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V. EMPLOYEE LEAVE TIME 

This section does not apply to elected officials or unpaid interns. 
 

A. Overview of State of Texas Employee Leave System 

The employee leave system is considered an “exception-based system of 
timekeeping.” That is, an employee automatically accrues certain types and amounts 
of leave time on a monthly basis but is expected to report and account for any 
exception to the accrual. Each employee can view their Leave Balance Summary that 
reflects the employee’s current leave balances. Leave balances are calculated from the 
number of leave hours an employee has submitted in CAPPS. 

 
It is Fourteenth Court policy that every employee must request approval from 

his or her supervisor before being absent from work and submit the requested leave 
via CAPPS. 

 
When a non-exempt employee does not work 40 hours in a work week, and the 

Court has not been officially closed on a workday, a request for leave must be 
submitted via CAPPS to establish the amount of time excepted from that 40-hour work 
week. 

A request for leave submitted by the Chief Deputy Clerk, the Court Accountant, 
a Deputy Clerk, or a member of the administrative staff is to be signed by the Clerk of 
Court, or designee. 

Exempt employees also must submit requests for leave for any leave or sick 
time used. A law clerk’s request for leave is to be approved by the assigned Justice or 
Chief Staff Attorney. A staff lawyer’s request for leave is to be approved by the 
assigned Justice or designee. 

 
The Chief Justice approves requests for leave for the Clerk of Court and Chief 

Staff Attorney. 
 

B. Specific Types of State Leave 

1. Annual Leave 
 

Annual leave, or paid vacation time, is accrued on a monthly basis determined 
by length of service. Employees with less than two years of service accrue 8 hours of 
paid vacation time per month; employees with more than two years of service accrue 
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nine (9) hours per month, up to 21 hours a month for a 35+ year employee. An 
employee may carry into a new fiscal year certain amounts of annual leave time up to 
an established maximum that, if not used, automatically converts to sick leave. In 
CAPPS, an employee can run an Employee Monthly Time Report that will reflect 
when an employee is reaching an automatic conversion point. Additional information 
may be found on the website for the Employees Retirement System of Texas, 
www.ers.state.tx.us. 

 
Although annual leave accrues from the first date of employment, vacation with 

pay may not be taken until an employee has been continuously employed for six 
months. An employee who has been continuously employed for six months and who 
then resigns, is dismissed, or otherwise separates from state employment is entitled to 
be paid for accrued and unused vacation time. 

A request for leave must be submitted for approval by the employee’s 
supervisor in advance of the use of accrued vacation time or as soon as is practicable. 

 
2. Sick Leave 

A State employee accrues sick leave at the rate of 8 hours per month from the 
first day of employment. Unused accrued sick leave can be carried forward annually. 
Sick leave is available for an employee’s illness, injury, pregnancy and confinement, 
and for when an employee must care for a member of his or her immediate family who 
is actually ill. 

 
An employee who is absent from work due to an illness must notify the 

employee’s supervisor at the earliest practicable time. To be eligible for accumulated 
sick leave, with pay, for a continuous period of three or more working days, an 
employee must provide a doctor’s certification or an acceptable written statement of 
facts about the absence for the employee’s file. For less than three continuous days 
of sick leave without a reduction in pay, the Chief Justice has the discretion to require 
a doctor’s certificate or an acceptable written statement of facts about the absence. 

 
For medical/dental appointments, an employee should first request approval to 

be absent from work, and then submit a request for leave form for the actual amount 
of time the employee was away from the office. 

http://www.ers.state.tx.us/
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C. Compensatory Time 
 

1. Working More Than 40 Hours a Week 
 

The Fair Labor Standards Act applies to Texas employees. This means that a 
non- exempt employee is entitled to compensation for any hours worked in excess of 
40 hours in one work week. Compensation may be in the form of either 1.5 hours 
credited per each hour worked in excess of 40 hours of compensatory time or, at the 
discretion of the employing state entity, pay at the rate of 1.5 times the regular pay 
in effect for the employee when the excess time was worked. The Fourteenth Court’s 
overtime policy only allows for the possibility of earning compensatory time off under 
specific circumstances; earning additional pay for overtime is not available. 

A non-exempt employee may only work 8 hours a day, unless the employee’s 
supervisor has approved a prior written request for work time in excess of 8 hours. 
Such written request must provide a detailed explanation of the reason(s) the employee 
finds it necessary to work longer than the usual workday, that is, why the employee 
has been unable to complete the work during the regular hours during the work week. 
When the employee claims compensatory time earned this way, the supervisor’s 
authorization must be provided for inclusion in the employee’s file. 

 
Paid leave or holidays taken during a work week are not counted as hours 

worked in determining FLSA overtime hours. Any compensatory time earned must 
be used within twelve months of the end of the work week in which it was earned, or 
the employee loses the time. The Fourteenth Court also requires an employee to 
exhaust any FLSA overtime hours before using annual leave. 

Compensatory time off for exempt employees is within the discretion of the 
judge to whom the exempt employee reports. 

 
2. Working National or State Holidays 

 
For each fiscal year, the State of Texas publishes a list of three types of 

holidays: national, state, and optional. An employee is entitled to a paid day off from 
work for each national or state holiday that does not fall on a Saturday or Sunday, and 
if the employee is not on unpaid leave. 

 
The Fourteenth Court is officially closed on all national holidays, the Friday 

after Thanksgiving Day, and December 24th and December 26th, when those days fall 
on a weekday. Days designated as state holidays are considered Skeleton Crew 



7  

Holidays when the Court is open and is required to have enough employees on duty 
to conduct its official business. 

 
An employee who works a Skeleton Crew Holiday is entitled to compensatory 

time off during the 12-month period following the date worked. Employees are 
required to give reasonable advance notice when taking this compensatory time, 
although the reason for the request is not required.  

 
Every year, the State designates some religious holidays such as Rosh 

Hashanah, Yom Kippur, and Good Friday that fall on weekdays as Optional Holidays. 
An employee may substitute an Optional Holiday for a Skeleton Crew Holiday during 
the same fiscal year as the Optional Holiday worked.  

 
In addition, the Chief Justice may allow an employee to observe Cesar Chavez 

Day as a state holiday, instead of another state holiday that falls on a weekday when 
the agency must remain open for business at minimum staffing levels (i.e. a Skeleton 
Crew Holiday). 

D. Emergency Leave 
 

POLICY GUIDELINES FOR EMERGENCY LEAVE PROGRAM (Tex. 
Gov’t Code §§ 661.252 & 661.902, 661.923) 

 
Program Purpose 

Pursuant to Texas Government Code § 661.252, the Fourteenth Court (Court) 
is providing staff with clear guidelines to establish under what circumstances an 
employee may be entitled to or granted emergency leave provided by Tex. Gov’t Code 
Chapter 661. The Court leave provisions are incorporated herein by reference and the 
following supplement is provided: 

Emergency Leave: The Chief Justice may grant emergency leave for a 
reason other than a reason described under section 661.902(a) of the Government 
Code, which provides emergency leave because of a death in the employee’s family. 

The Chief Justice shall grant emergency leave if 

1) the employee requests the leave; and 
2) the Chief Justice determines the employee has shown good cause for 

taking emergency leave; and 
3) the Chief Justice believes in good faith that the employee being granted 
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the leave intends to return to the employee’s position upon expiration of the 
leave granted. 

Guidelines for emergency leave are provided below in this policy section. 

Not later than October 1 of each year, the Chief Justice or the Chief Justice’s 
designee shall report to the Comptroller the name and position of each Court employee 
granted more than 32 hours of emergency leave during the previous state fiscal 
year, the reason for the granting of such leave, and the total number of hours of 
emergency leave granted to the employee in the state fiscal year. 

Emergency Leave due to Death in the Family: The Chief Justice may grant 
reasonable time off with pay to a Court employee due to the death of the employee’s 
spouse, child, parent, sibling, grandparent, or grandchild or a child, parent, sibling, 
grandparent, or grandchild of the employee’s spouse. For the purpose of this policy, 
the term sibling includes an employee’s stepbrother or stepsister. The employee, 
however, is not eligible for this leave if the employee is in an unpaid absence status at 
the time emergency leave is to commence. ( Tex. Gov’t Code § 661.902(a)) 

 
Emergency Leave due to Inclement Weather or Observance of a Holiday: 

The Chief Justice may grant emergency leave because the Court is closed due to 
weather conditions or in observance of a holiday. (Tex. Gov’t Code § 661.902(c)) 

Emergency Leave During Agency Investigation: The Chief Justice may 
grant emergency leave to a Court employee who is the subject of an investigation 
being conducted by the Court. The Court employee who is subject to an agency 
investigation is ineligible to receive leave for that reason under any other provision of 
Subchapter Z, Chapter 661 of the Government Code. Not later than the last day of 
each quarter, the Court shall report to the State Auditor and the Legislative Budget 
Board each Court employee who has been granted 168 hours or more of leave under 
this provision during the fiscal quarter. The report must include a brief statement as to 
the reason each such employee remains on leave. (Tex. Gov’t Code § 661.923) 

The Chief Justice of the Court may also grant emergency leave to a Court 
employee who is the victim of, or a witness to, an act or event that is the subject of a 
Court investigation. 

Medical and Mental Health Leave for Certain Veterans: A Court employee 
who is a veteran as defined by section 434.023(a) of the Government Code and is 
eligible to receive health benefits under a program administered by the Veterans 
Health Administration (VHA) of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs may be 
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granted emergency leave without loss of vacation time, sick leave, earned overtime 
credit, or state compensatory time to obtain medical or mental health care administered 
by VHA, including physical rehabilitation. Leave granted under this provision may 
not exceed 15 days each fiscal year, unless the Chief Justice determines it is 
appropriate to grant additional days of emergency leave. ( Tex. Gov’t Code § 
661.924) 

 
Guidelines and Procedures For Emergency Leave: 
1) The Chief Justice determines good cause. 
2) Sick leave and vacation leave accruals will continue during an employee’s 

use of emergency leave. 
3) A recipient’s approval for emergency leave does not prevent the employer 

from exercising its right to terminate the employee. 
4) The recipient of emergency leave is not to work elsewhere while on 

emergency leave. 
5) If the employee does not utilize the full grant of the emergency leave, then 

any remaining unused emergency leave expires upon the employee’s 
return to work. 

6) An employee will not be granted compensation for any unused 
emergency leave. 

 
E. Jury Duty 

 
Time off with pay is allowed to serve on a jury. After receiving a jury 

summons, an employee should notify the employee’s supervisor as soon as possible 
and provide a copy of the jury summons. When the employee returns to work 
following jury duty, the employee should provide the proof of jury service received 
from the trial court to Human Resources for inclusion in the employee’s file.    

 
F. Military Duty Leave 

Paid leave is granted for various types of military service. 

G. Voting 

The Fourteenth Court encourages all employees to exercise their right to vote 
in all elections and, pursuant to state statute, will allow an employee sufficient time 
off, without a deduction in salary or accrued leave, to vote in each national, state, and 
local election. The Fourteenth Court defines “sufficient time off” to mean not more 
than three (3) hours away from the employee’s workstation. 



10  

 
H. Donation of Blood 

An employee is allowed sufficient time off with pay to donate blood up to four 
times in a fiscal year. The Fourteenth Court defines “sufficient time off” to mean not 
more than three (3) hours away from the employee’s desk. 

 
Before an employee takes time off to donate blood, a request for the time off 

must be approved in writing by the employee’s supervisor. On returning to work, an 
employee shall provide proof that the employee donated blood during the time off. 
If an employee fails to provide proof of the blood donation, the Fourteenth Court shall 
deduct the amount of time for which the employee was granted time off from the 
employee’s salary or accrued leave, whichever the employee chooses. ( Tex. Gov’t 
Code § 661.917) 

 
I. Employee Training/MCLE 

 
The time that an employee is allowed for attendance at training or 

minimum continuing legal education (MCLE) seminars is time for which the 
employee receives pay. 

 
VI. FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT (FMLA) 

This section does not apply to elected officials or unpaid interns. 

The Department of Labor’s Fact Sheet 28 describes the rights and 
responsibilities of the employer and employee under the Family and Medical Leave 
Act (FMLA). Additional information may be found on the Department of Labor 
posters on bulletin boards in the break rooms. General information is set out below. 

 
A. Purpose of FMLA 

FMLA requires an employer to provide an eligible employee with up to 12 
workweeks of unpaid, job-protected leave during a 12-month period of time for certain 
family and medical reasons. An employee who takes FMLA must be returned to the 
same job, or a job with equivalent status, benefits, and pay. 
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B. Availability of FMLA Unpaid Leave 

An eligible employee may take a total of 12 weeks unpaid FMLA leave for: 
 
• The birth of a son or daughter or placement of a son or daughter with the 

employee for adoption or foster care; 
• To care for a spouse, son, daughter, or parent who has a serious health 

condition; 
• For a serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform 

the essential functions of the employee’s job; or 
• For any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that a spouse, son, 

daughter, or parent is a military member on covered active duty or call to 
covered active-duty status. 

. 
C. Serious Health Condition 

A serious health condition is defined as an illness, injury, impairment, or 
physical or mental condition that involves: 

• inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential care facility; 
• the absence of more than three calendar days from work that also involves 

continuing treatment by a health care provider; 
• any period of incapacity due to pregnancy, or for prenatal care; 
• a chronic serious health condition (e.g., asthma, diabetes, epilepsy, etc.); 
• a period of incapacity that is permanent or long-term, due to a condition 

for which treatment may not be effective (e.g., Alzheimer’s, stroke, 
terminal diseases); or 

• any absences to receive multiple treatments that would likely result in 
incapacity for more than three consecutive days if left untreated (e.g., 
chemotherapy, physical therapy, dialysis, etc.). 

 
D. Intermittent Leave or a Reduced Work Schedule 

FMLA permits the use of intermittent leave or work on a reduced schedule 
when: 

• medically necessary to care for a seriously ill family member, or because of 
the employee’s serious health condition; or 

• to care for a newborn or newly placed adopted or foster care child, if 
approved by the employer. 



12  

E. State of Texas and the FMLA 

1. Use of Paid and Unpaid Leave 
 

A State of Texas employee is entitled to FMLA leave if the employee has a 
total of at least 12 months of state service and has worked at least 1,250 hours during 
the 12-month period immediately preceding the commencement of leave. A State 
employee is required to utilize all available paid vacation and sick leave while taking 
FMLA unpaid leave. Paid and unpaid leave are exhausted concurrently, not 
consecutively. 

 
However, when an employee on FMLA leave is also receiving temporary 

disability benefits payments or workers’ compensation benefits, the employee is not 
required to utilize paid vacation or sick leave concurrently with the FMLA leave. 
Tex. Gov’t Code § 661.912 Family and Medical Leave Act. 

2. Health Insurance During FMLA Leave 
 

When all paid leave has been exhausted, the State will continue to pay its 
portion of the employee’s premium for coverage under the group health plan. During 
the unpaid FMLA leave period, the employee must pay the employee’s portion of the 
insurance premium above the state-paid portion. 

 
If an employee fails to return to work after taking FMLA leave, the State may 

recover the health care premiums it paid on behalf of the employee. 
 

3. Effect of FMLA Leave 

Service credit, annual leave, or sick leave is not earned for any full calendar 
months of leave without pay while on FMLA. This time is also not included in the 
calculation of the number of continuous months of employment for purposes of merit 
increases and leave. 

F. Parental Leave 

1. Purpose of Paid Parental Leave 

Under Texas Government Code § 661.9125, State employees who are eligible 
for leave under the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLS) are entitled to Paid Parental 
Leave for the birth or adoption of a child. Employees are not required to use all 
available paid vacation and sick leave before taking paid parental leave. 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.912
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2. Leave Allowance 
 

An eligible State of Texas Employee is entitled to the following Paid Parental 
Leave amounts: 

• 40 days paid leave for the birth of a child by the employee; 
• 20 days paid leave for the birth of a child by the employee’s spouse; 
• 20 days paid leave for the birth of a child by a gestational surrogate; or 
• 20 days paid leave for the adoption of a child. 
 

3. Approval of Paid Parental Leave 
 

An employee must apply and be approved for FMLA leave for the birth or 
adoption of the child.  

 
4. Using Paid Parental Leave 

 
Paid Parental Leave starts after the birth of a child or at the time an adopted child 

is brought into the home and must be taken in a continuous block. Paid Parental Leave 
can only be used up to the date of the FMLA leave expiration.  Paid Parental Leave is 
used concurrently with FMLA leave and counts towards the maximum 480 hours an 
employee is entitled to under the FMLA. 

 
5. Unpaid Parental Leave of Absence 

 
Employees who do not qualify for family and medical leave under the FMLA 

are entitled to an unpaid parental leave of absence not exceeding 12 weeks for the birth 
of a child or the adoption or foster care placement of a child under the age of 3. An 
employee does not meet the FMLA eligibility requirement if: 

 
• The employee has worked for the State for less than 12 months; or 
• The employee has worked fewer than 1,250 hours during the 12-month 

period preceding the leave.  
 

The employee must first use all available and applicable paid vacation and sick 
leave while taking unpaid parental leave.  The remainder of the leave is unpaid. 
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G. Fourteenth Court of Appeals and the FMLA 

1. Method Used to Calculate Eligibility 
 

Eligibility for the 12-week leave period is calculated for the 12-month period 
measured forward from the date any employee’s first FMLA leave begins. 

 
2. Designation of Leave and Notice by Employer 

The Fourteenth Court must designate leave, paid or unpaid, as FMLA-
qualifying and will provide notice to the employee of the designation. Once the 
Fourteenth Court has acquired knowledge that the leave is for an FMLA reason, the 
employee will be notified that any applicable accrued paid leave will be designated as 
FMLA leave, will be reported in the State’s timekeeping system as FMLA leave, and 
the leave will be counted against the 12-week FMLA leave entitlement. 

 
Notice of the designation should be provided to the employee within two 

business days. Leave cannot be retroactively designated as FMLA leave, unless the 
employee was absent for an FMLA reason, and the Fourteenth Court did not learn the 
reason until the employee’s return to work. 

 
3. Notice by the Employee 

When the need for FMLA leave is foreseeable, the employee is required to 
provide a written 30-day advance notice before the leave is to begin. The notice should 
include the anticipated timing and duration of the leave. Notice must also be provided 
as soon as practicable if the dates of the leave change, are extended, or were not 
initially known. When the need for FMLA leave is not foreseeable, notice must be 
provided “as soon as practicable” under the circumstances. As soon as practicable 
means under the particular circumstances, but, at the least, verbal notice should be 
provided within two business days of when the need for leave becomes known to the 
employee. 

 
Whether the need for FMLA leave is foreseeable or not, the employee should 

provide information sufficient to make the Fourteenth Court aware that the employee 
needs FMLA-qualifying leave, the anticipated timing and the duration. Failure to 
provide notice, with no reasonable excuse for the delay, may delay the taking of 
FMLA leave until at least 30 days after the date the employee provides the required 
notice. 
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The Fourteenth Court may inquire further, if it is necessary to have more 
information about the need for the leave. Any medical information the employee 
provides will be stored in the employee’s confidential medical file and kept separate 
from the personnel file. 

 
4. Standard Leave Forms Required 

 
In addition to providing notice, an employee is required to follow the 

Fourteenth Court’s procedures for taking leave. 
 

5. Medical Certification Required for Serious Health Condition 

For a serious health condition, the Fourteenth Court requires a medical 
certification confirming that such a condition exists. Once leave has been granted, the 
employee may be required to provide updated medical information on a periodic basis. 
To return to work when an absence was caused by a serious health condition, the 
employee must provide a “fitness-for-duty” certificate from the health care provider. 

6. Health Insurance 
 

Once the employee is on unpaid FMLA leave, to continue coverage under the 
State’s group health plan, the employee must make arrangements with the Court 
Administrator to pay the employee’s portion of the health insurance premium. 

 
VII. EMPLOYEE SICK LEAVE POOL POLICY 

This section does not apply to elected officials or unpaid interns. 

The Employee Sick Leave Pool (the Pool) consists of accrued sick leave which 
is voluntarily donated to the Pool by eligible employees of the Fourteenth Court of 
Appeals. The Pool is intended to assist employees and their immediate families in 
dealing with a catastrophic illness or injury that forces them to exhaust all earned leave 
time or when the employee has exhausted all sick leave because of a previous donation 
of time to the Pool. 

 
A. Statutory Authority 

 
Pursuant to the provisions of Tex. Gov’t Code § 661.001-661.008, the 

Employee Sick Leave Pool Policy is established for the Fourteenth Court of Appeals. 
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B. Definitions 
 

Employee means an individual, other than a state officer, employed by a state 
agency. 

Catastrophic has been defined by the Employees Retirement System of Texas 
as a severe condition or combination of conditions affecting the mental or physical 
health of the employee or the employee’s immediate family that requires the services 
of a licensed practitioner for a prolonged period of time and that forces the employee 
to exhaust all earned leave time and to lose compensation from the State. 

 
Licensed practitioner means a practitioner, as defined in the Texas Insurance 

Code, who is practicing within the scope of the practitioner’s license. 
 

Immediate family means (1) an individual who resides in the same household 
as the employee and is related by kinship, adoption, or marriage; (2) a foster child of 
the employee who resides in the same household as the employee and who is under 
the conservatorship of the Department of Protective and Regulatory Services; (3) a 
minor child of the employee, regardless of whether the child lives in the same 
household. 

 
An employee may also apply for permission to withdraw time from the Pool 

for a spouse, child, or parent of the employee who is not included in the definition of 
immediate family, but who needs care and assistance as a direct result of a documented 
medical condition. Any such time requested and withdrawn is strictly limited to the 
time necessary to provide care and assistance for the documented medical condition. 

Earned leave time means all accrued sick, vacation, and compensatory time. 
 
Pool Administrator means the individual appointed by the governing body of 

a state agency to administer the agency’s sick leave pool. 
 

C. Administration of the Pool 

The Court Accountant will serve as the Pool Administrator and will develop:  

• mechanisms to transfer accrued sick leave into and out of the Pool;  

• rules and procedures for operation of the Pool; and  

• forms for contributing leave to, and using leave from, the Pool. 
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D. General Provisions 

 
An employee of the Fourteenth Court of Appeals, other than a state official, is 

eligible to use time contributed to the Pool, if the employee has exhausted all of the 
employee’s earned leave time because of (1) a catastrophic illness or injury or (2) a 
previous donation of time to the Pool and, the employee will be forced to lose 
compensation from the State. 

 
An employee may not receive sick leave from the Pool in excess of one-third 

of the total time in the Pool or 90 days, whichever is less. 
 
An eligible employee may apply to the Pool Administrator for permission to 

withdraw leave time from the Pool for the employee’s own catastrophic illness or 
injury, or for a catastrophic illness or injury of a member of the employee’s immediate 
family. 

If the employee is seeking to withdraw time because of a catastrophic illness 
or injury, the employee must provide the Pool Administrator with a written statement 
from the licensed practitioner who is treating the employee or the employee’s 
immediate family member. 

 
The statement must provide sufficient information regarding the illness or 

injury to enable the Pool Administrator to evaluate the employee’s eligibility. If the 
Pool Administrator determines that the employee is eligible, the Pool Administrator 
shall (1) approve the transfer of time from the Pool to the employee and (2) credit the 
time to the employee on the Fourteenth Court’s leave records. 

An employee with a catastrophic illness or injury is not required to contribute 
to the Pool before the employee may apply to use Pool leave. 

 
An employee who uses leave from the Pool is not required to pay that leave 

time back to the Pool. 
 
If the employee is a contributing member of the Pool, the employee may apply 

to use the Pool for other than catastrophic illness or injury when the employee has 
exhausted the employee’s sick leave balance in the same fiscal year. Such employee 
may receive credit for only the number of hours they have contributed to the Pool in 
the same fiscal year for absences other than those caused by catastrophic illness or 
injury. 
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An employee must exhaust all earned leave time before the employee is eligible 
to use leave from the Pool. However, an employee who is off work due to an on-the-
job injury or illness is not required to exhaust annual or compensatory leave before 
becoming eligible to use leave from the Pool. 

 
An employee who has terminated from the Fourteenth Court due to retirement 

may withdraw Pool contributions within 90 days of rehire to the Fourteenth Court. 
Such employee may receive credit for only the number of hours the employee has 
contributed to the Pool in the same fiscal year as retirement. 

 
An employee absent on time withdrawn from the Pool may use the time as sick 

leave earned by the employee, and the employee is treated for all purposes as if the 
employee were absent on earned sick leave. 

An employee’s request to withdraw time from the Pool more than once during 
a fiscal year will be reviewed by the Pool Administrator on the facts and 
documentation submitted specific to the necessity for the multiple requests. The facts 
and documentation supporting the request will be submitted to Human Resources and 
the Chief Justice before a final decision is made to grant or deny the additional 
withdrawal of time. 

 
The estate of a deceased employee is not entitled to payment for unused time 

withdrawn by the employee from the Pool. 

E. Contributing Sick Leave to the Pool 
 

Contributions to the Pool are strictly voluntary on the part of each employee 
but Employees are encouraged to contribute to the Pool. 

 
An employee may contribute to the Pool one or more days of the employee’s 

accrued sick leave. The Pool Administrator shall credit the Pool with the amount of 
time contributed by the employee and shall deduct a corresponding amount of time 
from the employee’s earned sick leave as if the employee had used the time for 
personal purposes. 

 
A contribution to the Pool by an active employee must be in increments of eight 

hours, but a retiring employee may contribute accrued sick leave in increments of less 
than eight hours. A retiring employee may designate the number of the retiring 
employee’s accrued sick leave hours to be used for retirement credit and the number 
of the retiring employee’s accrued sick leave hours to be donated to the Pool. An 
employee who makes a contribution to the Pool may not stipulate who is to receive 
that contribution. 
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The Employee Handbook for the Fourteenth Court of Appeal, adopted by a majority 
of the Justices in 2013; revised and re-adopted in 2017, 2021, and 2025. 

 
 
 

______________________ 
Deborah M. Young 

Clerk of the Court 
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