Court of Criminal Appeals

Judge Barbara Hervey 

Place 7

Judge Barbara Parker Hervey was elected to the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals in November 2000. A native of New Jersey, Judge Hervey earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1975 from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro, and her J.D. in 1979 from St. Mary's University School of Law, where she is currently an Adjunct Professor and a past recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award. Prior to becoming a judge, Judge Hervey was in private practice for 5 years with the Law Office of M.M. Pena, Jr. of San Antonio. She was also an Assistant Criminal District Attorney in the appellate section of the Bexar County District Attorney's Office for 16 years. Judge Hervey has been an author and speaker for over 150 lectures and legal seminars, served on the Governor's Ad Hoc Committee to Rewrite the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, supervised continuing legal education training for attorneys in the D.A.'s Office, served as a Faculty Member of the National College of District Attorneys, and co-authored The Appellate Prosecutor: "Professional Responsibility on Appeal."

Judge Hervey is currently a member of the State Bar of Texas, the Texas Bar Foundation, and the American Law Institute. She is the Chair of the Grants Committee and the Criminal Justice Integrity Unit and is a member of the Rules Committee for the Court of Criminal Appeals. Judge Hervey has served as a member of the Governor's Criminal Justice Advisory Council and the Tim Cole Advisory Panel. She has received the Appellate Advocacy Award from Region VI, Association of Government Attorneys in Capital Litigation. She has also received a Certificate of Appreciation from the San Antonio Police Officers Association in recognition of work on Johnathan Moore v. State of Texas, tried for the Capital Murder of S.A.P.D. Officer Fabian Dominguez.

Judge Hervey and her husband Richard Langlois (defense attorney, Bexar County) reside in San Antonio, Texas. They have three children, Edward, Christopher, and Melissa.

Her current term is through 2024.