Texas Forensic Science Commission

Governor Abbott Reappoints Five to the Texas Forensic Science Commission 

For Immediate Distribution  |  August 23, 2018  |  (512) 463-1826

Governor Abbott Reappoints Five To The Texas Forensic Science Commission

AUSTIN – Governor Greg Abbott has reappointed Jeffrey Barnard, M.D., Mark Daniel, Dennis “Pat” Johnson, Sarah Kerrigan, Ph.D., and Jarvis Parsons to the Texas Forensic Science Commission for terms set to expire on September 1, 2019. The commission provides oversight over Texas crime laboratories and other entities conducting forensic analyses for use in criminal proceedings and provides an accreditation mandate responsible for establishing procedures, policies, and practices to improve the quality of forensic analyses conducted in Texas.


Jeffrey Barnard, M.D. of Dallas is director of the Southwestern Institute of Forensic Science and chief medical examiner of Dallas County and a professor of pathology at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. He served as chairman of the Rapport Society at Texas A&M University and is a member of the National Association of Medical Examiners and the Southwest Transplant Alliance. He served a surgery internship and an anatomic and clinical pathology residency at Scott and White Hospital in Temple, Texas and a forensic pathology fellowship in Suffolk County, New York. He is board certified in anatomic, clinical, and forensic pathology. Barnard received a Bachelor of Science in medicine from Texas A&M University and a Doctor of Medicine from Texas A&M College of Medicine.


Mark Daniel of Fort Worth is an attorney at the Law Office of Mark G. Daniel. He previously served as assistant district attorney for the Tarrant County District Attorney’s Office. He is a member and former president of the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association, Tarrant County Bar Association, and the Tarrant County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association. Daniel received a Bachelor of Business Administration in finance from The University of Texas at Austin and a Juris Doctor degree from St. Mary’s University School of Law.


Dennis “Pat” Johnson of Austin retired in 2014 after serving as deputy assistant director of the Texas Department of Public Safety (TDPS) Crime Laboratory Services. Previously, he served as manager of the TDPS Field Laboratories and as the supervisor of the TDPS Lubbock Field Laboratory. He is a member of the Texas Criminal Justice Integrity Unit and a former member of the TDPS Credit Union Audit Committee and the American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors, and a subcommittee member of the National Commission on Forensic Science. Johnson received a Bachelor of Arts in chemistry from Austin College, a Master of Science in chemistry from the University of North Texas, and a Master of Business Administration from Texas Tech University. Additionally, he received an honorable discharge from the United States Army.


Sarah Kerrigan, Ph.D. of The Woodlands is chair of the Department of Forensic Science and Director of the Institute for Forensic Research, Training and Innovation at Sam Houston State University. Previously, she served as Bureau Chief of Toxicology for the New Mexico Department of Health, Scientific Laboratory Division in Albuquerque. She is an appointee to the National Institute of Standards and Technology Forensic Science Standards Board and the National Institute of Justice Forensic Laboratory Needs Technical Working Group (FLN-TWG), past chair of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences – Toxicology Section, and former president of the Society of Forensic Toxicologists. Kerrigan received a Bachelor of Science in chemistry and toxicology from the University of Hull in the United Kingdom and a Doctor of Philosophy in chemistry from the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, B.C., Canada.


Jarvis Parsons of Bryan is the District Attorney of Brazos County. Previously, he served as chief prosecutor of the 272nd District Court and as president-elect, faculty advisor and presenter for the Texas District and County Attorneys Association. He is a board member of Scotty’s House - Child Advocacy Center, TEEX Central Texas Police Academy Advisory Board, Sexual Assault Resource Center and a member of the College Station Noon Lions Club. Parsons received a Bachelor of Arts in speech communications from McNeese State University and a Juris Doctor degree from the University Of Maine School Of Law.



Please DO NOT REPLY to this message. It comes from an un-monitored mailbox. If you have any questions regarding this announcement, please contact the Governor’s Press Office at (512) 463-1826.