Court Reporters Certification

List of Substantially Equivalent States 

List of Substantially Equivalent States for Certification by Endorsement

Please be advised, there are additional requirements to meet for Certification by Endorsement. Staff will determine on a case-by-case basis if applicants are eligible for this type of certification. Please refer to the Certification by Endorsement section of the Initial Certification page of our website for additional information. 

The following states have been deemed to have certification requirements that are substantially equivalent to Texas for purposes of Certification by Endorsement:

  1. California
  2. Alabama
  3. Idaho
  4. Kansas
  5. Louisiana
  6. Mississippi
  7. Missouri
  8. Oregon
  9. W. Virginia
  10. Georgia
  11. Hawaii
  12. Illinois
  13. Iowa
  14. Michigan
  15. Nevada
  16. New Hampshire
  17. New Jersey
  18. Utah
Updated: 12/23/2020