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OFFICIAL DISTRICT AND COUNTY COURT 
APPOINTMENTS AND FEES REPORT 

 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 
 
 

LEGAL REQUIREMENTS  
 

 
Texas Supreme Court Order No. 07-9188 and Section 71.035(b) of the Texas Government Code require each district 
clerk and county clerk to prepare a report each month listing each fee paid during that month in the amount of 
$500 or more for each appointment made by a judge of any district, county, or probate court, a court master, or 
court referee of a person to a position for which any type of fee may be paid in a civil, probate, or  family law 
case (proceeding governed by Titles 1, 2, or 4 of the Texas Family Code).  
 
The report is due no later than 20 days following the end of the month reported. 
 
The Supreme Court order also requires the clerk to make a copy of the report available for public inspection in the 
clerk’s office and to retain each report for at least two years following the date it is made available for public 
inspection. 
 
REQUIREMENTS FOR JUDGES 
 
To enable compliance by district clerks and county clerks with the reporting requirements described above, the 
following is required of judges (Supreme Court Order 07-9188): 
 

 each appointment is to be made by a written order; 
 

 each approval of the payment of a fee is to be accomplished by a separate written order; and 
 

 orders making appointments or approving the payment of fees are to be sufficiently specific to enable the 
clerks to prepare the required monthly reports. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

                                                                          Rev. May 1, 2015 

2 

WHAT TO REPORT 
 
A report must be submitted for each court in the county whether or not the court has activity or handles civil 
cases relevant to the Supreme Court order. 
 
Report: 
 

 Fee(s) paid during the month in the amount of $500 or more for an appointment in a civil, probate, or  
family law case and/or 

 No reportable activity for the month  
o for all the courts in the county if no activity in any of the courts served or 
o for a particular court in the county if no activity in a particular court served. 

 
EXAMPLE:  Submit a report for a $500 fee paid in the County Court at Law during the month; also submit 
a “No Reportable Activity” report for the County Court for the month because no fees were paid by that 
court. 

 
WHAT NOT TO REPORT 
 

 Fees paid in criminal cases. 
 Fees paid in juvenile cases (delinquent conduct and conduct indicating a need for supervision). 
 Cases in which the appointee is a salaried employee of the court, such as masters, referees, etc. 
 Cases in which the appointee serves in a non-judicial capacity, such as process servers or substitute court 

reporters. 
 Cases in which appointment is a result of a reservation of rights retained by a deceased person under a will 

such as naming an independent executor of a will or a trustee of a testamentary trust. 
 
OPTIONAL REPORTING 
 

 Fees of less than $500. 
 In a single case, multiple fees of less than $500 which are approved separately, either over several months 

or within the same month, even if their overall total is $500 or more. 
 Multiple fees of less than $500 approved for payment to an appointee for service in several different cases 

even if their overall total is $500 or more.   
 
WHEN TO REPORT THE FEE 

 
 If the amount of the fee is specified in the order, report the fee for the month in which the approval order 

was signed (for example, a fee for a specific amount that is approved in September, but not actually paid 
until October would be included in the report for September).  
 

 If the amount of the fee is not specified in the order, report the fee for the month it is paid (when the 
amount of the fee becomes known to the clerk). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE REPORT  
 

NO REPORTABLE ACTIVITY FOR THE MONTH 
 

If no fees of $500 or more were approved or paid during the month, submit a report indicating that there was no 
reportable activity for the month for the county as a whole or for a particular court. 
 
REPORTABLE ACTIVITY FOR THE MONTH 

 
Each payment must be reported separately. For each approval of the payment of a fee of $500 or more, the 

following information must be reported:  
 

1. NAME OF JUDGE/MASTER/REFEREE APPROVING FEE 
  

Select the name of the person signing the approval order. (It does not have to be the same person who 
made the original appointment. It could, for example, be a visiting judge.) 

 
2. NAME/NUMBER OF COURT 

 
Select the name of the court in which the person signing the order was sitting when the order was signed 
(e.g., 465th District Court, County Court at Law No. 2, etc.). 
 

3.  CASE NUMBER AND STYLE OF CASE 
   

Enter the case number and style of the case. The style may be abbreviated to include, for example, just the 
last names of the parties. In matters where confidentiality of records is required, judges and clerks should use 
their discretion regarding the style of the case. 

 
4. NAME OF PERSON APPOINTED 

   
Enter the name of the person appointed. If the person appointed is an attorney, his or her State Bar card 
number must be included.   

   
5. POSITION TO WHICH APPOINTED 

 
Select the position to which the person was appointed in the case. A sample list of positions is included 
below for reference. 

 
6. RELATIONSHIP TO WARD OR DECEASED 

 
 Select the relationship to the ward or deceased:   
  

 An attorney; 
 A private professional guardian; 
 Associated with a public guardianship program; or 
 A friend or family member 

  
 If not relevant to the case, select “Not Applicable.” 
 

7. DATE OF APPROVAL OF FEE 
   

Enter the date the approval order was signed (or the date the fee was paid if the amount of the fee was not 
specified when the approval order was signed). 
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8. SOURCE OF FEES 
 

Select the source of the fee known to the clerk at the time this report is prepared.  A sample list of sources 
is included below for reference. 
 

9. Fee Type 
 
Select the fee type.  If unknown or not relevant to the case, select “Not available/applicable”.  NOTE:  This 
field is optional. 

 
10. AMOUNT OF FEE APPROVED 

 
Enter the dollar amount of each fee approved for payment. The entire fee amount should be reported, not 
the rate approved (i.e., not $15 per hour).  

 
Each fee includes any and all fees occurring as a result of the appointment. It shall include attorneys’ fees 
and related expenses resulting from the appointment and any compensation and/or fees for serving as 
fiduciary. 

 
Sample lists of position titles and sources of fees are included below to aid you in preparing your monthly report. 
These are partial lists only—there may be additional positions to which a person may be appointed or sources of 
fees. 
 
 

POSITION TO WHICH APPOINTED 
  
    Ad litem                                                                           
    Amicus attorney 
    Attorney ad litem 
    Guardian ad litem 
    Administrator 
     Appraiser 
    Arbitrator 
    Attorney 
    Certified Public Accountant 
    Commissioner 
    Court Visitor 
    Doctor 
    Executor 
    Friend of the Court 
    Guardian 
    Permanent Guardian 
    Temporary Guardian                                                   
    Hearing Officer 
    Interpreter 
    Investigator 
    Master 
    Master in Chancery 
    Mediator 
    Personal Representative 
    Physician 
    Receiver 
    Referee 
    Social Worker 
    Trustee 
    Trustee Bank 

    Trustee Friend 
 
 

SOURCE OF FEES 
 
 Managing Conservator 
 Possessory Conservator 
 County 
 Defendant 
 Estate 
 Named Person (i.e., individual identified by name) 
 The Parties 
 Plaintiff 
 Registry of the Court 
 State 
 Trust 
 Trustee 
 
 

TYPES OF FEES 
 
 Attorneys fees: 
 

 For serving as an appointee  
 For serving as attorney when serving as 

court appointee  
   
 Compensation for fiduciary services 
 Eminent domain commissioner fees 
 Mediator fees 
 Trustee’s fees 
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Online Reporting of Appointments and Fees 
 
The Appointments and Fees database must be accessed through the Court Activity Reporting and 

Directory System (http://card.txcourts.gov). 

 

Entering or Editing Monthly Reports 
 

Go to http://card.txcourts.gov. Enter user name and password. 

 

The user ID and password are the same ones used to enter the statistics for the monthly court 

activity report. 

 

Combination clerks need to submit reports for the district courts using the user ID associated 

with the district courts and separate reports for the county court using the user ID associated with 

the county court.   

 

District clerks that report information for the county courts at law need to submit reports for the 

district courts using the user ID associated with the district courts and separate reports for the 

county courts at law using the user ID associated with the county-level courts.  For example: 

 

The Brazos County district clerk submits one monthly court activity report, 

combining the activity for the three district courts and a separate monthly court 

activity report for county court at law activity. To submit the appointments and 

fees reports for the district courts, they will login with the same login ID used to 

submit the district court monthly activity report. They will then logout and log 

back in using the separate login ID used for submission of the county court 

activity reports to report the activity for that level of court. 

 

Clerks who are submitting more than one report for the district courts in the county or for the 

county-level courts in the county do not need to enter the appointments and fees reports under 

each of the user IDs they are currently using to enter the statistics for the monthly court activity 

report. All appointments and fees records may be entered under just one user ID.  For example: 

 

The Bowie County district clerk submits separate monthly court activity reports 

for the 5th, 102nd and 202nd district courts. Their office may choose any one of the 

three login ID’s used for submission of the district court activity reports and 

submit the reports for each of the three district courts while logged in under that 

one ID.     

 

If you do not have a user ID and password for electronic reporting, please contact Sandra 

Mabbett and (512) 463-1640 or sandra.mabbett@txcourts.gov.  

http://card.txcourts.gov/
http://card.txcourts.gov/
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Accessing the Database 

 

1. Select the Appointments and Fees button. 

 

 
 

Entering Reports Manually    (go to page 7 for instructions on uploading an XML file) 

 

1. Select the Add New Record button. 

 

 



 3 

 

2. Select the Month and Year for which you are submitting a report. 

 

 
 

 

If you have no activity to report, go to page 4 for instructions about how to submit a “No 

Activity” report. 

 

3. Enter the requested information for each fee paid over $500. The following information is 

required for all entries: 

 

 Court 

 Judge or Visiting Judge (if you do not see the judge you wish to select listed in the 

dropdown box, contact Sandy Mabbett to have the judge added) 

 Case Number 

 Case Style 

 Name of Person Appointed  

o If you click on check box next to Texas Attorney and enter a Texas Bar Number, 
the First Name, Middle Name, and Last Name of the person appointed will 
automatically populate.) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
o If the appointee is an entity, enter the name of the entity in the Last Name box. 
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 Position to Which Appointed 

 Relationship to Ward or Deceased (If not relevant to the case, select “Not 

Applicable”) 

 Approval Date 

 Source of Fees, if known 

 Amount of Fee Approved 

 Prepared By 

 

The Fee Type field is optional. 

 

4. Press Save after completing each record. 

 

5. If your next record is similar to one that you entered previously, you might save time by 

finding the previously entered record and selecting the copy  icon next to that record. 

Make any changes to the newly duplicated record, then press Save. 

 

6. Log out of the system when all records have been entered. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 5 

“No Activity” Report 

 

1. If there is no activity to report for the month, check the No Activity box.  

 

To report no activity for all district courts or all county courts in the county, select All in the 

Court dropdown box. 

 

To report no activity for one district court or one county court, select the court’s name from 

the Court dropdown box. 

 

 
 

2. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and enter your name in the Prepared By field. 
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3. Press Save. You should see a message that the record was saved successfully. If there are 

errors in the record that you entered, the system will prompt you to correct them. 

 

 
 

4. To submit “No Activity” reports for additional district courts or additional county courts, 

repeat the process above until activity for all courts has been reported. 

 

5. You may log out of the system. Your report is finished. 
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Uploading an XML File 

 

1. Select the Import XML button. 

 

 
 

2. Press the Browse button to locate your XML file. 

 

 
 

3. Press the Import button. Note whether the import was successful. 
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Your imported records should appear when you return to your Home page. You may log out. 

Your report is complete. 

 

 
 

Note: Every XML file that you upload gets added to the information already in the 

database; the newly uploaded information does not overwrite or correct previously loaded 

information. Thus, if you reload information for a particular month, you will likely be entering 

duplicate information into the system. To delete or correct previously entered information, 

you must do it manually through the database. 
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Editing Reports 

 

(See note on previous page about attempting to submit corrected information by uploading an 

XML file). You may update or delete records entered within the last 60 days. To make changes 

after 60 days, call Sandra Mabbett at (512) 463-1640. 

 

To edit a record: 

 

1. Search for the desired record(s) by using the Court, Date, Date Range, Sort, and Only My 

Records options at the top of the reporting screen. A list of the reports meeting the selected 

criteria will appear.  

 

NOTE: All records that have been entered into the database for your county that meet the 

selected criteria will appear. To exclude those records entered by someone else, check the 

Only My Records box. 

 

2. Select the pencil icon  next to the desired report. 

 

3. Edit the selected record, then press Save. 

 

To delete a record: 

 
1. Search for the desired record(s) by using the Court, Date, Date Range, Sort, and Only My 

Records options at the top of the reporting screen. A list of the reports meeting the selected 

criteria will appear.  

 

2. Select the  icon next to the desired report. 
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Generating Reports  

 

1. Select the Reports button, then select one of the reports. 

 

 
 

 Approved Fee Details Report: Lists each appointment and fee or “no activity” report 

entered into the database. 

 

 
 

 Approved Fee Summary Report: Lists total fees paid by county and court level. Also 

lists fees total paid by position and funding source. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 11 

 Monthly Fee Reports Missing: For each county, indicates whether at least 1 report has 

been received for a particular month for the district courts or for the county courts. 

 

 
 

 Monthly Fee Reports Missing (Detailed): For each county and court, indicates whether 

at least 1 report has been received for a particular month for the district courts or for the 

county courts. 

 

 
 

2. Select the desired criteria then press the View Report button. 

 

3. Export the report results into the desired format (XML, comma delimited file, TIFF, Adobe 

pdf, or Excel). 

 

Questions? 
 

Technical problems with system, including problems with passwords:  
 

OCA Help Desk, (512) 463-1642 

 

Reporting Questions: 

 

Sandy Mabbett, (512) 463-1640, sandra.mabbett@txcourts.gov 

 

If additional selections need to be added for the Position to Which Appointed, Fee Source, or 

Fee Type fields please contact Sandy. 

 

 

mailto:sandra.mabbett@txcourts.gov

