Timothy Cole Exoneration Review Commission


TCERC is made up of 11 members including four legislators, a gubernatorial appointee, representatives of various criminal justice government bodies and stakeholder organizations, and an appointment from the chair of the Texas Judicial Council.


  • Presiding Officer - Representative John T. Smithee, Amarillo
  • The Honorable Sharon Keller, Chair, Texas Indigent Defense Commission
  • Senator Joan Huffman, Houston
  • Senator John Whitmire, Houston
  • Representative Abel Herrero, Corpus Christi
  • Sam Bassett, President, Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • John Beauchamp, General Counsel, Texas Commission on Law Enforcement
  • Dr. Vincent Di Maio, Presiding Officer, Texas Forensic Science Commission
  • Charles Eskridge, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP, Houston
  • J. Staley Heatly, Chairman, Texas District and County Attorneys Association
  • Carol Vance, Retired, Houston

Advisory Members

  • Tiffany J. Dowling, Director, Texas Center for Actual Innocence at The University of Texas School of Law
  • Anthony S. Haughton, Executive Director, Innocence Project at The Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern University
  • Cassandra Jeu, Director, Texas Innocence Network, University of Houston Law Center
  • Mike Ware, Executive Director, The Innocence Project of Texas