Court of Criminal Appeals

Presiding Judge Sharon Keller 

Place 1

Sharon Keller was first elected to the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals in 1994. She was elected Presiding Judge in 2000 and has been re-elected to that position three times. She is the first woman to have served on the Court. A native Texan, she holds a B.A. degree in philosophy from Rice University and a J.D. degree from Southern Methodist University School of Law.

Presiding Judge Keller has been Chair of the Texas Indigent Defense Commission since its inception. She is a Life Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation and a member of the Judicial Advisory Council to the Community Justice Assistance Division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice. By virtue of her office, she is vice-chair of the Texas Judicial Council.

In 2003 Presiding Judge Keller received the Distinguished Alumni Award for Judicial Service from the SMU Dedman School of Law.

Her current term on the Court extends through December of 2024.