Supreme Court

Justice Jane Bland 
Photo of Justice Jane Bland

Place 6

Justice Jane Bland has served at three levels of the state judiciary, having been elected by Texas voters 5 times.  She was appointed to the Supreme Court of Texas in 2019 by Governor Greg Abbott.  She also served for 6 years as a state district judge in Houston and 15 years as a justice on the First Court of Appeals.

Justice Bland earned her undergraduate and law degrees at the University of Texas, graduating with high honors.  While in law school, she was Vice-Chancellor and an editor on the Texas Law Review.  Following law school, Justice Bland clerked for the Honorable Thomas Gibbs Gee on the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

Justice Bland is board-certified in civil appellate law and civil trial law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.  She began her practice at Baker Botts, where she handled a broad range of trial and appellate matters.  Before her appointment to the Court, she was a partner at Vinson & Elkins in Houston.

Throughout her legal career, Justice Bland has been recognized for her work to improve our state’s judiciary.  In 2010, Chief Justice John Roberts presented her with the William H. Rehnquist Award, given to a state court judge exemplifying the highest level of judicial excellence, integrity, fairness, and professional ethics.  She was named Appellate Judge of the Year in both 2007 and 2015 and Trial Judge of the Year in 2003 by the Texas Association of Civil Trial and Appellate Specialists.  She chairs the Oversight Committee for the Texas Pattern Jury Charges and is a member of the American Law Institute.  She chaired the board of Houston Volunteer Lawyers.

Justice Bland serves as the Court’s liaison to the Judicial Commission on Mental Health and the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, and the deputy liaison to the Court’s Rules Advisory Committee. 

Justice Bland and her husband Doug have two college-aged children.

Justice Bland was appointed to the remainder of a term that ends in 2024, but she must be elected in 2020 to serve the rest of that term.