

TEXAS JUDICIAL COUNCIL

205 West 14TH Street, Suite 600 • Tom C. Clark Building • (512) 463-1625 P. O. Box 12066 • Austin, Texas 78711-2066

CHAIR: HON. NATHAN L. HECHT Chief Justice, Supreme Court EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: Megan LaVoie

VICE CHAIR: HON. SHARON KELLER Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

MINUTES OF MEETING

November 3, 2023 10:00 AM

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

On November 3, 2023, Chief Justice Nathan L. Hecht called the meeting¹ of the <u>Texas Judicial</u> <u>Council</u> ("Council") to order at approximately 10:00 a.m.

The following members of the Council were present: Hon. Nathan L. Hecht, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Texas Hon. Jennifer Caughey, Jackson Walker LLP, Houston Ms. Sonia Clayton, Virtual Intelligence Providers, LLC, Houston Mr. Jon Gimble, District Clerk, McLennan County, Waco Hon. Bill Gravell, Jr., Constitutional County Judge, Williamson County Hon. Claudia Laird, Judge, Probate Court No. 1, Montgomery County Hon. Missy Medary, Judge, 347th District Court, Corpus Christi; Presiding Judge – 5th Region Hon. Emily Miskel, Judge, 470th District Court, McKinney Hon. Valencia Nash, Justice of the Peace Pct. 1, Place 2, Dallas County Hon. Reggie Sawyer, Justice of the Peace, McCulloch County, Brady Hon. Reggie Smith, State Representative, Sherman Hon. Edward J. Spillane, III, Presiding Judge, City of College Station Hon. Ken Wise, Justice, 14th Court of Appeals, Houston Hon. Judith Zaffirini, State Senator, Laredo

Members not in attendance were Hon. Sharon Keller, Ms. Zina Bash, Mr. Kevin Bryant, Sen. Brandon Creighton, Rep. Jeff Leach, Hon. Kathleen Person, and Ms. Rachel Racz.

¹ The meeting may be viewed on the Office of Court Administration YouTube site at <u>https://www.youtube.com/user/TexasCourtAdmin/</u>.

Texas Judicial Council Minutes of Meeting November 3, 2023 Page 2 of 3

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The June 30, 2023, meeting minutes were approved as presented.

REPORTS AND ACTION ITEMS

Texas Indigent Defense Commission Report Mr. Edwin Colfax, Grants Director, Texas Indigent Defense Commission, presented on the <u>TIDC</u> <u>Report</u>.

Proposed Amendment and New Rule – Title 1 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 171 to Implement HB 1182 and HB 2384

Ms. Mena Ramón, General Counsel, Office of Court Administration and Ms. Angela Garcia, Chief Data Officer, Office of Court Administration, presented on the Proposed Amendment and recommendation to Title 1 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 171 to Implement HB 1182 and HB 2384.

Mr. Jon Gimble proposes a small amendment directing OCA to research possible grant funding to counties subject to funding availability.

Motion to adopt and approve amendment and new rule with proposed amendment. The recommendation was adopted and approved.

Weighted Caseload Study

Mr. Jeffrey Tsunekawa, Director of Court Services, Office of Court Administration, presented updates to the Weighted Caseload Study.

Public Safety Report System Dashboard

Ms. Alejandra Peña, Director Data and Research, Office of Court Administration, gave a demonstration on the Public Safety Report System dashboard.

Centers of Excellence

Mr. Michael Smith, Management Analyst, Research and Court Services Division, OCA, presented on the <u>Centers of Excellence</u>. He presented the nomination report for Judge Evelyn McLean, Williamson County Justice of the Peace Precinct 3. Motion to adopt and approve the designation. The designation was adopted and approved.

NEW BUSINESS

Judicial Council Committees and Charges

Chief Justice Nathan Hecht presented the Judicial Council Committees and Charges. The Texas Judicial Council Committees are Civil Justice, Criminal Justice, Data, and Public Trust and Confidence.

Senator Judith Zaffirini recommends adding a charge to review the Centers of Excellence Program to the Public Trust and Confidence Committee.

Texas Judicial Council Minutes of Meeting November 3, 2023 Page 3 of 3

PUBLIC COMMENT

Mr. John Woodly, Advocates for Disability Access, testified regarding reasonable accommodation requests for people with a disability and for equal and effective access to due process under the Americans with Disability Act.

NEXT MEETING – TBD

Adjourn – 12:08 pm

Jetter C. Sult V

Hon. Nathan L. Hecht Chair