Supreme Court

Photo of Chief Justice Nathan L. Hecht

Chief Justice Nathan L. Hecht

Place 1

Nathan L. Hecht is the 27th Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Texas. He has been elected to the Court six times, first in 1988 as a Justice, and most recently in 2014 as Chief Justice. He is the longest-serving Member of the Court in Texas history and the longest-tenured Texas judge in active service. Throughout his service on... Read more

Photo of Justice Eva Guzman

Justice Eva Guzman

Place 9

Justice Eva Guzman has served at three levels of the Texas judiciary. In 2009 she was appointed to serve on the Supreme Court of Texas by Governor Rick Perry. She was elected to a full term in November 2010, when she became the first Hispanic woman elected to state-wide office in Texas. Before her appointment, Justice Guzman served for almost... Read more

Photo of Justice Debra Lehrmann

Justice Debra Lehrmann

Place 3

Justice Debra Lehrmann has served on the Supreme Court of Texas since 2010, having been elected to the Court twice following her gubernatorial appointment.  With a total of over 30 years’ judicial experience, she was a trial judge in Tarrant County for 23 years prior to her appellate service and has served the Bar in leadership capacities on both a... Read more

Photo of Justice Jeffrey S. Boyd

Justice Jeffrey S. Boyd

Place 7

Jeffrey S. Boyd joined the Court on December 3, 2012, appointed by Governor Rick Perry to fill Justice Dale Wainwright's unexpired term. Wainwright resigned September 30th. Justice Boyd was the governor's chief of staff since September 2011. Before that he was Gov. Perry's general counsel. Boyd is a graduate of Abilene Christian University and earned his law degree summa cum laude... Read more

Photo of Justice John Phillip Devine

Justice John Phillip Devine

Place 4

Justice John Devine was elected to the Supreme Court of Texas in November 2012. He previously served for seven years as judge of the 190th state district court in Harris County and for nine years as an appointed special judge for the Harris County justice of the peace courts. A native of Indiana, Justice Devine attended Ball State University, graduating in... Read more

Photo of Justice Jimmy Blacklock

Justice Jimmy Blacklock

Place 2

Justice Jimmy Blacklock was appointed to the Texas Supreme Court in January 2018 by Governor Greg Abbott.  Before that, Jimmy served as Governor Abbott’s General Counsel and in the Attorney General’s Office under then-AG Abbott.  While at the AG’s Office, he handled appeals and trials of constitutional cases in state and federal court involving matters such as federalism, religious liberty,... Read more

Photo of Justice Brett Busby

Justice Brett Busby

Place 8

Brett Busby was appointed to the Court by Governor Greg Abbott in February 2019 and confirmed unanimously by the Texas Senate. An experienced appellate litigator, Justice Busby was a partner at the Bracewell firm in Houston and served on the Fourteenth Court of Appeals for six years before joining the Supreme Court. Justice Busby is a seventh-generation Texan, third-generation Eagle Scout,... Read more

Photo of Justice Jane Bland

Justice Jane Bland

Place 6

Justice Jane Bland has served at three levels of the state judiciary, having been elected by Texas voters 5 times.  She was appointed to the Supreme Court of Texas in 2019 by Governor Greg Abbott.  She also served for 6 years as a state district judge in Houston and 15 years as a justice on the First Court of Appeals. Justice... Read more

Place 5 Justice Position Is Vacant

The Court has one position vacant after Justice Paul Green's retirement August 31, 2020.