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205 W. 14
th

 Street, Suite 600 • P.O. Box 12066 • Austin, Texas  78711-2066 

512/463-1625 

Legislative Edition – 82
nd

 Legislature                     September 2011 

 

 The 82
nd

 regular and special legislative sessions resulted in a number of new laws of interest to the judiciary.  

Perhaps the most significant legislation was the court reorganization bill passed during the special session as HB 79.  

Highlights of HB 79 include: 

 

 Setting the minimum jurisdictional amount of district courts at $500 and raising the upper jurisdictional 

limit of all statutory county courts to at least $200,000; 

 

 Generating uniform provisions relating to all statutory county courts and repealing many provisions 

specific to statutory county courts in particular counties;  

 

 Discontinuing small claims courts, but bringing the small-claims-court model of handling cases into the 

justice court provisions of Chapter 27, Government Code; 

 

 Directing the Supreme Court to promulgate rules of civil procedure to ensure the fair, expeditious, and 

inexpensive resolution of small claims cases; 

 

 Creating general provisions for the appointment, qualification, compensation, termination and powers of 

“associate judges” while repealing many individual statutes creating masters, referees and magistrates; 

 

 Providing a structure for the receipt of gifts, grants, and donations for court system enhancements and child 

protection courts; 

 

  Clarifying procedures regarding vexatious litigants; and 

 

 Ordering a study of the feasibility, efficiency, and cost of converting statutory county courts with civil 

jurisdiction in excess of $200,000 into district courts;    

 

 This report briefly summarizes new legislation directly impacting the Texas court system, judges, clerks, and 

other judicial actors.  No attempt is made to cover substantive areas of the law in detail; other entities are expected 

to provide legislative updates on substantive legal topics.  We hope the report will be a useful resource for the 

judicial and legal community and all those interested in the administration of justice. 

 

 

Carl Reynolds 

Administrative Director, Office of Court Administration 

Executive Director, Texas Judicial Council   
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Additional Courts 

 

HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Creates the Webb County Court at Law No. 3.  The 

court is created January 1, 2031, or an earlier date 

determined by the commissioners court. See § 

25.2421, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 1889 – Effective 1/1/12. 

Creates a municipal court of record in the City of 

Mesquite. See §§ 30.01891 – 30.01895, Gov’t Code. 

See also Justices of the Peace and Municipal 

Judges. 

 

HB 2330 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Creates the Wise County Court at Law No. 2. See §§ 

25.2511, 25.2512, Gov’t Code. 

 

 

Appellate Courts 

 

HB 79, Article 2 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Permits appeals from judgments of county-level 

courts in commercial eviction suits. See § 24.007, 

Property Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 9 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Permits a person found to be a vexatious litigant to 

appeal the order of a court prohibiting the person  

from filing new litigation in propria persona in the 

courts of Texas.  Additionally, authorizes a litigant to 

challenge by means of an application for a writ of 

mandamus with the court of appeals, the decision of a 

local administrative judge denying the litigant special 

permission to file a litigation.  Prohibits the clerk of a 

court from filing any original proceeding, appeal or 

other claim presented by a vexatious litigant except 

for the appeal and application for writ of mandamus 

mentioned above.  Requires the clerk of a court to 

provide the Office of Court Administration with a 

copy of any prefiling order issued under Section 

11.101 of the Civil Practice and Remedies Code not 

later than the 30
th

 day after the date the prefiling 

order is signed.  Clerks are currently required to 

make such a report, but the 30-day directive is new.  

Requires the Office of Court Administration to post a 

list of vexatious litigants subject to prefiling orders 

on the Office’s Internet website.  Further directs that, 

upon the request of a person on the list, the list 

indicate whether the person has filed an appeal of the 

prefiling order. See §§ 11.101 - 11.104, Civ. Prac. & 

Rem. Code. See also County Clerks; District 

Clerks; Office of Court Administration; Supreme 

Court. 

 

HB 79, Article 14 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Updates terminology used in statute on filing fees in 

the Supreme Court and the courts of appeals. See §§ 

51.005, 51.207, Gov’t Code. See also Costs, Fees, 

Fines and Collections; Supreme Court. 

 

HB 1781 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires the Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal 

Appeals, the intermediate courts of appeals, and OCA 

to identify obsolete reporting requirements.  A report 
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concerning such requirements is to be submitted to 

the governor and others by August 1, 2012. See §§ 

2052.401, 2052.402, Gov’t Code.  See also Court of 

Criminal Appeals; Office of Court 

Administration; Supreme Court.   

 

SB 480 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Permits defendant to appeal judgment of municipal 

court of record to the court of appeals even if 

assessed fine does not exceed $100.  Such an appeal 

is authorized, however, only if sole issue is 

constitutionality of statute or ordinance on which 
defendant’s conviction is based.  Effectively 

overrules Alexander v. State, 240 S.W.3d 72 (Tex. 
App. – Austin 2007, no pet.). See § 30.00027, Gov’t 

Code. See also Justices of the Peace and Municipal 

Judges. 

 

SB 605 – Effective 9/1/11.  (Filing fee effective 

1/1/12.) 

Creates an appellate judicial system for the Eighth 

Court of Appeals District in El Paso.  Requires the 

commissioners courts of each county in the district to 

set a $5 filing fee for each civil suit filed in the 

county-level courts and district courts in the district. 

See § 22.2091, Gov’t Code. See also Costs, Fees, 

Fines and Collections.  
 

 

Associate Judges 

 

HB 79, Article 6 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Creates new statutory provisions in a new Chapter 

54A of the Government Code relating to “criminal 

associate judges,” “civil associate judges,” “statutory 

probate court associate judges,” and “associate judges 

for juvenile matters.”  The provisions deal with the 

qualifications, appointment, termination, powers, 

support staff, and judicial immunity of these 

associate judges.  The provisions detail the types of 

proceedings that may be referred to the associate 

judges.  Repeals statutes creating the following 

positions: Montgomery County Magistrate; Nolan 

County Magistrate; Jefferson County Criminal Law 

Master; Wichita County Juvenile Court Referee; 

Dallas County Associate Judge; criminal law hearing 

officers in certain counties as created under 

Subchapter I of Chapter 54 of the Government Code; 

Bexar County Part-Time Juvenile Law Masters; 

Williamson County Criminal Magistrates; Fort Bend 

County Civil, Juvenile, and Criminal Law Associate 

Judges; Bexar County Civil Law Associate Judges; 

Brazos County Magistrates; Duval County Associate 

Judges; Harris County Criminal Law Magistrates; 

McLennan County Magistrates; Nueces County 

Criminal Law Magistrates; and Brazoria County 

Associate Judges.  Declares that the persons serving 

in the positions set out immediately above continue 

to serve as associate judges under the new Chapter 

54A provisions.  Authorizes new associate judges to 

be appointed in a county if the commissioners court 

authorizes the creation of the position. Adds associate 

judges, magistrates, masters, referees and hearing 

officers to the list of officials authorized to 

administer oaths in Texas. See new Chapter 54A , 

Gov’t Code.  

 

HB 79, Article 13 (First Called Session) – Effective 

9/28/11. 

Adds associate judges appointed under Chapter 201 

of the Family Code to the list of judges who qualify 

for judicial exemptions regarding concealed handgun 

licensing. See §§ 411.201, Gov’t Code; § 46.15, 

Penal Code . 

 

HB 906 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Amends appellate procedures for child protection 

cases, including making final orders subject to 

procedures for accelerated appeals and requiring that 

information regarding the appeals process be 

included in the final order.  Also requires Supreme 

Court to adopt rules related to accelerated disposition 

of these cases by the appellate courts and requires 

that an attorney appointed for an indigent parent 

continue to represent the parent until all appeals are 

exhausted or the attorney is relieved or replaced by 

the court.  See §§ 107.013, 107.016, 109.002(a), 

263.405(a.), (b) an d (c), Fam. Code. See also Family 

Law; Supreme Court.  
 

SB 283 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Clarifies that child protection associate judges 

appointed under Subchapter C, Chapter 201 of the 

Family Code have jurisdiction over all cases filed 

under Subtitle E of the Family Code.   See § 

201.201(a) and (e), Fam. Code. 

 

 

Costs, Fees, Fines and Collections 

 

HB 27 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires courts to permit a convicted criminal 

defendant to pay a fine and court costs over time if 

the defendant is unable to pay immediately.  

Currently, courts may, but are not required to, offer 

defendants this option. See Arts. 42.15, 45.051, Code 

of Crim. Proc. 
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HB 79, Article 12 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Requires an inmate who files any action and who 

files an affidavit or unsworn declaration of inability 

to pay costs to file a separate affidavit or declaration 

containing certain information about certain prior 

suits brought by the inmate. See §§ 14.002, 14.004, 

14.007, Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code.  

 

HB 79, Article 14 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Updates terminology used in statute on filing fees in 

the Supreme Court and the courts of appeals. See §§ 

51.005, 51.207, Gov’t Code. See also Appellate 

Courts; Supreme Court. 

 

HB 350 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Permits judge to require convicted criminal defendant 

younger than 17 to satisfy fine and court costs by 

performing community service or attending tutoring.  

Only applies to convictions for Class C 

misdemeanors occurring in building or on grounds of 

secondary school in which defendant is enrolled. See 

Art. 45.0492, Code of Crim. Proc. See also Justices 

of the Peace and Municipal Judges. 

 

HB 627 – Effective 6/17/11.  (Fee change effective 

6/17/11.) 

Changes fee charged for certified copies of records in 

a district clerk’s office from $1 to “not to exceed $1.” 

See § 51.318(b), Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 942 –Effective 9/1/11. 

Permits school districts to file civil lawsuits without 

paying filing fees at the time the suit is filed. See § 

6.004, Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code. 

 

HB 1426 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Adds county commissioners courts that have 

implemented a collections improvement program to 

the list of county and district officers authorized to 

collect criminal court costs. See Art. 103.003(b-1), 

Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

HB 1517 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes counties with a population of less than 

5,000 to use fines collected for highway law 

violations for any purpose approved by the 

commissioners court.  Current law restricts the use of 

such fine money. Requires certain counties with a 

population of less than 5,000 to make a report of fine 

money collected to the Comptroller. See § 542.402, 

Transp. Code. 

 

 

 

HB 1964 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes judges to require defendants  younger 

than 17 to discharge fines and costs assessed for 

conviction of a Class C misdemeanor by performing 

community service. See Art. 45.0492, Code of Crim. 

Proc. See also Justices of the Peace and Municipal 

Judges. 
 

HB 2716 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Concerns the fee of no more than $5 collected by 

county clerks for records management purposes upon 

the filing of a non-court record.  Requires the fee to 

be deposited in a separate records management and 

preservation account in the general fund of the 

county.  Additionally, makes some clarifications in 

regard to the county clerk’s records archive fee. See 

§§ 118.0216, 118.025, Loc. Gov’t Code. See also 

County Clerks. 

 

HB 2717 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Clarifies acceptable uses of $1 fee collected by 

county clerks upon issuing a vital statistics record. 

See § 191.0045, Health & Safety Code. See also 

County Clerks. 

 

HB 2847 – Effective 9/1/11.   

Lists “video teleconferencing systems” as one of the 

items permitted as a “security item” for purchase 

with security fund monies. See Art. 102.017(d-1),  

Code of Crim. Proc.  

 

HB 2949 – Effective 9/1/11. (As a practical matter, 

the changes will be effective 9/28/11 because of SB 1 

passed in the special legislative session – see last 

sentence of this entry.) 

Removes from the Collection Improvement Program 

(CIP) cases in which a defendant has been placed on 

deferred disposition or has elected to take a driving 

safety course.  Moves the function of auditing 

compliance with the CIP from the Comptroller to 

OCA.  Gives municipalities 180 days following a 

written notice of noncompliance to reestablish 

compliance with the CIP.  Municipalities will be 

allowed to continue to retain a service fee during the 

180-day period.  The bill made several other changes 

regarding  the CIP but these changes were reversed 

by SB 1 in the special legislative session.  See Art. 

103.0033, Code of Crim. Proc.: § 133.103 Loc. Gov’t 

Code.   

 

HB 2949 – Efffective 9/1/11. 

Requires courts to “immediately” notify DPS when 

no cause exists to continue to deny renewal of 

person’s driver’s license.  Applies to cases in which 

person’s driver’s license was not to be renewed for 

failure to appear or failure to pay fines and court 
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costs. See § 7706.005(a), Transp. Code. See also 

Justices of the Peace and Municipal Judges.   

 

SB 1, Article 41 (First Called Session) – Effective 

9/28/11. 

Reverses selected changes to the Collection 

Improvement Program (CIP) by HB 2949 in the 

regular legislative session. 

 

SB 1, Article 69 (First Called Session) – Effective 

9/28/11. 

Abolishes the $0.15 court cost assessed upon 

conviction of an offense under Section 545.412 

(Child Passenger Safety Seat Offenses).  Repeals § 

545.412(b-1), Trans. Code. See alsoJustices of the 

Peace and Municipal Judges.  

  
SB 86 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Authorizes all municipalities to contract with county 

in which municipality is located or with Department 

of Motor Vehicles to enforce outstanding traffic 

violation arrest warrants.  Currently, only home-rule 

municipalities may enter into such contracts. Change 

accomplished by repealing current § 702.002, Transp. 

Code. 

 

SB 373 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes court clerks to give written approval for 

the county treasurers to collect court costs and fines. 

Establishes new time periods for the deposit of 

collected money with the county treasurer. See Arts. 

103.003, 103.004, Code of Crim. Proc. See also 

County Clerks; District Clerks. 

 

SB 469 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Directs courts to collect unpaid tolls, administrative 

fees, and third-party collection service fees from 

persons convicted of the offense of failing to pay a 

toll.  The foregoing fees are to be collected before 

fines and court costs are collected. See § 366.178, 

Trans. Code. See alsoJustices of the Peace and 

Municipal Judges. 

 

SB 543 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Prohibits the assessment of filing fees in probate 

cases wherein the decedent is an “eligible decedent” 

who died in the “line of duty.”  Eligible decedents 

include peace officers, probation officers, parole 

officers, jailers, and other similar persons. See 

Section 11B, Probate Code. See also County Clerks. 

 

SB 605 – Effective 9/1/11.  (Filing fee effective 

1/1/12.) 

Creates an appellate judicial system for the Eighth 

Court of Appeals District in El Paso.  Requires the 

commissioners courts of each county in the district to 

set a $5 filing fee for each civil suit filed in the 

county-level courts and district courts in the district. 

See § 22.2091, Gov’t Code. See also Appellate 

Courts.  
 

SB 880 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Broadens the set of programs which a community 

supervision and corrections department (CSCD) can 

operate.  Increases range of monthly administrative 

fee for participation in non-traditional programs 

operated by a CSCD such as pre-trial intervention 

programs.  The current range is $25 to $40.  The new 

range is $25 to $60.  The new range is the same as 

the range paid by probationers in traditional 

community supervision programs. See §§ 76.011, 

76.015, Gov’t Code.   
 

SB 953 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Increases range of monthly administrative fee for 

participation in non-traditional programs operated by 

a CSCD such as pre-trial intervention programs.  The 

current range is $25 to $40.  The new range is $25 to 

$60.  The new range is the same as the range paid by 

probationers in traditional community supervision 

programs. See § 76.015, Gov’t Code.   
 

SB 1233 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Authorizes district clerk to collect up to $1 per page 

or part of a page for a certified copy of a record, 

judgment, order, pleading, or paper on file instead of 

the current fee of $1.  See §§ 51.318, 101.0611, Gov’t 

Code.   
 

SB 1233 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Authorizes commissioners court to permit county or 

precinct officer who collects fees, fines, court costs, 

or other charges to accept payment by credit card. 

Commissioners court may also authorize county or 

precinct officer to collect and retain a fee for 

processing a credit card payment.  See § 132.002, 

Local Gov’t Code.   
 

SB 1386 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes county tax assessor-collector to refuse to 

register vehicle owned by person who has failed to 

appear for criminal proceeding in county.   Gives 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) the same right 

of refusal.  Sets amount of discretionary fee charged 

for failing to pay fine and court costs by due date or 

for failure to appear at $20.  The $20 fee may only be 

assessed if county has contract to provide certain 

information to DMV. See §§ 502.185, 702.003, 

Transp. Code. See also Justices of the Peace and 

Municipal Judges.   
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SB 1489 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Maintains the $5 juvenile case manager fund fee 

which cities and counties may elect to impose upon 

conviction of a fine-only misdemeanor.  Prohibits 

cities and counties from assessing the fee if the city 

or county does not employ a juvenile case manager. 

See Art. 102.0174, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 1521 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Expands permissible uses of municipal court building 

security fund to include warrant officers and related 

equipment. See Art. 102.017, Code of Crim. Proc. 

See also Justices of the Peace and Municipal 

Judges. 

 

 

County Clerks 

 

HB 79, Article 9 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Permits a person found to be a vexatious litigant to 

appeal the order of a court prohibiting the person  

from filing new litigation in propria persona in the 

courts of Texas.  Additionally, authorizes a litigant to 

challenge by means of an application for a writ of 

mandamus with the court of appeals, the decision of a 

local administrative judge denying the litigant special 

permission to file a litigation.  Prohibits the clerk of a 

court from filing any original proceeding, appeal or 

other claim presented by a vexatious litigant except 

for the appeal and application for writ of mandamus 

mentioned above.  Requires the clerk of a court to 

provide the Office of Court Administration with a 

copy of any prefiling order issued under Section 

11.101 of the Civil Practice and Remedies Code not 

later than the 30
th

 day after the date the prefiling 

order is signed.  Clerks are currently required to 

make such a report, but the 30-day directive is new.  

Requires the Office of Court Administration to post a 

list of vexatious litigants subject to prefiling orders 

on the Office’s Internet website.  Further directs that, 

upon the request of a person on the list, the list 

indicate whether the person has filed an appeal of the 

prefiling order. See §§ 11.101 - 11.104, Civ. Prac. & 

Rem. Code. See also Appellate Courts; District 

Clerks; Office of Court Administration; Supreme 

Court. 

 

HB 174 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Expands the parties to whom a clerk of a court 

having probate jurisdiction must send an abstract of 

each application for probate of a will and similar 

documents.   Currently, the only party to whom the 

clerk must send the abstract is the voter registrar.  

The new party to whom the clerk must send the 

abstract is the secretary of state. See § 16.001, 

Election Code.    

 

HB 174 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Expands the parties to whom a court clerk must send 

a monthly list of  persons disqualified from jury 

service because of citizenship issues.  Currently, the 

only party to whom the clerk must send the list is the 

voter registrar.  The new parties to whom the list 

must be sent are: (1) the secretary of state; and (2) the 

county or district attorney, as applicable, for an 

investigation of whether the person committed an 

offense under Section 13.007 of the Election Code or 

other law. See § 62.113, Gov’t Code. See also 

District Clerks; Juries; Justices of the Peace and 

Municipal Judges.  

 

HB 1573 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires clerk of court that does not provide Internet 

access to the court’s criminal case records to post in a 

designated place in the courthouse notice of a 

prospective criminal court docket setting as soon as 

the court notifies the clerk of the setting.  Under 

current law, the clerk is required to post such notice 

not less than 48 hours before the docket setting. See 

Art. 17.085, Code of Crim. Proc. See also District 

Clerks; Justices of the Peace and Municipal 

Judges. 

 

HB 1658 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Directs clerks to refund cash bail bond money, upon 

the defendant’s compliance with the conditions of his 

or her bond, to any person in the name of whom a 

receipt was issued.  Currently, the cash bail bond 

money can only be returned to the defendant, 

regardless of who put up the cash.  Also, requires the 

amount of the cash refunded to be the amount 

reflected on the face of the receipt. See Art. 17.02, 

Code of Crim. Proc. See also District Clerks.   

 

HB 2124 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires clerk to inform victim, victim’s guardian, or 

victim’s close relative of the release of a criminal 

defendant who had been acquitted by reason of 

insanity from a mental hospital.  Removes 

requirement that clerk inform Victim Services 

Department of TDCJ of such a release. See Art. 

46C.003, Code of Crim. Proc. See also District 

Clerks.  

 

HB 2425 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires a court to give notice to the attorney general 

of any action in which a party to the litigation files a 

petition or motion challenging the constitutionality of 

a Texas statute.  The requirement applies only if the 

attorney general is not a party to or counsel involved 
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in the litigation.  Presumably, the requirement is 

applicable in both civil and criminal cases.  The 

notice is to include a copy of the petition or motion.  

Also, the notice is to identify the statute in question 

and the basis for the challenge.  The notice is to be 

given to the attorney general by certified or registered 

mail or by e-mail.  The e-mail address to be used to 

give notice is const_claims@oag.state.tx.us. See § 

402.010, Gov’t Code. See also District Clerks; 

Justices of the Peace and Municipal Judges.  

 

HB 2624 – Effective 9/1/11. 

When the respondent is a member of the military, 

requires court clerks to provide a copy of a protective 

order to the staff judge advocate at Joint Force 

Headquarters or the provost marshal of the military 

installation to which the respondent is assigned with 

the intent that the commanding officer will be 

notified.  Requires peace officers investigating family 

violence to provide written notice to the staff judge 

advocate or provost marshal, when the suspect is a 

military member.  Requires court clerks to provide 

written notice of convictions and deferred 

adjudications related to family violence to the staff 

judge advocate or provost marshal, when the 

defendant is a military member.  Requires the 

presentence investigation of a military member who 

has served in active-duty status to determine whether 

the defendant may suffer from post-traumatic stress 

disorder or a traumatic brain injury and to include the 

defendant’s military discharge records and military 

records.  See § 85.042 Fam. Code, Arts. 5.05, 

42.0182, 42.12 Code Crim. Proc. See also District 

Clerks; Protective Orders. 

 

HB 2716 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Concerns the fee of no more than $5 collected by 

county clerks for records management purposes upon 

the filing of a non-court record.  Requires the fee to 

be deposited in a separate records management and 

preservation account in the general fund of the 

county.  Additionally, makes some clarifications in 

regard to the county clerk’s records archive fee. See 

§§ 118.0216, 118.025, Loc. Gov’t Code. See also 

Costs, Fees, Fines and Collections. 

 

HB 2717 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Expands permissible uses of $1 fee collected by 

county clerks upon issuing a vital statistics record. 

See § 191.0045, Health & Safety Code. See also 

Costs, Fees, Fines and Collections. 

 

HB 2717 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Makes change to clerks’ continuing education 

requirements.  A clerk now needs to complete one 

hour of training regarding registry funds and one 

hour of training regarding fraudulent court 

documents only during the first year of every term of 

office instead of every year.  See § 51.605, Gov’t 

Code. See also District Clerks.  

 

HB 3674 - Effective 9/1/11. 

Permits unsworn declarations to be used in lieu of a 

written sworn declaration, verification, certification, 

oath, or affidavit required by statute or required by a 

rule, order, or requirement adopted as provided by 

law.  Does not apply to an oath of office or an oath 

required to be taken before a specified official other 

than a notary public.  See §132.001, Civ. Prac. and 

Rem. Code. See also District Clerks. 

 

SB 220 – Effective 9/1/11. 

When issuing a citation stating that an application for 

guardianship was filed, requires a court clerk to 

include a statement informing certain persons of their 

right to notice concerning the guardianship 

proceedings.  Permits a ward or proposed ward to 

retain an attorney instead of accepting representation 

by an attorney ad litem.  In a proceeding to remove a 

guardian for bad acts, requires the court to appoint a 

guardian ad litem and an attorney ad litem (or one 

person in the dual role, unless a conflict exists).  See 

§ 111.042(a) Gov’t Code, § 32.02451 Human 

Resources Code, §§ 161.109, 161.111, 161.114 

Human Resources Code, §§ 633, 670, 682, 697B, 761 

Probate Code. See also Probate, Guardianships 

and Mental Health. 

 

SB 373 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes court clerks to give written approval for 

the county treasurers to collect court costs and fines. 

Establishes new time periods for the deposit of 

collected money with the county treasurer. See Arts. 

103.003, 103.004, Code of Crim. Proc. See also 

Costs, Fees, Fines and Collections; District Clerks. 

 

SB 428 – Effective 5/17/11. 

Changes the responsibility for mailing a notice of 

foreign judgment from the clerk to the judgment 

creditor or judgment creditor’s attorney.  See § 

35.004 Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code. See also District 

Clerks. 

 

SB 543 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Prohibits the assessment of filing fees in probate 

cases wherein the decedent is an “eligible decedent” 

who died in the “line of duty.”  Eligible decedents 

include peace officers, probation officers, parole 

officers, jailers, and other similar persons. See 

Section 11B, Probate Code. See also Costs, Fees, 

Fines and Collections. 

 

mailto:const_claims@oag.state.tx.us
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SB 886 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Allows clerks to maintain execution of judgments 

docket information in an electronic format and 

provides that any local government record data may 

be stored electronically in addition to or instead of 

source documents in paper or other media.  See 

§30.018, Civ. Prac. & Rem Code. See also District 

Clerks. 

 

SB 1233 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Authorizes county clerks to accept electronic filings 

or rerecordings of earmarks, brands, tattoos, 

electronic devices or other types of marks for which a 

recording is required. See § 144.041 Agric. Code. 

 

 

Court Jurisdiction 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Sets the minimum jurisdictional amount of a district 

court in civil cases at $500.  Currently, the minimum 

jurisdiction is uncertain – the amount is either $200 

or $500. See § 24.007, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Creates standard definitions of “criminal law cases 

and proceedings,” “family law cases and 

proceedings,” juvenile law cases and proceedings,” 

and “mental health cases and proceedings” in 

statutory county courts.  Under current law, 

definitions of these terms can vary from county to 

county.  See § 25.002, Gov’t Code. 
 

HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Raises the maximum jurisdictional amount in civil 

cases in statutory county courts with a current 

maximum jurisdictional limit of less than $200,000 to 

$200,000.  Does not change the maximum 

jurisdictional amount of those statutory county courts 

that currently have a maximum jurisdictional amount 

of more than $200,000.  See § 25.003, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Eliminates current jurisdictional provisions in 

individual statutes creating statutory county courts in 

favor of general provisions applying to all statutory 

county courts.  See §§ 25.0102, 25.0132, 25.0202, 

25.0212, 25.0222, 25.0302, 25.0312, 25.0362, 

25.0482, 25.0632, 25.0732, 25.0733, 25.0862, 

25.0962, 25.1033, 25.1042, 25.1072, 25.1142, 

25.1182, 25.1312, 25.1542, 25.1652, 25.1762, 

25.1772, 25.1892, 25.1932, 25.2012, 25.2142, 

25.2222, 25.2232, 25.2352, 25.2382, 25.2421, 

25.2422, 25.2452, 25.2462, 25.2482, 25.2512,  Gov’t 

Code.  

 

HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Repeals individual statutory provisions regarding 

particular statutory county courts in favor of new 

general provisions applicable to all statutory county 

courts. See SECTION 4.50 of HB 79 for a listing of 

the repealed statutes. 

 

HB 79, Article 5 (First Called Session) – Effective 

5/1/13. 

Discontinues small claims courts on May 1, 2013.  

Directs justices of the peace to transfer all cases 

pending  in the small claims court to the justice court 

immediately before May 1, 2013.  Calls for justice 

courts, beginning May 1, 2013, to conduct justice 

court proceedings in small claims cases in accordance 

with new rules of civil procedure promulgated by the 

Supreme Court.  Directs the Supreme Court to 

promulgate the new rules not later than May 1, 2013. 

The new rules must define the term “small claims 

cases.”   The new rules must ensure the fair, 

expeditious, and inexpensive resolution of small 

claims cases.  Other guidelines for the new rules are 

delineated.  Also requires the Supreme Court to 

promulgate rules providing specific procedures for 

actions by: (1) an assignee of a claims or other person 

seeking to bring an action on an assigned claim; (2) a 

person primarily engaged in the business of lending 

money at interest; and (3) a collection agency or 

collection agent.  None of the foregoing rules 

promulgated by the Supreme Court are require that a 

party in a case be represented by an attorney.  

Another requirement is that the rules may not be so 

complex that a reasonable person without legal 

training would have difficulty understanding or 

applying the rules.  Any committee established by the 

Supreme Court to recommend the rules to be adopted 

is required to include justices of the peace.  Separate 

and apart from the foregoing rules, requires the 

Supreme Court to promulgate rules for eviction 

proceedings by May 1, 2013.  See §§ 27.060,  

Chapter 28 Gov’t Code. See also Justices of the 

Peace and Municipal Judges; Supreme Court. 

 

HB 734 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Gives jurisdiction of truancy cases to constitutional 

county courts in counties with a population of 1.75 

million or more.  Currently, a constitutional county 

court in a county with a population of 2 million or 

more may exercise such jurisdiction. See §§ 25.093, 
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25.094, Educ. Code; § 54.021, Fam. Code; § 

26.045(d), Gov’t Code.  

 

HB 984 – Effective 5/19/11. 

Authorizes neighboring municipalities to enter 

agreement establishing concurrent jurisdiction of the 

municipal courts in those municipalities. See Art. 

4.14, Code of Crim. Proc., § 29.003, Gov’t Code. See 

also Justices of the Peace and Municipal Judges. 
 

HB 2936 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Provides that the 289
th

, 379
th

, 399
th

, and 437
th

 district 

courts shall give preference to criminal cases; 

however, the 399
th

 and 437
th
 district courts already 

have primary criminal jurisdiction.  Also provides 

that the 386
th

 and 436
th

 shall give preference to 

juvenile matters and changes the 289
th

 district court’s 

primary preference from Title 2 of the Family Code 

to juvenile matters.  See §§ 24.139, 24.466(b), 

24.531(b) and 24.580(b), Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 3796 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Removes Edwards County from the jurisdiction of 

the 63
rd

 Judicial District and adds it to the jurisdiction 

of the 198
th

 Judicial District.  See §§ 24.165 and 

24.377, Gov’t Code. 

 

 

Court of Criminal Appeals 

 

HB 1781 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires the Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal 

Appeals, the intermediate courts of appeals, and OCA 

to identify obsolete reporting requirements.  A report 

concerning such requirements is to be submitted to 

the governor and others by August 1, 2012. See §§ 

2052.401, 2052.402, Gov’t Code.  See also 

Appellate Courts; Office of Court Administration; 

Supreme Court.   
 

 

Court Security and Facilities 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Requires a district court to sit in the county seat for a 

jury trial in a civil case.  Permits a county 

commissioners court to authorize a district court to sit 

in any municipality in the county to hear nonjury 

civil trials and other matters in nonjury civil cases.  

Requires commissioners courts that make such an 

authorization to provide suitable facilities for the 

court in the relevant municipality. 
See § 24.030, Gov’t Code. 

 

Criminal Law and Procedure 

 

HB 253 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Lengthens the statute of limitations for the offense of 

bigamy to ten years from the date of commission, or 

ten years from the victim’s 18
th

 birthday, if the victim 

the defendant purports to marry is younger than 18 

years of age at the time of the offense.  In a petition 

by the Department of Family and Protective Services 

to remove an alleged perpetrator from the home, adds 

an additional requirement that the Department state 

that the parent continuing to reside in the home will 

monitor the residence and report any attempt by the 

alleged perpetrator to enter the residence.  Elevates 

the failure to comply with the duties surrounding 

filing a birth certificate or birth record from a Class C 

misdemeanor to a Class A misdemeanor.  For the 

offense of bigamy, modifies the existing definition of 

what constitutes a first degree felony by raising the 

age of the victim to “16 years or younger;” the 

existing law was “younger than 16.”  See Art. 12.01 

Code Crim. Proc., § 262.1015(b) Fam. Code, § 

195.004 Health & Safety Code, § 25.01(e) Penal 

Code. 

 

HB 371 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Prohibits deferred adjudication for most defendants 

convicted of murder. See Art. 42.12, Sec. 5(d), Code 

of Crim. Proc.  

 

HB 748 - Effective 9/1/11.   

Requires the trial court to give credit to the term of a 

defendant’s sentence for time confined in a mental 

health facility or residential care facility based on 

incompetency to stand trial.  Defendant may not be 

confined under the commitment for a period of time 

in excess of the maximum punishment available for 

the pending charge, except for outpatient treatment 

program for a misdemeanor charge.  At the end of the 

“maximum restoration period” a mental health 

facility or outpatient treatment provider shall assess 

the defendant to determine if a civil commitment 

proceeding is appropriate.  There are some dismissal 

requirements if defendant’s competency is not timely 

restored. See Art. 42.03(2)(a), Art.46B.009 & Art. 

46B.0095, Art.46B.010 Code of Crim. Proc., 

§574.110(b), Health & Safety Code. 

 

HB 1028 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes a convicting court to prohibit a defendant 

whose sentence includes confinement from 

contacting the victim or a member of the victim’s 

family during the confinement.  Provides that 

violation of the court’s order may result in loss of 

good conduct time and may be considered by a parole 
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panel.  See Arts. 42.24, 42.032, Code of Crim. Proc.; 

§§ 498.0042, 508.1531, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 1113 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes judges to order the sentencing hearing of 

defendants convicted of drug offenses to be held at a 

secondary school under certain conditions. See Art. 

42.025, Code of Crim. Proc. 
 

HB 1199 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Makes a DWI a Class A misdemeanor instead of a 

Class B misdemeanor if the defendant’s blood 

alcohol concentration level is 0.15 or higher. See § 

49.04, Penal Code. 

 

HB 1205 – Effective  9/1/11. 

Gives certain defendants “time credits” for 

completing certain conditions of community 

supervision in state jail felony and third degree 

felony cases.  Relevant conditions of community 

supervision include earning a high school diploma, 

completing a parenting class, and paying court costs 

and fines. See Art. 42.12, Sec. 20A, Code of Crim. 

Proc. 

 

HB 1666 – Effective 09/01/11.   

Provides a criminal sanction for impersonating 

another in an email or on a web page, social network 

or other internet website, with the intent to harm, 

defraud, intimidate or threaten any person.  See 

§33.07(a), Penal Code. 

 

HB 1994 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Creates first offender prostitution program for 

defendants charged with offenses in which defendant 

offered or agreed to hire a person to engage in sexual 

conduct. Requires court, if program is defendant 

successfully completes program and certain criteria 

are met, to enter order of nondisclosure as if the 

defendant had received a discharge and dismissal 

under Section 5(c), Article 42.12, Code of Criminal 

Procedure.  See Chapter 169, Health and Safety Code 

and § 103,0291, Gov’t Code. See also Expunctions 

and Orders of Nondisclosure. 

 

HB 2014 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Adds trafficking of persons and prostitution to list of 

offenses that affect an individual’s ability to receive a 

TABC license or permit.  Adds trafficking of persons 

and compelling prostitution to the list of offenses 

that, where the victim is a child and subject to certain 

other requirements, may justify a defendant being 

denied bail.  Requires the court to order a defendant 

convicted of trafficking of persons or compelling 

prostitution when the victim is under 18 years of age 

to pay restitution for the victim’s rehabilitation costs.  

Adds trafficking of persons and compelling 

prostitution to the list of crimes against children that 

require specific community supervision guidelines.  

Adds trafficking of persons and compelling 

prostitution to the list of offenses requiring the 

victim’s age to be tracked in a computerized criminal 

history system.  Requires district courts and county 

courts at law to report monthly the number of cases 

filed for trafficking of persons, prostitution, and 

compelling prostitution to the Office of Court 

Administration.  Elevates soliciting a prostitute to a 

third degree felony if the person solicited is 14-18 

years old and a second degree felony if the person 

solicited is younger than 14 years of age.  Elevates 

employment of a child in a sexually oriented 

commercial activity from a Class A misdemeanor to 

a second degree felony, or a first degree felony if the 

child is younger than 4 years of age.  See §§ 11.44(b), 

11.46(c), 11.64(a), 61.42(c) Alcoholic Beverage 

Code, Arts. 17.153(a), 42.0372, 42.12 § 13B(b), 

59.01(2), 60.051(g) Code Crim. Proc., § 71.0353, 

411.042(b), 508.187(a), 772.006 (e) and (f) Gov’t 

Code, §§ 25.08(c), 43.02(c), 43.251(c) Penal Code. 

See also Office of Court Administration.  
 

HB 2649 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Allows a judge to credit a defendant serving time for 

a state jail felony additional time for each day the 

defendant diligently participates in an educational, 

vocational, treatment, or work program.  A diligent 

participation credit may not exceed 1/5 of the amount 

of time the defendant was originally sentenced.  See § 

15(h), Art. 42.12 Code Crim. Proc. 

 

HB 2725 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Modifies procedures relating to the determination of 

incompetency in criminal cases and competency 

restoration including shortening the periods allowed 

for competency restoration while in state hospitals, 

limiting the number of extensions for restoration, 

allowing the consideration of additional information 

in determining the need for or an extension of 

competency restoration, and encouraging the use of 

alternate community-based programs when necessary 

and available. See Ch. 46B, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

HB 2734 – Effective 09/01/11.   

Mandates a parole panel enter conditions of 

mandatory supervision on “illegal criminal aliens” 

that they leave the United States as soon as possible 

after release and not unlawfully return. See §§ 

508.192, 508.281, Gov’t Code.  

 

HB 2735 – Effective 09/01/11.   

Requires a summons to appear rather than a warrant 

be issued for a person on parole or mandatory 
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supervision release from the Texas Department of 

Criminal Justice for an individual charged only with 

committing an administrative violation alleged to 

have been committed after the third anniversary of 

the date the individual was released on parole or 

mandatory supervision. There are exceptions for 

individuals who are required to register under Art. 

62, is on a form of intensive supervision, is an 

absconder or a threat to public safety. See §508.251, 

Gov’t Code.  

 

HB 2847 – Effective 9/1/11.   

Permits the use of teleconferencing systems in certain 

criminal proceedings, including pretrial hearings and 

pleas with written waivers, grand jury testimony by 

officers or inmate witnesses. See Art.1.13, Art. 

20.011(a), Art.20.011(a),, Art.20.02(b), Art.20.151, 

Art.27.18, Art.38.073, Code of Crim. Proc.  

 

HB 3000 – Effective 9/1/11.   

Creates the offense of continuous trafficking of 

persons, punishable by life imprisonment or 25 to 99 

years.  Makes several amendments to the Code of 

Criminal Procedure and Government Code to add the 

new offense, including amendments regarding statute 

of limitations, release on personal bond, notice of bail 

reduction, trial preference, and parole.  See §§ 

20A.03, 12.35, 12.42, Penal Code; §§ 12.01, 17.03, 

17.032, 17.091, Code Crim. Proc.; §§ 23.101, 

411.1471, 499.027, 508.046, 508.145, 508.149, 

508.151, Gov’t Code. 

 

SB 24 – Effective 9/1/11.   

Extends the civil and criminal statute of limitations 

for human trafficking crimes, adds human trafficking 

offenses and compelling prostitution to the list of 

"3g" offenses, raises the level of certain offenses and 

requires an offender who is convicted of sex 

trafficking to register in the Sex Offender Registry.  

Provides protection mechanisms for child victims in 

the Texas Family Code, allowing a parent or 

guardian, acting on behalf of a minor who is a victim 

of human trafficking, to file for a protective order 

against the trafficker.  Allows child victims in sex 

trafficking cases certain provisions similar to sexual 

assault cases under Texas law. See  §§ 16.0045, 

125.0015, Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code; Arts. 7A..01, 

12.01, 13.12, 38.07, 38.071, 38.072, 38.37, 

42.12(3g), 62.001, 62.101(a), Code of Crim. Proc; 

§§54.031, 161.001, 261.001(1), 262.2015(b), Family 

Code; §§ 499.027(b), 508.149(a) Gov’t Code. §§ 

3.03(b), 12.42(2)(c), 15.031(b), 20A.01, 21,02(c), 

22.021(a),  Penal Code.   

 

 

 

SB 82 - Effective 9/1/11. 

Adds an individual with whom a victim has a dating 

relationship to the categories of persons covered by 

the stalking statute; adds stalking convictions in other 

states or under federal law to the offenses which can 

raise the level of a current offense. Authorizes the 

offense of stalking to be prosecuted in any county in 

which an element of the offense occurred; Ensures 

stalking victims are permitted to give testimony in 

court concerning their relationship with an alleged 

perpetrator.  See Arts. 13.36, 38.46, Code of Crim. 

Proc.; § 42.072, Penal Code. 

 

SB 122 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Modifies the requirements for granting motions for 

post-conviction DNA testing by removing certain 

conditions regarding the reasons why biological 

evidence was not tested previously, so that testing of 

any previously untested biological evidence may be 

granted.  Requires that unidentified DNA profiles 

obtained through post-conviction testing be entered 

into state and federal DNA databases.   See Arts. 

64.01, 64.03, 64.04, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 144 – Effective 1/1/12 (contingent on voter 

passage of SJR 9 - constitutional amendment – in 

November). 

Authorizes governor to pardon person who has 

successfully completed term of deferred adjudication.  

Current law only allows governor to pardon person 

who has been convicted. See Art. 48.01, Code of 

Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 198 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Provides that certain persons convicted of certain 

sexual offenses are exempted from registering as a 

sex offender s. Permits certain young persons who 

have been convicted or placed on community 

supervision for certain offense involving underage 

victims to petition the court for release from 

registration requirements. See Arts. 42.017, 42.12 (g), 

62.301, 62.402, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 316 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Establishes restrictions on disposition of assets 

obtained through criminal forfeiture proceedings.  

Authorizes audits by the State Auditor. See Arts. 

59.03, 59.06, 59.061, 59.062, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 407 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Creates the offense of “electronic transmission of 

certain visual material depicting minor.”  Establishes 

procedures related to such cases.  Authorizes the 

sealing of records related to offenses committed by 

children.  Requires the development of related 

educational programs. See Art. 6.09, Art. 42.12, Sec. 
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13H, 45.0216, 45.061, Code of Crim. Proc.; § 37.218, 

Educ. Code; § 54.0404, Family Code; § 43.261, 

Penal Code. See also Open Records. 

 

SB 519 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Expands time to make motion for new trial in 

criminal case in justice and municipal court from one 

day to five days. See Art. 45.037, Code of Crim. 

Proc. See also Justices of the Peace and Municipal 

Judges.   

 

SB 578 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires accommodations for child witnesses in 

regard to their testimony in criminal cases.  See Art. 

38.074, Code of Crim. Proc.  

 

SB 953 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Sets out possible conditions associated with the grant 

of an occupational driver’s license. See §§ 521.2461, 

521.2462, 521.248(a), Transportation Code. 

 

SB 1010 – Effective 9/1/11.    

Expands the notice requirement for plea bargain 

notice to victims by requiring the state’s attorney, as 

far as reasonably practicable, to give notice of any 

plea agreement to the victim, guardian of a victim or 

close relative of a deceased victim.  Some affirmative 

requirements placed on the Court to inquire as to the 

notice and whether a victim impact statement has 

been provided. See  Art.26.13(a) & (e), Art.56.08(b) 

& (e), Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 1271 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Amends the Civil Practice and Remedies Code to 

include disputes involving entities and units of 

government (not just disputes among individuals) in 

the definition of the “alternative dispute resolution 

system” which can be established by a county.  

Allows for ADR in criminal cases.  See §§ 152.001, 

152.002, Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code. 

 

SB 1331 – Effective 9/1/11.  

Makes certain age-based alcohol offenses 

inapplicable to first minor to seek emergency 

assistance for possible alcohol overdose of another 

minor. See §§ 106.04, 106.05, Alco. Bev. Code. See 

also Justices of the Peace and Municipal Judges. 

 

SB 1489 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Restricts individuals who can be convicted of failure 

to attend school to persons 12 or older and younger 

than 18.  Provides for expunctions of failure-to-

attend-school offenses to be obtained in a wider 

variety of circumstances.  Authorizes courts to 

dismiss failure-to-attend-school charges in certain 

circumstances. See Arts. 45.054, 45.055, Code of 

Crim. Proc.; § 25.094, Educ. Code; § 51.03, Fam. 

Code. See also Justices of the Peace and Municipal 

Judges. 

 

SB 1551 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Establishes that when a crime is committed that 

causes bodily injury to a child, it may be prosecuted 

in the county where the offense was committed, the 

county where the defendant is apprehended, or the 

county of the child or defendant’s residence.  

Expands the definition of “missing child” to include a 

child taken without the permission of the custodian, 

unless the taking of the child is prompted by family 

violence.  Establishes additional affirmative defenses 

to offenses related to taking children.    See  Arts. 

13.075, 63.001(3) Code of Crim. Proc., § 25.03(a) 

Penal Code. 

 

SB 1552 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes a court to accept a written plea of guilty 

or nolo contendere from a person confined in a penal 

institution by fax or e-mail. See Art. 27.19, Code of 

Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 1616 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires courts and other entities charged with 

collecting biological evidence to keep such evidence 

for specified time periods. See Art. 38.43, Code of 

Crim. Proc. 

 

 

District Clerks 

 

HB 79, Article 9 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Permits a person found to be a vexatious litigant to 

appeal the order of a court prohibiting the person  

from filing new litigation in propria persona in the 

courts of Texas.  Additionally, authorizes a litigant to 

challenge by means of an application for a writ of 

mandamus with the court of appeals, the decision of a 

local administrative judge denying the litigant special 

permission to file a litigation.  Prohibits the clerk of a 

court from filing any original proceeding, appeal or 

other claim presented by a vexatious litigant except 

for the appeal and application for writ of mandamus 

mentioned above.  Requires the clerk of a court to 

provide the Office of Court Administration with a 

copy of any prefiling order issued under Section 

11.101 of the Civil Practice and Remedies Code not 

later than the 30
th

 day after the date the prefiling 

order is signed.  Clerks are currently required to 

make such a report, but the 30-day directive is new.  

Requires the Office of Court Administration to post a 

list of vexatious litigants subject to prefiling orders 
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on the Office’s Internet website.  Further directs that, 

upon the request of a person on the list, the list 

indicate whether the person has filed an appeal of the 

prefiling order. See §§ 11.101 - 11.104, Civ. Prac. & 

Rem. Code. See also Appellate Courts; County 

Clerks; Office of Court Administration; Supreme 

Court. 

 

HB 174 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Expands the parties to whom a court clerk must send 

a monthly list of  persons disqualified from jury 

service because of citizenship issues.  Currently, the 

only party to whom the clerk must send the list is the 

voter registrar.  The new parties to whom the list 

must be sent are: (1) the secretary of state; and (2) the 

county or district attorney, as applicable, for an 

investigation of whether the person committed an 

offense under Section 13.007 of the Election Code or 

other law. See §62.113, Gov’t Code. See also 

County Clerks; Juries; Justices of the Peace and 

Municipal Judges.  

 

HB 1573 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires clerk of court that does not provide Internet 

access to the court’s criminal case records to post in a 

designated place in the courthouse notice of a 

prospective criminal court docket setting as soon as 

the court notifies the clerk of the setting. Under 

current law, the clerk is required to post such notice 

not less than 48 hours before the docket setting. See 

Art. 17.085, Code of Crim. Proc. See also County 

Clerks; Justices of the Peace and Municipal 

Judges. 

 

HB 1658 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Directs clerks to refund cash bail bond money, upon 

the defendant’s compliance with the conditions of his 

or her bond, to any person in the name of whom a 

receipt was issued.  Currently, the cash bail bond 

money can only be returned to the defendant, 

regardless of who put up the cash.  Also, requires the 

amount of the cash refunded to be the amount 

reflected on the face of the receipt. See Art. 17.02, 

Code of Crim. Proc. See also County Clerks.   

 

HB 2124 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires clerk to inform victim, victim’s guardian, or 

victim’s close relative of the release of a criminal 

defendant who had been acquitted by reason of 

insanity from a mental hospital.  Removes 

requirement that clerk inform Victim Services 

Department of TDCJ of such a release. See Art. 

46C.003, Code of Crim. Proc. See also County 

Clerks.  

 

 

HB 2422 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires clerk to mail notice of a signing of a final 

decree of dissolution of marriage to any party who 

waived service of process.  Notice is to be mailed to 

the mailing address contained in the waiver or to the 

office of the party’s attorney.   See § 6.710,Family 

Code. 
 

HB 2425 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires a court to give notice to the attorney general 

of any action in which a party to the litigation files a 

petition or motion challenging the constitutionality of 

a Texas statute.  The requirement applies only if the 

attorney general is not a party to or counsel involved 

in the litigation.  Presumably, the requirement is 

applicable in both civil and criminal cases.  The 

notice is to include a copy of the petition or motion.  

Also, the notice is to identify the statute in question 

and the basis for the challenge.  The notice is to be 

given to the attorney general by certified or registered 

mail or by e-mail.  The e-mail address to be used to 

give notice is const_claims@oag.state.tx.us. See § 

402.010, Gov’t Code. See also County Clerks; 

Justices of the Peace and Municipal Judges.  

 

HB 2624 – Effective 9/1/11. 

When the respondent is a member of the military, 

requires court clerks to provide a copy of a protective 

order to the staff judge advocate at Joint Force 

Headquarters or the provost marshal of the military 

installation to which the respondent is assigned with 

the intent that the commanding officer will be 

notified.  Requires peace officers investigating family 

violence to provide written notice to the staff judge 

advocate or provost marshal, when the suspect is a 

military member.  Requires court clerks to provide 

written notice of convictions and deferred 

adjudications related to family violence to the staff 

judge advocate or provost marshal, when the 

defendant is a military member.  Requires the 

presentence investigation of a military member who 

has served in active-duty status to determine whether 

the defendant may suffer from post-traumatic stress 

disorder or a traumatic brain injury and to include the 

defendant’s military discharge records and military 

records.  See § 85.042 Fam. Code, Arts. 5.05, 

42.0182, 42.12 Code Crim. Proc. See also County 

Clerks; Protective Orders. 

 

HB 2717 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Makes change to clerks’ continuing education 

requirements.  A clerk now needs to complete one 

hour of training regarding registry funds and one 

hour of training regarding fraudulent court 

documents only during the first year of every term of 

mailto:const_claims@oag.state.tx.us
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office instead of every year.  See § 51.605, Gov’t 

Code. See also County Clerks.  

 

HB 3674 - Effective 9/1/11. 

Permits unsworn declarations to be used in lieu of a 

written sworn declaration, verification, certification, 

oath, or affidavit required by statute or required by a 

rule, order, or requirement adopted as provided by 

law.  Does not apply to an oath of office or an oath 

required to be taken before a specified official other 

than a notary public.  See §132.001, Civ. Prac. and 

Rem. Code. See also County Clerks. 

 

SB 373 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes court clerks to give written approval for 

the county treasurers to collect court costs and fines. 

Establishes new time periods for the deposit of 

collected money with the county treasurer. See Arts. 

103.003, 103.004, Code of Crim. Proc. See also 

Costs, Fees, Fines and Collections; County Clerks. 

 

SB 428 – Effective 5/17/11. 

Changes the responsibility for mailing a notice of 

foreign judgment from the clerk to the judgment 

creditor or judgment creditor’s attorney.  See § 

35.004 Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code. See also County 

Clerks. 

 

SB 1228 - Effective 6/17/11. 

Addresses problems arising from 2009 statute  

requiring clerk who accepts electronic filings from an 

attorney representing the state to also accept 

electronic filings from defendants.  A number of 

counties had already established systems or entered 

into procurement agreements for systems which do 

not include an option to accept electronic filings from 

defendants.  Provides limited exception from 

requirement to accept electronic filings from 

defendants for district clerks with electronic filing 

systems that can not accept electronic filings from 

defendants.  To qualify for the exception, the system 

must have been established or procured before June 

1, 2009 and must not have been substantially 

upgraded or replaced with a new system.  See Article 

2.21, Subsection (a-1), Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

 

Expunctions and Orders of Nondisclosure 

 

HB 351 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Broadens a person’s eligibility for expunction of 

records and files relating to an arrest.  Specifically, 

allows for expunctions on the basis of the defendant’s 

actual innocence. See Art. 55.01, Code of Crim. Proc.  

 

HB 1106 – Effective 9/1/11.    

Requires courts placing a defendant on deferred 

adjudication to inform him or her of the right to 

petition the court for an order of nondisclosure. See 

Art. 42.12, Sec. 5(a-1), (c-1), Code of Crim. Proc.  

 

HB 1994 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Creates first offender prostitution program for 

defendants charged with offenses in which defendant 

offered or agreed to hire a person to engage in sexual 

conduct. Requires court, if program is defendant 

successfully completes program and certain criteria 

are met, to enter order of nondisclosure as if the 

defendant had received a discharge and dismissal 

under Section 5(c), Article 42.12, Code of Criminal 

Procedure.  See Chapter 169, Health and Safety Code 

and § 103,0291, Gov’t Code. See also Expunctions 

and Orders of Nondisclosure. 

 

SB 462 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Provides further refinements of the law regarding 

eligibility for expunctions. See Arts. 55.01, 55.02, 

Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

 

Family Law 

 

HB 79, Article 11 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Provides for a “trial independence period” of six 

months to a year during which a young adult exits 

foster care with the option to return to foster care 

under the continuing extended jurisdiction of the 

court.  Also, gives the court extended jurisdiction 

over a young adult while the young adult remains in 

extended foster care.  Requires a court with extended 

jurisdiction over a young adult to conduct extended 

foster care review hearings every six months. See §§ 

263.601, 263.602, Family Code. 

 

HB 149 - Effective 6/17/11. 

Authorizes a court to appoint a person who meets the 

minimum qualifications required by state law, 

including an employee of the court, to act as a 

parenting coordinator on a volunteer basis and 

without compensation.  See §§153.609(d), 153.6091, 

Family Code. 
 

HB 848 - Effective 9/1/11. 

Allows an authorization agreement between a parent 

of a child and the person with whom the child is 

placed under a parental child safety placement 

agreement, which can include members of the 

parent’s extended family and other trusted 

community members.  The parental child safety 
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placement agreement allows the person with whom 

the child is placed to make certain decisions 

regarding the child during an investigation of abuse 

or neglect.  See §§ 34.001(2), 34.002(c), 34.0021, 

Family Code. 

 

HB 901 - Effective 9/1/11. 

Addresses eligibility for spousal maintenance, the 

duration of a maintenance order, the maximum 

amount of spousal maintenance which can be 

ordered, modification of a maintenance order and 

contempt arising from a maintenance order. See §§ 

8.051, 8.052, 8.053(a), 8.054, 8.0558, 8.056, 8.057(c) 

and (d), 8.059 (a), (b), and (d), and 8.0591, Family 

Code. 

 

HB 906 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Amends appellate procedures for child protection 

cases, including making final orders subject to 

procedures for accelerated appeals and requiring that 

information regarding the appeals process be 

included in the final order.  Also requires Supreme 

Court to adopt rules related to accelerated disposition 

of these cases by the appellate courts and requires 

that an attorney appointed for an indigent parent 

continue to represent the parent until all appeals are 

exhausted or the attorney is relieved or replaced by 

the court.  See §§ 107.013, 107.016, 109.002(a), 

263.405(a.), (b) an d (c), Fam. Code. See also 

Associate Judges; Supreme Court. 

 

HB 1404 - Effective 9/1/11. 

Provides for certain temporary orders in a suit 

affecting the parent-child relationship during a 

parent’s military deployment.  See §§ 153.702 (a) and 

(c), 153.703 (b) Family Code. 

 

HB 1674 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Amends statutes concerning enforcement and 

modification of child support payments related to 

medical support payments, child support liens, and 

receipt of criminal history information. Removes 

certain requirements for a Child Support Review 

Order, establishes a payment incentive program to 

promote payment by obligors who are delinquent in 

paying assigned child support arrears, and provides 

that an individual who has failed to pay child support 

for six months or more may be denied the issuance of 

a license.  See §§ 154.187(c), 154.303(b), 156.401, 

157.162, 157.263, 157.311(1) and (4), 157.317(a), 

157.3271, 158.203(b) and (b-1), 158.503, 231.015, 

231.124, 231.307, 232.0135, 232.014(a), 233.012, 

233.013, Fam. Code; § 1108.101, Ins. Code; § 

411.1271(b-1) and (c), Gov’t Code, § 34.04(a), Tax 

Code; and Art. 59.06, Code of Crim, Proc. 

 

HB 3311 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Clarifies that the required meeting before each 

hearing in a child protection case between an attorney 

ad litem and the child must take place a sufficient 

time before the hearing to allow the attorney to 

prepare to advocate for the child’s expressed 

objectives of representation and in a private setting 

that maintains confidential communications.  See § 

107.004 Fam. Code. 

 

HB 3314 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Adds a requirement that an attorney ad litem must 

file a written statement indicating that the attorney 

met with the child client prior to a child protection 

hearing, if the child (or the person with whom they 

reside) is not present at the hearing.  See § 107.004(d) 

Fam. Code. 

 

SB 1, Article 63 (First Called Session) – Effective 

9/28/11. 

Provides for a “trial independence period” of six 

months to a year during which a young adult exits 

foster care with the option to return to foster care 

under the continuing extended jurisdiction of the 

court.  Also, gives the court extended jurisdiction 

over a young adult while the young adult remains in 

extended foster care.  Requires a court with extended 

jurisdiction over a young adult to conduct extended 

foster care review hearings every six months. See §§ 

263.601, 263.602, Family Code. 

 

SB 218 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Prohibits the Department of Family and Protective 

Services from entering into case closure agreements 

requiring the adult residing with a child to take 

actions after the case is closed to ensure the child’s 

safety.  Establishes procedures for investigations in 

which the Department discovers a child younger than 

11 years of age has a sexually transmitted disease.  

Authorizes issuance of a protective order as an 

alternative to removal of a perpetrator.  Requires the 

Department to collaborate with parents in developing 

or modifying a service plan.  Waives the drivers 

license fee for a youth in the Department’s 

conservatorship.  Authorizes foster care redesign.  

See §§ 261.3013, 262.010, 262.1015, 263.103, 

263.104, 263.106, 264.118 Family Code, § 

411.114(3)(a) Gov’t Code, § 40.036 Human 

Resources Code, § 521.1811 Transportation Code. 

See also Protective Orders. 

 

SB 502 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Amends the procedures for rescinding or challenging 

an acknowledgement of paternity or a denial of 

paternity.  A proceeding to challenge an 

acknowledgement or denial may now be commenced 
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at any time before the issuance of an order affecting 

the child.  Creates a third degree felony offense for 

altering, destroying, concealing, fabricating, or 

falsifying genetic evidence in a proceeding to 

adjudicate parentage.  See  §§ 160.302, 160.306, 

160.307, 160.308, 160.309, 160.312, 160.512, 

160.607, 160.608, 160.609 Family Code. 

 

SB 993 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Sets forth the requirements of a Parental Child Safety 

Placement in child protection cases.  Requires the 

Department of Family and Protective Services to give 

notice of a removal to a child’s relatives, who must 

be identified and located within 30 days of the 

Department filing a SAPCR.  Ten days before a 

status hearing, the Department must provide a report 

regarding notification of relatives to the court and the 

court must make findings regarding notice at the 

status hearing.  Court must also make findings that a 

service plan is reasonably tailored to address issues in 

the case.  Authorizes a court to modify a service plan 

at any time.  Requires the court to advise parties of 

the provisions regarding mandatory appointment of 

an attorney at the status hearing and to appoint an 

attorney where required.    See §§ 264.901-264.906, 

262.1095, 263.007, 263.105, 263.201, 263.202, 

263.203 Family Code. 

 

SB 1026 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Defines the powers and duties of an attorney ad litem 

appointed for a parent or an alleged father in child 

protection cases.  Requires attorneys to investigate 

the facts of the case and meet with their client before 

each hearing (unless they can show good cause for 

why a meeting is not feasible).  Attorneys are entitled 

to attend all legal proceedings as well as case 

staffings conducted by the Department of Family and 

Protective Services.  See  §§ 107.0131 – 107.0133, 

Family Code. 

 

SB 1751 - Effective 9/1/12. 

Affects calculations of net resources of person 

ordered to pay child support by adding another 

deduction.  The new deduction is for 

nondiscretionary retirement plan contributions.  See 

§154.062 (d) and (f), Family Code. 

 

 

Grand Juries 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Declares that all grand and petit jurors selected in a 

county before a new district court is created are 

considered to have been selected as jurors for the new 

district court. See § 24.027, Gov’t Code. See also 

Juries. 

 

SB 1233 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Authorizes person who operates video 

teleconferencing system to be present while grand 

jury is conducting proceedings.  Allows video 

teleconferencing of certain grand jury testimony and 

the deposition and testimony of inmates in various 

court proceedings.    See §§ 20.011(a), 20.02(b), 

27.18, 38.073, Code of Crim. Proc.  

 

 

Indigent Defense 

 

HB 417 –Effective 6/17/11. 

Directs TDCJ to provide guidance to exonerated 

persons on procedures for applying for statutory 

compensation, including providing a list of approved 

nonprofit agencies that can provide assistance in 

filing the application.  Requires that persons who 

seek to collect fees to assist wrongfully convicted 

persons in preparing the application for statutory 

compensation to the Comptroller under the Texas 

Civil Practice and Remedies Code must charge a 

reasonable hourly rate which is disclosed in advance, 

and that the attorney must file a report with the 

Comptroller’s judiciary section disclosing the fee 

details (effective for fee agreements on or after 

1/1/2012).  Provides access to statutory compensation 

for wrongful conviction for persons who receive 

habeas corpus relief which is not explicitly based on 

actual innocence if the state district court dismissed 

the charges on or after 9/1/09 based on a motion by 

the prosecutor in which the prosecutor states that no 

credible evidence exists that inculpates the defendant 

and the prosecutor affirms the defendant’s claim of 

actual innocence. Makes exonerees who qualify for 

statutory compensation eligible to purchase group 

health insurance through the Texas Department of 

Criminal Justice. See §§103.001, 103.002, 103.003, 

103.051 103.054, 103.101, 103.102, Civ. Prac. & 

Rem. Code, §501.091 Government Code, §1551.115 

Insurance Code. 

 
HB 1646 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires the appointment of counsel and payment of 

fees and expenses up to the statutory limit for 

successor writs of habeas corpus in death penalty 

cases, provided that the Court of Criminal Appeals 

determines that the successor writ is within the 

requirements authorized by statute. Directs the order 

of priority for appointment of counsel to include, 

first, the attorney who represented the defendant  in 

preparation of the successor writ application, second, 
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the Office of Capital Writs, or third, other qualified 

counsel  from the list approved by the presiding 

judges of the administrative judicial regions. Applies 

to writs filed after 1/1/2012.  See Art. 11.071, Code 

of Crim. Proc. 

 

HB 1754 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Changes name of Task Force on Indigent Defense to 

Texas Indigent Defense Commission. Requires new 

commission to prepare and submit its Legislative 

Appropriations Request separate from that of the 

Office of Court Administration, although commission 

will remain administratively attached to OCA. 

Simplifies local option to establish a public 

defender’s office by permitting a county to establish 

such an office as a county department without 

requiring the county to issue a request for proposals 

(RFP) to itself. Provides a new local option and 

guidance on how to establish a managed assigned 

counsel program. Requires public law school 

innocence projects to prepare a report annually on 

exonerations of clients represented by the project. See 

Chapters 71, 79, Gov’t Code, Chapter 26, Code of 

Crim. Proc. 

 

HB 1770 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Limits the authority of the Texas Department of 

Criminal Justice (TDCJ) to pay the cost of temporary 

post-release housing for an inmate who is eligible for 

release on parole or to mandatory supervision only if 

TDCJ does not operate or contract for the operation 

of a residential correctional facility in the county of 

legal residence of the inmate.  Requires the 

temporary post-release housing to be in a structure 

that existed on June 1, 2009, as a multifamily 

residence or as a motel to which Tax Code provisions 

relating to the hotel occupancy tax apply. See § 

508.157, Gov’t Code. 

 

SB 1308 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Allows the local selection committee in each 

administrative judicial region to review an attorney’s 

current ability to provide effective representation 

when the attorney is no longer eligible to represent 

indigent defendants in capital cases due to a single 

finding of ineffective assistance of counsel. See Art. 

26.052, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 1681 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Clarifies that the Fair Defense Act applies to attorney 

appointments for probation revocations and appeals. 

Clarifies procedures for withdrawal of trial counsel 

and appointment of appellate counsel. Authorizes any 

magistrate to provide warnings on rights to 

defendants arrested for motions to revoke probation. 

See Arts. 26.04 and 42.12, Sec. 21, Code of Crim. 

Proc. 

 

 

Judicial Administration 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Eliminates outdated language concerning how 

visiting judges are appointed to replace district judges 

who have recused themselves. See § 24.002, Gov’t 

Code. 

 

 HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Expands provisions dealing with the transfer of 

benches and the exchange of cases to counties with 

two or more district courts.  The provisions currently 

apply to counties with five or more district courts.  

See § 24.003, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Creates automatic terms of court for district courts 

that begin on the first Mondays  in January and July.   

See § 24.012, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Declares that the obligees in all bonds taken in a 

district court from which a case is transferred are 

required to appear before the court to which the case 

is transferred.  Similar rule established for all 

witnesses summoned to appear before a district court  

from which a case is transferred.   

See §§ 24.023, 24.024, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Clarifies that if a county is removed from the 

composition of a judicial district and is added to a 

new or existing judicial district, all cases from that 

county pending in the district court of the judicial 

district from which the county was removed are 

transferred to the district court of the judicial district 

to which the county is added.  Additionally, provides 

that processes, writs, and other obligations issued 

from and returnable to a district court remain valid in 

such a situation. See §§ 24.028, 24.029, Gov’t Code.  

 

HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Provides that statutory county court judges have the 

same judicial immunity as district judges. See § 

25.004, Gov’t Code. 
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HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Reduces the amount of time a former or retired judge 

of a statutory probate court must have served as an 

active judge in order to be eligible for appointment as 

visiting judge from 96 months to 72 months. See § 

24.0022, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Permits counties to self-insure themselves in lieu of 

requiring a bond to protect against losses stemming 

from the gross negligence of a statutory probate court 

judge.  See § 24.00231, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Establishes general provisions for statutory probate 

court judges concerning qualifications for office, a 

prohibition on the private practice of law, and terms 

of courts.  Eliminates provisions on the foregoing 

subjects contained in statutes specific to each 

statutory probate court. See §§ 25.0033, 25.0034, 

25.0035,  Gov’t Code. See also Judicial Selection 

and Qualifications. 

 

HB 79, Article 5 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Directs justices of the peace in each county to adopt 

local rules of administration by a majority vote of the 

justices.  The rules must address the transfer of 

pending civil and criminal cases from one precinct to 

a different precinct. See § 15.0821, Civ. Prac. & 

Rem. Code; § 27.061, Gov’t Code; Art. 4.12, Code of 

Crim. Proc. See also Justices of the Peace and 

Municipal Judges. 

 

HB 79, Article 7 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Provides guidelines for the determination of cases 

requiring additional resources.  Creates the Judicial 

Committee for Additional Resources.  The 

Committee’s primary function is to evaluate special 

needs cases or extraordinary events impacting the 

courts and to direct additional resources to those 

cases.  Such additional resources can include the 

assignment of visiting judges, additional legal and 

administrative personnel, information and 

communication technology, specialized continuing 

education, and special accommodations or 

furnishings.  No funding is appropriated for 

additional resources but creation of the Committee 

provides a legal structure for the assignment of 

judicial resources.  The Committee is composed of 

the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and the nine 

presiding judges of the administrative judicial 

regions.  The Chief Justice serves as the Committee’s 

presiding officer.  The Office of Court 

Administration provides staff support to the 

Committee.  Requires the Supreme Court to adopt 

rules under which the courts, the presiding judges of 

the administrative judicial regions, and the 

Committee may determine whether a civil case 

requires additional resources to ensure efficient 

judicial management of the case.  See §§ 74.251-

74.257, Gov’t Code. See also Office of Court 

Administration; Supreme Court. 

 

SB 910 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Provides procedure for delegating responsibilities of 

a district or county attorney deployed for active 

military duty and provides that an attorney who 

complies with this provision is not absent from and 

has not vacated the office; requires notice to the 

presiding judge of the administrative judicial region 

of the delegation of authority; makes inapplicable the 

provision that authorizes the comptroller to reduce a 

district attorney’s salary for failure to attend court if 

the attorney has complied with the new delegation of 

authority and notice provisions.  See §§ 41.015 and 

43.003, Gov’t Code. 

 

 

Judicial Compensation 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Declares that all district judges in a county are 

entitled to equal amounts of supplemental 

compensation from the county. See § 24.025, Gov’t 

Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Clarifies that a district judge sitting on a juvenile 

board is entitled to the same supplemental 

compensation as other judges serving on the juvenile 

board.  See § 24.026, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Provides statutory authority for the $5,000 state 

salary supplement for local administrative judges in 

counties with more than five district courts. 

See § 659.012, Gov’t Code. 

 

SB 1269 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Provides that transportation, lodging, and meals 

accepted in connection with a conference or similar 

event in which a public servant renders services, such 

as addressing an audience or engaging in a seminar, 
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to the extent that those services are more than merely 

perfunctory, are not prohibited honorariums.  

Clarifies that the transportation, lodging, and meals 

described in Penal Code Section 36.07(b) are not 

political contributions as defined in the Election 

Code. Additionally provides that Penal Code Sections 

36.08 (Gifts to Public Servant by Person Subject to 

Jurisdiction) and 36.09 (Offering Gift to Public 

Servant) do not apply to transportation, lodging and 

meals described by Penal Code Section 36.07(b).  See 

§§ 36.07(b-1) and 36.10(a), Penal Code. 

 

 

Judicial Education 

 

HB 79, Article 5 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Requires justices of the peace to complete ten hours 

of the requisite 20 hours of annual judicial education 

in the area of substantive, procedural, and evidentiary 

law in civil matters.  See §§ 27.005, Gov’t Code.  

See also Justices of the Peace and Municipal 

Judges. 

 

 

Judicial Selection and Qualifications 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Announces that on the creation of a new district 

court, the initial vacancy in the district judge position 

is filled in accordance with Section 28, Article V of 

the Texas Constitution.  The constitutional provision 

provides for the governor to appoint the judge to 

serve until the next general election. See § 24.026, 

Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Requires statutory county court judges to be U.S. 

citizens. See § 25.0014, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Prohibits statutory county court judges from 

engaging in the private practice of law.  The 

provision applies only to judges elected on or after 

the effective date of the bill. 

See § 25.00161, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 4 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Establishes general provisions for statutory probate 

court judges concerning qualifications for office, a 

prohibition on the private practice of law, and terms 

of courts.  Eliminates provisions on the foregoing 

subjects contained in statutes specific to each 

statutory probate court. See §§ 25.0033, 25.0034, 

25.0035,  Gov’t Code. See also Judicial 

Administration.  

 

SJR 37 – Effective upon voter approval . 

The constitution currently provides that an individual 

automatically resigns from his/her current office if he 

or she were to become a candidate for another elected 

office with more than one year remaining on the 

current term of office. The resolution seeks a 

constitutional amendment that would add an 

additional 30 days to the existing language, making 

the unexpired term of the office then held not to 

exceed one year and 30 days. See Art. XVI, §65(b), 

Texas Constitution.  

 

 

Juries 

 

HB 79, Article 3 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Declares that all grand and petit jurors selected in a 

county before a new district court is created are 

considered to have been selected as jurors for the new 

district court. See § 24.027, Gov’t Code. See also 

Grand Juries. 

 

HB 174 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires the Juror Questionnaire developed and 

maintained by the Office of Court Administration to 

notify a person who states he or she is not a citizen, 

that the person will no longer be eligible to vote if the 

person fails to provide proof of citizenship.  Also, 

requires a similar notice on a jury summons.  See §§ 

62.0132, 62.0142, Gov’t Code. See also Office of 

Court Administration.  

 

HB 174 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires the Secretary of State to send notice to the 

voter registrar of the appropriate county of the fact 

that the Secretary of State has determined that a voter 

on the registration list is deceased or has been 

excused or disqualified from jury service because the 

voter is not a citizen. See § 18.068, Election Code. 

See also Office of Court Administration.  
 

HB 174 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Expands the parties to whom a court clerk must send 

a monthly list of  persons disqualified from jury 

service because of citizenship issues.  Currently, the 

only party to whom the clerk must send the list is the 

voter registrar.  The new parties to whom the list 

must be sent are: (1) the secretary of state; and (2) the 
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county or district attorney, as applicable, for an 

investigation of whether the person committed an 

offense under Section 13.007 of the Election Code or 

other law. See §62.113, Gov’t Code. See also 

County Clerks; District Clerks; Justices of the 

Peace and Municipal Judges.  
 

HB 2717 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Allows exemption from jury service if person’s jury 

service would require leaving child younger than 12 

without adequate supervision.  Current law allows the 

same exemption for children under 15.  See § 

62.106(a), Gov’t Code. 

 

SB 1, Article 40 (First Called Session) – Effective 

9/28/11. 

Changes the minimum amount that jurors are to 

receive for their second and subsequent days of 

service from $40 to an amount “not less than the 

amount provided in the general appropriations act.  

The exact amount has been calculated by the 

Comptroller’s Office to be $28. See §§ 61.001, 

61.0015, Gov’t Code. See also Office of Court 

Administration; Supreme Court. 

 

SB 85 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Replaces references to the tax assessor-collector with 

references to the voter registrar in matters concerning 

the establishment of exemptions from jury service. 

See §§ 62.107 – 62.019, Gov’t Code. 

 

 

Justices of the Peace and Municipal Judges 

 

HB 79, Article 5 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Requires justices of the peace to complete ten hours 

of the requisite 20 hours of annual judicial education 

in the area of substantive, procedural, and evidentiary 

law in civil matters.  See §§ 27.005, Gov’t Code.  

See also Judicial Education. 

 

HB 79, Article 5  (First Called Session) – Effective 

5/1/13. 

Discontinues small claims courts on May 1, 2013.  

Directs justices of the peace to transfer all cases 

pending  in the small claims court to the justice court 

immediately before May 1, 2013.  Calls for justice 

courts, beginning May 1, 2013, to conduct justice 

court proceedings in small claims cases in accordance 

with new rules of civil procedure promulgated by the 

Supreme Court.  Directs the Supreme Court to 

promulgate the new rules not later than May 1, 2013. 

The new rules must define the term “small claims 

cases.”   The new rules must ensure the fair, 

expeditious, and inexpensive resolution of small 

claims cases.  Other guidelines for the new rules are 

delineated.  Also requires the Supreme Court to 

promulgate rules providing specific procedures for 

actions by: (1) an assignee of a claims or other person 

seeking to bring an action on an assigned claim; (2) a 

person primarily engaged in the business of lending 

money at interest; and (3) a collection agency or 

collection agent.  None of the foregoing rules 

promulgated by the Supreme Court are require that a 

party in a case be represented by an attorney.  

Another requirement is that the rules may not be so 

complex that a reasonable person without legal 

training would have difficulty understanding or 

applying the rules.  Any committee established by the 

Supreme Court to recommend the rules to be adopted 

is required to include justices of the peace.  Separate 

and apart from the foregoing rules, requires the 

Supreme Court to promulgate rules for eviction 

proceedings by May 1, 2013.  See §§ 27.060,  

Chapter 28 Gov’t Code. See also Court 

Jurisdiction; Supreme Court. 

 

HB 79, Article 5 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Directs justices of the peace in each county to adopt 

local rules of administration by a majority vote of the 

justices.  The rules must address the transfer of 

pending civil and criminal cases from one precinct to 

a different precinct. See § 15.0821, Civ. Prac. & 

Rem. Code; § 27.061, Gov’t Code; Art. 4.12, Code of 

Crim. Proc. See also Judicial Administration. 

 

HB 174 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Expands the parties to whom a court clerk must send 

a monthly list of  persons disqualified from jury 

service because of citizenship issues.  Currently, the 

only party to whom the clerk must send the list is the 

voter registrar.  The new parties to whom the list 

must be sent are: (1) the secretary of state; and (2) the 

county or district attorney, as applicable, for an 

investigation of whether the person committed an 

offense under Section 13.007 of the Election Code or 

other law. See §62.113, Gov’t Code. See also 

County Clerks; District Clerks; Juries.  

 

HB 350 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Permits judge to require convicted criminal defendant 

younger than 17 to satisfy fine and court costs by 

performing community service or attending tutoring.  

Only applies to convictions for Class C 

misdemeanors occurring in building or on grounds of 

secondary school in which defendant is enrolled. See 

Art. 45.0492, Code of Crim. Proc. See also Costs,  

Fees, Fines and Collections. 

HB 961 – Effective 6/17/11. 
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Makes records of a child convicted of a fine-only 

misdemeanor other than a traffic offense confidential 

once the child has satisfied the judgment.  Such 

records may not be released to the general public.  

The records are open, however, to specified persons 

including the child and the child’s parents.  Repeals 

provisions in Section 411.081(f-1) of the Government 

Code concerning orders of nondisclosure of such 
records. See Arts. 44.2811, 45.0217, Code of Crim. 

Proc.; § 58.00711, Family Code. See also Open 

Records. 

 

HB 984 – Effective 5/19/11. 

Authorizes neighboring municipalities to enter 

agreement establishing concurrent jurisdiction of the 

municipal courts in those municipalities. See Art. 
4.14, Code of Crim. Proc., § 29.003, Gov’t Code. See 

also Court Jurisdiction. 

 

HB 1111 – Effective 1/1/12. 

Guides justice courts on issuing writs of possession 

in appeals of eviction suits by tenants who have filed 

a pauper’s affidavit to appeal the case. See §§ 24.004, 

24.0053, 24.0054, Prop. Code. 

 

HB 1573 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires clerk of court that does not provide Internet 

access to the court’s criminal case records to post in a 

designated place in the courthouse notice of a 

prospective criminal court docket setting as soon as 

the court notifies the clerk of the summer.  Under 

current law, the clerk is required to post such notice 

not less than 48 hours before the docket setting. See 

Art. 17.085, Code of Crim. Proc. See also County 

Clerks; District Clerks. 

 

HB 1889 – Effective 1/1/12. 

Creates a municipal court of record in the City of 

Mesquite. See §§ 30.01891 – 30.01895, Gov’t Code. 

See also Additional Courts. 

 

HB 1964 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes judges to require defendants  younger 

than 17 to discharge fines and costs assessed for 

conviction of a Class C misdemeanor by performing 

community service. See Art. 45.0492, Code of Crim. 

Proc. See also Costs, Fees, Fines and Collections. 

 

HB 2425 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires a court to give notice to the attorney general 

of any action in which a party to the litigation files a 

petition or motion challenging the constitutionality of 

a Texas statute.  The requirement applies only if the 

attorney general is not a party to or counsel involved 

in the litigation.  Presumably, the requirement is 

applicable in both civil and criminal cases.  The 

notice is to include a copy of the petition or motion.  

Also, the notice is to identify the statute in question 

and the basis for the challenge.  The notice is to be 

given to the attorney general by certified or registered 

mail or by e-mail.  The e-mail address to be used to 

give notice is const_claims@oag.state.tx.us. See § 

402.010, Gov’t Code. See also County Clerks; 

District Clerks.  

 

HB 2949 – Efffective 9/1/11. 

Requires courts to “immediately” notify DPS when 

no cause exists to continue to deny renewal of 

person’s driver’s license.  Applies to cases in which 

person’s driver’s license was not to be renewed for 

failure to appear or failure to pay fines and court 

costs. See § 7706.005(a), Transp. Code. See also 

Costs, Fees, Fines and Collections. 

 

SB 1, Article 69 (First Called Session) – Effective 

9/28/11. 

Abolishes the $0.15 court cost assessed upon 

conviction of an offense under Section 545.412 

(Child Passenger Safety Seat Offenses).  Repeals  

§ 545.412(b-1), Trans. Code. See also Costs, Fees, 

Fines, and Collections. 

 

SB 469 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Directs courts to collect unpaid tolls, administrative 

fees, and third-party collection service fees from 

persons convicted of the offense of failing to pay a 

toll.  The foregoing fees are to be collected before 

fines and court costs are collected. See § 366.178, 

Trans. Code. See also Costs, Fees, Fines, and 

Collections. 

 

SB 480 – Effective 6/17/11.  (HB 3475 passed on 

same subject – effective 9/1/11.) 

Establishes procedures regarding recusal and 

disqualification of municipal judges. See §§ 29.051 – 

29.060, Gov’t Code. 

 

SB 480 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires municipal secretary to provide Texas 

Judicial Council with name of mayor, municipal 

judge, and municipal clerk within 30 days of election 

or appointment to office. See § 29.013, Gov’t Code.  

See also Office of Court Administration. 

 

SB 480 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Permits defendant to appeal judgment of municipal 

court of record to the court of appeals even if 

assessed fine does not exceed $100.  Such an appeal 

is authorized, however, only if sole issue is 

constitutionality of statute or ordinance on which 

defendant’s conviction is based.  Effectively 

overrules Alexander v. State, 240 S.W.3d 72 (Tex. 

mailto:const_claims@oag.state.tx.us


22 

App. – Austin 2007, no pet.). See § 30.00027, Gov’t 

Code. See also Appellate Courts. 

 

SB 519 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Expands time to make motion for new trial in 

criminal case in justice and municipal court from one 

day to five days. See Art. 45.037, Code of Crim. 

Proc. See also Criminal Law and Procedure. 

 

SB 1320 - Effective 9/1/11. 

Prohibits use of contracts for deeds in certain 

circumstances.  Declares that justice courts do not 

have jurisdiction in a forcible entry and detainer suit 

if the defendant files a sworn statement alleging the 

suit is based on a deed executed in violation of the 

provisions contained in this bill.  See  Chapter 21, 

Bus. and Comm.; §121.005(a), Property Code. 

 

SB 1330 - Effective 9/1/11 (applies only to offenses 

committed on or after 1/1/12). 

Authorizes judges to require drivers younger than 25 

who commit a traffic offense that is a moving 

violation to complete a special driving safety course.  

The special course is in addition to the regular 

statutorily-required driving safety course. See Art. 

45.051, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 1331 – Effective 9/1/11.  

Makes certain age-based alcohol offenses 

inapplicable to first minor to seek emergency 

assistance for possible alcohol overdose of another 

minor. See §§ 106.04, 106.05, Alco. Bev. Code. See 

also Criminal Law and Procedure. 

 

SB 1386 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes county tax assessor-collector to refuse to 

register vehicle owned by person who has failed to 

appear for criminal proceeding in county.   Gives 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) the same right 

of refusal.  Sets amount of discretionary fee charged 

for failing to pay fine and court costs by due date or 

for failure to appear at $20.  The $20 fee may only be 

assessed if county has contract to provide certain 

information to DMV. See §§ 502.185, 702.003, 

Transp. Code. See also Costs, Fees, Fines and 

Collections.   
 

SB 1489 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Restricts individuals who can be convicted of failure 

to attend school to persons 12 or older and younger 

than 18.  Provides for expunctions of failure-to-

attend-school offenses to be obtained in a wider 

variety of circumstances.  Authorizes courts to 

dismiss failure-to-attend-school charges in certain 

circumstances. See Arts. 45.054, 45.055, Code of 

Crim. Proc.; § 25.094, Educ. Code; § 51.03, Fam. 

Code. See also Criminal Law and Procedure. 

 

SB 1521 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Expands permissible uses of municipal court building 

security fund to include warrant officers and related 

equipment. See Art. 102.017, Code of Crim. Proc. 

See also Costs, Fees, Fines and Collections. 

 

 

Juvenile Justice 

 

HB 2015 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Clarifies that, in the context of the juvenile justice 

system, engaging in prostitution is conduct that 

indicates a minor’s need for supervision.  Requires 

the sealing of records concerning a child found to 

have engaged in prostitution.  See §§ 51.03(b), 

58.003 Fam. Code. See also Open Records. 

 

SB 61 - Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires governing body of governmental entity 

employing juvenile case manager to adopt rules by 

December 1, 2011, providing for a code of ethics and 

for enforcement of the code of ethics, appropriate 

educational pre-service and in-service training 

standards, and training in seven specified areas.  

Also, expands the types of expenses which can be 

paid from the juvenile case manager fund.  See Arts. 

45.056, 102.0174, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 209 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Adds municipalities as entities which may employ 

juvenile case managers. Requires juvenile case 

managers to give priority to (rather than work 

primarily on) truancy cases.  Requires juvenile case 

managers to report to the judge with information and 

recommendations.  Requires judge to consult with 

juvenile case manager concerning child’s home 

environment and other factors relevant to assisting 

the judge in making decisions that are in the best 

interest of the child.  See Art. 45.056, Code of Crim. 

Proc.   

 

SB 653 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Abolishes he Texas Youth Commission (TYC) and 

Texas Juvenile Probation Commission (TJPC) and 

transfers their functions to a newly created state 

agency, the Texas Juvenile Justice Department. 

Establishes a Governor appointed 13 member Texas 

Juvenile Justice Board serving staggered six year 

terms to govern the new Department. Establishes a 

transition team to coordinate and oversee the 

transition of services and facilities from TYC and  
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TJPC into the new Department. Establishes a 13-

member advisory council on juvenile services with 

members serving staggered two year terms. See Title 

12, Hum. Res. Code. 

 

SB 1208 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Extends the juvenile court's jurisdiction over a 

juvenile on determinate sentence probation until the 

juvenile reaches 19 years of age, rather than 18. See § 

54.04, Fam. Code. 

 

SB 1209 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Permits a juvenile court to order a child who is under 

17 years of age who has been transferred for 

prosecution in a criminal court for a felony to be 

detained in a juvenile detention facility. Requires a 

juvenile board to establish a policy regarding transfer 

and detention of a person less than 17 years of age 

who is pending criminal prosecution in an adult trial. 

Authorizes the judge of the criminal court with 

jurisdiction over a child who is pending criminal 

prosecution to order the child to be transferred to 

another facility and treated as an adult. Specifies that 

a person who has been transferred for prosecution in 

a criminal court for a felony who is under 17 years of 

age is considered a child and would be required to be 

separated from adults detained in the same building. 

Requires district courts to give preference to cases 

pending against children transferred to criminal court 

when the child is detained with adults. See §§ 51.12, 

51.13, 54.02, Fam. Code; § 152.0015, Hum. Res. 

Code; Art. 4.19, Code of Crim. Proc.; § 23.101, 

Gov’t Code. 

 

SB 1421 Effective - 9/1/11. 

Authorizes county, justice and municipal courts 

exercising jurisdiction over a juvenile to access 

information in the juvenile justice information 

system. See § 58.106, Fam. Code. See also Open 

Records. 

 

SB 1617 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Permits a juvenile court to reconsider a decision to 

retain jurisdiction over an offense alleged to have 

been committed by a juvenile if the offense came out 

of a criminal transaction for which the juvenile court 

retained jurisdiction over other offenses related to the 

transaction; and on or before the date the juvenile 

court retained its jurisdiction, one or more of the 

elements of the offense had not occurred. Applies 

option only if the second prosecution was for murder, 

capital murder, manslaughter, criminally negligent 

homicide, or intoxication manslaughter.  See § 54.02, 

Fam. Code. 

 

 

Magisterial Duties 

 

HB 976 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Continues current practice of authorizing magistrates 

to issue arrest warrant when person makes oath 

before magistrate that another has committed a 

criminal offense.  Allows person making oath to 

appear before magistrate through an electronic 

broadcast system instead of only in person as is the 

case under current law. See Art.15.03, Code of Crim. 

Proc. 

 

 

Office of Court Administration 

 

HB 79, Article 7 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Provides guidelines for the determination of cases 

requiring additional resources.  Creates the Judicial 

Committee for Additional Resources.  The 

Committee’s primary function is to evaluate special 

needs cases or extraordinary events impacting the 

courts and to direct additional resources to those 

cases.  Such additional resources can include the 

assignment of visiting judges, additional legal and 

administrative personnel, information and 

communication technology, specialized continuing 

education, and special accommodations or 

furnishings.  No funding is appropriated for 

additional resources but creation of the Committee 

provides a legal structure for the assignment of 

judicial resources.  The Committee is composed of 

the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and the nine 

presiding judges of the administrative judicial 

regions.  The Chief Justice serves as the Committee’s 

presiding officer.  The Office of Court 

Administration provides staff support to the 

Committee.  Requires the Supreme Court to adopt 

rules under which the courts, the presiding judges of 

the administrative judicial regions, and the 

Committee may determine whether a civil case 

requires additional resources to ensure efficient 

judicial management of the case.  See §§ 74.251-

74.257, Gov’t Code. See also Judicial 

Administration; Supreme Court. 

 

HB 79, Article 8 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Directs the Office of Court Administration to develop 

and administer a program to provide grants from 

available funds to counties for initiatives that will 

enhance their court systems.  The Judicial Committee 

for Additional Resources is to determine whether to 

award a grant.  However, no state funds may be used 

to provide a grant.  Gifts, grants and donations may 
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be accepted.  Additionally, no state funds may be 

used to administer the grant program.  See § 72.029, 

Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 9 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Permits a person found to be a vexatious litigant to 

appeal the order of a court prohibiting the person  

from filing new litigation in propria persona in the 

courts of Texas.  Additionally, authorizes a litigant to 

challenge by means of an application for a writ of 

mandamus with the court of appeals, the decision of a 

local administrative judge denying the litigant special 

permission to file a litigation.  Prohibits the clerk of a 

court from filing any original proceeding, appeal or 

other claim presented by a vexatious litigant except 

for the appeal and application for writ of mandamus 

mentioned above.  Requires the clerk of a court to 

provide the Office of Court Administration with a 

copy of any prefiling order issued under Section 

11.101 of the Civil Practice and Remedies Code not 

later than the 30
th

 day after the date the prefiling 

order is signed.  Clerks are currently required to 

make such a report, but the 30-day directive is new.  

Requires the Office of Court Administration to post a 

list of vexatious litigants subject to prefiling orders 

on the Office’s Internet website.  Further directs that, 

upon the request of a person on the list, the list 

indicate whether the person has filed an appeal of the 

prefiling order. See §§ 11.101 - 11.104, Civ. Prac. & 

Rem. Code. See also Appellate Courts; County 

Clerks; District Clerks; Supreme Court. 

 

HB 79, Article 10 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Directs the Office of Court Administration to conduct 

a study regarding the feasibility, efficiency, and 

potential cost of converting statutory county courts 

with civil case jurisdiction in excess of $200,000 into 

district courts. See ARTICLE 10 of HB 79. 

 

HB 174 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires the Juror Questionnaire developed and 

maintained by the Office of Court Administration to 

notify a person who states he or she is not a citizen, 

that the person will no longer be eligible to vote if the 

person fails to provide proof of citizenship. Also, 

requires a similar notice on a jury summons.  See §§ 

62.0132, 62.0142 Gov’t Code. See also Juries.  

 

HB 1614 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Allows the Process Server Review Board to 

recommend fees to the Texas Supreme Court that 

would be charged for process server certification and 

certification renewal.  The fees would have to be 

approved by the Texas Supreme Court before they 

could be collected.  Fees would be prorated to cover 

periods less than a full term.  The Office of Court 

Administration would collect the fees, which would 

be sent to the comptroller for deposit into the General 

Revenue Fund.  See §51.008, Government Code. See 

also Other Court Actors.   

 

HB 1781 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires the Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal 

Appeals, the intermediate courts of appeals, and OCA 

to identify obsolete reporting requirements.  A report 

concerning such requirements is to be submitted to 

the governor and others by August 1, 2012. See §§ 

2052.401, 2052.402, Gov’t Code.  See also 

Appellate Courts; Court of Criminal Appeals; 

Supreme Court.   
 

HB 2014 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Adds trafficking of persons and prostitution to list of 

offenses that affect an individual’s ability to receive a 

TABC license or permit.  Adds trafficking of persons 

and compelling prostitution to the list of offenses 

that, where the victim is a child and subject to certain 

other requirements, may justify a defendant being 

denied bail.  Requires the court to order a defendant 

convicted of trafficking of persons or compelling 

prostitution when the victim is under 18 years of age 

to pay restitution for the victim’s rehabilitation costs.  

Adds trafficking of persons and compelling 

prostitution to the list of crimes against children that 

require specific community supervision guidelines.  

Adds trafficking of persons and compelling 

prostitution to the list of offenses requiring the 

victim’s age to be tracked in a computerized criminal 

history system.  Requires district courts and county 

courts at law to report monthly the number of cases 

filed for trafficking of persons, prostitution, and 

compelling prostitution to the Office of Court 

Administration.  Elevates soliciting a prostitute to a 

third degree felony if the person solicited is 14-18 

years old and a second degree felony if the person 

solicited is younger than 14 years of age.  Elevates 

employment of a child in a sexually oriented 

commercial activity from a Class A misdemeanor to 

a second degree felony, or a first degree felony if the 

child is younger than 4 years of age.  See §§ 11.44(b), 

11.46(c), 11.64(a), 61.42(c) Alcoholic Beverage 

Code, Arts. 17.153(a), 42.0372, 42.12 § 13B(b), 

59.01(2), 60.051(g) Code Crim. Proc., § 71.0353, 

411.042(b), 508.187(a), 772.006 (e) and (f) Gov’t 

Code, §§ 25.08(c), 43.02(c), 43.251(c) Penal Code. 

See also Criminal Law and Procedure. 
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SB 1, Article 39 (First Called Session) – Effective 

9/28/11. 

Directs the Office of Court Administration to 

establish a “certification division” to oversee the 

regulatory programs assigned to the Office such as 

the Process Servers Certification Board, the 

Guardianship Certification Board, and the Court 

Reporter Certification Board.  Directs that fees 

collected for process server certification (see HB 

1614) be used for the support of regulatory programs 

for process servers, guardians, and court reporters. 

See §§ 51.008, 72.014, Gov’t Code. See also Other 

Court Actors. 

 

SB 480 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires municipal secretary to provide Texas 

Judicial Council with name of mayor, municipal 

judge, and municipal clerk within 30 days of election 

or appointment to office. See § 29.03, Gov’t Code. 

See also Justices of the Peace and Municipal 

Judges. 

 

SB 701 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires state agencies to post “high-value data 

sets”, which include, but are not limited to, data that 

is critical to the financial and programmatic function 

of an agency, in an open standard, raw data format on 

a generally accessible website.  See § 2054.1265, 

Gov’t Code. 

 

 

Open Records 

 

HB 961 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Makes records of a child convicted of a fine-only 

misdemeanor other than a traffic offense confidential 

once the child has satisfied the judgment.  Such 

records may not be released to the general public.  

The records are open, however, to specified persons 

including the child and the child’s parents.  Repeals 

provisions in Section 411.081(f-1) of the Government 

Code concerning orders of nondisclosure of such 
records. See Arts. 44.2811, 45.0217, Code of Crim. 

Proc.; § 58.00711, Family Code. See also Justices of 

the Peace and Municipal Judges. 

 

HB 1559 – Effective 5/30/11. 

Requires Texas State Library and Archives 

Commission to adopt rules for the retention of court 

documents filed prior to January 1, 1951. See §§ 

441.025, 441.026, Gov’t Code. 

 

 

 

 

HB 1573 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Clarifies that an indictment may not be made public 

if the defendant is not in custody or under bond. See 

Art. 20.22, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

HB 2015 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Clarifies that, in the context of the juvenile justice 

system, engaging in prostitution is conduct that 

indicates a minor’s need for supervision.  Requires 

the sealing of records concerning a child found to 

have engaged in prostitution.  See §§ 51.03(b), 

58.003 Fam. Code. See also Juvenile Justice. 

 

HB 2488 – Effective 5/30/11. 

Requires custodian of medical, mental health, or drug 

or alcohol treatment record of a child that is 

privileged or confidential under other law to release 

the record, with certain exceptions related to drug or 

alcohol treatment records, to the child’s attorney ad 

litem, guardian ad litem, or amicus attorney without 

an additional order or release.  See §§ 107.006, Fam. 

Code. 

 

SB 407 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Creates the offense of “electronic transmission of 

certain visual material depicting minor.”  Establishes 

procedures related to such cases.  Authorizes the 

sealing of records related to offenses committed by 

children.  Requires the development of related 

educational programs. See Art. 6.09, Art. 42.12, Sec. 

13H, 45.0216, 45.061, Code of Crim. Proc.; § 37.218, 

Educ. Code; § 54.0404, Family Code; § 43.261, 

Penal Code. See also Criminal law and Procedure. 

 

SB 1421 Effective - 9/1/11. 

Authorizes county, justice and municipal courts 

exercising jurisdiction over a juvenile to access 

information in the juvenile justice information 

system. See § 58.106, Fam. Code. See also Juvenile 

Justice. 

 

 

Other Court Actors 

 

HB 778 (SB 604, Identical Companion) – Effective 

9/1/11.   

Permits licensed jailers who have completed training 

program to execute lawful process (e.g.. warrant, 

capias, subpoena, attachment)  upon a person 

confined in the jail at which the jailer is employed, 

See Art. 2.31, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

HB 962 – Effective 1/1/12. 

Eliminates the current requirement that a process 

server sign a return of service before a person 
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authorized by law to make affidavits such as a notary 

public. See §§ 17.030, 17.065(b), Civ. Prac. & Rem. 

Code. 

 

HB 1381 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes service of process on a TDCJ inmate by 

serving a designated employee at a particular TDCJ 

facility. See § 17.029, Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code. 

 

HB 1614 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Allows the Process Server Review Board to 

recommend fees to the Texas Supreme Court that 

would be charged for process server certification and 

certification renewal.  The fees would have to be 

approved by the Texas Supreme Court before they 

could be collected.  Fees would be prorated to cover 

periods less than a full term.  The Office of Court 

Administration would collect the fees, which would 

be sent to the comptroller for deposit into the General 

Revenue Fund.  See §51.008, Government Code. See 

also Office of Court Administration; Supreme 

Court. 

 

SB 1, Article 39 (First Called Session) – Effective 

9/28/11. 

Directs the Office of Court Administration to 

establish a “certification division” to oversee the 

regulatory programs assigned to the Office such as 

the Process Server Review Board, the Guardianship 

Certification Board, and the Court Reporter 

Certification Board.  Directs that fees collected for 

process server certification (see HB 1614) be used for 

the support of regulatory programs for process 

servers, guardians, and court reporters. See §§ 

51.008, 72.014, Gov’t Code. See also Office of 

Court Administration. 

 

SB 1, Article 39 (First Called Session) – Effective 

9/28/11. 

Clarifies that a person appointed to the Process 

Server Review Board serves without compensation 

but is entitled to reimbursement for actual and  

necessary expenses incurred in traveling and 

performing board duties. See § 72.013, Gov’t Code. 

See also Office of Court Administration; Supreme 

Court. 

 

SB 604 (HB 778, Identical Companion) – Effective 

9/1/11. 

Permits licensed jailers who have completed training 

program to execute lawful process (e.g.. warrant, 

capias, subpoena, attachment)  upon a person 

confined in the jail at which the jailer is employed, 

See Article 2.31, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

 

SB 652 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Changes the sunset date of several agencies and 

boards, including the Court Reporters Certification 

Board (from 9/1/15 to 9/1/17), Process Server 

Review Board (reviewed by 9/1/17 but may not be 

abolished), Licensed Court Interpreter Advisory 

Board (from 9/1/13 to 9/1/17), State Bar (from 9/1/15 

to 9/1/17), and the Board of Law Examiners (from 

9/1/15 to 9/1/17).  See §§ 52.014, 57.051, 72.091, 

81.003, 82.006, Gov’t Code. 

 

SB 877 – Effective 5/19/11.   

Provides that a surety is to be released from liability 

by filing an affidavit with the sheriff’s office  in the 

county where the prosecution is pending and the 

office of the prosecuting attorney stating that the 

accused is in custody.  Requires, upon receipt, the 

sheriff to verify incarceration, thereafter contacting 

the magistrate for a warrant.  Affidavit and 

verification must be filed in court file. See Art. 17.16, 

Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 1233 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Authorizes court in border county to appoint a 

language interpreter who is not a licensed court 

interpreter.  See § 57.002(d-1), Gov’t Code. 

 

 

Probate, Guardianships and Mental Health 

 

HB 167 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Permits court to authorize transportation of person to  

mental health facility by, in order of priority, a 

special officer for mental health assignment, the 

facility administrator of the designated mental health 

facility, a relative or other responsible person, a 

representative of the local mental health authority, a 

qualified transportation service provider selected 

from a list established by the county commissioners 

court, or the sheriff or constable.  Authorizes the 

commissioners court to establish and maintain a list 

of qualified transportation service providers, establish 

procedures for a person to be included on the list, and 

contract with qualified service providers.  Requires 

the Department of State Health Services to prescribe 

uniform standards that must be met to be listed as a 

qualified transportation service provider and 

standards governing how the transportation of a 

person to a mental health facility must be provided.  

See §§ 574.045, 574.0455, Health & Safety Code. 

 

HB 549 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Prohibits a person otherwise authorized to control the 

disposition of a decedent’s remains from controlling 

the disposition if the person has been indicted for an 
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offense involving family violence in connection with 

the decedent’s death.  Makes the court’s authority 

under Section 115(c), Probate Code, to limit the right 

of a surviving spouse to control the burial and 

interment or cremation of the deceased spouse 

subject to this prohibition.  See § 711.001, Health & 

Safety Code; § 115(c), Probate Code. 

 

HB 1829 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Adds to a judge’s and magistrate’s authority to 

permit a physician to present an application for 

emergency detention of a person with a mental illness 

by secure electronic means the ability to permit the 

application as a secure attachment to an email.  

Authorizes the judge or magistrate to transmit a 

warrant to the applicant electronically if a digital 

signature is transmitted or by email if the warrant is 

attached as a secure document and the identifiable 

legal signature of the judge or magistrate is 

transmitted.  See §§ 573.012, 573.022, Health & 

Safety Code. 

 

HB 1830 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Authorizes statutory probate court associate judges to 

give notice to parties by electronic mail.  See § 

54.614, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 2096 – Effective 09/01/11.   

Provides that a patient in a mental health facility who 

files a writ of habeas corpus must file in the court of 

appeals for the county in which the commitment 

order was entered.  See § 576.003, Health & Safety 

Code. 

 

HB 3342 - Effective 6/17/11. 

Relates to representation of and by the state and 

joinder of the state in certain mental health 

proceedings.  Requires that a petition for a writ of 

habeas corpus arising from a commitment order be 

filed in the court of appeals for the county in which 

the order is entered and adds a requirement of 

representation by the state in a hearing held under 

Subchapter G, Chapter 574 of the Health and Safety 

Code.  See §§ 571.016, 571.0167 Health and Safety 

Code. 

 

SB 1, Article 66 (First Called Session) – Effective 

9/28/11. 

Amends provisions regarding in-state transfers of 

guardianship matters; transfer instead of removal; 

standard is best interest of the ward.  Amends 

provisions regarding acceptance of out-of-state 

guardianships.  Permits assessment of fees and costs 

against party seeking court’s jurisdiction if the party 

engaged in unjustifiable conduct. See §§ 263.601 

263.603, 263.609, Family Code; §§ 612-619, 892-

894, Probate Code. 

 

SB 118 – Effective 9/1/11.  

Authorizes judge to order a proposed patient to 

receive court-ordered extended outpatient mental 

health services if patient has received a total of at 

least 60 days (rather than consecutive days) of court-

ordered inpatient mental health services within the 

preceding 12 months.  Also authorizes the judge to 

order extended outpatient mental health services if a 

patient has received court-ordered outpatient mental 

health services under Subtitle C, Title 7, Health and 

Safety Code, or under Subchapter D or E, Chapter 

46B, Code of Criminal Procedure, during the 

preceding 60 days.  Requires that an application for 

inpatient mental health services must state that the 

person has received court-ordered inpatient mental 

health services under Subtitle C, Title 7, Health and 

Safety Code, or under Subchapter D or E, Chapter 

46B, Code of Criminal Procedure, for at least 60 

consecutive days during the preceding 12 months.  

See §§ 574.002(b), 574.035(b), Health & Safety 

Code. 

 

SB 220 – Effective 9/1/11. 

When issuing a citation stating that an application for 

guardianship was filed, requires a court clerk to 

include a statement informing certain persons of their 

right to notice concerning the guardianship 

proceedings.  Permits a ward or proposed ward to 

retain an attorney instead of accepting representation 

by an attorney ad litem.  In a proceeding to remove a 

guardian for bad acts, requires the court to appoint a 

guardian ad litem and an attorney ad litem (or one 

person in the dual role, unless a conflict exists).  See 

§ 111.042(a) Gov’t Code, § 32.02451 Human 

Resources Code, §§ 161.109, 161.111, 161.114 

Human Resources Code, §§ 633, 670, 682, 697B, 761 

Probate Code. See also County Clerks. 

 

SB 481 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires the court clerk to issue notice of an order 

removing a guardian without prior notice under 

certain portions of Section 761, Probate Code.  

Requires that the removed guardian be served not 

later than the seventh day after the removal order was 

signed.  Extends the time period within which the 

removed guardian may file for reinstatement from 10 

to 30 days.  Requires that a court hold a hearing on an 

application for reinstatement as soon as practicable, 

but not later than 60 days after the removal order was 

signed.  See §§ 761, 762, Probate Code. 
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SB 1196 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Amends numerous provisions of the guardianship 

chapter, Chapter XIII, of the Probate Code, including 

requiring all guardianship proceedings to be filed and 

heard in a court exercising original probate 

jurisdiction and explicitly defining matters related to 

a guardianship proceeding for counties without a 

statutory probate court.  Also describes guardianship 

jurisdiction for the various courts, clarifies certain 

attorney ad litem appointment issues, and replaces 

the five percent limit on compensation with a 

reasonable compensation standard.  See Chapter XII, 

Probate Code. 

 

SB 1198 – Article 1 of SB 1198 effective 9/1/11, 

except Section 37A, Probate Code takes effect 

6/17/11.  Article 2 takes effect 1/1/14. 

Amends Probate Code and Estates Code regarding 

venue, jurisdiction, heirship proceedings, notices, and 

independent administration.  Requires case files 

maintained by the county clerk for each decedent’s 

estate in which a probate proceeding has been filed to 

contain all affidavits in lieu of inventories, 

appraisements, and lists of claims.  Prohibits a 

survivorship agreement to create a right of 

survivorship in community property from being 

inferred from the mere fact that an account is a joint 

account or that the account is designated as JT TEN, 

Joint Tenancy, or joint, or with other similar 

language.  Makes changes relating to formalities of 

an agreement for a right of survivorship in 

community property and specifies that those changes 

are intended to overturn the ruling of the Texas 

Supreme court in Holmes v. Beatty, 290 S.W.3
rd

 852 

(Tex.2009).  Authorizes judge of a county court in a 

county in which there is no statutory probate court or 

county court at law exercising original probate 

jurisdiction, if that judge requests the assignment of a 

statutory probate court judge to hear a contested 

matter in a probate proceeding on the judge’s own 

motion or on the motion of a party to the proceeding, 

to request that the statutory probate court judge be 

assigned to the entire proceeding on the judge’s own 

motion or on the motion of a party.  Specifies that a 

statutory probate court judge assigned to an entire 

probate proceeding, as an alternative to a contested 

matter in the proceeding, has the jurisdiction and 

authority granted to a statutory probate court.  

Requires a statutory probate court judge assigned to 

the entire probate proceeding, on resolution of the 

contested matter in the proceeding, including any 

appeal of the matter, to return the entire proceeding 

to the county court for further proceedings not 

inconsistent with the orders of the statutory probate 

court or court of appeals, as applicable.  See §§ 4D, 6, 

6A, 6B, 6C, 6D, 8, 8A, 8B, 452, Probate Code. 

Protective Orders 

 

HB 649 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires a court to issue a protective order where 

there are reasonable grounds to believe the applicant 

is the victim of sexual assault.  Removes existing 

requirements that victim be under 18 years of age or 

in threat of further harm.  See Arts. 7A.03, 7A.07 

Code Crim. Proc. 

 

HB 905 - Effective 9/1/11.   

Provides that a hearsay statement of child victim of 

family violence is admissible on an application for a 

protective order.  Applies only to applications made 

on or after the effective date. See § 84.006, Family 

Code. 

 

HB 1721 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires a court to issue a protective order if it finds 

that probable cause exists to believe the defendant 

committed the offense of stalking and that the 

defendant is likely to engage in future conduct 

prohibited by the stalking statute [§ 42.072(a)(1), (2), 

or (3) Penal Code].  Allows the hearsay statement of 

a child victim younger than 14 years old to be 

admitted as evidence in a hearing on an application 

for protective order.  See Arts. 6.09, 7A.035 Code 

Crim. Proc. 

 

HB 2329 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes county-level courts and district courts to 

issue protective orders for victims of human 

trafficking.  Allows victims of human trafficking to 

use a pseudonym instead of the victim’s name in all 

public records concerning the trafficking offense. See 

Chapter 7B, Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

HB 2624 – Effective 9/1/11. 

When the respondent is a member of the military, 

requires court clerks to provide a copy of a protective 

order to the staff judge advocate at Joint Force 

Headquarters or the provost marshal of the military 

installation to which the respondent is assigned with 

the intent that the commanding officer will be 

notified.  Requires peace officers investigating family 

violence to provide written notice to the staff judge 

advocate or provost marshal, when the suspect is a 

military member.  Requires court clerks to provide 

written notice of convictions and deferred 

adjudications related to family violence to the staff 

judge advocate or provost marshal, when the 

defendant is a military member.  Requires the 

presentence investigation of a military member who 

has served in active-duty status to determine whether 

the defendant may suffer from post-traumatic stress 
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disorder or a traumatic brain injury and to include the 

defendant’s military discharge records and military 

records.  See § 85.042 Fam. Code, Arts. 5.05, 

42.0182, 42.12 Code Crim. Proc. See also County 

Clerks; District Clerks. 

 

SB 116 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Expands the definition of dating violence in the 

context of protective orders, to include acts against a 

victim who is targeted for being in a relationship with 

the actor’s former  romantic partner.  See §§ 71.0021, 

82.002 Family Code. 

 

SB 218 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Prohibits the Department of Family and Protective 

Services from entering into case closure agreements 

requiring the adult residing with a child to take 

actions after the case is closed to ensure the child’s 

safety.  Establishes procedures for investigations in 

which the Department discovers a child younger than 

11 years of age has a sexually transmitted disease.  

Authorizes issuance of a protective order as an 

alternative to removal of a perpetrator.  Requires the 

Department to collaborate with parents in developing 

or modifying a service plan.  Waives the drivers 

license fee for a youth in the Department’s 

conservatorship.  Authorizes foster care redesign.  

See §§ 261.3013, 262.010, 262.1015, 263.103, 

263.104, 263.106, 264.118 Family Code, § 

411.114(3)(a) Gov’t Code, § 40.036 Human 

Resources Code, § 521.1811 Transportation Code. 

See also Family Law. 

 

SB 221 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Among several amendments to laws relating to 

protective services for elderly and disabled persons, 

specifies that an emergency order authorizing 

protective services for an elderly or disabled person 

for which consent cannot be obtained expires on the 

earlier of the end of the 10
th

 day after the order is 

rendered or the end of the 10
th

 day after the person 

was removed to safer surroundings if the order was 

rendered after the removal of the person to safer 

surroundings, rather than expiring at the end of 72 

hours from the time the order is rendered.  Authorizes 

the court to extend the emergency order after notice 

and hearing for a period of not more than 30 days and 

also to extend the order a second time for not more 

than an additional 30 days after notice and hearing.  

See § 59.006, Fin. Code; § 411.114, Gov’t Code; § 

142.018, Health & Safety Code; §§ 40.0315, 48.002, 

48.006, 48.053, 48.151, 48.152, 48.1522, 48.154, 

48.203, 48.204, 48.208, 48.405, Hum. Res. Code. 

 

 

 

SB 250 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Authorizes stalking victims to seek protective orders.  

See Arts. 7A.01, 7A.02, 7A.03 Code of Crim. Proc. 

 

SB 279 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Allows a court to include in a protective order a 

prohibition from removing, harming, or threatening a 

pet or assistance animal belonging to the person 

named in the order.    See §§ 85.021, 85.022 Family 

Code, § 25.07 Penal Code. 

 

SB 789 – Effective 9/1/11. 

For a protective order against family violence lasting 

more than 2 years, requires a finding that the person 

who is the subject of the order either caused serious 

bodily injury to the applicant or was the subject of 

two or more protective orders rendered to protect the 

same applicant.  See  §§ 85.001, 85.025, 87.002 

Family Code. 

 

SB 819 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Establishes that a court may enforce a protective 

order issued by another court and that a motion for 

enforcement may be filed in the county of the issuing 

court, the county in which a party resides, or the 

county in which a violation occurs.  Allows a child in 

a dating relationship to seek a protective order.  

Permits a child’s statement signed under oath on an 

application for temporary ex parte order.  Allows a 

court to recess a temporary ex parte order hearing to 

contact the respondent by telephone and give the 

respondent a chance to appear.  Requires the 

penalties of violating a protective order to be listed 

on the order.  See  §§ 81.010, 82.02, 82.09, 83.006, 

85.026 Family Code. 

 

 

Specialty Courts 

 

HB 1771 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Creates Specialty Courts Advisory Council within  

criminal justice division of Governor’s Office to  

evaluate applications for grant funding for specialty 

courts and make funding recommendations to  

criminal justice division.  See § 772.0061, Gov’t 

Code. 

 

HB 2496 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Creates guidelines for teen dating violence court 

programs.  Authorizes court to dismiss case with 

prejudice if child provides satisfactory evidence that 

child has successfully completed the program.  Also 

requires courts to track the number of children 

ordered to participate in teen dating violence court 

programs, the percentage of victims who meet with 
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the teen victim advocate, and the compliance rate of 

children ordered to participate in the program.  See § 

54.0325, Fam. Code and § 103.0210, Gov’t Code. 

 

 

Supreme Court 

 

HB 79, Article 2 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Redacts surplus language regarding the issuance of 

writs of mandamus by the Supreme Court. See § 

22.002, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 79, Article 5 (First Called Session) – Effective 

5/1/13. 

Discontinues small claims courts on May 1, 2013.  

Directs justices of the peace to transfer all cases 

pending  in the small claims court to the justice court 

immediately before May 1, 2013.  Calls for justice 

courts, beginning May 1, 2013, to conduct justice 

court proceedings in small claims cases in accordance 

with new rules of civil procedure promulgated by the 

Supreme Court.  Directs the Supreme Court to 

promulgate the new rules not later than May 1, 2013. 

The new rules must define the term “small claims 

cases.”   The new rules must ensure the fair, 

expeditious, and inexpensive resolution of small 

claims cases.  Other guidelines for the new rules are 

delineated.  Also requires the Supreme Court to 

promulgate rules providing specific procedures for 

actions by: (1) an assignee of a claims or other person 

seeking to bring an action on an assigned claim; (2) a 

person primarily engaged in the business of lending 

money at interest; and (3) a collection agency or 

collection agent.  None of the foregoing rules 

promulgated by the Supreme Court are require that a 

party in a case be represented by an attorney.  

Another requirement is that the rules may not be so 

complex that a reasonable person without legal 

training would have difficulty understanding or 

applying the rules.  Any committee established by the 

Supreme Court to recommend the rules to be adopted 

is required to include justices of the peace.  Separate 

and apart from the foregoing rules, requires the 

Supreme Court to promulgate rules for eviction 

proceedings by May 1, 2013.  See §§ 27.060,  

Chapter 28,  Gov’t Code. See also Court 

Jurisdiction; Justices of the Peace and Municipal 

Judges. 

 

HB 79, Article 7 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Provides guidelines for the determination of cases 

requiring additional resources.  Creates the Judicial 

Committee for Additional Resources.  The 

Committee’s primary function is to evaluate special 

needs cases or extraordinary events impacting the 

courts and to direct additional resources to those 

cases.  Such additional resources can include the 

assignment of visiting judges, additional legal and 

administrative personnel, information and 

communication technology, specialized continuing 

education, and special accommodations or 

furnishings.  No funding is appropriated for 

additional resources but creation of the Committee 

provides a legal structure for the assignment of 

judicial resources.  The Committee is composed of 

the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and the nine 

presiding judges of the administrative judicial 

regions.  The Chief Justice serves as the Committee’s 

presiding officer.  The Office of Court 

Administration provides staff support to the 

Committee.  Requires the Supreme Court to adopt 

rules under which the courts, the presiding judges of 

the administrative judicial regions, and the 

Committee may determine whether a civil case 

requires additional resources to ensure efficient 

judicial management of the case.  See §§ 74.251-

74.257, Gov’t Code. See also Judicial 

Administration; Office of Court Administration. 

 

HB 79, Article 7 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Requires the Supreme Court to request the president 

of the State Bar of Texas to appoint a task force to 

consider and make recommendations regarding rules 

for determining whether civil cases pending in a trial 

court require additional resources for efficient 

judicial management.   The task force is include 

judges and attorneys.  The task force is to provide 

recommendations on the rules to the Supreme Court 

by March 1, 2012.  Then the Supreme Court is to 

consider the recommendations of the task force and 

adopt rules by May 1, 2012. See SECTION 7.05 of 

HB 79.  

 

HB 79, Article 8  (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Directs the Permanent Judicial Commission for 

Children, Youth and Families, which is established 

by the Supreme Court, to develop and administer a 

program to provide grants from available funds for 

initiatives that will improve safety and permanency 

outcomes, enhance due process, or increase the 

timeliness of resolution in child protection cases.  

However, no state funds may be used to provide a 

grant.  Gifts, grants and donations may be accepted.  

Additionally, no state funds may be used to 

administer the grant program.  See § 22.017, Gov’t 

Code. 
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HB 79, Article 9 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Permits a person found to be a vexatious litigant to 

appeal the order of a court prohibiting the person  

from filing new litigation in propria persona in the 

courts of Texas.  Additionally, authorizes a litigant to 

challenge by means of an application for a writ of 

mandamus with the court of appeals, the decision of a 

local administrative judge denying the litigant special 

permission to file a litigation.  Prohibits the clerk of a 

court from filing any original proceeding, appeal or 

other claim presented by a vexatious litigant except 

for the appeal and application for writ of mandamus 

mentioned above.  Requires the clerk of a court to 

provide the Office of Court Administration with a 

copy of any prefiling order issued under Section 

11.101 of the Civil Practice and Remedies Code not 

later than the 30
th

 day after the date the prefiling 

order is signed.  Clerks are currently required to 

make such a report, but the 30-day directive is new.  

Requires the Office of Court Administration to post a 

list of vexatious litigants subject to prefiling orders 

on the Office’s Internet website.  Further directs that, 

upon the request of a person on the list, the list 

indicate whether the person has filed an appeal of the 

prefiling order. See §§ 11.101 - 11.104, Civ. Prac. & 

Rem. Code. See also Appellate Courts; County 

Clerks; District Clerks; Office of Court 

Administration. 

 

HB 79, Article 14 (First Called Session) – Effective 

1/1/12. 

Updates terminology used in statute on filing fees in 

the Supreme Court and the courts of appeals. See §§ 

51.005, 51.207, Gov’t Code. See also Appellate 

Courts; Costs, Fees, Fines and Collections. 

 

HB 274 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires Supreme Court to adopt rules providing for 

the dismissal of causes of action having no basis in 

law or fact.  Also requires Supreme Court to adopt 

rules promoting the prompt, efficient, and cost-

effective resolution of civil actions.  Addresses 

calculation of “litigation costs.” See § 42.004(d), Civ. 

Prac. & Rem. Code; § 22.004, Gov’t Code. 

 

HB 906 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Amends appellate procedures for child protection 

cases, including making final orders subject to 

procedures for accelerated appeals and requiring that 

information regarding the appeals process be 

included in the final order.  Also requires Supreme 

Court to adopt rules related to accelerated disposition 

of these cases by the appellate courts and requires 

that an attorney appointed for an indigent parent 

continue to represent the parent until all appeals are 

exhausted or the attorney is relieved or replaced by 

the court.  See §§ 107.013, 107.016, 109.002(a), 

263.405(a.), (b) and (c), Fam. Code. See also 

Associate Judges; Family Law. 

 

HB 962 – Effective 1/1/12. 

Requires Supreme Court to adopt rules of civil 

procedure requiring a person who serves process to 

complete a return of service. See §§ 17.030, 

17.065(b), Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code. 

 

HB 1228  Effective 9/1/11. 

Requires the Supreme Court to adopt rules 

establishing expedited foreclosure proceedings for 

use by a property owner’s association in foreclosing 

an assessment lien.  The rules must be adopted by 

January 1, 2012. See § 209.0092, Property Code.  

 

HB 1614 – Effective 9/1/11. 

Allows the Process Server Review Board to 

recommend fees to the Texas Supreme Court that 

would be charged for process server certification and 

certification renewal.  The fees would have to be 

approved by the Texas Supreme Court before they 

could be collected.  Fees would be prorated to cover 

periods less than a full term.  The Office of Court 

Administration would collect the fees, which would 

be sent to the comptroller for deposit into the General 

Revenue Fund.  See § 51.008, Government Code. See 

also Office of Court Administration; Other Court 

Actors. 

 

HB 1781 – Effective 6/17/11. 

Requires the Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal 

Appeals, the intermediate courts of appeals, and OCA 

to identify obsolete reporting requirements.  A report 

concerning such requirements is to be submitted to 

the governor and others by August 1, 2012. See §§ 

2052.401, 2052.402, Gov’t Code.  See also 

Appellate Courts; Court of Criminal Appeals; 

Office of Court Administration.    

 

SB 1, Article 79A (First Called Session) – Effective 

9/28/11. 

Makes certain  peace officer vouchers confidential 

for a period of 18 months.  Specifically, the vouchers 

are those submitted for payment or reimbursement of 

a travel expense incurred while assigned to provide 

protection for a state elected official or a member of 

the elected official’s family.  The Supreme Court is 

given original and exclusive mandamus jurisdiction 

ove r any dispute pertaining to the construction, 

applicability or constitutionality of the confidentiality 

provision.  The Supreme Court may appoint a master 

to assist in the resolution of any dispute.  Also, the 

Supreme Court may adopt rules as necessary to 
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govern the procedures for the resolution of any such 

dispute. See § 660.2035, Gov’t Code.  


