

TEXAS JUDICIAL COUNCIL

205 West 14TH Street, Suite 600 • Tom C. Clark Building • (512) 463-1625 P. O. Box 12066 • Austin, Texas 78711-2066

CHAIR:

HON. NATHAN L. HECHT Chief Justice, Supreme Court **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR:** Megan LaVoie

VICE CHAIR:

HON. SHARON KELLER Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

MINUTES OF MEETING

February 24, 2023 10:00 AM

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

On February 24, 2023, Chief Justice Nathan L. Hecht called the meeting¹ of the Texas Judicial Council ("Council") to order at approximately 10:00 a.m.

The following members of the Council were present:

Hon. Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Texas

Hon. Sharon Keller, Presiding Judge, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals

Mr. Kevin Bryant, Crow Holdings, Dallas

Hon. Jennifer Caughey, Jackson Walker LLP, Houston

Ms. Sonia Clayton, Virtual Intelligence Providers, LLC, Houston

Mr. Jon Gimble, District Clerk, McLennan County, Waco

Hon. Bill Gravell Jr., Constitutional County Judge, Williamson County

Hon. Jeff Leach, State Representative, Allen

Hon. Missy Medary, Judge, 347th District Court, Corpus Christi; Presiding Judge – 5th Region

Hon. Emily Miskel, Judge, 470th District Court, McKinney

Hon. Valencia Nash, Justice of the Peace Pct. 1, Place 2, Dallas County

Hon. Kathleen Person, Judge, City of Temple Municipal Court, Temple

Hon. Maggie Sawyer, Justice of the Peace, McCulloch County, Brady

Hon. Reggie Smith, State Representative, Sherman

Hon. Edward J. Spillane, III, Presiding Judge, City of College Station

Hon. Ken Wise, Justice, 14th Court of Appeals, Houston

Hon. Judith Zaffirini, State Senator, Laredo

Members not in attendance were Ms. Zina Bash, Sen. Brandon Creighton, and Ms. Rachel Racz.

¹ The meeting may be viewed on the Office of Court Administration YouTube site at https://www.youtube.com/user/TexasCourtAdmin/.

Texas Judicial Council Minutes of Meeting February 24, 2023 Page 2 of 2

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The September 30, 2022, meeting minutes were approved as presented.

REPORTS AND ACTION ITEMS

Texas Indigent Defense Commission Report

Mr. Geoff Burkhart, Executive Director, Texas Indigent Defense Commission, presented on the TIDC Report.

Report on the FY22 Statistical Report

Ms. Angela Garcia, Chief Data Officer, Office of Court Administration (OCA), gave an overview of the Fiscal Year 2022 Statistical Report.

Report on Case Level Data

Mr. Jeffrey Tsunekawa, Research and Court Services Director, and Ms. Alejandra Pena, Research and Court Services Deputy Director, OCA, presented on the OCA's <u>Case Level Data Project</u> and specifics that would work for Texas.

Mr. Casey Kennedy, Director, Information Services, OCA, noted the technology needs and availability to implement case level data collection.

Legislative Update

Mr. Louis Tomasetti, Director of Government Relations, OCA, presented a <u>legislative update</u> on the 88th Texas Legislature as it relates to the Council's recommendations and resolutions, as well as judiciary budget highlights.

Guardianship Update

Mr. Jeff Rinard, Director, Judicial Branch Certification Commission, OCA, gave an overview and update on Guardianship in Texas.

Centers of Excellence

Mr. Michael Smith, Research Analyst, Research and Court Services Division, OCA, presented on the <u>Centers of Excellence</u> and new courts being added and under initial review in the program.

NEW BUSINESS

Sen. Zaffirini announced that Woman's Judges' Day will be on April 24th.

NEXT MEETING – June 30, 2023, 10:00 AM

Adjourn - 11:44 AM

Hon': Nathan L. Hecht

Chair