9th Administrative Judicial Region

Welcome to the Ninth Administrative Judicial Region 

Brownfield, Texas

The Honorable Kelly G. Moore, Presiding Judge

The Honorable Kelly G. Moore, Presiding Judge of the Ninth Administrative Judicial Region of Texas

The state is divided into eleven administrative judicial regions. The office of the Ninth Administrative Judicial Region (9th AJR) is located in Brownfield, Texas. The 9th AJR was created by the legislature in 1915 and currently covers forty-five counties (listed below).

Presiding Judge Kelly G. Moore was originally appointed by the Governor in 2000. The duties of the presiding judge include promulgating and implementing regional rules of administration, advising local judges on judicial management, recommending changes to the Supreme Court for the improvement of judicial administration, and acting for local administrative judges in their absence. The presiding judges also have the authority to assign visiting judges to hold court when necessary to dispose of accumulated business in the region.

  • Armstrong
  • Bailey
  • Baylor
  • Briscoe
  • Carson
  • Castro
  • Childress
  • Cochran
  • Collingsworth
  • Cottle
  • Crosby
  • Dallam
  • Deaf Smith
  • Dickens
  • Donley
  • Floyd
  • Foard
  • Gray
  • Hale
  • Hall
  • Hansford
  • Hardeman
  • Hartley
  • Hemphill
  • Hockley
  • Hutchinson
  • King
  • Knox
  • Lamb
  • Lipscomb
  • Lubbock
  • Moore
  • Motley
  • Ochiltree
  • Oldham
  • Parmer
  • Potter
  • Randall
  • Roberts
  • Sherman
  • Swisher
  • Terry
  • Wheeler
  • Wilbarger
  • Yoakum