Supreme Court of Texas

Misc. Docket No. 23-9105

Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas

Misc. Docket No. 23-007

Order Appointing Members to the Judicial Commission on Mental Health

The Supreme Court of Texas and Texas Court of Criminal Appeals created the Judicial Commission on Mental Health on February 18, 2018. The Commission's mission is to improve outcomes for individuals with mental illness, substance use disorders, or intellectual and developmental disabilities in their encounters with the justice system.

The following members are hereby appointed to the Judicial Commission on Mental Health for a term of three years, effective January 1, 2024:

Magdalena Morales-Aina Director of El Paso County Community Supervision and Corrections Department El Paso, Texas

> Dr. M. Connie Almeida Director of Fort Bend County Behavioral Health Services Richmond, Texas

Hon. Devon Anderson Chief Executive Officer and President, Justice Forward Houston, Texas

> Hon. Bill Boyce Former Justice, 14th Court of Appeals Partner, Alexander Dubose & Jefferson Houston, Texas

Hon. Nelda Cacciotti Acting Chief, Mental Health Division, Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney's Office Fort Worth, Texas

Hon. Camile G. DuBose Judge, 38th Judicial District Court Uvalde, Texas

Alyse Ferguson Of Counsel, Rosenthal Kalabus & Therrian McKinney, Texas

> Hon. Cynthia Porter Gore Judge, Allen Municipal Court Allen, Texas

Dr. Courtney Harvey Associate Commissioner, Texas Health and Human Services Commission Austin, Texas

> Hon. Matt Hand Judge, Potter County Court at Law No. 2 Amarillo, Texas

Hon. Bonnie Hellums Retired Judge, 247th Judicial District Court Houston, Texas

Hon. David W. Jahn Judge, Denton County Probate Court No. 1 Denton, Texas

Hon. Oscar J. Kazen Judge, Bexar County Probate Court No.1 San Antonio, Texas

> Adrienne Kennedy Past President, NAMI National Austin, Texas

Hon. M. Sue Kurita Judge, El Paso County Court at Law No. 6 El Paso, Texas

Beth Lawson Chief Executive Officer, StarCare Specialty Health System Lubbock, Texas

Chief Mike Lee Harris County Sheriff's Office Houston, Texas

Hon. Elizabeth Byer Leonard Judge, 238th Judicial District Court Midland, Texas

Hon. Pamela H. Liston Magistrate Judge Senior Attorney, Messer Fort P.L.L.C. Frisco, Texas

Hon. Stacey Mathews Judge, 277th Judicial District Court Georgetown, Texas

Hon. Tyra Jones McCollum Judge, Fort Bend County Court at Law No. 2 Richmond, Texas

Beth Mitchell Litigation Coordinator, Disability Rights Texas Austin, Texas

> Hon. Brandy Mueller Judge, 403rd Criminal District Court Austin, Texas

Hon. Roxanne Nelson Justice of the Peace, Burnet County Precinct 1 Burnet, Texas

Denise Oncken Mental Health Bureau Chief, Harris County District Attorney's Office Houston, Texas

> Hon. Larry Phillips Judge, 59th Judicial District Court Sherman, Texas

Lee Pierson Chief, Mental Health Division, Dallas County District Attorney's Office Dallas, Texas

Vickie A. Rice Mental Health/Specialty Court Supervisor, Public Defender's Office Dallas, Texas

Andrea Richardson
Executive Director, Bluebonnet Trails Community Services
Round Rock, Texas

Hon. Renee Rodriguez-Betancourt Judge, 449th Judicial District Court Edinburg, Texas

Brian Shannon
Paul Whitfield Horn Distinguished Professor, Texas Tech University School of Law
Lubbock, Texas

Eric Smith Mental Health Advocate San Antonio, Texas

Matt Smith
Assistant Executive Director and Director of Mental Health Services,
Williamson County Juvenile Services
Georgetown, Texas

Hon. Selena Solis Judge, 243rd Judicial District Court El Paso, Texas

Chief Stan Standridge Chief, San Marcos Police Department San Marcos, Texas

Hon. Charles A. Stephens Judge, Comal County Court at Law No. 2 New Braunfels, Texas

Stephen G. Wohleb Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Texas Hospital Association Austin, Texas Hon. J.R. Woolley Justice of the Peace, Waller County Precinct 2 Waller, Texas

> Hon. Cynthia Wheless Judge, 417th Judicial District Court McKinney, Texas

Hon. Victor Villarreal Judge, Webb County Court at Law No. 2 Laredo, Texas

Wayne Young Chief Executive Officer, The Harris Center Houston, Texas

* * *

The following organizational members are appointed to the Commission, listed with their current representatives:

Sonja Gaines

Deputy Executive Commissioner for Intellectual and Developmental Disability and Behavioral Health Services, Texas Health and Human Services Commission Austin, Texas

Scott Schalchlin

Deputy Executive Commissioner for the Health and Specialty Care System, Texas Health and Human Services Commission Austin, Texas

> Shandra Carter Executive Director, Texas Juvenile Justice Department Austin, Texas

> > April Zamora

Director, Reentry and Integration Division / Texas Correctional Office on Offenders With Medical or Mental Impairments, Texas Department of Criminal Justice Austin, Texas

Dr. Blake R. Harris Director of Veterans Mental Health Department, Texas Veterans Commission Austin, Texas

Julie Wayman Mental/Behavioral Health Director, Texas Education Agency Austin, Texas

Brandon Wood Executive Director, Texas Commission on Jail Standards Austin, Texas

Dr. Octavio Martinez, Jr. Executive Director, Hogg Foundation for Mental Health Austin, Texas

Dr. Andy Keller President and Chief Executive Officer, Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute Dallas, Texas

* * *

The Honorable Jane Bland, Justice, Supreme Court of Texas, and the Honorable Barbara Hervey, Judge, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, shall serve as Chairs of the Commission. The Honorable Bill Boyce shall serve as Vice Chair.

Ex-officio members appointed by the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and Speaker continue to serve at the pleasure of the appointing officer.

SIGNED BY THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS this 12th day of December, 2023.

Valley to Self
Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice
Debra D. Lehrmann
Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice
Jeffrey S. Boyd, Justice
The way
John P. Devine, Justice
James D. Blacklock, Justice
A Brett Bushy
J Brett Busby, Justice
Jane N. Bland, Justice
Rebecatudde Rebeca A. Huddle, Justice
Evan A. Young, Justice

SIGNED BY THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TEXAS this 12th day of December, 2023.

Thansu Keller
Sharon Keller, Presiding Judge
Barbara Hervey, Judge
Barbara Hervey, Judge
Bert Richardson, Judge
Bert Richardson, Judge
Kevin Yeary, Judge
David Newell, Judge
David Newell, Judge
Mary Lou Keel, Judge
load Will
Scott Walker, Judge
Michelle Slaughter, Judge
Jesse F. McClure, III, Judge
ocopic i . Micorarc, iii, oaagc