
County; and 474th, composed of McLennan County). Creates Criminal Judicial District No. 5, composed 
of Tarrant County. Creates five new statutory county courts (CCL No. 3 of McLennan, CCL No 6 of 
Montgomery, CCL No. 2 of San Patricio, CCL No. 5 of Williamson, and County Criminal Court No. 6 of 
Tarrant). Creates Probate Court No. 2 of Denton County. Revises the jurisdiction of various statutory 
county courts. Revises how the state annually compensates counties that collect certain fees in statutory 
probate courts. Prohibits a justice or judge in a justice or municipal court from accepting a guilty or no 
contest plea in criminal proceedings unless it appeared the defendant was mentally competent, and 
plea was voluntary and free. Establishes dual status case transfer provisions for juvenile/family courts. 
Extends jurisdiction in criminal actions to certain magistrates in certain counties. Revises the duties of 
the capital and forensic writ committee to include providing oversight and strategic guidance to the 
Office of Capital and Forensic Writs. Requires the Office of Court Administration to adopt certain rules 
related to the transfer of certain documents and cases between courts. Permits applicants for writs of 
habeas corpus the option of using secure electronic mail to serve a copy of the application on the state’s 
attorneys. Requires citations for receivership for certain missing persons to be posted on a certain 
website published by the Office of Court Administration. Revises the statutes governing the Forensic 
Science Commission. Expands the places where jurors may donate their daily reimbursement to include 
veterans county service offices and removes cap on meal reimbursement given to jurors in certain 
courts. Allows a judge or magistrate of a district court or statutory county court who is authorized to 
hear criminal cases to be appointed to preside over a certain regional specialty court program in certain 
circumstances. Expands the protective order registry maintained by the Office of Court Administration 
to include certain protective orders. See also Commissions, Committees, Councils, and Task Forces; 
County Courts and District Courts; Criminal Law and Procedure; Juvenile Justice; New Courts.

Office of Court Administration
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HB 4293: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the Office of Court Administration to develop and make available to each county a court reminder 
program that allows the county to send a text message to notify criminal defendants of scheduled court 
appearances. Permits the justices of the justice courts and the judges of the county, statutory county, 
and district courts with jurisdiction over criminal cases in each county to establish a court reminder 
program that allows the county to send a text message to notify criminal defendants of scheduled 
court appearances. Permits the Office of Court Administration or the judges or justices to partner with 
municipalities and local law enforcement agencies to allow individuals to whom a peace officer issue a 
citation and release to receive text message reminders of scheduled court appearances and criminal 
defendants in municipal court to receive text message reminders of scheduled court appearances. See 
Gov’t Code ch. 75, subch. J. See also County Courts and District Courts; Justice Courts and Municipal 
Courts.

SB 6 (2d Called Session): Effective 1/1/2022 except for Sections 4, 6, 17, 18, 19, 20, and 21 and Articles 
17.021, 17.024, 17.15(a), and 17.15(c), Code of Criminal Procedure, as added or amended by Act, which 
take effect 12/2/2021.

Amends various provisions of the Code of Criminal Procedure, the Government Code, and the Local 
Government Code related to the Texas bail system. Requires any person to be eligible for bail unless 
denial of bail expressly permitted by Texas Constitution or other law. Requires a magistrate to grant or 
deny bail within 48 hours of defendant’s arrest and requires magistrate to set bail at least restrictive and 
minimum amount necessary to ensure defendant’s appearance while ensuring safety of community. 
Requires OCA to develop a public safety report system standardized for statewide use that meets certain 
specifications. Requires a magistrate setting bail to consider a public safety report for a defendant 
charged with a Class B misdemeanor or higher category of offense. Requires OCA to develop a training 
course regarding magistrate’s duties with respect to public safety reports and setting bail. Expands 
rules for fixing the amount of bail and requires magistrate to consider defendant’s criminal history 
and immigration status before setting bail. Regulates charitable organizations that solicit donations 
from the public for the purpose of posting bail bonds for defendants and imposes certain filing and 
reporting requirements on such organizations. Requires OCA to annually submit a report regarding 
the charitable organizations. Requires OCA to develop statewide procedures and forms to be used by 
courts to facilitate the refund of cash paid toward a monetary bail and the application of those funds to 
outstanding costs, fines, or fees. Requires OCA to promulgate a bail form for use by magistrates, judges, 
sheriffs, peace officers, and jailers each time bail is set. Requires the clerk of each court setting bail to 
include certain information in its monthly report to OCA and requires OCA to post the information on its 
website without disclosing certain personal information of the defendant, judge, or magistrate. Limits 
the amount that a clerk may deduct from a defendant’s cash bond or cash bail bond. See also Criminal 
Law and Procedure; Magistrates and Magistrate Duties; Special Session Bills.

Office of Court Administration
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SB 1129: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires (and otherwise authorizes) the Office of Court Administration to by rule establish a guardianship 
mediation training course and requires a mediation training provider to adhere to the established 
curriculum in providing the training course. Revises provisions regarding the transfer of a guardianship 
from one county to another. See Est. Code §§ 1023.005, 1023.008, 1023.011, 1055.151, and 1055.152; 
Gov’t Code ch. 155, subch. G. See also Guardianship and Mental Health.

Other Law and Regulations

HB 29: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows a state agency to provide temporary secure weapon storage for persons who enter a building 
or portion of a building with a weapon that is prohibited in that building or portion of the building. 
Prescribes process for storage of unclaimed weapons. See Gov’t Code, ch. 2165, subch. J; Loc. Gov’t Code, 
ch. 365.

HB 30: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires Windham School District in Department of Criminal Justice to develop and provide an 
educational program that includes the curriculum requirements for a high school diploma or prepares 
person for high school equivalency examination for certain persons. See Educ. Code § 19.0051.

HB 390: Effective 9/1/2021, except Section 1 effective 1/1/2022.

Adds new chapter to the Business & Commerce Code that requires commercial lodging establishments to 
require employees complete a state-approved annual training program in human trafficking awareness. 
Assigns a civil penalty to establishments that violate the new chapter’s provisions. See Bus. & Com. Code 
ch. 114.

HB 558: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires a peace officer to take a blood specimen on arrest for an intoxication offense under certain 
circumstances where the driver was involved in an accident the officer reasonably believes occurred as 
a result of the offense and, at the time of the arrest, the officer reasonably believes that as a direct result 
of the accident any individual has died, will die, or has suffered serious bodily injury. See Transp. Code §§ 
724.012, 724.013. 

Office of Court Administration
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HB 918: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows a person between the ages of 18 and 21, who is protected under either certain active protective 
orders or an active magistrate’s order of emergency protection, and who meets the other eligibility 
requirements except for the minimum age required to purchase a handgun, to be granted a license to 
carry a handgun. Requires license, if granted, to bear protective order designation on its face. Requires 
Department of Public Safety to establish procedures to periodically verify license holder’s eligibility. See 
Gov’t Code §§ 411.172, 411.1735, 411.179, 411.205.

HB 1071: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows for the presence of a qualified facility dog or qualified therapy animal in certain court proceedings. 
Permits court to enter order authorizing qualified facility or therapy dog to accompany witness testifying 
in certain circumstances and permits court to impose restrictions on dog’s presence. See Gov’t Code § 
21.012.

HB 1400: Effective 9/1/2021.

Makes it an offense for person to impersonate a private investigator with the intent to induce another 
to submit to the person’s pretended authority or rely on the person’s pretended acts of a private 
investigator. Makes it an offense for a person to knowingly purport to exercise any function that requires 
licensure as a private investigator. See Occ. Code § 1702.3876. 

HB 1589: Effective 9/1/2021.

Entitles public officers and employees who are engaged in certain military service and are called to 
active duty in response to a disaster to a paid leave of absence from their duties for each day they are 
called to active duty during the disaster for a certain amount of time. See Gov’t Code § 437.202.

HB 1694: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates a defense to prosecution for certain drug offenses for individuals seeking medical assistance for 
another person who may be experiencing a drug overdose and for the victim of the possible overdose. 
See Health & Safety Code §§ 481.115, 481.1151, 481.116, 481.1161, 481.117, 481.118, 481.119, 481.121, 
481.125, 483.041, 485.031.

HB 1788: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that a school districts, charter schools, or private schools, as well as the security personnel they 
employ, are immune from liability from any damages resulting from any reasonable action by security 
personnel to maintain the safety of a school campus, including action related to possession or use of a 
firearm. See Educ. Code § 37.087. 

Other Law and Regulations
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HB 1914: Effective 9/1/2021.

Limits the liability of a child’s isolation unit that has instituted isolation protocols for any claim, damage, 
or loss arising from the provision of health care services to children with highly contagious diseases 
unless the act or omission proximately causing the claim, damage, or loss constitutes gross negligence 
or willful misconduct. See Health & Safety Code ch. 241, subch. L.

HB 1958: Effective 6/7/2021.

Makes it a Class C misdemeanor offense for a person to knowingly move an animal in violation of rules 
adopted by the Texas Animal Health Commission under the bill’s provisions. Provides enhancement of 
offense level for applicable previous convictions. See Agric. Code § 161.0445.

HB 2004: Effective 9/1/2021.

Exempts, with certain limitation, a burn boss who is a certified and insured prescribed burn manager 
from liability for property damage, personal injury, or death caused by or resulting from smoke that 
occurs more than 300 feet from the burn. See Nat. Res. Code § 153.084. 

HB 2064: Effective 6/16/2021.

Modifies the method for determining the amount of a hospital lien on a cause of action or claim of 
an individual who receives hospital services for injuries caused by an accident that is attributed to the 
negligence of another person. See Prop. Code § 55.004(b).

HB 2326: Effective 9/1/2021.

Adds Burmese pythons to the types of nonindigenous snakes that require a permit to possess or transport 
in the state and increases the punishment for failure to obtain a permit from a Class C misdemeanor to 
a Class B misdemeanor under certain circumstances. See Parks & Wild. Code §§ 43.851(a), 43.856. 

HB 3115: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that a judgment debtor filing an affidavit to release a judgment lien on homestead property 
could also file a certain certificate of mailing of homestead affidavit. Requires judgment debtor who files 
affidavit to send a letter notifying the judgement creditor of the filing of the affidavit and a copy of the 
filed affidavit by certain means. Provides that where judgment debtor has filed a certificate of mailing, a 
bona fide purchaser or mortgagee could conclusively rely on the affidavit for a certain amount of time. 
See Prop. Code §§ 52.0012(b), (b-1), (d), (e), (f), and (g), 157.3171(c). 

Other Law and Regulations
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HB 3340: Effective 9/1/2021.

Automatically stays a certain court order to destroy a dangerous dog to allow the dog’s owner to file a 
notice of appeal and prohibits a court from ordering the destruction of the dog during the pendency of 
the appeal. See Health & Safety Code § 822.042.

HB 3794: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires an action to enforce the interest owner’s oil and gas lien to be brought no later than the first 
anniversary of the last day of the month after the date proceeds from the sale of oil or gas subject to 
the lien are required by law or contract to be paid to the interest owner, except that the commencement 
of a proceeding by or against any person claiming an interest in any property subject to the oil and gas 
lien seeking to adjudicate the person as bankrupt or insolvent or for other certain relief of the person’s 
debts or other certain related relief will toll the one-year period for an additional period of time. See Prop. 
Code ch. 67.

SB 20: Effective 9/1/2021.

Prohibits hotel, with certain exception, from adopting firearms policy barring a hotel guest from carrying 
and storing a firearm or ammunition on hotel property. Provides certain defenses to prosecution for 
criminal trespass, trespass by license holder with a concealed handgun, and trespass by license holder 
with openly carried handgun for certain carrying or storing of firearm or ammunition on or about hotel 
property. See Occ. Code §§ 2155.101, 2155.1025; Penal Code §§ 30.05(f-4), 30.06(e-4), 30.07(e-4). 

SB 43: Effective 1/1/2022.

Amends various sections of the Finance Code related to residential mortgage loans. Adds new provisions 
to clarify eligibility for exemptions from certain residential mortgage loan laws and adds provisions 
addressing wrap mortgage loan financing. Allows wrap borrower to bring action to enforce wrap loan 
laws and for certain other relief. Makes attempts to evade application of laws actionable as deceptive 
trade practice. See Fin. Code ch. 159; Fin. Code §§ 156.202, 157.0121, 180.003. 

SB 149: Effective 9/1/2021.

Expands definition of “critical infrastructure facility” for the offense of operation of unmanned aircraft 
over a correctional facility, detention facility, or critical infrastructure facility. See Gov’t Code 423.0045(a)
(1-a).

SB 270: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates a procedure for a nursing home to recover fees from a person who is responsible for paying the 
fees for a resident of the nursing home and who misappropriates funds from the resident which would 
otherwise cover nursing home fees. See Health & Safety Code § 242.020.

Other Law and Regulations
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SB 903: Effective 9/1/2021. 

Authorizes a person claiming a refund to file with the comptroller a notice of intent to bypass a certain 
hearing. Authorizes a person to sue the comptroller to recover an amount of tax, penalty, or interest in 
certain circumstances. See Tax Code §§ 111.106, 112.151, and 112.152.

SB 1259: Effective 5/24/2021.

Provides that a payee does not have a common law cause of action for breach of contract against a 
payor for withholding oil and gas payments in certain circumstances. See Nat. Res. Code § 91.402.

Probate, Trusts, and Estates

HB 654: Effective 9/1/2021.

Creates a new vesting deadline for the rule against perpetuities for an interest in a trust, other than a 
charitable trust. See Prop. Code § 112.036.

HB 1264: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the local registrar of deaths and the clerks of courts with probate jurisdiction to file their 
abstracts related to death to the voter registrar and the secretary of state within 7 days after the date 
the abstract is prepared. See Elec. Code § 16.001. See also Clerks; Elections and Lobbying. 

HB 1297: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires the party contesting a will to serve an institution or organization that is a necessary party to the 
contest. Requires the party bringing a will construction suit to serve an institution or organization that is 
a necessary party to the suit. See Est. Code § 55.053. 

SB 626: Effective 9/1/2021.

Omnibus guardianship bill. Requires each party or counsel to include certain identifying information in 
initial pleadings, including probate or guardianship proceedings, in certain courts, including statutory 
probate court. Requires county clerk to make and retain copy of entire casefile and transmit original to 
court where venue is proper for probate proceeding. Authorizes authenticated copy of will or certain 
testamentary instruments written in language other than English to be filed for recording in certain 
circumstances. Requires notice to the potential beneficiary, the beneficiary’s guardian, and family 
members when an application for the creation of a management trust is filed. Allows management 
trust to last until removal of an incapacity or until beneficiary dies. Allows county courts-at-law to hear 

Other Law and Regulations
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trust cases when the person under guardianship is a trust’s beneficiary. Revises statutes regarding 
guardianship sale and action procedures. Requires trustee of a management trust created for a ward to 
provide a copy of the annual account to each guardian of the ward. Clarifies that a court investigator or 
guardian ad litem may investigate a complete relating to modification or termination of a guardianship. 
Clarifies what newspaper must be used for notice of a guardianship proceeding. Allows guardianship 
applicants to submit a declaration under penalty of perjury regarding their commitment to discharge 
their duties as a guardian faithfully. Requires attorney general to defend certain judges, including a 
visiting judge assigned to hear a guardianship or probate matter by the presiding judge of the statutory 
probate court, in any action in which the judge is a defendant because of the judge’s office or capacity as 
judge, if the judge requests the attorney general’s assistance in the defense of the suit. See also Clerks; 
Guardianship and Mental Health.

Records

HB 549: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows certain professionals who work with a patient with a mental or health condition or disorder 
to disclose confidential information to mental health personnel if the professional determines there 
is a probability of imminent physical injury by the patient to the patient or others or a probability of 
immediate mental or emotional injury to the patient. Prevents a cause of action against certain persons 
for the disclosure of certain confidential information. See Health & Safety Code §§ 611.002, 611.004; Occ. 
Code §§ 159.002, 159.004.

HB 2301: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that adult petitioner for a name change is not required to provide the street address of the 
petitioner’s residence or the petitioner’s reason for the requested change as required by statute if the 
petitioner provides a copy of an authorization card certifying participation in the address confidentiality 
program. Creates presumption that name change is in the interest or to the benefit of the petitioner and 
in the interest of the public if petition provides copy of authorization card. Makes court order for name 
change confidential and bars release of the order by the court to any person. See Fam. Code §§ 45.102, 
45.103.

HB 2357: Effective 6/15/2021.

Makes confidential and excepts from disclosure under the Texas Public Information Act certain 
information, if the information identifies an individual as a victim of certain sexual offenses or a victim 
of any criminal offense if the victim was younger than age 18 when any element of the offense was 

Probate, Trusts, and Estates
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committed. Allows limited of this information to certain persons, to law enforcement for investigative 
purposes, or in accordance with a court order. See Gov’t Code § 552.1315.

HB 2669: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that all records and files and information stored by electronic means or otherwise, from which 
a record or file could be generated, relating to a criminal case for a fine-only misdemeanor other than a 
traffic offense committed by a child and that is appealed, are confidential and may not be disclosed to 
the public except in certain circumstances. Provides that, except in certain circumstances, all records and 
files, including those held by law enforcement, and information stored by electronic means or otherwise 
from which a record or file could be generated, relating to a child who is charged with, convicted of, found 
not guilty of, had a charge dismissed for, or is granted deferred disposition for a fine-only misdemeanor 
offense other than a traffic offense are confidential and may not be disclosed to the public. See Code Crim. 
Proc. arts. 44.2811, 45.0217. 

HB 2730: Effective 1/1/2022. 

Modifies various provisions related to condemnation petitions and eminent domain proceedings. 
Requires judge of court in which condemnation petition was filed or to which eminent domain case 
assigned to appoint special commissioners within a certain amount of time. Entitles parties in eminent 
domain proceeding to copy of court’s order. See Prop. Code § 21.014. 

SB 15: Effective 6/18/2021.

Amends Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Act to limit disclosure of certain personal information to an 
entity other than an authorized recipient. Restricts the use of certain personal information obtained by 
an agency. Creates new offense related to improper use of personal information obtained in connection 
with a motor vehicle record. Authorizes civil suit against person who sells to a person who is not an 
authorized recipient. See Parks & Wild. Code § 11.030; Trans. Code §§ 204.011(a), 548.601(a), 730.003, 
730.006, 730.007, 730.0121, 730.0122, 730.0123, 730.013, 730.014, 730.016.

SB 56: Effective 6/14/2021.

Expands confidentiality protections for certain personal information connected to current or former 
United States attorneys (including assistant attorneys), federal public defenders and deputy federal 
public defenders (including assistant federal public defenders, and certain family members related to 
those persons. See Gov’t Code §§ 552.117(a), 552.1175(a); Tax Code § 25.025(a).

SB 295: Effective 9/1/2021.

Provides that any communication or record made during the course of a survivor seeking assistance 
from an advocate is confidential. See Gov’t Code §§ 420.071, 420.072, 420.074.

Records
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HB 9 (2d Called Session): Effective 9/17/2021.

Appropriates to the Office of Court Administration certain funds for the purpose of providing funding 
for indigent legal representation, foreign language interpreters for courts, increased staff functions, 
equipment purchases, and program administration costs for a certain amount of time. See also Indigent 
Defense; Office of Court Administration.

HB 20 (2d Called Session): Effective 9/9/2021.

Prohibits a social media platform from censoring a user, a user’s expression, or a user’s ability to receive 
expression based on certain factors. Authorizes a user to bring an action against a social media platform 
for violating certain provision established by bill. Authorizes attorney general to bring action to enjoin a 
violation or potential violation of certain bill provisions. See Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code ch. 143A. See also Civil 
Law and Procedure. 

SB 1 (2d Called Session): Effective 9/7/2021.

Amends and adds various provisions related to elections in the Elections Code, the Government Code, 
and the Code of Criminal Procedure. Amends the offense of false statement on a voter registration 
application and enhances the punishment for the offense. Makes a county civilly liable for certain voter 
registrar actions. Makes it an offense for an election officer to intentionally or knowingly refuse to accept 
a watcher for service when acceptance is required by statute. Expands criminal conduct for unlawfully 
obstructing an election watcher and provides for certain relief for unlawful prevention or obstruction of 
an election watcher’s duties. Amends various statutes on fraud and other unlawful practices related to 
voting and adds various offenses related to voting practices. Allows for certain lawsuits alleging improper 
election activities. Requires a court, where a defendant is adjudged guilty of a felony offense, to make an 
affirmative finding of the judgment and instruct the defendant regarding how the felony conviction will 
impact the defendant’s right to vote. See also Civil Law and Procedure; Criminal Law and Procedure; 
Elections and Lobbying.

SB 4 (2d Called Session): Effective 9/17/2021.

Creates a state jail felony offense for certain persons who intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly violates 
certain provisions relating to abortion-inducing drugs. See Health & Safety Code § 171.065. See also 
Criminal Law and Procedure. 

SB 5 (3d Called Session): Effective 10/25/2021

Repeals and replaces the Health and Safety Code subchapter addressing the unlawful restraint of 
dogs. Makes a first time offense a Class C misdemeanor and classifies repeat violations as a Class B 
misdemeanor. See Health & Safety Code ch. 821, subch. E. See also Criminal Law and Procedure.

Special Session Bills
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SB 6 (2d Called Session): Effective 1/1/2022 except for Sections 4, 6, 17, 18, 19, 20, and 21 and Articles 
17.021, 17.024, 17.15(a), and 17.15(c), Code of Criminal Procedure, as added or amended by Act, which 
take effect 12/2/2021.

Amends various provisions of the Code of Criminal Procedure, the Government Code, and the Local 
Government Code related to the Texas bail system. Requires any person to be eligible for bail unless 
denial of bail expressly permitted by Texas Constitution or other law. Requires a magistrate to grant or 
deny bail within 48 hours of defendant’s arrest and requires magistrate to set bail at least restrictive and 
minimum amount necessary to ensure defendant’s appearance while ensuring safety of community. 
Requires OCA to develop a public safety report system standardized for statewide use that meets certain 
specifications. Requires a magistrate setting bail to consider a public safety report for a defendant 
charged with a Class B misdemeanor or higher category of offense. Requires OCA to develop a training 
course regarding magistrate’s duties with respect to public safety reports and setting bail. Expands 
rules for fixing the amount of bail and requires magistrate to consider defendant’s criminal history 
and immigration status before setting bail. Regulates charitable organizations that solicit donations 
from the public for the purpose of posting bail bonds for defendants and imposes certain filing and 
reporting requirements on such organizations. Requires OCA to annually submit a report regarding 
the charitable organizations. Requires OCA to develop statewide procedures and forms to be used by 
courts to facilitate the refund of cash paid toward a monetary bail and the application of those funds to 
outstanding costs, fines, or fees. Requires OCA to promulgate a bail form for use by magistrates, judges, 
sheriffs, peace officers, and jailers each time bail is set. Requires the clerk of each court setting bail to 
include certain information in its monthly report to OCA and requires OCA to post the information on its 
website without disclosing certain personal information of the defendant, judge, or magistrate. Limits 
the amount that a clerk may deduct from a defendant’s cash bond or cash bail bond. See also Criminal 
Law and Procedure; Magistrates and Magistrate Duties; Office of Court Administration.

Specialty Courts

HB 454: Effective 9/1/2021.

Permits county commissioners to establish a juvenile family drug court program for individuals who 
reside with a child who is the subject of a juvenile justice case and are suspected by the Department of 
Family and Protective Services or the court of having a substance abuse problem. Establishes essential 
characteristics of juvenile family drug court program and outlines participant payment and county 
funding. See Gov’t Code ch. 130. See also Juvenile Justice.

Special Session Bills
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HB 788: Effective 9/1/2021.

Makes an emergency service dispatcher of the state or of a political subdivision eligible to participate in 
a public safety employees treatment court program. See Gov’t Code § 129.001. 

HB 1256: Effective 9/1/2021.

Requires comptroller to deposit 1% of the mixed beverage gross receipts and sales taxes received to 
the credit of GR Account 5184 – Specialty Court. Limits use of money deposited to the account to use by 
the criminal justice division within the Governor’s office for distribution to specialty court programs that 
apply for the money. See Tax Code § 183.053.

HB 1706: Effective 9/1/2021.

Allows commissioners court of a county to establish a sexual assault victim services court program and 
establishes requirements for judges and prosecuting attorneys for the courts. See Gov’t Code tit. 2, subtit. 
K-1. 

SB 1093: Effective 5/28/2021.

Permits transfer to another veterans treatment court program in a county adjacent to the county where 
the defendant works or resides. See Gov’t Code § 124.003.

Supreme Court of Texas

HB 2950: Effective 6/16/2021.

Provides that the judicial panel on multidistrict litigation consists of five members designated by the 
supreme court. Requires that panel members be active, former, or retired court of appeals justices or 
active administrative judges. See Gov’t Code § 74.161(a).

Specialty Courts

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB00788F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB01256F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB01706F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB01093F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/HB02950F.pdf#navpanes=0


62 Texas Judicial Council

Texas Judiciary Legislative Update
87th Legislature

HB 787: Vetoed by Governor.

Bars a judge who places a defendant on community supervision, as a condition of community supervision, 
from prohibiting the defendant from contacting or interacting with certain persons. 

HB 1193: Vetoed by Governor.

Provides that juvenile court retains jurisdiction over a person in certain proceedings, without regard to 
the age of the person, if the proceeding has been delayed through no fault of the state. Requires juvenile 
court to, on receipt of an application from a person who received a determinate sentence and was not 
transferred to a district court, to hold a hearing to determine whether it is in best interest of person and 
of justice to order sealing of the person’s records and allows records to be sealed. Prohibits a juvenile 
court from ordering the sealing of records of a person who received a determinate sentence and was 
transferred to district court.

HB 1240: Vetoed by Governor.

Reduces penalty for failure to comply with an order from a fire marshal from a Class B to a Class C 
misdemeanor unless it is shown on the trial of the offense that the defendant has been previously 
convicted of the same offense. Increases the penalty for the offense in certain circumstances. Authorizes 
certain counties to grant the authority to issue a related citation. 

HB 2448: Vetoed by Governor.

Allows a surety to be relieved from liability on a surety bond if the person insured is in federal custody 
on an immigration detainer or awaiting determination as to whether the person is lawfully in the United 
States.

SB 36: Vetoed by Governor.

Makes it an offense for a person having firsthand knowledge of the planning of a specific hazing incident 
or firsthand knowledge that an incident has occurred to knowingly fail to report that knowledge to a 
peace officer or law enforcement agency. Provides certain immunity from civil or criminal liability that 
could otherwise be incurred or imposed for failing to report a hazing incident. Creates task force on 
higher education mental health services. 

SB 237: Vetoed by Governor.

Adds Class B criminal trespass to the list of offenses for which a peace officer may issue a citation to 
appear instead of arresting and taking the person before a magistrate.

Vetoed Legislation
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SB 281: Vetoed by Governor. 
Makes inadmissible against a defendant in a criminal trial all statements made during or after a hypnotic 
session by a person who has undergone investigative hypnosis for the purpose of enhancing the person’s 
recollection of an event at issue in a criminal investigation or case.

SB 474: Vetoed by Governor.

Repeals and replaces the Health and Safety Code subchapter addressing the unlawful restraint of dogs. 
Prohibits a broader range of restraints where the dog is left outside and unattended, and establishes a 
narrower set of exceptions to the prohibition.

SB 1458: Vetoed by Governor.

Requires the Office of Court Administration to create standardized forms and other materials necessary to 
apply for, issue, deny, revise, rescind, serve, and enforce all magistrates’ orders of emergency protection, 
protective order applications, temporary ex parte orders, and final protective orders governed by the 
Code of Criminal Procedure and the Family Code. Requires all applicants and courts used the forms for 
the purpose of applying for or issuing a temporary ex parte order, final protective order, or magistrates’ 
order of emergency protection. 

Vetoed Legislation

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00281F.pdf#navpanes=0
chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/viewer.html?pdfurl=https%3A%2F%2Flrl.texas.gov%2Fscanned%2Fvetoes%2F87%2Fsb281.pdf%23navpanes%3D0&clen=53761&chunk=true
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB00474F.pdf#navpanes=0
chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/viewer.html?pdfurl=https%3A%2F%2Flrl.texas.gov%2Fscanned%2Fvetoes%2F87%2Fsb474.pdf%23navpanes%3D0&clen=50169&chunk=true
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/87R/billtext/pdf/SB01458F.pdf#navpanes=0
chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/viewer.html?pdfurl=https%3A%2F%2Flrl.texas.gov%2Fscanned%2Fvetoes%2F87%2Fsb1458.pdf%23navpanes%3D0&clen=57760&chunk=true
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Phone: 512 463.1625

txcourts.gov

Texas Judicial Council.
The Texas Judicial Council (TJC) was created in 1929 by the 41st Legislature to continuously study and report on 
the organization and practices of the Texas Judicial Branch. TJC is the policy-making body for the state judiciary.

The Council studies methods to simplify judicial procedures, expedite court business, and better administer 
justice. It examines the work accomplished by the courts and submits recommendations for improvement of the 
system to the Legislature, the Governor and the Supreme Court. The Council receives and considers input from 
judges, public officials, members of the bar, and citizens.

http://www.txcourts.gov/
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