Process Server Certification
All Process Servers are strongly encouraged to review and adhere to the Process Server Curriculum.
Inquiries Regarding Paperwork
Applications are processed as soon as possible, in the order of which they are received. Due to the volume of applications received, processing times can vary; therefore, we are unable to provide more specific timeframes.
Applicants must confirm receipt of their applications, and the status of their applications, by referring to the View Pending Applications page of their online profiles. All applicants are sent automated email confirmations of successful application submission, and when applications are approved. Inquiries for application status checks or receipt confirmation will not be replied to unless determined by staff that there’s been a delay in processing your application, and you have not received prior notification. We receive many of these inquiries and each email takes time to research and respond to which delays the processing of applications. Thank you for your understanding.
In order to become a certified Process Server, you must:
- Complete a civil process service educational course. Applicants must complete a 7 hour course approved by the Commission (no more than) one year of filing their Process Server Application. Upon completion of the course, the course director must supply you with a certificate of completion.
- Submit the Application for Certification. You must apply for certification via our online licensing and certification system. To apply online, please go to the online certification and licensing system on our home page.
- Pay the certification fee. Please see the Fees section of this page for information on amounts due, acceptable forms of payment, etc. The appropriate fee must accompany the application to be certified to serve civil process for a two-year period, and the orientation course certificate. The course must have been completed within the year prior to applying for initial certification, per section 8.2 (c) of the JBCC rules.
- Pass a criminal history background check with DPS and the FBI. Applicants that apply for certification online will receive the service code form via the automated email confirmation they receive after submitting their application for certification. They should check their inbox (and spam folder) for this correspondence.
Certification of Military Spouses, Military Service Members, and Military Veterans
Definitions per section 55.001 of Chapter 55 Occupations Code:
- Military service member: a person who is on active duty.
- Active Duty: current full-time military service in the armed forces of the United States or active-duty military service as a member of the Texas military forces
- Military spouse: a person who is married to a military service member.
- Military veteran: a person who has served on active duty and who was discharged or released from active duty.
- License: a license, certificate, registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or a state agency rule that must be obtained by an individual to engage in a particular business.
The Commission may issue an initial certification to an applicant who is a military service member, spouse of a military service member, or a military veteran that:
- holds a current certification, registration, or license issued by another state that has requirements substantially equivalent to Texas requirements, or
- within the 5 years preceding the date of application, held a certification, registration or license in Texas.
To apply for Certification or Licensure as a military applicant, under sections 3.4 (a)-(g) of the JBCC Rules, you must do the following:
1. Submit the Application for Licensure via the online system on our home page.
- Select the waiver option for Military Applicant. (Important Note: if you are deemed ineligible for this waiver, staff will invoice you for the application fee(s). The application will be withdrawn if the fee is not paid within 30 days of the invoice date.)
2. Submit all required documentation for the items indicated below:
a. Documentation of being a military service member, spouse, or veteran, (such as military ID or other official documentation confirming you as being a military spouse);
b. Proof of holding a current certification or license as a process server in another state (such as a copy of your certification or license). You must be licensed or certified, in the other state, under the profession for which you seek licensure or certification in Texas. The documentation must verify you are certified or licensed, in the other state, to practice in the profession for which you are applying;
c. A letter of good standing from your current certification or licensing authority;
d. Documentation showing a permanent change of station order for purposes of establishing residency;
e. Letters of recommendation or a resume showing your work experience;
f. Proof of passing your state’s certification or licensure exam (if applicable); and
g. Documentation of your state’s current certification or licensure requirements. (Note: the documentation must be from your state’s licensing authority. Applicants cannot create the documentation themselves.)
Note: If you were certified or licensed with the JBCC within 5 years of the date of your application, skip items a-g and, instead, upload proof of your prior Texas certification or license and the name you were certified or licensed under.
3. Pass a criminal history background check by DPS and the FBI. Applicants that apply for certification online will receive the service code form via the automated email confirmation they receive after submitting their application for certification. They should check their inbox (and spam folder) for this correspondence.
To inquire about providing process server services as a military spouse applicant, under section 3.4 (h) of the JBCC Rules, you must submit your inquiry to the licensing specialist for this department at this email address: email@example.com
Should you have questions not addressed online, please submit inquiries to firstname.lastname@example.org.
All new applicants, and those renewing their certifications are required to obtain one-time electronic Fingerprinting through the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). Fees for these services are paid at the time your fingerprints are taken. The results of the DPS and FBI fingerprint searches will be sent directly to the Commission.
Please refer to the Certification & Licensure Criminal History FAQ's page for additional information.
You do not need to have your fingerprints taken again once you have been fingerprinted. Upon receipt of your application and required payment, staff will request a new criminal history report and the results will be sent directly to the Commission.
Refer to section 3.5 of the JBCC Rules for additional details on this requirement.
Under section 3.5 (a) of the JBCC Rules, an initial or renewal application may be denied, and a regulated person may be disciplined, if the person's criminal history or other information indicates that the person lacks the honesty, trustworthiness, or integrity to hold the certification, registration, or license.
Please be aware that we must have an application from you before we can provide the instructions, service code and disclosure language that is required to make your fingerprinting appointment. When you submit your application for certification online, an automated email confirmation will be sent to your primary email address. This automated email will contain the code and instructions you need to get fingerprinted. Please check your inbox (and spam folder) for this correspondence. Do not rely on information or forms that you receive from a source other than the JBCC. Doing so may result in your having to be re-fingerprinted, and thus delays in processing your application.
Your approval to serve process will expire two (2) years after the last day of the month of certification and, upon expiration, unless renewed, your name will be removed from the list of certified process servers in our online licensing system.
Reinstatement of Certification Expired 1 Year or More
See section 3.2 (f) of the JBCC Rules for a certification that has been expired for 1 yr. or more.
Important Note: Before starting the reinstatement process, you must email the licensing specialist at email@example.com so they can reactivate your profile, thereby allowing you to submit the application online.
When initially applying to reinstate an expired license, do not create a first-time applicant profile in our online system. Instead, you must do the following as an existing certification to start the licensure process over again.
1. Login to your existing certification profile in the online licensing system
- If you do not know your login credentials, follow the instructions in section XIII of the pdf Guide to Using the Online System located on the home page of our website to obtain your login name and reset your password.
- If you've never created an online profile, email staff so they can provide the instructions you need to create one. Once your profile is created, proceed to the step below.
2. Click the button to apply for new certification and pay the application fee.
- Note: eligible military applicants may be waived from the paying the application fee. See Military Applicants section above for additional information.
Submit questions regarding this matter to the licensing specialist at firstname.lastname@example.org so staff may assist you.
All fees are non-refundable.
First-Time Applicants: $200.00
Acceptable forms of payment: Credit Card or Debit Card