Supreme Court of Texas

Misc. Docket No. 23-9110

Supreme Court Advisory Committee

ORDERED that:

1. The Court's Order establishing the Supreme Court Advisory Committee issued in Misc. Docket No. 21-9030 (March 16, 2021) is vacated, and this Order is substituted.

The Supreme Court Advisory Committee, first created in 1940 and reconstituted at various times since then, assists the Supreme Court in the continuing study, review, and development of rules and procedures for the courts of Texas, taking into consideration the rules and procedures of other courts in the United States and proposals for change from whatever source received. The Committee drafts rules as directed by the Court; solicits, summarizes, and reports to the Court the views of the bar and the public on court rules and procedures; and makes recommendations for change. The Court is not bound by the Committee's recommendations.

Committee meetings are held after public notice and are open to the public. A record is made of all Committee proceedings. Committee expenses are paid from funds appropriated by the Legislature or the State Bar of Texas.

Members of the Committee are appointed by the Supreme Court, which shall from time to time determine their number, qualifications, and terms of service. A Chair appointed by the Court to serve at its pleasure calls meetings with the approval of the Court, prepares an agenda in advance of each meeting, and presides over the meetings. Proposals, drafts, and other materials to be discussed are circulated before meetings.

2. The following persons are appointed to serve as members of the Supreme Court Advisory Committee from January 1, 2024, until December 31, 2026:

Charles L. Babcock	Houston	Hon. Peter Michael Kelly	Houston
Hon. Bill Boyce	Houston	Hon. David Keltner	Fort Worth
Hon. Harvey Brown	Houston	John H. Kim	Houston
Hon. John Browning	Plano	Robert L. Levy	Houston
Jerry Bullard	Grapevine	Hon. Emily Miskel	McKinney
Prof. Elaine A. G. Carlson	Houston	Richard R. Orsinger	San Antonio
Jack P. Carroll	Beaumont	Giana Ortiz	Arlington
Hon. Tracy E. Christopher	Houston	Jim M. Perdue, Jr.	Houston
Hon. Nicholas Chu	Austin	Constance H. Pfeiffer	Houston
Alistair B. Dawson	Houston	Richard B. Phillips, Jr.	Dallas
Hon. Ana E. Estevez	Amarillo	Christopher D. Porter	Houston
Hon. David L. Evans	Fort Worth	Thomas C. Riney	Amarillo
Victor Flores	Mission	Eduardo R. Rodriguez	Brownsville
L. Hayes Fuller III	Waco	Hon. Maria Salas Mendoza	El Paso
Cynthia Barela Graham	Amarillo	Hon. Robert Schaffer	Houston
Hon. Tom Gray	Waco	Pete Schenkkan	Austin
Marcy Greer	Austin	Quentin Smith	Houston
Rusty Hardin	Houston	Macey Reasoner Stokes	Houston
Michael A. Hatchell	Austin	Hon. Kent C. Sullivan	Austin
Lisa Bowlin Hobbs	Austin	Hon. R.H. Wallace, Jr.	Fort Worth
Prof. Lonny S. Hoffman	Houston	Charles R. Watson, Jr.	Austin
Roger W. Hughes	Harlingen	Kennon Wooten	Austin
Lamont Jefferson	San Antonio		

- 3. The following persons are appointed as ex officio members of the Committee to serve at the pleasure of the Court:
 - a. a Member of the Court of Criminal Appeals designated by that Court;
 - b. the Chair of the State Bar of Texas Court Rules Committee;
 - c. Hon. Sharena Gilliland of Weatherford; and
 - d. Hon. John F. Warren of Dallas.
- 4. Professor William V. Dorsaneo III of Dallas and Gilbert I. (Buddy) Low of Beaumont are appointed as emeritus members of the Committee.
 - 5. Charles L. Babcock is appointed chairman of the Committee.
- 6. The Court's liaison to the Committee is Chief Justice Nathan L. Hecht. The deputy liaison is Justice Jane N. Bland.

Nathanta Colf
Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice
Delra D. Lehmann
Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice
Jeffrey S. Boyd Justice
John P. Devine, Justice
Ball
James D. Blacklock, Justice
- Sut Busher
South Burley Legent Bushy Justice
Brett Busby, Justice Oane N. Bland
A
Jane N. Bland, Justice
A
Jane N. Bland, Justice